paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Siress Friday, February 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none that sucked this bad, maybe a bad talon
Marker Setup: Pi E-1 Black Dragun
Nitro Duck 68ci/ 3K stub
9v revvy
Customized bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
melted and formed into a paper weight
Strengths: hummmm... the bolt was sweet, it curved around the ball with 7 holes for a nice, blanced air flow, looks tight, ex chamber
Weaknesses: Jamed all the time
went through about 8 o-rings a day
leaks EVERYWHERE at one time or the other
cocking bolt handle, thing comes off easy when playing it unscrews its self
sholuder stock isn't flush with the gun
takes about 10min to strip, clean, and put back together ( no kidding)
trigger pull is about a inch ( REALLY ) its as long as it looks
Detent wire bends often when the bolt hits it, which means it will load 3 pbs
Conclusion: this marker sucks! looks good though. I sold mine for $50 after a month
( the guy I sold it to just took the ex. chamber, bolt , sight rail, lp chamber, barrel, and shoulder stock off for spair parts for his spyder! )
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Marker Setup: stock with a dye izon sight
going to get a new barrel
remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Either a new barrel or make sure you have kick ass paint!
Strengths: its basically a fully upgraded spyder compact thats bigger and has a stock. The stock is nice, it gives great maneuverability and steadiness. Looks sweet. it is super accurate right out of the box, but after about 2 shots with the worst paint that you can find, it'll break. but with good paint it rarely breaks.
Weaknesses: A new barrel is a must if you don't have good paint. i suggest marbalizers or diablos.
Conclusion: Besides the ball breaking problem that is easily fixed with either good paint or a new barrel i have had no problems. Most people have been complaining about leaks and cold weather problems. i have never had a leak or a weather problem. so either they got sent faulty guns or they are complete wack jobs that really have no idea what they are doing. i'm betting on the faulty guns to be fair to most of the people here that sound like they do know what they're doing. this is definately not an angel or an autococker, so don't expect one. this gun is a kick ass semi-auto worth buying. i love it, it treats me well.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, January 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann model 98, spyder tl plus
Marker Setup: all stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, stock barrel was fairly accurate although where the barrel is ported there were burrs, possible ball breakage problem.
Strengths: Good looks, seems like your getting alot for your money.
When this gun is working it works good.
Weaknesses: I had a leak in the bottem line right out of the box, the braide hose looked like it was superglued into the elbow had to replace the whole hose.
I have played with it about 5 times, 2 of the 5 times it broke alot of balls, good powerball paint, also works like crap in cold weather, after about 5 minutes of not shooting the gun c-02 would start leaking inside the gun and then it would just break paint.
Conclusion: For the money there are alot better guns out there, would not recommend this gun to anybody.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom, Avalon diamond GT, rental guns
Marker Setup: GT commando 2, completely stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: This gun is a huge attention getter. Newbies think your some sort of paintball god, and veterans just want to know what it is, because it looks so dang cool. The shoulder stock helps to stabalize the gun a little, and to me, it adds a "real gun" feel to it. The stock barrel seemed to do pretty well. It was kinda inaccurate, but i didn't have too many ball breaking problems like lots of people say. I shot about 500 rounds of Diablo Blaze paint, and i think i only broke about 3 or so. It also comes with alot of features that are upgrades for other guns, like a venturi bolt, low pressure system, and expansion chamber. Double feeds were extrememly rare, i think it happend like twice. It also had a pretty good rate of fire. It would shoot as fast i could make it. Last of all, its tough. I was pretty rough on it my first time out, and it shot well through the whole day. bottle sized o-rings throughout the gun makes repairs pretty easy.
Weaknesses: this thing is tough to take apart. It took me a good 30-45 minutes to take it apart and clean it. Virtually impossible to field strip, but it could be done i suppose. Its a little heavier than most, but im 6 foot 200 lbs, so it really didn't bother me at all. Its also pretty loud, but i didn't mind that much either. As i said before, the stock barrel is inaccurate, but it did better than most stock barrels, since they all suck anyways. don't even think about running crappy paint through it, it will break em all. The diablo blaze worked pretty well. last thing is, its made by Avalon, so its kinda tough to find parts for it. It does take spyder barrel threads though.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this gun to anybody. To me its pretty cheap for the gun your getting. looks cool, performs well, reliable, and cheap. get one, its worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, January 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viper M1 - lots better
Vision Impusle... not even similiar
Strengths: Well... it's a cool looking gun, and when it worked.. it worked well (I was using el tigre so no breaks) I dunno about all these people talking about the barrel sucking, its a lot better than most stock barrels.
Weaknesses: Everything else. The internals are low quality and have worn down way too quickly. After a week of use it died... I still dont have a clue why it doesn't work., i've had it looked over by 2 techs.... it just sucks is the problem. If you are planning on buying this, don't give into looks, a Tippman will serve you much better.
Conclusion: Don't buy it and save yourself money.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna's and Spyders.
Marker Setup: GT Commando 2....All Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Of course an aftermarket barrel is nice, but it's not necessary if you use high quality paint. Try either "Steel Balls" or "Allstar Balls"....I rarely break balls however what gun doesn't break a few.
Strengths: Almost everything is good about this marker...From the 6 stage expansion chamber to the venturi bolt....Everything works well and if you crank the velocity and use good paint it will be one of the most accurate guns on the field.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing about the gun is the micro-honing on the end of the barrel. It will sometimes break cheap balls. But listen up cheap asses the balls make the difference...It's not really all the barrels fault....
Conclusion: This is a really good marker, but it's not the best. All the complaining about balls breaking is non-sense...Buy good balls get good accuracy and very few breaks. I'd rather have this gun than any Pirahana or Spyder in the same price range.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 22nd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder - no comparison
Marker Setup: None, I wasted my money on this piece of S*** and now i have to save for another.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'de like to know myself
Strengths: It looks good - and that is what attracted me in the first place.

