paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proflex Mask / JT Proflex Mask / JT Proflex Mask

JT Proflex Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proflex Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proflex Mask
[ View Photos (42) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A pro's choice from the start, this new system incorporates the world's best selling goggle; the Spectra™ with our world-famous soft ear protection. The state-of-the-art Pro-Flex® mask provides superior face protection using JT®'s unique insert molding technology. This gives the player a rigid upper mask for ultimate protection with a soft lower to conform and move. Add the 7visor®: and our infamous thermal lens and you've got a winning combo. Performance, comfort and versatility - now available in all the hottest colors to make sure your team looks as good as it plays.
Product Availability 
The JT Proflex Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Feed Kill Chain Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proshield - Same lense, but the Proflex is more comfortable and has better ventilation, JT Spectra - Years and years ago, cant even remember if they had multiple Spectra models back then or if it was just the Spectra.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tippmann Double Trigger
TechT Vortex Mod
TechT Lightening Rod
TechT Squishy Paddles
TechT QEPH Mod
Shocktech Drop Foward
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Polished Internals
Palmers Pursuit Male Stabalizer (With Gauge)
Palmers Pursuit 12" Barrel
Single Spiral Porting Option
Polished Black Finish
.690 Bore Size
Ball Dent Option
Strengths: Comfort, Ventilation, Excellent fog resistance, Looks, Softer material promotes bounces, Large assortment of accessories.
Weaknesses: Cheap ear foam protection. Getting goggles out of surround.
Review: I paintballed alot when I was a kid, getting back into it now as a adult I remebered how important a good mask was and it was my first purchase. I wanted a mask that was comfortable and had excellent fog resistance and I found everything I wanted in the JT Proflex.

This is a excellent mask well constructed and very sharp looking, its also not that popular and you dont see many of them at the field helping to give you a different look. This mask has a old school look to it, it dosnt make you look like a martian or buck rodgers like some of the newer masks do.

The Spectra goggle system is excellent, when paired with the wonderful venting in the Proflex, mask fogging is a thing of the past. Im a big guy and when I run around on the field I get very hot, my goggles constantly get steamy and sweaty but these rarely fog, in a couple high humidity scenarios I experienced the slightest amount of fog I simply popped my fan on for literally ten seconds and the goggles got 100% clear and stayed that way. Im not sure any mask is 100% resistance to fog, but these come very close. Another benefit of the mask is voice projection, this mask dosnt give you the annoying echo inside that some masks do and enables you to yell loud and clear to your team mates without giving you that in mask disorienting sound of your own voice feeling. I have seen more ref's wearing the proflex than anybody else probably due to this feature. The mask also covers the face well and does a great job of protecting chin / lower cheek area, Ive tried on some Events and my chin stuck out (Double chin im kinda big :() and it didnt exactly cover my lower cheek area to well. The softer material on the lower part of the mask (Cheek / Chin Guard) is a very flexible plastic that has deflected a couple balls for me which is a great plus. Its not going to make you invincible but the occasional bounce off the face denying a opponet a headshot is priceless. I just need to reiterate this point also, this mask is so comfortable and and the ventilation so excellent that between games I often end up leaving my mask on forgetting sometimes its even on, its so light the mask seems to float around your face, and you really have to wear this goggle system to understand what I mean.

Now for the bad as no product is perfect... I have two complaints with this mask and one is barely a complaint... My main complaint is the foam ear covers that are only attached to the mask by a screw / rivet and have a slot that the head band runs threw. My right foam ear guard tore off the rivet attaching it to the mask, so now its just sitting on the head band, its no big deal but the rest of the mask being so wonderful and solid with quality construction it kind of makes this stand out as being extra cheap. My other complaint (Which isnt even really a complaint but I think people should know what they are getting into) is that when you are taking the mask apart getting the lense out of the lense surround the first few times can be a real pain, it took me a couple breakdowns to get it to the point where I dont have to tear my fingers apart to get the lenses out. Its probably a good thing that its so tight, but just be aware of this, its not something I would recommend for a younger player 10-13 as it can be really hard and frustrating.
Conclusion: This is a excellent mask if you want quality and comfort in a good looking product, aside the small problem of the cheezy ear foam protection this mask is a top of the line product and you wont regret the purchase. I will give this product a 9 and if it wasnt for the ear foam it would easily get a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 17th, 2008 at 1:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mattalorian Thursday, February 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra nForcer, and many other JT masks.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine (useful)
16 inch barrel (useful)
Custom Sling (useful)
Scope (useless)
Strengths: Ventilation
Fog resistance
Weight
Comfort
Weaknesses: Ear protection.
In my opinion, looks sort of ugly.
Lens removal can be difficult.
Review: Ventilation:
Very ventilated. You can wear it in extreme heat, and you still won't get hot like when wearing some other masks.

