paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip

Tippmann E-Grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann E-Grip

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann E-Grip
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Introducing the All New E-Grip, Electronic Grip System. The E-Grip system uses an electronic control board to activate a solenoid. When activated, the solenoid disengages the sear, which in turn fires the marker. The System is powered by a concealed 9 Volt Battery. All electronic components are completely contained inside the grip, which allows you to quickly and easily change grips.

Fire Modes:
Semi-Auto: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull.
Auto-Response: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull or release.
Full Auto: Fires Repeatedly as long as the trigger is held.
3 Shot Burst: Fires 3 Shots for each trigger pull.
Turbo: Fires 1 shot for every trigger pull, fires 1 shot for every trigger pull or release if the time between trigger pulls is less than .25 seconds.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann E-Grip is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
gexx Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: A-5; Flatline; Drop; E-Grip; Aluminum Hammer and Chamber;
Strengths: Cyclone feed-- no batteries
Weaknesses: Big and Bulky
Review: I got an E grip in about July. since then i fried the board once, and have not been able to get the grip to fire in a selected mode since. after i sent the trigger in the first time (for a new board) the gun would fire for no reason if you bumped the gun even if the safty was on. i sent it in. i got it back and i did the same thing but now it also would "stick on". meaning after i pulled the trigger it would continue fireing after i stopped pulling the trigger for about 5 shots. i sent it back in. now the missfiring has stopped but nothing but full auto. touch the trigger and it doesnt stop. i had to catch the cocking lever and stop it that way. so now i was really really pissed so i sent it in, talked to the service superviser and he personally worked on my gun. guess what i still doesnt work. so i called up and raised hell. im supposed to send it back in next week. i am trying to fix it my way by bending the metal piece that pushes the fire button up because i suspect that the gun recoil is setting it off. the tippman guy said it wont help but since i did this i went through a 24 oz co2 tank and all is good so far. im gonna play a game on friday 2 see if it really works. if any one has any suggestions they would be greatly appresiated. im sick of wasting gass and fraight charges 2 and from tippman since they cant even get it 2 work.
Conclusion: i dont know any one else in the area that has an egripp on their a5 but if you do buy one, be warry of this apparent problem. i know that all of the other reviews are good, but as i said, i havent been able to go through a game with out swapping out the e gripp 4 the stock grip.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann Owns Tuesday, April 6th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder IPI grip
Marker Setup: A-5
E-grip
Dye UL 12
Palmers stab (male)
32* uni drop
lapco uni mount

Strengths: ROF, electric grip after all
fire modes, like response
adjustable bps
weather resistant
Weaknesses: youneed a screwdriver to change firing mode and rof
price
malfunctions
incompatible with aftermarket triggers
Review: well, lets be honest people, who doesnt want to have a fully automatic gun? the E-grip does a good job but i would not recommend it. The grip malfunctions ALOT on anything but semi. It will fire 2-4 rounds then stop releasing the hammer, it will just make a click noise. The screwdirver that comes with the grip also strips the fire mode switch when u change it, its made out of like cheese or somthing...
As usual, tippmann had to do thing differently, which worked in some areas (the A-5 for expample) but was a bad idea in others. The E-grip is a great example. It was desighnewd to be compact, so they brought the changing buttons inside the grip so u have to use a screwdriver to change them, but yet my biggest complaint is were the fireing button is located. It to is inside the gun, witch is just plain not needed, it makes it so u cant bring the trigger right up to the button and fire faster, a pain if u like to know when ur guns gonna fire, the new firing button also has a TON of slop. the first 1/6 of an inch the trigger fires, then theres about 3/4 an inch of just plain uselsss pull, this makes it very hard to fan or walk
Conclusion: its not worth the money
it has so many bad points to it, but i may have just got a bad one, still for about 120 bucks is it really worth it to take the chance?
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

