paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Major Paintball Master Mine / Major Paintball Master Mine / Major Paintball Master Mine

Major Paintball Master Mine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Major Paintball

Buy Major Paintball Master Mine

Paintball Miscellaneous

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Major Paintball Master Mine
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This compact, reusable mine is powered by a standard 12 gram CO2 cartridge and sprays 6 ounces of liquid paint, covering an area up to 600 square feet!

The MASTER MINE is an "on-surface" design, meaning you don't need to carry a shovel to the field. It can be set up in less than a minute and has an ultra sensitive trigger mechanism, allowing the use of a light trip cord that can be activated up to 25 feet from the mine or remotely detonated by the user.

The MASTER MINE uses dual, adjustable muzzles for creating different spray patterns. Turn them out to cover a wide area, or point them straight for a concentrated "dude drenching" blast.

Combine these features with its impressive sound blast and the mine can also double as a superb perimeter warning device. Whatever your strategy the MASTER MINE will certainly give your opponents something else to think about before moving on that trail or making that next bunker move.
Product Availability 
The Major Paintball Master Mine is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
DVLCHLD Saturday, November 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've made and purchased ALOT of trip wire mines and pressure mines over the last 10 years.
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat, Archon hopper, remote line.
Strengths: Small, lightweight, very fast set-up, incredible coverage, very sensitive, low profile.
Weaknesses: I really can't think of any weaknesses.
Review: I've had two of these mines for at least 3 years and I use them ALOT. They are by far the best mine made for paintball. I've been designing and building paintball mines for 10 years and still haven't seen anything that beats them. Any bad reviews you see on this mine are by people that didn't know how to use them properly. These mines blast out a wall of paint you just can't avoid.

For proper performance....
1. Aim the blast tubes up at a 45 degree angle and away from center at 10-15 degrees.
2. Do not leave the caps on the blast tubes.
3. The tripwire has to seperate from the mine instantly upon detonation.
4. The draw string has to be unobstructed when the mine is detonated.

The price on some sites is way too high. If you look you can find this mine for $35.00.
I figured out how to make this mine with parts from the hardware store for $10.00.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a tripmine for paintball this mine can't be beat. I highly recommend it. I've never had one of these get set-off without eliminating the target.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slingshot66 Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None that work with a trip wire
Marker Setup: A5
Empire Barrel Kit
Ops Gear SR 9 Barrel Shroud
Ops Gear A5 Long Wire Stock
M 16 Clip
45mm Red Dot
BT Fixed Rail Sight
Q-Loader W/5 Pods
Hpa Tank

Tiberius Tac 8 W/ Holster and 5 Clips
Strengths: Simple to load and clean.
Weaknesses: None for what it is.
Review: I've only tested it. I find it works best at 5 to 10 feet. Perfect for trails. It isn't loud like Ive heard. The trip wire works well, tripped or pulled. Great claymore. Place in bunker and wait for the other team to enter. Pull the wire and there history.

I find that home made paint works best. I use 1/2 cup of corn starch 2 table spoons sugar 2 cups of water. stir on low heat until it becomes a gel. Let cool and add a little bright colored finger paint. I use neon pink. Add water to get a thick paint, sort of the texture of whats in a paintball.

It is smaller then it looks in the picture. But I think it is the perfect size for carrying.The double safetys are easy to work and should be used until ready to arm.

These dont make big bangs or cover long distances but for what they are they will make woods ball fun.

I've just ordered another one and can see by summer I'll have a bunch of them.
Conclusion: Great woodball item
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Headshot Zealot Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used the M-80TR (by the same company), but not with comparable results
Marker Setup: a T68 marker with a 16 inch rifled barrel, a Q-loader, a harris bipod, a 4x32 tasco scope and BSA laser sight attachment and last but not least a gas thru stock complete with remote line.
Strengths: Definitely the versatility of the mine and the trigger sensitivity make it a useful tool
Weaknesses: The unnatural pipe shape makes it stand out in the underbrush
Review: I've found that this mine becomes even more useful in the field with some modifications. if you hot glue the trip cord to the wheels of a small remote control car, then you can paint it brown and leave it upside down near the mine. then you can use the remote for the car to trigger the mine by pulling the accelerator trigger. it's crude but it gives you a much safer distance to trigger it from.
Conclusion: I definitely recomend this product for woodsball players and field owners with a decent amount of land. it really puts a little more strategy in the game and it helps to nail the guys who spray thier automatics while walking in a straight frigging line at your bunker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DirtyDeeds Tuesday, September 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom,
cyclone feed,
teardrop barrel,
response trigger,
vertical feed adaptor,
expansion chamber,
double trigger,
dye sticky grips,
DOD on/off drop froward.
Rocket Cock
Strengths: Light weight
rugged
simple to use
Adds a whole new element to the game.
Weaknesses: Trip wire is pretty big and easy to see, but is a minor thing.
Review: Check out my photos on this product above. They are the ones with the blue/green background.

