paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Twister Barrel / Empire Twister Barrel / Empire Twister Barrel

Empire Twister Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Twister Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Twister Barrel
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 132
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Barrel produced by Empire Paintball. It is internally rifled to produce more of a predictable trajectory shot after shot. Made from polished 6061 composite g-aluminum. Comes in lengths of either 12",14", or 16".
Product Availability 
The Empire Twister Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
andrewfondy Thursday, June 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
teardrop
carbon fiber
boomstick
Marker Setup: dragun "THE ONE"(very fast)
68/4500 worr gas(very good)
twister barrel(accurate)
torpedo reg.(great)
timmy bolt(very good)
veiwloader envy(fastest hopper EVER)
Recommended
Paintballs:
hellfire
crusifire
Strengths: accurate doesent break balls rifled
Weaknesses: non that ive found
Review: sleek barrel looks nice and performs better the tribal graphics on it really give is an original look i have shot many balls through this barrel and i havent broken any this is atrue sniper barrel. id have to say its right about the best abrrel ive ever used. i have had a very lot of barrels bc im a sniper and i have tried every barrel made (literally)and before this the best barrel i hade used was a smart parts teardrop. but when i got my twiser it changed everthing. i bought a 14 inch and i couldnt be any more happy with it this barrel rocks
Conclusion: very goor must have for a sniper
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sarcastic489 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter Java Edition, 14" Empire Twister Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Hollywood Sport House Paint, anything that isn't extremely cheap
Strengths: Looks cool, accurate, the rifling is so much fun to look at, price
Weaknesses: Slight drift to the right over very long distances
Review: This barrel is worth it. It doesn't cost that much, the rifling is fun to look at. You can stare at it all day. The barrel looks cool, and is pretty damn accurate. There was the slight drift to the right, but it wasn't that much. So if you're not going to be lobbing paint all the way across the field, then it doesn't matter. I walk onto paintball fields and hear people talking about how cool my barrel looks. The only bad thing that I have to say about it is that if you break paint in it, which isn't too often, then your paintballs fly in a really weird corkscrew pattern. But as soon as you squeegee it out, it's fine. And, contrary to popular belief, it isn't hard to clean the grooves in the barrel. They're so slight that it makes it more accurate, but it doesn't trap broken paint. One pass of the squeegee is all I need to get my barrel perfectly clean. It's a trippy barrel. Get it.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel. You won't regret it. It's accurate and it looks awesome. What more could you want?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004 at 10:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Timpanaro Thursday, May 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
bunch of stock barrels from multiple spyders.
Marker Setup: I runnin a Totally Custom Spyder Imagine-TL-plus (message for details)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Comp edge (pretty decent)
Strengths: Consistancy, and short range
Weaknesses: long range (more than 60 or so feet) ball curve
( a consistant one )
Review: I had recently put some money in my gun for upgrades, as doing so i heard from a reliable source that this barrel was the "way to go." So having an extra 70 hidden away i purchased it. I am running a custom imagine, i have a 6 stage expansion chamber, bored out volumizer (custom), after-market rear-cocking bolt from a TL-plus. Oh ya i got that stock esp handle too. Any ways i had read the reviews the very same you probably have read and thought i was set. Carrying out my testing i had shot in my back yard a distance of say 15 feet: excellent accuracy very-minimal curve. Then proceeded to the next distance at about 25-30 feet: also very good still minimal curve and awesome consistency. My final test was my fence >:-), and that is approximately 60 feet from my door: at this distance ( a key distance in most speed ball scenario's, ones im likely to be in) a curve showed but as i have read in reviews prior, a consistent curve, so a minor adjustment an your unstoppable.

Distances over cay 70 feet i believe are out of any barrel of under 18 in length's abilities including this one (any barrel but the ultimately accurate , ultimately SLOW flatline). Great Barrel otherwise.

My barrel of Choice.
Conclusion: Great Barrel for speedball and short to mid range play.

