paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic

Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 186
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $299

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 68Automag Classic offers you the same valve assembly as the 68Automag Power Feed and is also quickly and easily customized. It includes a 68Automag but does not include barrel, hose, air adapter, or loader. It comes in two body styles: Standard Feed (Hopper Right) - 299$ and Power Feed (both Hopper Left and Hopper Right) - $399.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Rattle Rabbit Tuesday, August 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing is a mag as the design in completely different, but price range? Ok.

Spyder Xtra - Flimsy and finicky with air pressure compared to a mag
Tippy 98c - Way to hard to breakdown and maintain, Flimsy
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom Brown/green ano direct feed, Tstock, back bottle adapter.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sky is the limit with a 68. Too many options to list and almost all give an immediately noticeable difference.
Strengths: Durability, Long term usage.
Weaknesses: Can be expensive, not air efficient.
Review: The 68 classic is a sheer workhorse. You can pick on up on ebay for 80 bucks and spend as much as you want on it to make it as good as you want.

Stock or minor upgraded offline it's a decent entry level gun. You'll spend more time fixing minor things but they are indeed minor and you'll get some beginning experience with fixing a marker.

More you put into it the more lethal it becomes. Level 10, tons of bodies to switch too, and an array of bolts. To really see what a mag can do you need to use HPA/N2. It's hard to say more considering the array of ways to upgrade these old workhorses into every role imaginable but the bottomline is they've been put to the test in every field and stood up to everything.

Easy to fix, Easy to break down, Easy to get parts, simple design, most durable thing around (My first one was a stock mag that had been sitting in a warehouse in guam for 5 years. Change the rings, oiled it up, never had a real problem with it).

Conclusion: This is the only marker that gets a 10 from me, I say that score doesn't exist but this a 9 thats been in use by so many people for so long that it deserves it. This is another one I say if you've taken the time to research enough to read this? "Just buy the %$#^ thing."
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 4th, 2009 at 9:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alliedcommando Saturday, November 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker Trilogy (basically, the FN FAL of paintball)
Spyder Victor (cheap, mass produced, accuracy that is horrible)
Tippmann A5 (durable, and terrible accuracy without an extra $200 of upgrades)
Tippmann SL-68 II (Durable, Accurate, but does not compare)
Marker Setup: AGD Tac-1
AGD 68 Automag Classic powerfeed
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA
Rifled barrel (I have a 16" Armson stealth)
Strengths: Accuracy
Durability
Gas-Efficent IF you decide to stay with the L7
not careful
Weaknesses: None, it's a tried and true design.
Review: I was originally an Autococker person. I had heard about Automag's as THAT other gun, that always shot straight. The field I go to rents them out, and I was attracted to Mag's because of the shiny valves they have (at first glance). I did not even try one out, I automatically went out, and purchased one. The recoil is so light that after sometime, you hardly know the bolt is moving. The trigger pull is crisp, and is just like the CCI Phantom's, as it only cocks when you gas the gun up. Accuracy, where do I start with that? It's accurate enough that I can shoot over my teammates head and not hit him (it shoots just as flat, if not flatter than a pump gun). This gun is far more dependable than anything I've owned. The O-Rings will last until judgement day IF you gas the gun up with oil before every use. It can use Co2. It has a built-in regulator, so that saves you $50+ right there (which you can spend on other things, like barrels). It's ready to shot out of the box, and you really don't need any more upgrades (other than the level ten, if you can't help short-stroking the trigger).

Performance on the field:

This marker does not like to use brittle, expensive paintballs (tourney grade paint). I found this out the hard way. I was using Diablo Nightmare Paintballs (which was nightmare for my gun, and myself). I broke probably three to five in a single day, not bad, but kinda annoying (since I did NOT have a squeegee handy). I find that DXS paint goes through this gun with no problems. Did not have any malfunctions (unless you want to include ball brakes) for the day.

Accuracy: In my opinion, this is everything any longballing player has ever wanted. Put a red-dot sight on it, and you can't miss.