When I first saw this product on line it looked metal. Once it arrived I was a little surprised to see it was in fact plastic. This did not take away from my over all impression of the product. Actually after checking it over I was very much impressed with its simplicity. It has a very rugged feel to it and is pretty light. I followed the advice of the others and bought some low stretch fishing line. They supply you with a metal stake to hold the mine in place when your in the field. I suggest getting a few more and using two for each mine. If you use one it can twist at the last second. I found the instructions were simple to understand. Again, this is a very straight forward product with two safety's, is easy to use and reusable.


The trip wire, its one of those things where its easy to say its a weakness but... if the manufacture included something like fishing line in the package instead of the larger line people would be complaining it breaks to easy, so its a no win situation. I think they did the right thing by including the larger string. I don't hold it against them.
Conclusion: I would suggest this product to others. If you search a little you can find them for $45 dollars (tax and shipping in)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 13th, 2005 at 1:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NickPostoloff Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other products like it except (kind of) the Tippmann Gernade.
Marker Setup: I shoot a '04 Autococker with a CT 3-Way and a Psycho Ballistics drop foward.
Strengths: Compact
Easy Use
Cheap (after initial $50)
No Chucking Heavy Gernades
Spray
Weaknesses: Theft of landmine
Review: I have only used this in my yard testing it out, so it has no field expirence. I have took it onto the field, but I have yet to find a prime opportunity to use it, which is a problem. I haven't had it stolen off of me, which is good (and I didn't even think of) but I could see how it could get stolen at a game like the MMG (Michigan Monster Game). If you set it up right you will be able to get an area of about 20x20 easly, and that's heavy cover. I think that is a good idea, I just have to set it up at the begining of the game. I'm a front man, but if I take time, it can be setup (max time needed about 2 minutes). It is a great product, I just have to use it.
Conclusion: I would get this product, because it is great. If you have $50 and don't know what to spend it on, then get this. It is a very good product, I just haven't found a good place to set it up yet (which next weekend I will now since I think about it).
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

shadnwagon Sunday, March 28th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
squad busters and homade mines
Marker Setup: just sold e99 planning on getting either a drangonfly cocker or old school used cocker
Strengths: small, easily tripped off if set up right
Weaknesses: not enough paint volume, not loud enough (intimidation), too expensive, and goofy tripwire
Review: When I first heard of the concept of a paint mine I thought sounded awsome. Mainly because it would be easy to make a homemade one. Just recently me and my local field owner who I am currently working for, ordered in 4 of these mastermines in preparation for an upcoming scenario game. We ordered so few in hopes that we could replicate them with pvc. First things first they are a lot smaller than they look. If you ever buy one I recomend testing it a few times to figure out how to aim them effectively. One problem we noticed right off is that there is no way that it could effectivally cover a 600 sq ft area. Well, to make a long story short this mine is way to expensive for how little you are getting. You want my advice, just figure out how to make your own mine. They spray more and its cheaper.
Conclusion: Too expensive for what your getting. Hence bigger is better.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

brad_53333 Friday, December 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Clay Mines.
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix. 22 master mines and 1 remote clay mine turret.
Strengths: Small
Light
DEADLY When used right
Weaknesses: Refilling when your on the filled when you have 22 of these mines setting of.
Review: On the field you can make people shiver in fear you when you have 22 of these mines.
This compact, reusable mine is powered by a standard 12 gram CO2 cartridge and sprays about 6 ounces of liquid wet paint, covering an area up to 600 square feet!!
Some of you people are saying this mine is to heavey, trip wirer is weird. So well don't listen to them and buy the thing it is well worth your money. If you can buy them for $20 BUY IT!!!!
Conclusion: 10 Buy this now. This mine is awesome, you can do so much with it, it can be just something to startle you enemy before you start shooting them from the other side (which work like a charm).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

stockcom Wednesday, November 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing else, maybe some home-made land mines down at d-day
Marker Setup: vf cocker with everything but an e-blade
Strengths: eliminates a whole bunch of people by surppise at one time
Weaknesses: expensive, heavy, easy to lose, inconsistent, poor trigger mechanism
Review: nothing says 'hahahaha got you' like a paintmine. i haven't actually used mine on anyone, but i have seen people who have been marked by a landmine. it is demoralizing. if someone were to get you with a good bunkering move or good sniping tactics, then you don't feel so bad. but the fact that you stepped through a string and now you are covered in paint kinda sucks. it really sucks. thus is the power of the paintmine.

