paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CORE Sharc / CORE Sharc / CORE Sharc / CORE Sharc

CORE Sharc Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CORE

Buy CORE Sharc

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CORE Sharc
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 88
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The CORE Sharc is the most feature loaded entry level marker on the market today. From its tournament level barrel to a complete Co2 improvement system you'll notice the attention to detail put into this marker and appreciate its consistent delivery on the field for years to come.
Product Availability 
The CORE Sharc is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
chillywilly Thursday, July 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra- better
Custom 98- better
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
Recommended
Upgrades:
gas the grip
barrel
Strengths: Looks nice
Shoots strong
Weaknesses: Leaks a lot
Extremely loud
Review: I went paintballing with a guy who had this gun. First time it was ever shot. We were getting ready to play, and as soon as he screwed in his CO2, all the air poured out of a hole in the x chamber. We fixed it, and then we played a game. We were sitting around waiting to play the next game, and all of a sudden we hear an air leak again. the gas thru grip was leaking from the bottom now. We had to take off the grip and screw the CO2 directly into the x chamber to get it to work.
Conclusion: Don't get this gun, too much trouble. Buy a Spyder Xtra or a 98 Custom.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

calvin2032 Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
The basics; Spyders, Tippmans, JTs. Considerably better than the first two, more even playing field with the JTs, difference not as noticeable, but the Core is cheaper.
Marker Setup: Just a 200 round hopper, a 32oz tank (I think thats what it is), and one of those fancy goggleskinz for my lens (dirt-cheap and they intimidate less experienced players)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly a barrel, but before that a new bolt. Best stock barrel I have ever seen, quiet and accurate. I haven't seen uber expensive guns with stock barrels though.
Strengths: Rear-cocking, huge exansion chamber
Weaknesses: Shiny sight mount which is blocked by the angled ball feed. Trigger guard.
Review: Has a solid feel to it, if that makes any sense. It is not a feather weight, but it will not slow you down. It is quiet stock compared to other markers, but it won't allow you to take out a group without them knowing where the shots came from. I had only one problem, but it was fixed. This marker is like a baseball glove; the more you use it the better it gets. It has a break in stage, but once past it it molds to your playing style. The barrel is very accurate for stock. I managed to hit a tree's trunk from the hip, diameter no more than 2 1/2 feet at base, from the roots till it ended from about 30 yards away. The tree was about 30 ft tall.
As you have heard before, the expansion chamber does leak a little but you can fix that. I have issues with the trigger guard. Maybe they thought the player's trigger hand had one of Mr. T's rings on their middle finger? It juts out and pokes your left hand (for righties) and keeps you from getting the most comfortable grip. That is a petty complaint, but I have to because it is one of the few. The chrome barrel and sight mount (which is useless) aren't that serious, as most players aren't that worried about being hidden to worry about it.
Conclusion: Possibly the best sub $100 dollar gun you can find ( I think they got that low), but it will have to be pre-owned. I haven't tried out the 03' edition, but I can only imagine good things coming from it also. For an intro level marker, and for the price range (when it was new) I give it a 9.5; but compared to EVERY marker out there, a respectable 7.5. Until they make bullet shaped rounds, I won't give a 10, because I like accuracy over hailstorm of fire.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 5th, 2004 at 5:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nabraham Tuesday, November 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
custom 98- does not compare
Marker Setup: blue 2003 core sharc
14 in empire twister barrel
adco sight
20 oz co2 can
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a new barrel, although the stock is okay and will do
Strengths: shoots straight
looks cool
easy to clean
good stock barrel
totally chrome
Weaknesses: chops balls
long trigger pull
the bolt pings
few upgrades
heavy
Review: This gun is very good. The stock barrel is an avrage barrel and no paint breaks in it. If paint breaks it is because you short stroked or because the bolt hits the ball too hard. This gun worked perfectley in the first 5 games i played with it. In the 6th game the bottom part of the expansion chamber flew open and co2 started pouring out. I could not pry it off so that I could replace the o-ring, so i sent it back to Paintball express to get it fixed, when I got it back It was perfect once more. This gun comes with all of the upgrades needed. Make sure that before you play that you OIL ALL OF THE O RINGS. Also I am not bashing tippmans, this gun worked for me and a tipman did not.
Conclusion: get this if you are a begining to intermediate player, it sucks for woods ball because it is all chrome, super swirls suck with it
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 27th, 2003 at 5:29 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