Price:

They're in the neighborhood of $140-200, maybe $90 if you know where to look. You can only find them used now on ebay, automags.org and sometimes pbnation. Regardless of what you pay, you get a high-quality product. It's just like a Mac, you pay a premium for nothing but the best.
Conclusion: Worth the price, I own two of these, bought 'em used off automags.org great for a new player or woodsball "sniper".
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 9th, 2008 at 8:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thor13 Friday, May 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Automag 68 classic
12-Volt Revolution Hopper
14 in barrel
Strengths: Long range
Accurate
Easy to clean the barrel
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have used this gun for several years now and the performance still stuns me. I've seen that several of you say that this gun cant be used with CO2 but i have had no problem since I've owned the gun and I've used CO2 on it the entire time. The only problem that I've run into is that i have found it impossible to open up the action and actually clean the parts.
Conclusion: This gun is the best because it shoots amazingly accurate and it has had no issues since I've had it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

af895 Tuesday, July 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PPS Blazer
various electro and mechanical paintball markers
Marker Setup: AGD Classic 68 Automag
Tac-One body
Palmer Pursuit Shop 12" dual-vented 0.685cal barrel
J&J brass barrel
Palmer Pursuit Shop male stabilizer
9oz. & 3.5oz. anti-siphon CO2 tanks.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop-forward
either anti-siphon CO2 or HPA
PPS Stabilizer regulator (CO2 or HPA)
Strengths: Durable, consistent, accurate, reasonably quiet and efficient, extremely inexpensive
Weaknesses: Not as quiet or efficient as a modern electro-pneumatics
Review: Wow. Just wow.

Before I got my own Automag, it had been about 15 years since I'd shot one. I'd been recommending them for months though, based on reputation, as they're inexpensive, durable, accurate and easy to maintain.

I used to own a PPS Blazer, considered one of the "super guns" of the paintball world. I don't regret giving up the Blazer in favor of the Automag - the 'mag is fantastic.

Blazer to Automag would be a bit like "AK47 to M16." The AK' is a tank, rugged, durable and so easy to fix a Russian peasant could do it. The M16 is mechanically complex and, though an accurate and respected shooter, if it breaks, heaven help you if you're not a gunsmith.

The 'mag is so simple to service you could do it without tools, on the field in less than 10 minutes. If that kind of design came at the expense of accuracy, it would be easy to dismiss the marker. That's not the case, however. The Automag is super accurate, with a built in regulator and a unique "blow-forward" design instead of a typical "blow-back" like a Spyder or Tippmann.

After playing with this marker for a few months, I'm sold. It's the only marker I recommend to new rec players.
Conclusion: Don't let the price fool you. If you want an inexpensive but truly "high-end" marker, the Automag qualifies. There are many upgrade paths like the Tac-One body with rails and the X-Valve which adds "elecro-like" rate of fire or you can just enjoy it as is.

A used one runs about $150 in the various online paintball buy/sell/trade forums. A new "Pro-Classic" is about $270. I bought bought mine used from a reputable seller and recommend that approach, once you know what to look for. (no aftermarket valve mods, matching serial #'s, undamaged body, stock AGD grip frame etc)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 11th, 2007 at 6:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cryosilver Thursday, May 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Minimag - It's the same thing, just looks a little different
Tac One - it's an Automag on crack; three times the price, three times as good
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 with response trigger, A2 kit from Spec Ops Paintball and coiled remote
12" CMI Thunder Pig barrel
Pure Energy 72/3000 HPA or 20 oz CO2

or

AGD Automag 68 with 14" All American Barrel, custom hopper and coiled remote
Pure Energy 72/3000 HPA or 9 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel
Drop forward or go remote
Level 10!!!
Strengths: Reliable and invincible
Small
Light
Accurate
Quiet
Weaknesses: Chops without Level 10
Review: This was my second paintball gun (after the Minimag, because I like the look of this one better), and I still use it. I put all of my Minimag stuff on it, and this is basically the same review I gave my Minimag. This is the gun that I use for sniping. I have the velocity at about 290 fps, and this gun will consistently make 6" groups at 30 yards, using RPS Evils and HPA. It is very quiet, and has a low profile, except for the hopper. To make this gun into a low-profile sniper, I sawed off 2 inches of the feed tube and built a magazine out of PVC.