cockershtrx Sunday, April 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulses, spyder imagine, black dragun compact and pi2.
Marker Setup: a-5, egrip, home made trigger job w/ adj. double trigger, armerson x-chamber, shocktech a-5 drop, J&J ceramic 12 in., 20 co2, and 68/3 hpa tank.
Strengths: easy to install, modes of fire, tippmann warrenty and their customer service
Weaknesses: mode selector
no on/off switch you have to use the safety
Review: I love this grip. since i cut the trigger spring and put a screw in the trigger frame as the adj. i can shot just as fast as i did w/ my impulse which was about 13-14 a sec. w/ the cyclone feed you won't miss a shot. i've shot over 4 cases of paint w/ the egrip installed and i have only broke one ball. that one ball was my fault. i still had my barrel condom on when i did it. so really it wasn't a break. this thing is so fast that i'm glad i got rid of my imp for this. i can throw this into a tree and pick it up and still play w/ it. come on its a tippmann. their indistructable. the only thing that bothers me like i said is the mode selector and that theres no on/off. but you use the safety as the on/off. since i play tourny ball i have to leave it in semi mode any way so the mode selector doesn't bother me but it might someone else.
Conclusion: GET IT!!!!! if you have and A-5 you need this grip
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pjman89 Tuesday, March 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a5 w/ response trigger
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with response trigger, 20 oz co2, custom products barrel
Strengths: Pretty cool, pretty fast.
Weaknesses: DAMN WEATHER, PRICE
Review: Ok i only tested it but i wasnt completley impressed with this gun. I duno if the battery was low or w/e but the gun didnt shoot as fast as a response trigger. It still shot pretty fast but not insanley fast. The price also turned me off too. Its not a bad gun, but id rathar stick with the response trigger, even though this is easier, u cant use it in the rain and that sorta made me mad cuz i like paintballin in the rain and stuff. I think that its cool and all but not worth the price, it should be about the same as a response trigger mayb a lil more expensive since of the different fire modes.
Conclusion: Not a bad gun, but not completley impressed, if u wana get a pretty cool gun go ahed, i dont think its worth the money u shud get a response trigger be4 u get this one since its a lil better priced, and it works in the rain, but if ur a tourney player im pretty sure this ones legal in tourneys, at least thats what my friend told me.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

UGADaWgSmAn14 Saturday, March 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
rt
Marker Setup: Dm4 with halo-b victory board, crossfire 70-4500 low pressure nitro tank
Strengths: decently fast, best u can get with an a-5
Weaknesses: have to use a screwdriver to adjust
Review: i used to be an a-5 owner and i got the e-grip because i love to lay down a huge wall of paint and when i got the e-grip i thought i was the fastest shooter in the world. if u have an a-5 this is the fastest thing u can get but people overexaggerate when they say the e-grip gives an "insane" amount of fire. the e-grip FULL AUTO at best is 15 bps, and a majority of $600+ can easily outshoot at least 20 bps on semi. But overall is a good upgrade
Conclusion: good upgrade for a-5 owners who like to lay down alot of paint
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 2nd, 2004 at 3:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PhillipA5 Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with E-grip,
16" Smart parts All-American barrel,
G.T.A expansion chamber,
D.O.P adapter block,
D.O.P 7" Bullet Drop foward W/ on off,
Shocktech front grip,
JCS Dual Trigger,
Shocktech Delron Front Bolt
Strengths: Easy adjusting firing mode, , the speed adjuster is very handy! Low battery usage
Weaknesses: It is not quite as fast as some of the other guns.
Review: It is a very good upgrade for the gun. The many rates of fire are very nice! Worth the price! Only problem is the shorting out problem. when you are shooting in semi-auto, it will go over to full auto for about 2 seconds. I've ran out of words so know I'm just typing stuff yade yade yah! Rick James Yeeeah woooo hooo
Conclusion: Would go out and buy! You will be the #1 bad a** on the field!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 20th, 2005 at 12:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

transam411 Sunday, March 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: A - 5 with a flatline barrel and E - Grip
Strengths: Puts out a lot of fire power. Sensitive trigger
Weaknesses: wastes to much paint
Review: The grip is bad to the bone, but it has its flaws. First, get ready to spend a lot of paint. I barely played two games and I had already gone through a bag of paint. I had to lower the rate of fire. If you're going to use the E Grip on fully auto or a setting close to it while using a CO bottle than you're going to have a hard time seeing. All the gas coming out of the barrel is going to blind you. When that happens you can't see what you're shooting at. If you don't have the money to switch to nitrogen than you could use a remote. With a remote, your A - 5 won't freeze as easily and it'll minimize the gas fumes that come out of your barrel. I didn't use a remote when I tried the E - Grip the first time so I was getting liquid in the A-5. After a while the paintballs were coming out of my flatline all weird. The only other problem I had with it was that you can't change the settings or the rate of fire by hand. You have to stick a screw driver in order to do this. Oh, and if you have a drill than you might want to use it. The holes on the E - Grip where you change the settings are to small. You can't see if you have it on semi or auto, you can't see none of the setting numbers so you might want to widen up the hole. It might seem like I didn't like the - Grip, but I did. The money I spent was well worth it.
Conclusion: It's a good modification that kicks ass. Next to a flatline it's the best investment you can make.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

