paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip

Tippmann E-Grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann E-Grip

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann E-Grip
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Introducing the All New E-Grip, Electronic Grip System. The E-Grip system uses an electronic control board to activate a solenoid. When activated, the solenoid disengages the sear, which in turn fires the marker. The System is powered by a concealed 9 Volt Battery. All electronic components are completely contained inside the grip, which allows you to quickly and easily change grips.

Fire Modes:
Semi-Auto: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull.
Auto-Response: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull or release.
Full Auto: Fires Repeatedly as long as the trigger is held.
3 Shot Burst: Fires 3 Shots for each trigger pull.
Turbo: Fires 1 shot for every trigger pull, fires 1 shot for every trigger pull or release if the time between trigger pulls is less than .25 seconds.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann E-Grip is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
SCAP Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5, E-Grip, R5 Ricoche, Bullit Drop Forward, 20 oz co2, whisper barrel
Strengths: -It has full auto!
-Great for lightning up the trigger
-adds no weight
Weaknesses: -If too much condensation builds up then it breaks
Review: I thought this upgrade for the A-5 was not really that neccesary , but it is fun as heck to go full auto on a group of people! But the thing that i found was bad about it is that if any water gets to it then it breaks. And the installation is really easy!
Conclusion: In conclusion, if you dont have 120 bucks then dont buy it. But if you do, then buy it. Duh! The fun Factor is great!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

funbob Thursday, January 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Response trigger
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with egrip, flatline, lapco aluminum foregrip, stainless screw set. 114/4500 tank with Centerflag Hyperflow, Kapp DZ3 cradle.
Strengths: Firing modes, reliable, ease of installation
Weaknesses: Bounce, so-so battery life, the adjustment pots are cheap plastic
Review: I bought the egrip after getting annoyed with the tempermental nature of the response trigger and the frequent tuning it requires. I wanted a simpler solution that I could just throw in and have it work without worrying about adjustments and constant tinkering.

Installation is a snap. Some disassembly was required to remove all the response trigger components. But thus is esentially a drop in mod. The only noticable features identifying it as an egrip are two small holes to adjust firing modes and ROF. A small metal screwdriver is conveniently provided for this purpose. This is also one of the weaknesses it has. The adjustment scews are plastic and have a very delicate feel to them. While I haven't damaged one yet, it feels like it would be very easy to do so. Tippmann should really have made the adjustment scews out of metal. It just goes against the usual Tippmann durability.

The only other problem is that with anything other than a firm trigger pull, the recoil will generate bounce. I don't know if this can be attenuated with something like a JCS trigger or maybe even an LPK to reduce recoil but it is present and is somewhat annoying. I really would have liked to see the addition of some filtering to eliminate this problem.

Battery life is decent but not great. A quality 9v battery will last through a case of paint but it is definately advisable to have a spare handy. Changing the battery is not difficult but pay attention to make sure you run the wires properly or else they rub against moving parts.
Conclusion: A worthy upgrade to increase your firepower. In spite of the minor problems, I wouldn't go back to the response trigger.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a-5baller Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
electra dx
Marker Setup: a-5 with bt m16 barrel,car stock,fixed sight rail,e-grip
Strengths: ROF,differnt modes to choose from
Weaknesses: Cost,mode selector,weather resistance
Review: The a-5 e-grip is probably one of the best upgrades for it. It gives u a high rof and many burst modes to choose from and trigger pull is much lighter than stock. Probably the only bad weekness is the mode selector and u cant really change the modes dueing a game the mode selector is a little plastic screw that switches the modes when turned and because it is plastic it can get stripped very easily and when it becomes stripped bad enough the e-grip becomes usless because that is how u turn it on and if u cant turn it on u cant use it and becomes a big waste of money but i dont know if there is a way to fix it if this happens. tippmann should make a thumb selector it would be much more easier.
Conclusion: Overall it is a very good upgrade for the a-5 and highly is recomended
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sk8punknate69 Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Auto-cocker. they are both great on full auto.
Marker Setup: i have an A-5 w/ the e-grip and a 32 degrees 14" barrel.
Strengths: Very Good at scaring ur friends and other teams
Weaknesses: Takes too long to change modes
Review: BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!! If u are smart u will. If u buy the e-grip..make sure u get a barrel no less than 14" or you wont have a lot of accuracy. I was at Boston Paintball yesterday and i had 3-shot burst of nd i hit some kid in the face with all three shots because of how fast the balls come out. Its the best part i have ever used. My gun setup is insane because of how i use it. I am usually a back or middle player so i can cover my teammates who move up. I use the e-grip to scare the other team into staying behind the bunker so my team moves up quicker and easier. SO IF U HAVE A BRAIN..USE IT AND BUY THE FRIGIN E-GRIP ALREADY!!
Conclusion: All i have to say is it is an 11out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evalha07 Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various
Marker Setup: Tippman A5 with Flatline, Tactical Harness, 32 Degrees Xpansion Chamber, E-grip.
Strengths: SPEED, SPEED, easy to install, SPEED
Weaknesses: Hard to change settings. Near impossible to change settings during play. Weatherproof?
Review: I got this baby slightly used on ebay for $98 with a double trigger included, which I later sold for $12. I just don't believe in double triggers...anyway, I was very careful installing it to make sure everything was right, and it only took about 10 minutes. The key to getting the push pins back in is starting them at an angle to get the metal pin part in first. Whew! That was easy.