nednerb Monday, October 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann pro/carbine, tippmann 98 custom, a few spyders
Marker Setup: green to black fade 2003 core sharc
200 round PMI Hopper
20oz Co2
Clear PMI elbow
Recommended
Upgrades:
Im thinking a 14" barrel although the stock 12" isnt bad at all
Strengths: looks totally tight! its light. good solid feel. comes already upgraded for no extra cost.
Weaknesses: kinda flashy/chromy for woodsball
Review: A good beginner/intermediate gun. very accurate and hasnt chopped ball yet. if you buy it take it apart and lube all the o-rings and tighten things up and after that you will be winnin games. perfect drop forward. almost balances gun perfectly with 20oz tank. i am over all completely satisfied with this gun for $99 and even got my friend to buy one. great gun for price!
Conclusion: if you are on a budget or maybe not. this is a good cheap marker that is very Co2 effecient, its tight lookin and affordable! buy this gun!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 2:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

royce_jenkins Wednesday, October 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann custom 98 - inferno field - Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Core Sharc 2003 - 20oz co2 - Rickchet AK hopper - J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel -scott mask - PMI Elbow -
Recommended
Upgrades:
if u really need it a new barell
Strengths: *very accurate -
*nice stock barell - accurate
*Looks amazing
Weaknesses: colour (in woodland) - well i guss i could have got black, but blue looks sweet
Review: Compaired to the tippmann 98 this gun wins hands down, apart from the tipman being built like a brick s*** house.

its stock barell is very good

with a anti syphon tube it never lets liquid co2 into the gun


comes with all parts u would expect from a high-end semi


comes with all parts u would get as a upgrade or expect from a high end semi
(expan cham, low pres cham etc)
Conclusion: if u are a beginner or intermidate player with a buget GET THIS GUN!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 4th, 2003 at 9:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cyrex Saturday, September 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
maraduer lol dont ask newbe jt 6.0 spyders avent and extra tipman a-5
Marker Setup: stock pretty much been too broke to upgrade
Recommended
Upgrades:
16 or 18 barrel electric trigger and a lcd grip if that possible
Strengths: shoots good havent had it chop yet and i tryed too trust me
Weaknesses: the threeds on bottem line are too sharp and cut some orings
Review: nice gun looks badas* and the best part is no one els has it at the field if anyone knows how to get intoo contact with the makers of this awsome gun info me any newbe or even vets looking for a good priced gun get it i got mone off the net so parts are hard to find pther then that its an all around gun
Conclusion: DONT GET I WANT TO BE THE ONLY ONE WITH IT HAHAHA
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jonesy Monday, July 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used a Brass Eagle Tiger Shark...I can't really compare the two, though.
Marker Setup: CORE The Sharc with everything it came with, except the sight rail. 20 oz CO2 tank, 200 Viewloader Hopper, PMI gun oil, PMI Universal hopper elbow.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really. I've never even tried a different barrel.
Strengths: Appears to get better with use, uses CO2 wisely, can turn velocity above legal limit.
Weaknesses: Poor shipping and I received an incorrect manual in the mail.
Review: The grips on it are a different shade from the green that I got, and they look dorky, but who really cares? The stock 12" barrel is awesome. The gun doesn't field strip really fast, but if you are like me, you'd rather it stayed together in the field while playing. A bolt needed tightened right above the expansion chamber when I got it. For the people that the expansion chamber leaked air, it probably wasn't the chamber, it could have been this bolt that you can find inside the area the expansion chamber screws into. With all the pain that this gun brought me at first, the way it works now makes up for it. I just needed to experiment with it, and find little things that make the gun work better, like a good cleaning every time you use it, something other than Brass Eagle paintballs, and PATIENCE. The gun hasn't given me a hassle since 3 months after I got it, which makes 9 months of fun after that. Delivering the upgrades with the gun is a good idea. (Drop forward, low pressure chamber, expansion chamber, etc), they just need to be put together more carefully by the manufacturers. I got a 2 year warranty with the gun for $30, so I can get a part replaced if it quits on me. The invisible bolt action is something I had never seen before until I got this gun. The bolt is a little hard to cock now, it must just need worked more often. If your cocking mechanism gets rusty like mine, you shouldn't need to cock the thing again unless you run out of CO2 or something else goes wrong. Just cock it before the game starts, no big deal. The sight rail that the gun came with was kinda dumb, I didn't like it, so I just took it off. Why do you need a sight rail for a paintball gun anyways? Just point and shoot, the balls will curve whichever way they feel like anyways. That's about as ridiculous as people with lazer sights for their markers. I just replaced a couple o rings on my bolt after a whole year's use. I'd recommend putting a little oil on your CO2 tank's threads before screwing it into the gun because it can be pretty hard to get out of the gun, wasting a lot of gas if you're struggling to get it unscrewed. I couldn't fit the next few sentences in the key strengths and key weaknesses: for the strengths, Care needs to be taken to get the gun to work better with use, the expansion chamber, drop forward and low pressure chamber all make the gun use CO2 wisely, and you can turn up the velocity above legal limit to bring some pain to opponents you don't really like. For the Weaknesses, I received a manual for the CORE Hammerhead, what the heck? It's a good thing I understood paintball guns good enough without a manual, but I'm thinking of the poor chap that this is his first paintball gun and he goes to look at the manual and he sees a CORE Hammerhead.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun if you have patience. You also need to take care of your gun and try to find the conditions that it prefers when you get it. Since most people don't have patience, you shouldn't waste your precious time with this gun, but this review was written for the other people. The score it got is the way it performs NOW, not when I first got it. If I had written a review 10 months ago I would have said something like, "The dang thing always has something new to go wrong" and given it a 3.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigfootNG Friday, May 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmans and Spyders
Marker Setup: CORE Sharc, Double Drop Forward, Shorter Trigger, Laser Sighter, Hyper Feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel, or trigger
Strengths: It has everything you need. Shoots well, is light, looks crazy good, and never chops.
Weaknesses: Make sure your screws are tight after you open it, kinda shiny for woodsball
Review: Once again the gun is already suped up for you. No need to by a lowpressure system, a expansion chamber, a sight rail, a double trigger, or a drop forward. The gun is extremely gas efficient, shoot a 20oz all day on 1 fill.

