paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic

Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 186
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $299

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 68Automag Classic offers you the same valve assembly as the 68Automag Power Feed and is also quickly and easily customized. It includes a 68Automag but does not include barrel, hose, air adapter, or loader. It comes in two body styles: Standard Feed (Hopper Right) - 299$ and Power Feed (both Hopper Left and Hopper Right) - $399.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs 68 Automag Classic is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
ramenjames Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing with the blow forward concept...but cockers pirahnas phantoms a ton of unimportant electros :)
Marker Setup: 68 classic black powder coat
12 SP AA
VL grips
114/3000 nitro duck
stock
remote
2x trigger
forgrip
reloader
(soon) a sight rail and red dot
18in boomy
LVX
and a rico AK
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and asa (if it didnt come with one)
LVX
the rest is up to you....it can be totaly customized to your exact specs
Strengths: Look below
Weaknesses: Look abouve
Review: got this gun in a trade for my phantom.....i love this gun more then any other i have shot...it rules....and has made a few people jelous (some that have shot it) ...i know its old school ...but it is still an awesome gun for rec.....and mild amounts of tournys

BTW MAGS ARNT BLENDERS!!!!!!!!!!!

STRENTHS: sound....this bad boy is nice and quite
kick....it has the least out of any mech....compets with the phumatics on the market
wieght.....its light
size....its nice and small
twistlock barrels.....easy to clean/takeout in games
speed....it is the fastest mech around (excluding the RT)
reliable
great balance

WEAKNESS: out of about 1300 balls it choped 3 times ...not bad but not good...will be fine when my LVX gets here (darn you usps for taking so long)
a bit inefficeant....but with all day air how the hell cares?
Conclusion: Great gun....if you are thinking about getting one...you should

teh mag myths arnt true this gun is great.....and i will stick with mags for a loooooong time
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

puck2paint Wednesday, July 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
E99 - faster but no where near as accurate
Marker Setup: Automag
Intelliframe
Dye Foregrip
Dye Stickys
12" All american
47/3000 crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
ULE, X valve, electronic loader isnt an absolute must, but its helpful so you dont have to shake the gun to feed paint. dont need a really fast one, a 9 volt revvy would do. NITRO IS A MUST THOUGH
Strengths: Really accurate
Kinda light
With intelliframe its ergonomical
People think it looks pimp
Blow-forward
Weaknesses: Pretty slow, but accuracy makes up for it
3 lb trigger pull
Review: before I start, I had an awesome paint/barrel match (I used tork)

I took my friend's out for a day, and I fell in love with it. although it was pretty slow, I did very well with it. I got an average of 3 people out a game whereas when I take out my old spyder I'd be lucky if I got one person. well I took it out the first time playing speedball. This fields speedball field is really long too. So I'm standing around waiting for the refs to get on the field and like 3 people came up to me and asked me what kind of gun that was. I told them and they were like "thats niiiiice" so I let them shoot a couple. they were really impressed, and from what I know now, 1 of the 3 bought a mag. so when we start playing I move up about half way up on our side and I stay there a couple minutes and get about 2 people out only using half a hopper. I was very impressed with its performance.

the next game was woodsball. even though I make it sound like a speedball gun, I think its better in woodsball since its a little slower than other guns. I got someone probably 75 feet away, showing his head and gun only, and hit him on the top of his head. then I got a couple other people.

The whole day, the only balls that broke where the one's on people's clothes, not in the barrel.
Conclusion: I was really impressed with this gun. if you get a ULE to lighten the trigger pull and maybe an X valve, you'll be set. I give this a 9 because theres always room for improvement
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sean1982 Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really compares with this marker.
Marker Setup: Automag 68 classic,ULE Black Vertical body,DYE Boomstick,Pure Energy fore grip(BLACK),LvL 10 bolt with x-vlave,Pure Energy 68 3000 compressed air tank,CP flame drop forward(BLACK),Macroline kit,Intelliframe frame with blade trigger(black),12 volt revolution with x-board.ULE trigger kit(Lightings the pull)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Probaly the LvL 10 bolt, one of the best upgrades you can get(Virtually no ball breaks when it's installed)
With preference for me I dont like the sidefeed or powerfeed body so I got the vertical feed ULE body.
And also I dont like the single finger trigger frame so I bought the Intelliframe.
Strengths: Accurate
Pretty light with ULE body
Consistency
Weaknesses: A bit on the heavy side with stock body but can be fixed.
Review: The marker is very sexy and with the right upgrades you can get the rof up pretty high. My trigger pull is down to 1 mm and lesser than a pound witch is awesome for a mechanical marker. I can get close shot groupings from this marker and it has great consistency (I greatly recommend using compressed air as the marker runs way better with it)
Conclusion: Overal it's an awesome marker and I recommened buying it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kuby Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing........blow forward is different
Marker Setup: 2k3 autococker blue, orracle pnuematics kit, black magic reg, aka lightning bolt, crossfire 68ci 4500psi, blah blah blah
Recommended
Upgrades:
1)level 10 bolt
2)barrel boomstick all the way
3) y frame so comfy
4) with all of the above halo b

^with all that you might as well get a e or x mag
Strengths: Small small small, Easy to maintain, Durable
Weaknesses: Gas hog, Slightly heavy
Review: (not sure when it made but its realy old)

I lost my ball detent to my cocker so i borrowed my friends mag. I was very impressed.

