paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40 / Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40 / Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40 / Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40

Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palco Marketing

Buy Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
More Efficient better Accuracy more Compact than a .68 caliber paintball pistol. Fires up to 100 + .40 caliber paintballs per (1) CO2 cartridge. No large CO2 tanks to buy and refill. Does not freeze up when the game is hot and heavy, like its .68 caliber counterparts. Its sleek design, lightweight and compact size makes this an excellent paintball gun on the field, or just plain fun!

Still Made by and can be bought from Palco sports
Product Availability 
The Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
SEAL34 Friday, January 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ummm...
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Flatline
GTA expansion chamber
32* drop forward
Java remote
Tapco 6 pos. stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feed system
new spring
new grip
CA adapter
new paint job
Strengths: 1.Accuracy
2.Light weight
3.Price
4. FUN.
Weaknesses: 1.Bright colors
2. .40 paintballs
3.Range
4.Field stripping
5.Power
Review: This is an OK pistol out of the box. It has very limited range and velocity.
1.Now, when you start to upgrade this bad boy, mmmm mmmm... I started with a new spring. I got a very tight one out of, believe it or not, a Brass Eagle Eradicator. A new spring adds a kick to it and LOTS more range and power. Get the tightest spring you can find.
2.After the spring I started to work on a clip/tube-feed system. I used PVC pipe and it worked fairly well. It had a high profile hanging off the side of the gun. SO I decided to take it to the next level. I rigged a new one with a spring that fits directly on top the pistol so it's out of the way. PM me for plans and a diagram of how to do this.
3.Next, the grip and trigger. The stock grip is uncomfortable and awkward. I bought an old Spyder Xtra grip off my friend and it's way better. Buy a Spyder grip if you want a new one.
4. Now the paint job. I got a silver XJ40 and I play woodsball so that didn't work too well. I completely took apart the pistol and sanded down the body to where it was reall y rough. I put a few coats of primer on then painted it black. You probably won't have to do this if you order it in black.
5.Converting it to constant air, I went to www.cooper-t.com and bought their ez air bottom drop. I ran a gas thru grip on it and then mouted an asa adapter on the grip and..whala! Constan Air. It's as easy as that.
Conclusion: If you are the kind of person that likes to tinker on your guns and do custom mods, get this pistol. If you are a weenie that wants a good pistol out of the box, forget it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 13th, 2005 at 2:50 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Kayjo Saturday, October 11th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock Compact Deluxe, ACI Maverick
Recommended
Upgrades:
Didnt keep it long enough to think of any.
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: -CO2 leak through the barrel, at least with mine.
-Feed system.
Review: -Hopper neck is wider than the hole which paintballs load into. Makes for a very bad loading system.
I had a Co2 leak that I heard through the barrel. I tried to tighten the Co2 pushing-in-apparatus, but to no avail.
I took it back to the largest outdoor store in the world, and invested in a good ball hauler... I don't know what the problem was with mine, but Palco sucks in the way of customer service.
Conclusion: I guess other people have had a good experience with this gun, but as far as I saw, it sucked, and so does Palco for customer service.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

faultie Monday, September 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT-Extreme and Zeus
Marker Setup: AGD 68 Classic
Right power-feed
68cc 3000psi on bottom-line
AA 12'' Barrel
J&J 14'' Ceramic

Tippmann SMG-68 (not .68 Special)
Tippmann Pro-Lite w/ 14'' thunderpig and custom spring set
Stock Zeus
RAM M4
Recommended
Upgrades:
Are there any upgrades your can get? A stock-class magazine would be a cool addition. I bet you could hold quite a few .40 cal rounds in a rather small spring-fed magazine (20 or so?)
Strengths: Nice ROF
Holds nearly 200 rounds
Great efficiency on 12gram
Surprising range and accuracy
Weaknesses: Non-upgradable
.40 caliber (less common and less range)
Review: I do not own them, and had always viewed these guns as a sort of cheap, crappy, kiddy-type gun (like a semi-auto Talon). However, my friend bought 2 a little while back and I decided to go Die-Hard/Matrix style for a game using just these 2. They are quite compact, very fast firing (most .68 pistols won't shoot this fast), holds lots o' ammo, are very efficient on 12 gram, and are very reliable and simple. I had more fun playing w/ just those 2 than many a speedball game I've played w/ my mag. It doesn't really have any downside as far as most pistols go.
Conclusion: Don't expect the ROF, accuracy, or range of a mag/cocker on this one, but it's a really great gun. W/ 2, you're totting around 400 rounds of ammo, and only need about 1 set of 12gram refils per game if they are your primaries, or no extras if you are just using the XJ as a side-arm. As a side-arm, it's extra great b/c it can cover you for a long time. As I found out using these in 1 game, it's alot easier to cover yourself while making an in-field repair than it is to make an infield repair and try to cover yourself with a 10-shot pistol (which you have to mess with constantly to reload). I'd definately recommend this to anybody looking for a nice, fun, reliable, well-performing side-arm.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