The power feed is surprisingly effective. I always thought verticals to be the best but power feeds are even better! Never break balls, just keep it in shape , and it'll serve you well.

If you are playing woods, get the black model or cover ur gun in camo. It is very shiny and metallic. This gun is ideal for a middle speedball player, shoots fast enough, reliable, and intimidating.

Uses Spyder threads so maybe a longer barrel if you play front. THX!
Conclusion: Stop reading this and get it. Great for intermediate players. Noone knows about it . . . yet . . . It will never leave you down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vercetti Monday, April 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, tippmann a-5, spyder shutter
Marker Setup: 2003 Core sharc, 12 in. smart parts progressive barrel, hopper, 12 0z co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel.
Strengths: -inexpensive $159.99
-accurate with stock barrel
-easy to clean
-tournament velocity adjuster
Weaknesses: -not much
-broke in one day
Review: Right now to me this gun sucks. I used it once and when I went to play again it was broken. When I put the Co2 in it started coming out from every where. It shot out and burned my leg now i have a big puss bubble there. I am sending it back to get it fixed or a new one. If my new one doesn't break in one day then i will edit my review.
Conclusion: From my experience this gun isn't very good. I would spend the extra cash and get a tippmann a-5 or something.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 28th, 2003 at 9:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

insanesnowboard Monday, March 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: 2003 core sharc w/ a 16" inch sniper barrel and a remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
a bigger barrel made a really nice upgrade for woods and village games i got one for like 25$ on ebay and its sweet also its a knock off of spyders so most spyder upgrades fit it
Strengths: looks great, shoots great, catches people off guard cause no one knows what it is
Weaknesses: off brand, shops dont have parts for them
Review: i played paintball once got hooked came home and bought this gun on the net (i think paintballonline.com are the only one who sells it) i played for a while and was happy. then i baught a 16" sniper barrell and took out soooo many people. but then i came home and it was leaking gas out of the expansion chamber. people at the nearbye shop couldnt fix it so i just sent it back to paintballonline.com to fix it because it comes w/ a free 3 month waranty. i think i just broke a O ring but i couldnt get it apart. and i just sent it so i dunno how good they will do. but when its working its a sweet gun.
Conclusion: its a great gun if u like playing woods and village games but if u like speed ball spend some more money and get a electronic marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 5:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media