9 out of 10 only because a 10 in my eyes is the perfect barrel, and though this one comes close, i have yet to find it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beserk Tuesday, May 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used a 32 degrees and it doesn't compare to it at all it is way better then a ice cold
Marker Setup: i have a tippmann 98 custom with 16 inch empire twister and a rt trigger and a stock and a remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paintball will do except the cheaper kind
Strengths: great accuracy and its rifled
Weaknesses: ithuoght there were no weaknesses at all
Review: i think you should get this barrel cuz it is very quite from some others and it is very accurate and nice logo and it is worth the money that you will spend on it my hole team has one they all think it is great. and it is a great barrel for people that like to snipe or just like to shoot at people from aways
Conclusion: buy it cuz it is cheap for how good it is
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MarkmanA5 Friday, May 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: EXT Pro G3, Twister barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
NOT WORR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! most any other though
Strengths: accurate, cool, not extremely expensive
Weaknesses: doenst shoot worr
Review: I think this barrel is a good barrel. I went paintballin a while ago with it and seriously broke like 50 out of 2000 paintballs. I have yet to find out if it was the barrel the bolt or the paint, I hope it isnt the barrel I cant get money back for it if it is the barrel, but I dont think it is. For one my bolt really stinks and the paint was bad also. Also it was a little wet that day and I wonder if water may have gotten in there. I dont know how it did, because i always reloaded in the tents and never opend my hopper to the rain unless I was covering it????
Conclusion: A good product, Ill get back to you on if it was the paint, or the barrel, but I think it was the bolt
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rod Pole Monday, May 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
J & J ceramic - quieter, shoots through breaks better, but overall not as good
Lapco BigShot - louder, shoots through breaks better, but overall not as good
Stock barrels on various guns
Marker Setup: Dragun TES with 16" Empire Twister barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Every paintball I've tried rolled through the barrel when doing the size test. The closest fit I found so far was with Evil paintballs, but every paintball seemed to work pretty consistently (probably due to the rifling).

Edit: I just recently tried some Marballizers, which I didn't try sooner because I was told they are small bore, and they are an almost perfect fit for this barrel. I don't know how people could think Marballizers are small bore because these things are HUGE, the biggest paintballs I've ever used. But yeah, it figures that the best paintballs for this barrel also happen to be the most expensive ones around. Well worth it, though.
Strengths: Rifling makes it more consistent
Looks really cool on my TES
Weaknesses: A real pain to clean if you break a ball.
Review: The Empire Twister barrel does exactly what it claims to do: increase consistency. This barrel does not make your balls fly farther or straighter, but even so, it DOES increase accuracy. How's that, you might ask? Basically, your paintball will fly in relatively the same path as the ball you shot before it flew. Normally, when you shoot a paintball through any other barrel, the paintball will begin to curve after a certain distance. The distance and amount of curve differs with each barrel, but the fact that it DOES curve remains true. The problem is that it doesn't always curve in the same direction from one shot to the next. It'll curve up and to the left on one shot and then the next shot curves slightly to the right. This makes your shots less accurate after a certain distance. I mean, pretty much every barrel will shoot the same for the first 20 feet, right?

The rifling in this barrel alleviates some (if not all) of this problem. This barrel makes every shot curve to the right after awhile. It shoots mostly straight, but near the end of its flight path, it will curve to the right a little. The severity of the curve depends mainly on the velocity of your marker and the paintball size. It may seem bad that this barrel will most likely make everyone who uses it's shots curve, but the fact that it curves the same each time is FANTASTIC. It's alot easier to use your balls as tracer fire when tracking a target when you know where your shots are going to end up. You know that if you shoot at something 100 feet away and your shot misses to the left, all you need to do is redirect your aim a little to the right. With most other barrels, you could aim at the same spot and miss in each direction, mainly because that's the nature of a paintball. It's basically the same concept the flatline uses: put spin on the ball to make each ball fly the same. The flatline puts backspin on the ball to keep it in the air longer and ultimately increase it's range and accuracy. You can't get a flatline for spyders, however, so this is your best bet. (Well technically, you could put a flatline on any other gun if you're mechanically inclined, but Joe Average can't so we'll just leave it at that.) I know I may seem a little long-winded when explaining this, but I just want to make sure everyone understands the full benefit of this barrel.

Anyways, the only bad thing about this barrel is that it's hard to get all the paint out of the porting with just a squeegee because the rifling creates an uneven surface. You need to run water through it and dry-fire it a few times to really get it back in shape. Also, my dad has a Piranha E-Force SRT and this barrel and his gun just don't seem to agree. I let him try it out a few times and it busted balls like crazy. He was firing full auto, so I don't know if that affected it or not (and yes, he has an agitated hopper). My TES isn't full auto, but you can fire it fast enough to make people think it is, and I haven't broken any balls yet. I guess the world may never know.
Conclusion: I'm sure that this is not THE BEST paintball barrel you're ever going to find, but it's pretty close to the top of the list right now. Every barrel could be quieter or shoot straighter, and this is no exception. This barrel does, however, greatly increase the consistency or your paintballs flight path. It makes your paintball marker fire a little more like a real gun, and that's great. I'd definately recommend this barrel to anyone looking to upgrade from a stock barrel or someone unhappy with the consistency of their current barrel.