oddtalents Saturday, August 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i havent used nething else like it
Marker Setup: pro carbine with 20 ounce tanks with on off valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
i dont think there are ne
Strengths: small cheap 100 shots to a 12 gram
Weaknesses: 40 caliber paintballs
Review: this little gun is really cool. i have used it for a while and it has never failed. u can shoot it pretty fast for a little side arm. its made of metal not plastic so its durable. there isnt alot to say about it. the only bad thing is the 40 caliber paintballs can be hard to find. and they are kinda expensive. i figured they would be cheaper since they are smaller. thats the only weakness i can find.
Conclusion: get this gun if u want a good side arm dont get it if u want a main weapon.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Nebohtes Monday, June 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme. The PT is a cannon, the XJ40 is a slick little pee shooter that does it's job.
Marker Setup: I dual wield XJ40s because... well... style over substance. Sometimes I'll pack the PT Extreme (holstered) for the long ball.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Okay, just started trying to ramp up the velocity, so I'm not too invested in this yet. What I've done for kicks is remove the spring from my PT Extreme and put it in one of the XJ40s. I had to back off the spring or it would leak, but I was getting a lot more power. Haven't put it through a chrono, yet.
Strengths: Mobility. Akimbo yields very high rate of fire.
Weaknesses: Hoppers make a lot of noise. Double feeds a lot.
Review: Being a Paint Ball idiot, I take to the field with two of these (never did like the bulkier markers... they slow me down). The guys I play with get a kick out of it, and I don't do any worse than the rest. Between the two XJ40s I can have around 500 rounds in the hoppers when we start a game. I usually pack a few extra CO cartridges, which are good for about 100 rounds each, and only take a few seconds to change out (the action is pretty cool when changing these, too). They don't have the range that most markers do (okay, not even close), but they are quiet to fire, and are very reliable if you don't fire more than 2 rounds per second.

*EDIT* Little tip for a holster, it's ghetto, but it works. Use the plastic cover it's packed in when you buy it. Wrap it good with something (duct tape is good enough to hold the universe together, so it should work fine for your holster). Throw a cloth cover over it (like a camo sleeve from a retired shirt). I sometimes pack my PT when out there (which came with a very nice holster) and will holster the XJ40 on my belt in front of my stomach. If you cut the belt holes at an angle, it stays pretty well out of the way. I'm making smaller (and quieter) hoppers for it pretty soon here, too.
Conclusion: These markers are a lot of fun. I've never enjoyed paint balling more than I do with these. Style over substance.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 30th, 2003 at 11:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Saturday, April 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
haven't used any other sidearm/pistol (not for paintball anyway).
Marker Setup: spyder e-99
aka lightning bolt & valve kit
bl torpedo
equation designs 10" barrel kit
reloader
anti-siphon 20z tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
eh, nothing really.
Strengths: good distance for a sidearm
efficient w/ the 12 grams
hopper holds a ton
Weaknesses: hopper makes it bulky
double fires sometimes (dinky rubber nubbling for a detent)
Review: Sidearms only have one function - being a side. This actually seems to be designed for pure rec play. Not even sure if fields allow this thing.

Out of all the sidearms/pistols, this is the cheapest - $50 at the most. Paint for it is hard to find though.

You can adjust how tight the 12 gram cartridge fits in there so make sure you get it nice and snug. I must have it set perfectly because i swear i could empty the hopper with one cartridge. And that hopper holds plenty.

I did have problems with the ball dropping into the breach. I could let about 20 to fly before the little .40 cals get jumbled in the hopper neck. Needs a quick shake when that happens.

Where do i put this thing? Most holsters i see don't accomodate the hopper, unless a space is cut for it. Not really a big problem. Have it hanging from a shoulder strap if it makes you happy.
Conclusion: Want a sidearm but don't have the $100+ for a high end pistol (like a zeus)? Get this. Won't let you down.