This gun is very easy to clean, and the twist lock barrel makes squeegeeing a breeze.

There are a couple downsides to this gun. Since I got it used and never upgraded, I have the level 7 bolt, and it chops if fired at more than 3 or 4 BPS. After getting to use my buddy's Tac One, I realize how very badly I need the leve 10. Also, this gun is a little picky with paint. I have come to the realization that I need to use RPS Evils to get the most out of it. In addition, this gun is front-heavy and weighs a lot for its size, making aiming a little difficult. This can be offset by using a shoulder stock.

Some people have commented on the stiffness of the trigger. It's not a problem for me; I snipe, and the stiff pull just means I don't fire unless I really want to, and it's got to be one ball, one kill.

Also, many paintball shops do not carry twist lock barrels, so upgrading can be a pain.
Conclusion: Get it. You won't regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

peteralexander7 Saturday, November 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other AGD markers, spyder/ clones, tippmann, cockers, angels
Marker Setup: AGD Minimag valve,ULE body, RPG sub zero feed neck, Level X, Dye double trigger frame with dye sticky grips, Check-it unimount on/off , 10in CP barrel, Revy w/ x-board, Crossfire 47ci HPA tank w/ Redz cover.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
fore grip
N2
Strengths: Built like a rock
accurate
quiet
simple
easy to maintane
Weaknesses: Is heavy but with paint and tank so what
Review: The classic automag isnt bad. Just raw. With a couple of upgrades, it is a great marker. This marker is over 20 years old and I have had markers that were 15 years old and they shoot like they did when they were new. They are easy to clean and fix. You can also find a lot of people to help with problems on automags.org, I never seen a company try so hard to help you with their product. If you can fix it, they will. It isnt that expensive if your marker doesnt have any stars for the free fix. They do run better off N2 but what gun doesnt. If you are planning on using CO2, a simple expansion chamber isnt going to cut it. You need to get a Palmers stabilizer. They will help with the liquid CO2. Dont let any body tell you these markers are anything less than Superior
Conclusion: If you want a marker that is easy to clean, doesnt break paint, works every time, and you will never lose faith in. Then this is it. I love my mag and will never use any thing else. I have converted 6 of my friends and family to get one. Shoot, I have 4. I promise that if you dont like this marker and you have done everything right and werent stupid. I will be glad to buy it off of you. Because if you dont think that this is the best mech marker, then you dont deserve this marker. Ask anyone who has or who has had one, they will tell you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dyno5 Thursday, July 20th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom - like the gun of the gods compared to the automag
SP ion - 50x better then the tippy so you do the math
Marker Setup: Airgun Designs 68 Automags
Centerflag HPA Air Systems
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing dont get this marker
Strengths: There was nothing good about it
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: I used this gun in 2 of my trips to fox paintball in IL. It ws flat out horrible. It had no front grip, and was so inconsistant in its shots. One ball would go accurate then the next 10 would go left, right, or down. The range was maybe 25 yards, on a good shot. At times it would just fall out of the barrel. it chops paint every couple shots.
Conclusion: Dont go near one. It will make you worse just being around it. The only good thing about this gun is , at times, it shoots.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

PumpPaintball04 Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing too similar actually, very few blowforward guns have been made.....I guess my blowbacks (Custom 98 and random spyders.) but their not really that similar....
Marker Setup: Classic mag
black ULE body
Lapco bigshot
32 degree drop
old school metal AGD trigger frame with AGD grips

