paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Digital Paintball / Digital Paintball / Digital Paintball / Digital Paintball

Digital Paintball Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Digital Paintball

Paintball Paintball Games

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Digital Paintball
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Digital Paintball™ is a modification for the Half-life engine. It seeks to bring the fast and furious gameplay of paintball to the home pc, and it seeks to do a damn good job of it. Previous retail paintball games have just totally stank (no offense to the developers), and we are trying to make a paintball game that is as realistic as possible, while still being fun to play.
Product Availability 
The Digital Paintball is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
dethstyl Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
paintball mods that don't actually make weapons look like paintball products, or modify the game system... they suck
Marker Setup: - Psycho Ballistics Silver Bullet LCD (black)
- Evlution 2 Hopper (black)
- 32 Degrees Nyte Stikk Barrel
- 20 oz. CO2 w/ 32 degrees coiled remote
Strengths: - changes system to actually have a paintball feeling
Weaknesses: - not enough stuff, needs to be larger
Review: It's a good game, but it has about the same amount of stuff to it that it did when I was playing it back when first released, not enough added in. Needs a poor man's mode and more rec ball, speed ball can get very repetitous and servers give too many credits. Would be nice if it had some sort of managable stat system so forwards could run quicker, ect. in exchange for a hit somewhere else. Lack of laying stance seems kinda crappy too, and I swear people are autoing their fire button cause some players fire way too quick way too long. All-in-all its not bad and hopefully mark 2 will fix the things that keep this iteration from being great.
Conclusion: Get it, if you have Half-Life you owe it to yourself to try any mod, if it sucks at least it was free.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

56kHero Monday, December 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Paint Brawl 3 & 4, Splatt!
Marker Setup: Spyder Custom w/expansion chamber, venturi spiral bolt, and DYE barrel
Strengths: playablilty, ease of controls, real name products.
Weaknesses: Mystery hits/shots
Review: First off this game is almost FREE!!!! what could be better. the reason I say almost is because you have to have the game Half-Life in order to play this game. I think this game is AWEsome. It is easy to install and set-up. Controls can be changed easily. Great name brand markers and barrels. Too many maps to name, and they are making more all the time. Several types of games from, elimination, capture the flag, center flag, and defend. It is all online play, but it is easy to find a game and most of the people are nice and fun to play with. In game chat is an excellent feature that allows you to talk to your teammates or everyone. Would like to see an expansion or update with more selections of markers and barrels, even extra upgrades.
Conclusion: Overall this game is outstanding. I enjoy playing for an hour or as little as 5 minutes. It just never seems to get old. Recommend this to everyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RaventheNinja Saturday, November 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Half-Life Paintball, that retail game for $5.
Marker Setup: Adrenalin Factory Impulse
Adrenalin Featherlite Angel
Bushmaster 2000
Strengths: Great gameplay, great graphics etc for what they're restricted to by the game engine.
Weaknesses: Outdated game engine, some immature players, not many upgrades, can be repetitive.
Review: I've been with the game community since pre-release (I'm AdrenalinBoy) and have seen the game evolve past what it used to be. Of course, there are a little bit of errors now, but as for the selection, this is obviously the choice if you wanted to play Paintball on the computer. I'm not going to say much about it besides that if you're looking for a game to play for paintball, this is the way to go.
Conclusion: Essentially, a great game hindered by a lack of a better game engine... and a prone position.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NoEffEks Wednesday, October 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Extream Paintbrawl - Recived 8% from PCGamer
Half-Life PaintBall - The basis of the DPB game, 3 guns, Auto, Semi, Pump. Very bad graphics, models, and skins.
Marker Setup: My comp with some stuff.
Strengths: Many features, some are brand new and exclusive on the Half-Life engine.
Weaknesses: Outdated
No upgrades(cept barrel)
Some immature players.
Not that many people.
Review: This game freatures are: leaning, ducking, walking, shoots, pod reloading, Realy life physics(u have to aim high cause the ball arcs.)

Guns featured as of 2.1
1. Exaliber
2. Angel
3. Bushy
4. Timmy
5. Spyder
6. M98C
8. SL 68
9. Phantom
10. E-Matrix
11. Impulse
12. Shocker
13. 2k1 Cocker
14. Orracle
15. Automag
16. E-Mag

in 2.2 the Impulse and the Shocker will be gone, they will be replaced by the Palmer Blazer.

regalrdless of what otehr people say the community is NOT retarded, the dev team knows a lot about paintball, and regardless of how the people act the simple fact is there no other paintball game that even compares to this game.