BTW, I have heard people mention the weight of the e grip. It is only slightly heavier than the normal grip, and actually serves to balance the marker.

I had tried to imagine what my a-5 would sound like on full auto, so I took it down in the basement with my wife and started shooting at a box. WHOOOOOP! There goes about 20 rounds!! My wife and I just looked at each other...it was kind of scary...seriously, I would not want to be on the delivery end of this marker. Seeing and hearing it in action was shocking.3 round burst may be even faster than full auto, you can't really hear 3 distinct noises, it is just one slightly longer noise.

A week or so later, I tried it outside. With my flatline, at 40-50 yards I was putting 2 or 3 out of 3 shots on a tree every time with 3 round burst. Turbo mode is darn cool, I am not sure if it is faster than full auto, but it is more controllable. The faster you pull, the faster it shoots; if you want one or two shots to keep someone's head down, no problem. If you want more, just pull faster and it starts shooting VERY fast real quick. Full auto is full-insanity all the time, it is very hard to fire just one or two shots. Also, at 2 cents or more a shot, a quarter or two flies out of your barrel every second or so...
I haven't tested it extensively yet, but the feeder seems to have no problem keeping up with full auto. I haven't tried to time the BPS yet on any mode. I have heard anywhere from 13-25 per second. From what I have seen, I would say it is 15-20. I will test that later and update this review. Also I will report on the performance of this wonderful item in combat. I don't know if it is weather durable yet, I doubt it. They could have built in a small gasket.

What I did NOT like:
The dials with which you adjust the mode and speed are TINY! I mean the number are smaller than a 16th of an inch, and they are recessed so far into the grip that you may never notice them!! The dials can only be adjusted with a scredriver, which is metal and the dials are plastic....bad combination!! Also I don't want to carry the needle thin screwdriver around when I am playing or else it may puncture something on my body!!

If that wasn't bad enough, the dials are under your middle and ring fingers, so you have to hold the gun up to get at them, they should have been on the back of the grip on your palm.......NO for $100 there should have been a selector switch like a real MP-5 has!!!!!!! This is the only drawback to the grip, but Tippman really dropped the ball on this one. The adjustment dials are a JOKE. Near impossible to change during a game. No doubt you could modify them, but you shouldn't have to.
Conclusion: FAST!! This upgrade combined with a Flatline make the A-5 able to run with ANY marker out there. Not cheap, but worth it...about the same price as any other electronic grip. Performance is superb!! But the design is flawed. The adjustment dials are just plain ignorant. I expect more from a 100 dollar product. Be prepared to buy more paint!! Get ready to TOTALLY PILLAGE your friends!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 27th, 2004 at 10:56 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

DethWshBkr Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Response trigger on my old 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5- E-Grip - J&J 14" ceramic / Tippmann Flatline - JCS Double trigger, Crossfire 65/4500 carbon HPA Tank w/remote line. Tombstone adaptor removed - remote line plugged directly into tombstone.
Strengths: Allows very VERY light trigger pulls, allows very fast firing.
Weaknesses: Batteries required.
Review: This thing is nice. It allows the gun to have a VERY light pull. IF you spend the coin on the e-grip, spend the extra money and get the JCS trigger. If you do this, you will be able to easily walk the A5 up to it's maximum ROF. I am a new player, and I can max out my A5 easily with the e-grip and the JCS. (This is on SEMI-AUTO mode, NOT turbo or response).

The e-grip makes the A5 feel less clunky (not that the A5 is clunky, it just doesn't feel as mechanical, as it isn't).

THe one thing I found so far with the E-grip, is it does use batteries "fairly" fast. I would always keep a spare in your car, and if you can, ON YOU. If you do run out of battery on the field, you can replace it in VERY short order. (In woodsball, you could probably replace it and not miss much).

The only issue I have had, is sometimes I "double fire". On the trigger pull, it fires two shots, instead of one. This COULD be the JCS setup, but I don't beleive so. It's not a big deal, but just be aware of it.
Conclusion: I really love the e-grip. Everyone always asks me if I have a reponse trigger, as I am firing so fast. Nope. Just a great grip with nice, light pull that makes the gun feel alot more potent. It is expensive yes, but it is very nice. Much nicer than the response trigger.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Delta Joker Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tried an R-T
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
-E-Grip
-Sniper Solid Stock
-Flatline
-Remote... (used sometimes)
-Opsgear PDW Stock (Broken)
-Sureshot sight (rarely used)

Zues G2
-Quick Cap
Strengths: AMAZING, Shots fast, great settings
Weaknesses: Runs on bateries.. i.e. electric Some fields don't allow E-Grips
Review: When i first started playing paintball i was so set on getting an R/T b/c i thought that electrics in guns were evil! I Swore never to get one and i followed threw with my promise. One my friend gave me his E-Grip b/c he sold his A-5 and this was broken. So I took it, saying "what the heck" and i got it fixed at a local store... (took forever b/c they sent it away.) when it was returned it only costed me $25 for shipping and handling i guess and my god, it is soo wonderful. I mean when i play not i can shot a crap load of paint at once. I find it quiter than the R/T but i have a flatline so it doesn't matter. But i can shoot alot more paint so i can pin down the enemy.