Good stuff is so small. Wow. Half the size of my cocker easily. takes about 30 second to field strip. Has holes that say oil on them. This gun was bought used, the first owner was a paintball field. This gun was used for about 6 years there. Then a kid bought it from them and left it in his garage and let it rust over. Then my friend bought it 2 years later. Cleaned it up, shoots like new. doesnt get much more durable than that!

Bad stuff is gas hog. I got only 400 something shots out of my 48ci 3000psi (blowback gets 500). Not too heavy but when you carry it around you notice it.
Conclusion: Great gun will last you around 10 years before it dies.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 5th, 2004 at 9:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamSlayer76 Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 68 Automag Classic with Intellaframe and Ule Body LVL 10, 12vt Revi w/X board, Dye Excel 14'', Expansion Chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Intellafream, new barrel, X Vavle, Ule body, Electro hopper, drop foward, expansion chamber or Retro Valve.
Strengths: Accurate, medium trigger pull, extremly reliable, many upgrades. Locking barrels
Weaknesses: Heavy, shoots slow at first, need nirto, needs elbow with out body.
Review: This gun is sweeet with upgrades it looks awsome. Often I get "Hey is that the new shocker?" or "Nice shocker". But obviosly it isnt a shocker its better. It is very accurate with almost any barrel. The ULE body takes cocker threads but stock body is a locking barrel a AGD first. It is very fast with the XValve the fastest rechargin valve on the market.
Up to 26bps on a machine. The only problems that I had were that the valve could freeze over if you shoot more that 500 in a very short period of time (it needs a 3000psi tank or +}. Other than that it has minor things it cracks elbows easily with out the verticle feed on the ULE body.

BTW the design of the gun is 10 years old that proof that its a good marker.
Conclusion: This gun one for the pros used in the first Tournaments in the early 90's to today. TOP OF THE LINE.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 22nd, 2004 at 8:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mattdieter Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
- Micromag
basically the same gun
Marker Setup: 2001 autococker
- shocktech pnuematics
- ans bolt
- orr-acle valve
- dye slide frame
- cp one piece barrel

automag classic
- dye xcel barrel
- aci foregrip
- quick disconnect hoses

68/3000 aci tank
black and clear evolution 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
level 10
vertical adapter
foregrip
Strengths: small
sturdy design
accurate
good rate of fire
no recoil
Weaknesses: chops paint like no other
Review: If I bought a level 10 my mag would be much more fun to use; but as of now it really isn't my first choice. I understand that most of the chopping related problems are user related ( short stroking), but I just can't seem to get it to stop. When I do buy a level 10, this gun will definately be a contendor. This upgrade should be stock on all of the automags even if they do have to up the price. Besides the chopping problems it is a good gun, it is practically indestructable and feels super solid. The accuracy is good, and it has no recoil.
Conclusion: put in a level 10 and your set to go. Definately a gun worth investing in, if you have the money for upgrades
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kurama Saturday, June 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Several 'Cockers, and an Automag PF.
Marker Setup: '99 frame Autococker
Evolution bolt
Palmer Front-Kit
VL 12v Hopper
'Blade trigger-frame
3kpsi Nitroduck Compressed-Air tank
12 in. Smart-Parts Progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10
Drop forward (I have a good balance with it around 4in. forward)
'Cocker threaded Mainbody
Dye Stickies (or new trigger frame if you got $120 to spend)
Anything else AGD makes
Strengths: see descrip
Weaknesses: see descrip
Review: Pre-Field

I bought it pretty heavily used and poorly taken care of, but the rig costed me a lot less than new, so I went with it. I shot it a bit using compressed-air in my backyard, and it was inconsistant and inaccurate. Well, I took it apart, cleaned to the point where no germ could survive, and put it back together. I also tinkered with it a bit. I was very satisfied at the results, and I suggest cleaning its insides regularly. Don't loose any parts though!!!

The Field

I've taken it onto the field twice now. The first time I spent the entire 5 hours I was there on Recball. This was because I was getting used to it, seeing what problems were created and how to fix them. It chopped a lot without the level 10, but that can wait. It wasnt too accurate, and I found myself spraying because of it, but that was because my barrel was under 6 inches, threading included, and the paint match was bad.

The second time I came out with my problems solved. A 14in. Smart-Parts All-American barrel fixed the accuracy problem, aswell as new paint. I played 4 hours of Recball and 3 hours of speedball with 5 other friends. After they saw how much arse I was whipping with it, they all wanted to use it. After they were satisfied, we played speedball for a few hours. I was popping people left and right (even with a dirty barrel. Someone dropped a case of my paint and I had like 6 breaks from all the dimples, and no sink to clean it all in) and getting compliments for it. When letting people use my mag, I get to use their electros and such, which is truely a step backwards. They spent $250+ more, and they like my gun better.