the mastermine is rugged, simple to operate, and has the ability to eliminate a whole bunch of people at one time.

HOWEVER, before you go and buy one, you must know the risks of operating a paintmine during a paintball game or scenario game.
1: the mastermine is pretty expensive (about $40-$50)
2: it is pretty heavy so don't plan on carrying it around with you.
3: people are always on the prowl to steal you mines, so you either have to babysit your mine or not use it. that pretty much defeats the purpose of the paintmine.
4: the mine is pretty inconstent due to its triggering mechanism. pretty much you have a pin valve and a 12gram and a hammer. the hammer is spring loaded and attached to a rope so that if the rope doesn't have tension on it the hammer flies forward, pushing the 12 gram into the pin valve and releasing the co2 into the paint chamber, expelling the paint.

everything is rugged in design, but the effectiveness of the spray is very inconsistent. the paint chamber is just a tube with holes at the end, so paint just flies out everywhere. while this works for big groups and the like, usually you are trying to cover a path or entrance and want a concentrated burst in one direction. i stood 10 feet away from the mine and set it off with both holes aimed towards me. i got paint on me, and one splat enough to eliminate me, but others got splatter or gobs while others got nothing at all. very inconsistent.
Conclusion: while it is rugged and has the potential to do its job, the mastermine doesn't deliver for the price. maybe some modification and further testing are required, but if you aren't serious and dedicated, the mastermine is not for you. 6 for a good but simple try at something that is more complicated than first imagined.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

TimDubois Sunday, September 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Phantom Vertical Stock Class ano'd black with blackpoint ss folding stock and Tasco 30mm reddot sight
Strengths: -small
-good spray
-reusable
-easily recharged
-sensative
Weaknesses: None
Review: First off make sure you read the manual before you try to use it, that will clear up most of the problems you might have such as: leaving the trigger mechanism inside the safety slot (makes it really hard to trip), leaving the safety on (doesnt fire at all), tieing the trip wire directly to the trigger (gives weak discharge). The manual says to take the caps off but I find that if you leave the caps on about 1/2 you can aim the mine horizontally without losing any paint, then the caps just pop off before the paint flies out.

Ok now the review: the mine is small, much smaller than they seem to be in advertisments. The mine has a decent spray pattern but I don't quite think that 600 square feet is exactly right, I mean sure you can get a drop of paint that far from the mine but it's not gonna matter. It's not really as loud as people say it is, it basically just sounds like a 12 gram releasing air (WHOOSH). Another thing is that people say it comes with a weird trip wire but mine came with a spool of black thread which works perfectlly if it isnt in the sun. Other than that the mine is great and I would reccomend you buy it if thats what you want.
Conclusion: Great mine, compact, good spray (not 600 square feet though), worth the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jojo420 Tuesday, September 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Classic w/ ESP Grip frame w/ SweetSpot ,Thunder Pig Regex,Custom product Flamed Drop Forward and 14' Thunder Pig Barrel, followed by a PMI remote, PMI 4 in 1 harness, 16 oz. tank with smart part valve and 4 100rd tubes silenced by pod shocks.
Strengths: Reusable, Perimeter warning device, High sensitive Trip wire
Weaknesses: Kinda Big, mixing sucks.
Review: Cool setup, really fast to get up and running, just make sure you take both of the safety's off, nothing worse than the enemy getting your mine and using it against you. Its kinda bulky i haven't figured out anything to carry it in if you guys found something pm cuz i really need something.
Conclusion: This mine is awesome, you can do so much with it, it can be just something to startle you enemy before you start shooting them from the other side (which work like a charm), Or you can totally secure more area with it b/c you know no one is over there until you here that noise then its time to go see if you caught anyone, if you didn't get them it is usually easy to pick them off, they are the ones looking down for whatever made that noise, bang bang easy kill/
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media