Weaknesses: This marker breaks nearly every ball that comes out of its barrel. I dont understand this. I have tried a number of different balls but they all seem to come up shredded. At first I figured that this was a problem in the firing chamber (since it broke every ball) not after reading several reviews I have learned that it may be a problem with the barrel. I am NOT afraid to admit that I am fairly new to paintball, but I don't know anyone who has as much trouble with their marker as I do. Originally, I purchased two of these markers one for me and one for my wife. Hers worked alot better than mine - for awhile. Now they both just suck.

I woudl like to think that this gun is salvageable anyone got a recommendation for an after market barrel?
Conclusion: If i had to do it over again (make the purchase) I would buy a spyder.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, December 21st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL+ , Tippmann, Brass Eagle Avenger, Sheridan PGP ,
Marker Setup: stock GT Commando + a armson stealth 16"
Recommended
Upgrades:
none are realy suggest
Strengths: It look Very kool
The Stock is good very practice to do sniper shoot
6 stage Expention chamber
True Ventury Bolt

Weaknesses: I had never succes to make it working fine , it alway break ball or speed fire, it firing sloow cause the manufacturing back spring is too weak , you must change the back spring , then at all it break ball the co2 release in the feeder too strong then cause ball break directly in the feeder
Conclusion: At all This gun can be a good gun , it have manny good feature , but i compare it to a brass eagle Avenger if your lucky it can work very good but... for how many hour , the manufacturer must fix all the small problem this gun can have , after this it will be greath
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 20th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Lt + - Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Commando Gt 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Good paint
Strengths: The weight is fine but it gets a little heavy with 20oz tank no problem really
thats why i recommended a remote
Fires damn fast
it isn't real loud quiter than the tippman i played with
it is accurate i have a cheap daisy scope on it (9x20) it almost always hits its target
barrel works fine
Weaknesses: Needs remote
if you get low on paint it will blow it back into the hopper
if you break a ball paint gets everywhere flies out the side of the gun messy
buy higher quality paint cause it will shred the cheap stuff i bought some brass eagle paint shot like a shot gun
Conclusion: Good gun needs a little money put into it buy a little better paint all in all very good gun also looks Pimp really it rules i really give it a 9.5
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 6th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98, Spyder's
Marker Setup: I use my GT Commando 2 with a stainless steel dye barrel and a psycho ballistics drop forward on my gun also I got a revolution on it to cause I shoot a little fast I suppose
Recommended
Upgrades:
The biggest thing that is needed is definitely a new barrel, I got a stainless steel Dye barrel for this gun and it is dead eyes accurate.
Strengths: First of all, most of these people who have been reviewing this gun are definitely newbies. This gun has nearly everything good about it. The gun is accurate, reliable, it looks good, its somewhat lightweight and its got a really nice low trigger pull. Its a great gun!
Weaknesses: Its a little difficult to dismantle but you get the hang of it after the first time. Also the velocity adjustor is a little weird. NEW BARREL, it sometimes chops them babies up, but it'll be a lot better when you get a different barrel for this gun.
Conclusion: I absolutely think this gun is great. I love it. The only thing that's bad is that you do need to get a better barrel. So this gun is great for anyone that wants some nice shooting at an affordable price this is a great gun for you. Maybe an extra $50 investment for a dye barrel and you'll be taking out guys left and right.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media