While there are a lot of weaknesses listed, they are just inconveniences. The mag preforms stock definately!

Strengths

* My mag is deadly-accurate with a 14in. All-American and a good paint match
* You can crank a good bps with it stock, and with upgrading, its limited to your fingers
* Level 10 is a gift from god, I swear!
* AGD always makes new stuff for it
* Everyone but the newbies who think shiny-ness effects how you play compliments on it!

Weaknesses

* Chops paint like a beotch without Level10
* Stock trigger-frame sucks and its ugly. Either get Dye stickies for 15$, or get a Y-Frame/Intelli.
* Stock mainbody is very ugly. Try to polish it or buy a chrome one for like $120 ish.
* Mag threads are a real pain
* Goes through a lot of O-Rings. They're only like 15˘ but sort of annoying unless you buy them in bulk.
Conclusion: I have no regrets buying my 'Mag. I do find myself always tinkering with it, but its worth it. Most markers talk about how good they are; the 'Mag backs it up.

*edit* Now that ive used it more, I'm definately staying with AGD! I mean, because the 68 preforms so well (especially considering how old they are) I cant wait to see what a ULE RT custom can do from AGD! Now all I gotta do is save ;)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 25th, 2004 at 1:30 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

gametyrant06 Friday, June 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have a tippmann 98 custom but it is by no means the same gun
Marker Setup: 68 automag r/f
intelliframe (chrome)
DOP bullet drop (black)
evo 2 w/ y-board
12in AA (blue front, black back)
68/4500 n2
Recommended
Upgrades:
the one's in my marker setup, plus if you have the fat cash get a x-valve or Level 10 bolt
Strengths: decent stock valve, no noticeable shootdown, decent stock frame
Weaknesses: i have yet to see any
Review: An excellent marker if you want to step up from the one you started with. I used a tippmann 98 for a while it was good but it couldn't compare to the automag. this is definately a gun for those who aren't a big fan of the complex electronic guns. I like the simplicity and easy maintenace of the automag very much. Automags are also higly upgradeable and they can compete with any higher priced gun.
Conclusion: Like i said if you want to step up from you spyder or tippmann this is the gun you want good price, easy maintenace (keep it oiled) high upgradeability
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 12:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stealthgerbil Wednesday, June 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Icon Z
Marker Setup: Automag 68 Classic
Dye Xcel 14 inch
PMI perfect drop
Crossfire 68/3000 hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10 bolt
X-valve (comes with the lvl10)
Intelliframe
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Light recoil
Upgradable
Easy to take apart
Almost indestructable
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: I just got an Automag 68 classic, and its great. Its fast, accurate, and small. With the stock single trigger frame, I can pull 6BPS. Its small, so its hard to get gun hits. It is a little heavy though, but nothing severe. its cheap too, because you can find them used for 80-150, and new for $250. Its very easy to take apart. All you have to do is remove two screws and it comes apart. There are a ton of upgrades for it at AGD's wersite (Airgun.com). Its also nearly indestructable and if something goes wrong, al you have to do is replace a few o-rings.
Conclusion: Its a great . GO BUY ONE!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Automaglover Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used many guns over the years but no other airgun designs guns besides other automags want to use the E-mag or X-mag!!
Marker Setup: - Automag 68Classic
- Custom products pro two piece barrel
- KAPP foregrip
- ULE mainbody
- ANS bolt
- Shocktech drop forward
- Intelliframe double trigger frame
- Smart part grips
- 12v Revolution
- Crossfire nitro tanks 68ci and 88ci
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a barrel for it even if the one u get has a barrel on it cause chances are that the barrel sucks and also get a new bolt it helps alot i would shoot for the level 10 kit its a lot of money but it is worth it but if u are strapped for cash go with the ANS bolt or 32 degrees bolt they will help to stop chop balls too. Also i forgot i would get nitro for it because i seen a person that ran C02 on there mag and it shot horrible i tried it on my gun and the ball went like 20 feet then i went and got nitro and my mag shot wonderful nitro on mags makes all the diffrence.
Strengths: - fast shooting gun
- Most upgradeable gun on the market
- Chops balls rarely
Weaknesses: None!!!!
Review: I give this gun a 10 because i have used many nice guns and could have gotten them but i chose this gun because i used it before and it is a perfromence gun i loved the way it shot it was great and i fell in love with this gun after i shot it and new i had to own one myself and my spyder was craping out on me anyways so all in all this gun is great tons of up grades from your major paintball manufactures and is a fast and strong gun if you are looking for a new gun and dont know what to get this is the gun for you it is great in every kind paintball speedball, rec etc. So get this gun and jus enjoy the sport of paintball!!
Conclusion: I recommend you get a barrel upgrade and a fore grip or gas threw grip also if u are chopping balls alot you should go for a new bolt or the level 10 kit that is guarnteed not to break a single ball in the gun but will break on the other player when u waste them with ur great gun!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 29th, 2004 at 8:45 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media