paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel LED / WDP Angel LED / WDP Angel LED / WDP Angel LED

WDP Angel LED Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel LED

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel LED
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Before the LCD came into play this gun ruled the world. The same reliability as the LCD and IR3 without the features. The LED is one of the most accurate guns. Accepts most upgrades compatible with the LCD. The trigger can be brought down to a mouse-click.
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel LED is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Fontaine Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speeds, Angel IR3s, Angel LCDs
Marker Setup: Ion (Serial#3448)
All-American
'04 Gladiator
Uni-Mount
Q-Lock
Firebolt
QEV
T-Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Predator Board, if you are willing to drop the 325 bucks for it.
Strengths: - Moderately Fast
- Accurate
- Really Low Price
Weaknesses: - Heavy
- Gas Hog
- Chops at High Speed
- Discontinued
Review: When shooting this marker, I have alot of fun because it is fast and accurate. It may not be upto today's standards in weight and air efficiency, but it still shoots ropes like any other speedball gun. I have a great time when I use mine. The only problem would be finding parts for it because it is a discontinued gun, but you could probably get something from WDP if you give them a call.
Conclusion: Overall, if your looking for a moderately fast older paintball gun, then the Angel LED is for you. I highly recommend throwing the Predator Board w/ Eyes in it so you will not chop and give it the same tech that today's markers have. It is a gas hog, but what would you expect from an older paintball marker. It is also high pressure, so your LP tanks will not work on it. For $200 dollars, its a classic machine gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Algernon Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
99 Alien Abduction Angel LED
2000 Angel LCD
Imps
Evil PIMP
Ion
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp
ghetto 7.0

Alien abduction angel LED
pred II
Recommended
Upgrades:
A conversion to a double trigger and a fast loader. ACE if you can afford it.
Strengths: Solidly built. Conversation peice.
Weaknesses: The base model has no cosmetic milling.
Review: WPD had their act together when they built these old angels. My angel LED is lighter than my Evil pimp, has just about as much kick AND is arguibly more resilent a marker. The previous owner has taken maintained marker so poorly that the lubricant had become abrasive. Either it was dirty, or the wrong stuff. The marker still shot ropes. There is no way a timmy or a newer angel for that matter, could even function with that kind of abuse. The angel LED is arguibly one of the toughest EP ever made. It was the best marker of it's day and still commands respect today (2006). The private label models are actually lighter than the angel LCD.
Conclusion: If you want an old school project marker then the LED is the way to go. The LED lends itself better to ACE mods as the marker does not require a mod to run a seperate micro switch. The angel LCD and up angel mount the micro switch on the board and the angel LED mounts it's MS in the 45 frame via two pins like most other markers out there. I don't know why WPD went over to the MS soldered to the board on the new angels. It's much eaiser to swap out boards on the LED than on any other angel. they're really tough markers. there's still pre-angel V6s dating back to 97' that are still mowing faces today (history lesson: before the angel was named the "angel" it was called the "V6").
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 2nd, 2006 at 1:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