Fog resistance:
One of the main reasons I bought the mask. It has great thermal lens. It definately will not fog on you. I believe fog resistance is one of the most important features a paintballer can have in his gear. If you can't see, then you are basically eliminated from the game.

Weight:
It is definately not as heavy as some other masks.

Comfort:
One of the best features in the product. I can wear the mask all day, and never need to take it off between games. It's that comfortable.

Protection:
In my opinion, it does lack protection in the ears.
Conclusion: I have no doubt that this is the best mask on the market. With extreme comfort, great thermal lens, and superb ventilation, I believe it well deserves a 10/10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 25th, 2008 at 4:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Speedy16 Thursday, February 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT Elite nVADER
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
14in J&J
Evlution hopper II hopper with X bord
Dye Drop
20 oz tank
Strengths: Light wight
good Field of Vision
very very comfortable
never fogs
Weaknesses: Ear protection
Review: Love this mask cant even tell it is there. It never fogs and u get some bounces off the lower part of the mask. The foam is very soft compared to the crudy Elite nVADER. The chin strap it hard to put togother. It is not needed thought so i cut it off.
Cheeper than most other masks in is class.
Conclusion: Best mask ever!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb.for.life Saturday, January 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision
Marker Setup: Invert MIni-
Halo b w/ V35 and Rip drive
Crossfire 68/4500 Tank
Strengths: Bounces
Light
Lenses
View
Foam Padding
Weaknesses: Bounces Hurt
Lenses are to Change
Review: These goggles are great! They have probably the best field of vision of any on the market. They main body of the mask is a flexible plastic and you get alot of bounces. The only thing is the bounces hurt like hell. The lenses are the standard spectra lenses and have a great field of view. But they are a b*tch to change. I love my blue mirrored lenses. It also doesnt fog up.
Conclusion: This mask is probably the best out there by it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyenasty27 Sunday, January 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: ion,empireb,dxs45/45.
Strengths: The flexable lower grill, the pure sexiness of it. The thermal lense.
Weaknesses: Lense removal. Thats it.
Review: Well i got this mask for christmas. I got red. Right away i cut off the chin strap. For me it wouldnt do anything. But this mask is awesome, i exspecially like the soft ears and lower grill and the customizable aspect of it. I cant wait to get out on the field to use it.
Conclusion: I give this product a 8 because for the lenses.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

edudcixlsyd Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Profiler
Grillz
I3 Pro
Vantage
Marker Setup: PM6
Lucky board and Predator Chip
Halo
ANS 68/4500
Strengths: Soft
Flexible
Weaknesses: Taking it apart
Review: This is a great mask. Good field of visions, comfortable, you can customize it to look how you want, and works good. It is hard to take it apart. Not as hard as Dye masks but not as easy as Vforce masks. I've heard that if you get hit in the face the bottoms slap you in the face but that's never happened to me.
Conclusion: Good but a little hard to maintain
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phantom199 Sunday, December 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crappy low-end masks and rentals. Tried out a couple Vents.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
adjustable stock
flatline barrel
remote line
Strengths: NEVER fogs, bounces paintballs, lens cleans easily, comfortable
Weaknesses: Kinda ugly (in my opinion)
Review: I went to my local field yesterday while it was raining. I tried my usual mask, my backup, the field owner's Vents mask, and a rental, each fogging up at very untimely points in the game. I broke down and purchased this used Proflex from one of my friends for $20 and was very impressed.

At first I was a little sceptical because it looked kinda ugly unlike those sweet looking Dye and Vents masks. But looks are worth a crap when you're hunkered down in a pit of leaves and mud with balls flying over your head and can barely see your own hands.

Played for the rest of the day while it was raining and had NO problems. Not fogging is the most important attribute, but I noticed a few other handy qualities about this mask. It is super comfortable because most of the mask is flexible rubber or foam. Your voice carries very well through the mouthpiece and doesn't restrict breathing. I'm a very mobile player. I'll run a mile if I need to to run up the enemy's but, so it's a very good thing when you're not breathing the old hot air coming out of your mouth straight into your mask. It's really well ventilated so you don't have to breath out the bottom of the mask to keep warm air from getting all around your eyes.