SC phantom with dropout valve

others....but the top two are what I usually use..
Recommended
Upgrades:
LV 10!
drop forward
electric hopper
compressed air
ULE if you can afford it.
Strengths: Consistant regulator, kinda oldschool, durable, cheap used, many cool upgrades availible, and reliable
Weaknesses: Mine chopped without the lv 10, hardish trigger. Heavyish. Mine doesnt like c02
Review: The AGD automag is a great gun, my favorite things about it is its reliability, its consistancy, and the cool upgrades you can get for it. The lv 10 is the best upgrade, I love knowing I won't have internals chops (of course with crap paint barrel chops can still happen) It does, like all things have drawbacks, it does kick a little, the trigger pull isn't light, if you have the older bodies barrels aren't really easy to find, some people probably don't like the weight. It is heavier then most guns I have shot, but weight doesn't really bother me. Mags aren't real cheap new, many see electros that cost as much as a mag would cost you. Used the value of mags has dropped a lot, so that's how i got mine.
Conclusion: I think the mag deserves better then average, but, if you buy them new it seems kind of expensive when guns that people view as "tourni guns " sell for the same price. The automag is my favorite out all the markers I've ever shot. As with all markers, test one sometime, see if you like it. If you want a rugged, consistant, mechanical marker, and don't mind stainless parts, a short hard trigger pull, and a slight kick, try an automag...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 31st, 2006 at 12:36 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wford Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker
Marker Setup: 68/4500 N2, 12" smart parts brl, Elcd Grip, Ans reg, Halo TSA, CP Drop, ANS bolt, Stock Automag valve assembly
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grip (Don't use the Elcd grip unless you like to work on your marker)
Barrel
bolt
Strengths: High ROF
Does not break paint
consistant
Weaknesses: HEAVY.
Does not like CO2
Review: OK, I am going to tell you about my experience with the automag.
The first time I attempted to use my automag it was just stock out of the box with no upgrades. I bought it used with an old Elcd grip. Even though I had the grip, I did not use it because I could not find a battery for it, it is a 9.6 volt battery (looks like a standard 9 volt but, a 9 volt does not work) and at the time there were not many guns which used a 9.6 volt battery. I also did not have a N2 system, I was using a 20oz CO2 bottle. I found that this was a mistake. The marker looked more like a fire extinguisher than anything else. At this point, I was laughed off the field and resorted to my old tippman .68 carbine (still works fine).
The second time I went to play I discovered that a 9.6 volt battery from a remote control car would power my grip and it was attached. At this time I purchase a 88ci bottle and found it to be much better. The pattern was very consistent and only had a few problems with strange air leaks. The air leaks were due to some old o-ring and some faulty tuning on my part. At the end of the day, I developed some major air issues because of the o-rings and lack of oil. Once again I resorted to using my backup marker.
The third time I deiced to to use my automag I had it pretty much figured out. and the thing rocked. I was playing at a private field and there was no regulations regarding full auto markers. After the first match some of the other team were complaining about the volume of fire which was produced by the automag. By the end of the day I was tired and decided to protect the flag. I found myself standing on top of the hill waiting for people to come attempt to capture the flag. Due to the distinct sound and the extreme rate of fire, no one would come close to me. I found myself standing in the open taunting other players (resorting to very rude comments and gestures) just to get them within range.
Conclusion: This is a very good marker but, you have to tune it carefully. If you want a marker that never needs attention this is not the one for you. If you want a marker that is great and, you don't mind working on it. This is the one for you. Knowing what I know now, I would buy one again in a heart beat. But they are getting hard to find.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BOBO Friday, December 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have tried or used dang near everything.
Marker Setup: Running a 68/3000 , Rico hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good barrel motorized hopper, LVL 10 is an option if you short stroke.
Strengths: Unbelievable reliability, small, light, easy maintenance & built like a tank. Solid consistancy , accurate.
Weaknesses: Can be sensitive when using CO2. You want a gas thru.
Review: This is a funny story. I put down only tested but in truth I owned the marker back in 93/94. I left tourney paintball in 94, I sold my automag to a team mate. Never thought anything about it after that, until we got together a couple weeks ago to play. The first time in 11 years. My buddy lives across the state. When he showed up he pulled out my old mag! He has owned & used since I sold it to him (he plays a couple times a month). I asked him if I could play with it a game or two & he used my new ULE. I was shocked at how well it still worked. It performed as if it was new. I asked him what he had done to it over the years "nothing " was his answer. He had replaced the orings a couple times & that was it. great markers for it to be actively used for over a decade with no issues shows the incredible reliability of the automag.
Conclusion: I believe that the automag even an old one like this one is a great marker for speedball, general play & rocks for woodsball. It isn't the fastest or the prettiest marker around but it is without a doubt one of the most reliable no-nonsense markers ever built.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 19th, 2006 at 3:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media