general timi Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
LCD, LED, Arsenal G7.
Marker Setup: System X Type X Xonik Autococker
System X Q.E.V.
soon to be E2'd
System X VReg
Halo Hopper
47/3k steelie- Catagory 5 (hey, i got it for free.lol)
soon to be freak, w/aa front.
Recommended
Upgrades:
G7 90 frame, new barrel---probably pipe kit, cuz its anno is the same. faster hopper, cuz its really fast. new board. Send it in to Adrenalin and get it W.A.S.'d.
Strengths: FAST! good feedneck, unless you use an egg, then get a clamper.
Weaknesses: Looks like an impy--- EWWWWW! Shoebox angel.
Single trig. Whats up with thaaaaat????
Heavy.
Review: its a great gun. it can rip with a WAS in it. we were having trouble with the dwell though. Unlike the Fly's, G7's, or Arsenals, The dwell is REALLY sensative! But its really accurate, no chops with eyes on, and with 3 cases of paint, i only had 23 break with eyes off... you do the math. Great gun... Rock on WDP!
Conclusion: Great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WILDCHILDC1 Friday, October 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse Vision w/ MaxFlow, Evil Omen 2.0
Marker Setup: C&C Angel LCD with Freak Barrel system, and Dye boom stick, Delron Bolt, Tool Kit volumizers, ss cocking rod.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, cocking rod
Strengths: Very Accurate, Very comfortable feel, Great looks, Nice smooth shooting markers
Weaknesses: Too much $$$ for marker and for Parts!!
Review: I really like my Angel LCD, I purchased it used and it looks awesome. The markers computer system/LCD Board is easy to use if you have a manual but I personally dont think they need 115 different options! Maybe 10 and then a space to download exactly what you like and thats it. These things have so many adjustment that its almost overwhelming for most paintballers unless you have alot of experience with high end markers. My other only Complaint is that if the marker breaks, there are very few repair facilitys and when you find one... Its rediculously expensive for parts and repairs.
Conclusion: These are very nice markers that cost a little too much and are too complicated for the average paintballer. I personally havent found a better shooting marker, or one that I like the looks of as much as this.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quiethunter2004 Monday, October 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmy, Autococker with E-blade,
Marker Setup: Adrenalin angel led with halo b and angel air, 16" boomy
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, trigger job,
Strengths: Speed,accuracy, speed, looks,speed, respect
Weaknesses: Battery, requires special tools to tune,
Review: I bought my led used and it was in ok shape. My first time out i got lots of compliments and looks on my gun. The triggers is extremely sensitive..a mouse click..so it takes a while to get used to it. If the gun is tuned properly and has a hopper that can keep up with it then the gun is flawless. High rates of fire at consistent velocity and accuracy can be achived almost effortlessly. Basicly all angelswork the same way, so the led is just as good as lcd's and such just doesnt have as advanced electronics/looks and is a hair slower stock

Looks-7
Consistency-8
speed-10
accuracy-9
durability-7
customer support-8
upgradability-9
Conclusion: Great gun, if you have dreamed of a tournament level gun that will get u respect but u dont have the money...then this is your gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hollister Angel Monday, July 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ihad the led(used) for 3 months then traded it for a b2k3 and a cocker
Hey those are similar kinda
Marker Setup: black matte B2K3 w/ yellow highlights, evo 2 , 32*drop , and system x w/ centerflag reg tanks
coming soon-macdev or evil reg, evil pipe, evil grips ,better bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
VOLUMIZERS
UNIMOUNT(opinion)
evil pipe or dye boomstick
Strengths: FAST(even w/ the single frame)
SMALL
Looks kool
Weaknesses: Sometimes one of the valves messes up
range and accuracy isnt best
heavy (no milling)
Review: I bought this marker used and loved it.
It was great for front playing and was really fast
its barrel treads are kool and make the barrel shorter b/c the treaded end, goes in about 2 in and makes the barrel shorter on the outside(14in is 12in, 12in is 10in)
that valve w/ shims messed up once or twice but its ok and the manual is very detailed.