Another handy thing is how easily balls bounce off the chin area. I got ambushed once when a guy with a pump gun popped me one smack in the chin. Ball bounced right off and it was a pleasure to light my shocked assailant the freak up.
Conclusion: Awesome product if you don't care about looks(or if you like the look). Super comfortable, breathable, and NEVER fogs. I prefere it to most higher-end masks I've tried.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cmaroni Saturday, September 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Crappy straps attached
Review: these things are f***** sick if you trade out stuff with other people. you can start with a plain mask and turn it into a lady killer. this is one of the better JT designs out there. dont go with the Flex 8's. they have a very rigid bottom rather than one that not only looks better but functions better too.
Conclusion: Buy it and trade parts you dont like
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballPewPew Thursday, August 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-force Profiler
Empire E-vent
V-force Grill
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse Ego 06
Critical Trigger
Cure Bolt
Maniac Reg
Ti-Rammer
Tadao M7 Board
SL 2 piece barrel
Strengths: Never fogs
Comfortable
Bounce
Weaknesses: Not tight fitting
Hard to switch lenses
Review: I initially bought this JT Proflex but i borrowed other notable masks out there.

USE:

I thought this was a great mask. Overall comfortability is great, lenses are great(non fog, if there was fog it would clear up within a second), and the bounce factor is high. So far i only got ~8 out of possibly 30 shots to the mask part(does not include the upper goggle part) that actually broke. The goggle part was big enough to allow me to check the whole field instead of the evil tunnel vision that rental masks give. The rubber on the strap gave a nice secureness(but most masks have this feature). This mask will cover most things that other masks will not. It is quite large which was a bad thing because paintballs will clip your mask on the edge resulting in a break. Getting the lenses out was a hard feat. I came out of this with throbbing fingers so not the greatest mask to switch in the world. You will be able to use glasses with this mask with its cut in part on the edges.

Comparison to masks (stated above in similar products):

I say the vforce and empire masks have one thing in common. They are very tight and reduces the amount of target area your opponent can shoot. One thing they sacrifice for this is the ability to cover more of the face.
The profiler and e-vents aren't the greatest bouncers except for the grill which can bounce quite decently.
The 3 masks (profiler, grill, e-vent) have better vision than the proflex. The two v-force masks have rounded lenses which in my opinion give more area of vision without sacrificing for lense size. E-vent lenses are quite large (one can see it quite easily) but they still give good vision.

VALUE WISE:

V-force Profiler: Good price for the hard core players who need a good mask but don't have the cash to pay for the edge. I say this would be a step above the rental mask category. Price is quite close to the other masks but still the profiler is a good price to quality ratio.

V-force Grill: I say these are expensive masks for what you get from them but still, it doesn't hurt to look agg (good) while having an awesome mask. To me this is like a Proflex and a profiler that had babies with an awesome make-over on the design. But like the Profiler, you only get the mask, a bag, and a visor.

Empire E-vent: These are the best mask packages that you can get for your buck. 2 lenses, a bag, and the mask (of course) is wayyy over its retail price. Right now its hard to get these because of the period when empire will stop production and getting ready for the next year but still these are awesome xD.

JT Proflex: The most notable and pro used masks in the world. Almost the same price as the profiler. Like any other products in the world: High usage by pros and Brand Name bring trust. If you are run by this theory you can buy it but always remember...Its better to try than to be a lemming and buy it for the heck of it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this for many players but remember to keep the chin strap (i didn't and now i regret it). Tighten it and it will make your mask skinnier but don't use it for the chin or else you are never going to be able to talk. -1 for large area
-0.5 for lense area vision
and if you really care -0.5 for aesthetics

FINAL SCORE: 9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XSVFAN890 Friday, June 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro A.C.T.
APE Rampage Pro-E Magnetic Trigger
APE Rampage Board
Tippmann 16" Sniper Barrel
Strengths: Strong
Light
Looks cool
NO FOG
Weaknesses: Visor might be kinda weak.
Review: I got this as a replacment for the mask that came with an older gun. I was worried when I saw the mask after it came b/c it was so light. I put it on, tightened the straps, and was amazed that it was so tight. It did not move at all. Any way, I took it out and played. First shot of the day, right in the visor. The part that holds the visor up in the center broke. I wasn't mad though b/c it was a direct shot to piece. I got hit in the mask several other times and not one paintball has broke on it.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this product b/c it's light, strong, anti-fog, and looks really cool. Oh, and the thin ear pieces work really good. I also got hit there and it wasn't bad at all. I give it a 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media