floatch Saturday, February 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock trigger frame, 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with egrip, solid stock, palmer's stab, MP5 mag kit on palmer's, ACI remote, red-dot sight, etc.
Strengths: Shoots crazy fast, easy trigger pull
Weaknesses: Some settings not allowed, easy to light people up
Review: All I need to say is this: I was playing back at a speedball field last weekend, and a teammate with an ebladed cocker was right in front of me. At the start of the game, we both started firing down the lane at all the opposing players. Not only did I keep up with him, but I might have been faster.
After the game, he came up to me and said "Man, you can rip with that thing!" It wasn't my remarkable (HAH!) skill, it was the Egrip. My $400-500 marker easily kept up with his $1000+ marker, although possibly not quite as accurately. But, that's a different story.
Buy an Egrip and get ready to hold back, or you will be shooting people 6-7 times before they can get out of the way. Oopsie!

The only bummer about the Egrip is that some fields might not allow all the available settings this thing has.
Conclusion: If you have an HPA tank, and want to be crazy fast, buy an Egrip. Now. These things are nuts. As far as upgrading an A5, this is the tops, next to an HPA tank. I'll give it a 9, because nothing's perfect, and you pretty much need an HPA tank to go with it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

firefight101 Friday, January 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
bob long defiant, angels, ebladed orracle, emag.
Marker Setup: A5, J&J full tilt ceramic or flatline depending on weather, egrip, gladiator cradle, pro team colapsable stock, and a double trigger
Strengths: awesome rate of fire, short trigger pull, firing modes,
Weaknesses: not weather proof, needs a battery, kind of expensive, you go through more paint
Review: this is the final upgrade for my scenario gun. it is a sweet upgrade and helps you spray the paint wherever needed. the reactive is in my opinion the best mode on the grip, its semi untill the trigger pulls go under i think .25 seconds then it kicks into firing one for each pull, and another for each release. with the speed cranked, i think it fires just as fast if not faster than full auto. at my local shop they tweeked the grip so i can walk it with a double trigger, i never expected this from a tippmann. you will use a lot more paint. i used to go through about 1000 rounds a day. now i go through about 2500 rounds per day.
Contrary to popular say, the battery is not that hard to get to, all you do is pull out the safety, lift the trigger assembly, and the battery usually falls right out, if it doesn't, you "smack" the frame against the palm of your hand and it should wiggle and jiggle out. the screws look like they can wear easily, just be a little careful. sometimes the frame doesn't line up right either, get it as alligned as you can, and tap the push pins in with a rubber mallet CAREFULLY!!!!! that way you wont dammage the pins or your trigger frame.
Conclusion: well made product that uses the cyclone to its fullest, could have been weather-proofed a little more, but all in all a super upgrade
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wesley Monday, January 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Regular A-5 grip, which can fire pretty fast for semi-auto
Marker Setup: A-5, Flatline Barrel, E-Grip, Collapsible stock, remote line
Strengths: Rate of fire goes WAY up, different modes of fire, easy to install
Weaknesses: costly (around $100), makes gun more vulnerable to weather, hard to change modes
Review: this is definitely a great upgrade, but i would recommend looking at your budget and if you need it first. the rate of fire can become huge, but you should need to be spraying the whole field with paint. its a bit costly just so you can let your finger relax, and spraying paint can also be costly. The new grip also make the gun more prone to weather damage because of the electronics inside and there are several holes in the new grip that allows water to get in. I also would have expected an easier way to change the modes and RoF on it, there are 2 small screw driver hole that are hard to see in and im afraid the heads will wear down soon. Other than that, its a great feaure to have. You'll intimated other players without full-auto on the field because they know your capable of spitting 20+ bps at them and can add more fun to scenario games. I would set it to turbo se you can go semi and practically go full-auto without switching modes.
Conclusion: One should deffinately consider this for their A-5, but they probably dont really need it. I got the E-grip instead of the RT trigger because i was afraid the RT would eat up even more gas along witht the Cyclone feed system. I give it a 7 out of 10 because of the cost and difficulty changing settings.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media