USE ONLY HPA AND GOOD PAINT!!!
Conclusion: Very nice marker(i like it kinda better than the speed or a4)
Find one used or new its worth it
They are harder to find now and should be worth something from what ive heard
:( to bad i traded (that vavle w/shim problem isnt major it doesnt last long)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 12:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KingsofKrunk Tuesday, July 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, LCD and LEds
Marker Setup: Angel Eclipse LED
Crossfire Nitro 68/4500
Powerlyte Speedline 16 (doesnt slow ball down)
Halo B with Victory Board
Select Fire Board uncapped outshoots my Halo B!
Aim68 reg or Gen-x2 depends, aim68 is more comfortable
dual twisted volumizers
everything else is Kapp, Feedneck, etc.
Fat Boy grips,
FBM thorn drop and dovetail asa with on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ti Hammer
Board
Hopper
Barrel
Strengths: My Eclipse LED is untouchable
30bps!
Autococker accuracy
Never breaks a ball
Weaknesses: Nada
Review: My angel is the best gun I have ever shot! I used to have a Bob Long, and that was awful. It was a millenium body with with no stock spyder parts on it. I heard they are defective bodies. Ok my angel runs at 300psi, shoots very very fast. I use auto on my own course, and play against people who also have autos. It is the fastest single trigger made after Eclipse did a sick trigger job, and weighted the trigger which is really cool shooting it. My aim68 regulator/gen x2 makes my accuracy is incredible, and my powerlyte speedline barrel is amazing. It beats my boomstick in every category! Grip is very comfortable, the gun is a little heavy with my halo b, but is very well balanced so it is not a probloem really. I love the select fire board, it is very fast, and so easy to adjust.
Conclusion: WDP LED is an awesome gun if you dont care for the fancy gadgets that the lcd, and flys are famous for. All angels in my opinion are superior guns. But I love my led,and for the price on ebay 380... there is no rival! I will try to post a movie link some time in the future to show how my angel shoots.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chinesebugrepel Tuesday, March 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lots of high end electros
Marker Setup: 99 Angel LED, 12 inch boomstick, 68/4500 Crossfire, egg II, KAPP low rise, dye stickies, dye volumizer, dye breech nob
Recommended
Upgrades:
Breech nob and hopper are the only real necessities.
Strengths: price, speed, accuracy, quality,
Weaknesses: Not the fastest stock board, no anti chop feature, plastic breech nob.
Review: I bought my whole setup for $500 used (including hopper and tank), which shows that you can get this great gun at an amazing price.
The board is capped at 15bps, which is fast enough for me but not for everyone. You can always get a new board if you feel the need.
No antichop- not that big a deal to me, just get a fast hopper. You can also get ACE installed if you feel the need.
I've heard bad things about the plastic breech nob, but mine had already been replaced when I bought it so I can't really comment.
If you can get passed these minor setbacks, the LED is a great gun for the money. It's fast, accurate, simple and excellent quality.
Conclusion: Great gun if you can find it. If you do find one don't hesitate to buy, because they go fast.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 20th, 2004 at 10:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintkidJJ Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
well... i used an IR3 at the field...VERY nice, my LED with the stuff it has is just as fast
Speed
multiple cockers and bushmasters
NONE OF THESE ARE AS NICE AS MY LED
Marker Setup: 2000 MORLOCKED LED
Shockteh CHROME drop forward
2 DYE volumizers
Dye low-rise
Beam break Element eyes
14 inch DYE boomstick
delrin bolt
DYE stickies
90/4500 Cross Fire SCI
Egg 2 w/ Z
Egg 1
ball detent
DYE Lady trigger
trigger gaurd
single trigger
magnetic upgrade kit
DYE breech nob
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock infinity is nice but i would look into a kit or a Boomer
get a new breech nob...the plastic one is trash...trigger is personal prefrence,depending on how you play, get a faster board(Zip Chip)(Gabreil)
Strengths: price is very low, Angel for under 500....then upgrades tho
Weaknesses: nothing...avialibilty for parts is it.
Review: This gun is VERY old... but still a very nice gun. they are cheap now you can get one from Ebay for 300-500.

Good:
Angel name for under 1000
Angel quility
the speed of an Angel
THE BRAGGING RITES!!!!
the stock infinity barrel is a great stock, but i would recomend upgradeing somewere down the line.
thanks to the WDP mini reg and LPR the LED runs at a VERY low pressure (80 psi)

the bad:

the lack of availible parts...

Conclusion: I would say...for any tournament player or hard core rec baller...that this is a great low budget gun...that with the right upgrades (board) will FLY!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Cuervo Monday, December 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most high-end electros
Marker Setup: Angel LED, Cobra Externals, Freak, Palmer Stabalizer, Adrenalin Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and Trigger
Strengths: Price has come way down
Weaknesses: Not as many features as other high-ends
Review: Angel LEDs have a very low resale value nowadays, so a paintslinging electro is only a couple hundred dollars away. It's definately a better marker than comparably priced electros.

The stock trigger is one of the better stock triggers on the market of any gun, and adjustable enough to get it conformatable. I upgraded to an Adrenlin Trigger and the rest is history... the kit absolutely rips.

The biggest problem I have with LEDs is the lack of any Anti-chop systems. You can't get the on-ball pressure low enough to pinch paint, so if you don't have a fast loader, you'll chop. Fortunately, they are capped (stock) at 15bps, so eVLution IIs and HALO Bs can keep up.
Conclusion: LEDs are no longer tournament-quality guns, and without cost-prohibitive upgrades, aren't likely to be. If you're looking for a used one, you can get them very cheap and it'll serve you perfectly well for competitive rec play or low-level tournaments. If you want to play competitively, look to a better Angel... IR3, Speed, or 4.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media