This barrel deserves a 9.4 or so since it could be quieter and easier to clean. No barrel available today that I've ever seen deserves a 10, so take that into consideration when you read this.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 10th, 2004 at 11:32 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Elevation7 Monday, May 3rd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: PMI E-Force Auto, 20 OZ Pure Energy.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS
Strengths: None, looks cool
Weaknesses: Everything.
Review: A guy I play with bought this barrel for his 98 Custom, and I for my gun. We both HATE IT.

DO NOT BUY IT! It sucks! It's a waste of money and it doesn't do anything to help you. It's a gimmick. Rifle barreling doesn't work for paintballs. What rifling does is supposed to put a backspin on the barrel. It works for solid objects, like a bullet, but paintballs are liquid filled, so, the center of gravity constantly changes. I was unimpressed by all the people who give this barrel such great reviews. Both the 98 Custom guy and myself who played with the barrel hated it.

It sucked so much I didn't move my gun after firing it on a tree about 20 yards away from my position. Out of 10 shots I probably hit the tree twice, while paint went all around the tree.

We even tried adjusting the velocity and it didn't do a damn thing to make it better.

It's also loud! Which sucks/
Conclusion: STAY AWAY FROM THIS BARREL! Buy a teardrop, all-american or something better. This barrel sucks. I can't believe I wasted $65 on a barrel to find my stock barrel on my gun worked better/
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Noc Saturday, April 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees nytestick, smart parts 2002 All american barrel, J&J ceramic
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom: 16" Empire Twister barrel, Hyperstar bolt, expansion chamber, collapsable stock, Red dot scope, 50 rd. hopper, and 9 oz. tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Midnights, Draxxus Heat, Draxxus Dusk (Draxxus paintball are great) Do not use PMI Bigball , PMI Premiums, or Viewloader Eyeballz for this barrel
Strengths: Accuracy, very quiet, 1 piece construction, and looks
Weaknesses: Have to loosen top screw a little to screw barrel in
Review: I am new to the sport of paintball but I did my homework before purchasing a barrel, and I am very satisfied with this one. Supposedly big bore paintballs were the best for this barrel, but that is not true a medium bore ball is actually the best Draxxus Midnights have worked the best so far for me and Draxxus Heats are great too. Great sniping barrel.
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lspeaks Sunday, April 18th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
i have used my friends smart parts teardrop and seen other barrels compared to mine.
Marker Setup: pretty much stock except for the new barrel and empire revvy.
Recommended
Paintballs:
i have tried several paints with my barrel and found that ans house paint worked pretty well. i also used point blank, which sucks, and anarchy all dropped a bit except house paint which went the farthest and straightest out of them all. I used some big ball when i first got my barrel and that also worked well, but i didn't shoot as fast then.
Strengths: not much more accuracy with rifelling

Weaknesses: rips through brittle paint
spirall is basically pointless
no more distance or accuracy
Review: i got the barrel and was very impressed, at first, i tested it in my garage and it shot fine. i took it to the field that weekend and was sorely disapointed. id run up and try to through some paint out on the field, when all of a sudden globbs of paint would spew out. it was like that all day. i would be 15 feet away from a guy and shoot at him 10 20 times before a ball would come out. average i would say every 15 shots id get half or less out. I thought to try it one more time so i took it out another weekend. i was using the same paint as before but just a week older. that day i didn't chop once. i don't know if the paint shell hardened or what but i was shooting clean. performance was only on the okay side though. as i procede to use different paints i find that hard shell paint works better. its okay but if i had done it different i would have just gotten a teardrop.
Conclusion: get an non riffeled barrel, there is no point in it, and eliminates any chance of ever using high end paint. get something else.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

ripper522 Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icon stock, ACI Zero G
Marker Setup: IconE
Empire Reloader
Empire Twister 12'
Air Ameica Vigilante Reg
Strengths: Price
Accuracy
Price
Shot sound
Did I mention price
Weaknesses: Kinda hefty
Review: Wow what a barrel. This thing rocks. First of all it is a great deal for what I paid for it. I think I paid more for my ACI Zero G barrel a few years ago then I did for this. The rifling makes the shots accurate as hell at a mid distance and makes em sound quiet and cool at the same time. I was putting together close shot groups of 5 or so shots like it was nobodies business. Great for speedball, cant wait to get back outdoors to check it out in the woods. Shorter than my ACI and quite a bit heavier too but nothing major. Still use the ACI on my backup gun. The logo is pretty cool too but it shows off at a weird angle on my gun, no big woop. Havent had any breaks with it yet so not sure how its gonna be to clean in the field.
Addition: Had a chance to use it outside, still a great barrel. Had better accuracy at long ranges with my ACI though. Still love the thing.
Conclusion: Screw everything else you need to get this barrel if you are on a budget, and lets face most of us are. Top notch for accuracy and shot grouping. Perfect first upgrade to any mid level gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 25th, 2004 at 1:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media