Conclusion: Simply THE BEST paintball game out there currently, no other game even compares to this game, even with its outdated engine it is still an awesome game. Seeming it is a modification its free. Also when Half-Life 2 comes out they will be realeasing DPB Mark2. The HL2 engine will be what all otehr engines to day will be based on.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xLiLHockeyFreak Tuesday, August 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Half Life PB
Marker Setup: Upgraded Nasty Impulse
Strengths: Nice graphics, nice guns, good game play.
Weaknesses: None really.
Review: Well this is a very fun game, I used to play it alot and now I play it occasionally. They have a decently nice selection of markers and the game play is very well made out. If you play games like Counter-Strike, you'll like this game. Many PBR members play also so it's fun to get a gang together and if you are like me, DESTROY THEM... heheh.... Fun game though.
Conclusion: Fun game, if you have Half - Life go download this game and play online.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintfreek777 Saturday, May 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: Spyder esprit with an expansion chamber and bottom-line CO2. Im getting a new 16 inch barrel, too
Strengths: Fun
Weaknesses: none
Review: Well, if its raining and there is no indoor paintball fields around you, I advise yyou get this FREE game. Its Fun because you can get different guns and play different maps and stuff. So, i advise you go get it. You can dowload it for FREE off of www.digitalpaintball.net SO GO GET IT NOW!
Conclusion: Get it it is hella-cool! AWESOMLY AWESOME. It is soo tight
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tyrant Joe Thursday, May 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none really
Marker Setup: spyder compact deluxe java, 20 oz co2, stock barrel, java expansion chamber
Strengths: -ok graphics
-nice marker selection
-pretty realistic
-people don't flame you
Weaknesses: look below
Review: Really cool game, a nice and small file size, cool maps. You can't get a boomstick with an excal, but I guess it is a good thing, then it would be way too awesome and everybody would use it. Also the guns are extremely inaccurate when you aren't aiming at somebody for some reason. Also when you crouch and lean the accuracy increases a lot. I've found the best combination is a shocker with boomstick and 1 pod, you will own!
Conclusion: Awesome cool game, great for when you can't play paintball in real life
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeffo2448 Tuesday, May 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some crappy paintball games
Marker Setup: RAT Impulse w/ ND Valve, ND SlickShot, ND Blade, Vert Max, Freak, ANS JackHammer II, RAT Hole SS Hammer, VooDoo bolt
Strengths: - Good gun selection, fun maps, realistic
Weaknesses: - Paint only breaks yellow, only two styles of jerseys, only two companies.
Review: Overall, this game is very fun. Playing people online is blast. It's realistic, easy to get into, and it's just good ol' fun. I'm waiting for Digital Paintball 1.5 to come out in June. It will have even more guns (Orracle, Intimidator, Impulse...etc.) and more styles of play. I can't wait.
Conclusion: Get it! It's a blast! Great gun selection to choose from. Autococker, Angel, Spyder, Tippmann, Bushmaster, Phantom, SL68, PT Extreme, PGP, Automag, Excalibur, Shocker. Very fun and addicting. You can play people online which is very fun. The guns are realistic and the arching of the paint is so realistic. The maps are fun too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spazmo_Rogue Monday, April 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Strengths: The game is all around KICK @$$
Weaknesses: more guns, more models, different types of paint
Review: This mod for Half-Life is super sweet.
1. The physics of the balls are real.

2. The choices for the guns is good, but could use a little bit of work
3. It could use more models
*NOTE: with a newly released customizer, u can change the models of the guns and players, as well as the paintballs, but no new guns.

4. The game is lots of addictive fun
5. TONS of maps (I like the PMI one in particular)
*I love the cocker - hold the fire button down and the back block stays back,
just as if u were holding down the trigger*
*You can stop potting up to take out a bunkerer, just like in real life*
It's attention to details like this that make the game very realistic and fun to play
Conclusion: DOWNLOAD THIS MOD RIGHT NOW!!! The game is still quite new, but it is lots of fun for the whole family. If you have Half-Life, then get Digital Paintball. NOW!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Murph1 Sunday, March 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Half-Life Paintball release 2.1 - The newest I'd played. Doesn't even compare. The physics were screwy, the servers were awful, and were full of auto-whores.
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom - Stock class, .45 frame, acid blue ano job.
Strengths: Realism. Played just like real life.
Weaknesses: Few servers
A couple bugs, but it's beta.
Some great maps not played.
Review: Well, this is a MASSIVE improvement over many paintball "simulations" out there over the internet. And words cannot describe how large an improvement it is over Wal-Mart paintball games. For the most part it's played similarly to real life paintball, except for the selection screen where you choose what kind of equipment you use. You have one hundred credits that you can use. Based on how good the equipment is overall, markers can have different prices. They range from ten credits for a backup pgp (although, like in real life, it's fun for primary.) to eighty credits for an AKALMP Excalibur. You can have four pods in your harness, and each pod is 10 credits. Barrels increase accuracy even more, you can use an armson stealth for twenty credits, a boomy for thirty, or the stock for free. Grenades are in this game, and are of some use for fifteen credits each. A personal favorite setup for me is the automag (50 credits), a boomstick barrel (30 credits.) and two pods of paint (20 credits) No wasted credits, great accuracy, and a stupid rate of fire.

Movement is pretty much what you would expect from a first person shooter. move forward, move backward, sidestep left, sidestep right, look up, look down, turn left, turn right, jump, duck, walk/run toggle. One thing I didn't expect was leaning out. Pretty much the same benefit as in real life, and just continues to add to realism, since you can snapshoot now. Very nice if you play with the pumps now and then.
Conclusion: A worthwhile download. 10 out of 10 since it's the best paintball game out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media