WARNING: with this purchase you buy more paint than before...
Conclusion: If you have the money to spend GET IT!! The Ability to throw down alot of paint is in your hand...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jacc33wpbstr Saturday, December 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
First i had a brass eagle avenger which i later found out i should have bought the p8c instead, then i was stupid agian and boughta spyder xtra, and then i finally traded my drallion cocker with and a5 with egrip and sum other ups.
Marker Setup: tippy a5 with EGRIP(i love it), shocktech drop, macroline and fittings kit, physchoballistics double trigger, rear velocity adjuster, j&j cermaic 12 inch barrel, gas threw grip, and 20oz co2
Strengths: Many different modes of fire, capable of high bps, ROF adjustable is great.
Weaknesses: hard to change mode and ROF
Review: I ike this feature very much. i usually use 3 round burst or fully with the ROF. i traded myold autococker for my a-5 with everyting on it right now and im so glad i did. When i first played at my friends house with this gun there were about 7 people and they were going crazy and loving it so much. people asked if they could fire it and were i got it and all. now my 2 friends are getting a5's for xmas cuz they like mine so much. i am so glad i got it to b/c my spyder was so unreliable and so was my autococker.

With the double trigger i can get around 15bps or more. i also like the gripping of it. the fell is good. little bit hard to install the battery but i guess it as just cuz i was new with tippys.

I still dont like the fact about having to carry a small screw driver around just to change the mode or ROF. and it hard to switch too especially under pressure during gameplay.
Conclusion: Definatley take this for about 30 bucks more then the r/t b/c it has more modes and is just way better for only a little bit more money. thre is no point in the a-5 with the cyclone feed unless its electro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBA5 Tuesday, November 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Old model Shocker (tested)
2k3 Shocker (tested)
Impy w/ vision (tested)
Angel A4 fly (tested)
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 w/
Lapco drop forward
68CU 4500 PSI tank
Comp air low pressure system
double trigger
GTA e-grip
RVA
Flatline!!!
(smart parts AA for backup)
Strengths: High ROF, seems durable, short and light trigger
Weaknesses: Battery is bit tricky to put in at first
Review: The A-5 with E-grip is superior to the Response Trigger in all aspects aside from the fact that it cannot stand any moisture. The 4 modes, Turbo, Semi, Auto, and Burst all work equally well, although the Knob has 8 positions, which is slightly odd. However, the E-grip is a good addition to the A-5, and is able to keep up with most high end E-markers with relative ease. I dont recommend the A-5 for speed ball, but if that kid with an angel walks in thinking ur land is my land, show him his rich, expensive gear owning ass u only need some dark clothes, a decent mask, and a $300 dollar gun to whup his ass, provided that you are good enough. Just keep him at a distance with a Flatline for even more curses and frustrated frowns and give him a nice little wave and just nod a smile to see him ready to pop a vein. It is very satisfactory to beat the trash talkin' e-marker totin' kid with a tippmann ^.^
Conclusion: It kicks A**
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tippmannisok Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
my friend's e-2 cocker frame but... lets not be comparing tha to this
Marker Setup: A-5
Lapco grip adapter
Psychoballistics bullet drop on/off
psychoballistics double trigger
20 oz. anti siphon tank
14" smart parts progressive
e-grip
Strengths: Couple cool firing modes
Light trigger pull
U can shoot fast on a tippmann
Weaknesses: armature pin may come too short
not very adjustable
MANY OF THESE COME DEFECTIVE
Review: When i got my E-grip in the mail i slapped it right on to my gun and was happy as anything... after i had to play around with it cuz the trigger i had wasnt exactly compatible with it... i got out and could actually walk my tippmann a-5 pretty good and it was awesome.. The settings are hard to adjust cuz u need to fit the little screwdriver into small holes in nthe frame - buttons would be nice - and oh yea mine came shipped with my armature pin too short so it wasnt firing right but i just called tippmann and they sent me another one. This grip was great until about 3 months later. It started to fail me in the middle of a 2 hour army navy game, fapid firing and just not performing correctly. i had to leave the game and get it examined and found out that the actual grip was defective as many of these are. so now i need to ship it back and get a new one.
Conclusion: i think if you want to get an electronic grip for your a-5, go for it. its really cool cuz u can actually shoot fast. However, many problems can and probably will happen so if u want to risk it that is ok! because of the obvious lack of attention to quality, this gets a-5 HAHAHAHAHA... yea
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media