I initially was going to use it for that reason but now it just collects dust. Nice to have around though, when you want to light up your friends in the backyard.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 27th, 2004 at 1:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

runawaybrain Wednesday, April 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have yet to see a similar product.
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Talon w/ extended barrel and constant air adapter.
Recommended
Upgrades:
No real upgrades available, or at last to my knowledge. However, one could set this
gun up with a longer barrel, bigger hopper, etc.
Strengths: .40 caliber paintballs are very accurate, which gives this gun an advantage.
Weaknesses: .40 caliber painballs are hard to acquire.
Review: This gun is very small and light, which is good for a sidearm. The .40 caliber paint is accurate, but hard to acquire. Maybe if more paintball shops sold this item, then paint would be a little cheaper.

Great gun for someone who wants to plink or shoot friends in their yard, but nothing more than a dinky sidearm for more professional players.
Conclusion: Great gun, nice price, and very accurate. I would recommend it as a sidearm or a beginner's weapon.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

isaiah Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Pro
Marker Setup: 99 S/F Rainmaker with BMW MACmount and LAPCO AVA, Dye Stickies, PPS Stabilizer, Armson Pro and J&J Ceramic bbls, smoking nun high-flow hose kit. Blue Raptor SE with smoking nun air-agitate hopper, EW custom bbl.
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a horizontal magazine to make it a sidearm
Strengths: efficient, looks sweet, sturdy
Weaknesses: somewhat difficult to disassemble (no field strip)
Review: I was excited to get this cool new gun, but when I opened the brand new, unopened package, I was disappointed. I took the gun apart (standard operating prodecure) as per the instructions, and was shocked to discover that there was already a paintball break in the barrel. It was all over the inside of the barrel and bolt.

The hammer/bolt assembly wouldn't come out the back of the gun without excessive force, they should have just slid right out. I had to use an included allen wrench as a lever to get it out. Still don't know why it fits so tight in there.

Then, I noticed that the bolt was in upside down. The hole where the gas from the valve is supposed to go up through the bolt and into the barrel... it was in the top of the bolt! It won't do any good there. The bolt is designed so that the link pin hole goes all the way through it, and the pin is held in place by a set screw (of a very tiny metric size that nobody has on hand) but was sticking out the wrong side, so that when assembled with the hammer is upside down.

And the hammer tube was full of metal shavings.


In terms of design, there were some screws that tightened down against the outer radius of the gun. There should have been a flat machined there with lock washers, but it's not a big deal unless one comes loose (I'd suggest loc-titeing them).


Other than that, it seems to be a fairly well-made gun.

(edit/update) i got the replacement one from the factory. this one works perfectly. excellent customer service.
Conclusion: although the first one was defective, Palco quickly replaced it. i'd definitely recommend this sidearm.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 2nd, 2003 at 1:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

littlekyle666 Saturday, November 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact, Tippmann 98 Custom, Tippmann Pro Lite, Tippmann Pro Carbine, Brass Eagle Talon, Brass Eagle Blade, and Zap Point Zero
Marker Setup: everything is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing gun is great just the way it is
Strengths: Everything is great
over 100 rounds per 12gram
small
light
cheap
accurate
able to compete with "real" markers
Nice colors
nice trigger pull
semi auto
.40 caliber, so they paint balls shoot straighter and go further
Weaknesses: Nuthin really, I havent had any problems at all with them (I have two).

Some people get scared when they find out its .40 caliber but its really not hard to find paint. Just find a near by blow gun or self defense store or order online.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. GO BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great as a sidearm or as a primary gun. This is probaly the best gun you will find for your money, garenteed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Minuteman Sunday, October 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have used my freinds spider and his tippman 98. This is a psitol so it shouldn't be as great but it is close. It is a really light gun!!!
Marker Setup: I don't have any setups on this gun. I got it out of the box and it was great. I have a holster for it. Its heavy though, I usually just carry it around in my pocket or in the back of my pants or something like that.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend that you buy a lot of CO2 bottles. When I first got the gun I bought 9 CO2 bottle with it...
Strengths: This gun has held up perfectly for the 6 months i have been using it. I've been using it almost every day now and I LOVE it!!!!!! The CO2 tanks are great! 125 or so shots befor one 12 gram CO2 bottle is gone. You can buy 3 12 gram Co2 bottles for $1.25 on a website I found!!!!

AWESOME GUN!!!!
Weaknesses: I haven't found anything to be bad about this gun!! It has served me well during competition.
Conclusion: I love this gun. A great backup for your normal gun. It will not break during a match and is a reliable backup for your main gun!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media