paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip

Tippmann E-Grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann E-Grip

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann E-Grip
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Introducing the All New E-Grip, Electronic Grip System. The E-Grip system uses an electronic control board to activate a solenoid. When activated, the solenoid disengages the sear, which in turn fires the marker. The System is powered by a concealed 9 Volt Battery. All electronic components are completely contained inside the grip, which allows you to quickly and easily change grips.

Fire Modes:
Semi-Auto: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull.
Auto-Response: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull or release.
Full Auto: Fires Repeatedly as long as the trigger is held.
3 Shot Burst: Fires 3 Shots for each trigger pull.
Turbo: Fires 1 shot for every trigger pull, fires 1 shot for every trigger pull or release if the time between trigger pulls is less than .25 seconds.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann E-Grip is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
jr000 Sunday, December 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5 with e-grip, freek barrel, collapsable stock, remote, nitro 68cu 4500psi, bi-pod,
Strengths: Meets the needs of the field and the game rules
Weaknesses: Battery change
Review: First let me address the weekness its not major after the first time but the first time u might ahve a hard time working with it because of some of tis commponets but its not that bad after u get it if u guys need help jsut comment the post all help u out.

now tot alk about its streghts its great becuase u can change it on teh firls with an easy push of a button and u are able to change it to whatever option is necesary to win the game. another option that i really enjoy is that fact taht u have to shoot some semy shoots beffore it goes to the mode this si so helpfull when jsut shooting to show a location or when sniping keeping your gun accurate when going on auto modes.
and whatever even better is your able to program your e-grip to your preference.
Conclusion: This is a great upgrade making u a al position man being able to paly any critical part in your team and making you and your gun work in sync. if you want a great scenerio gun that u can use in somany different ways upgrade to an e-grip
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SilverSoldier09 Sunday, December 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 Response Trigger
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ E-grip (A.P.E. Board)
New Designs Aluminum Power Tube
Shock tech super fly front bolt
32 degrees adjustable shoulder stock
Spyder Kingman remote line
Tippmann 14 inch barrel
Allen Paintball 350+ round hopper
Strengths: -Different firing modes.
-Great fire power with full auto, auto response, and turbo mode.
Weaknesses: See review
Review: This is a great after market grip. You have 5 different firing modes for different battle situations. With being a heavy rifleman on my team the fire power of full auto, auto response, and turbo mode makes it easy to keep the opponents heads down. Therefore I'd recommend this upgrade to all other heavy riflemen out there. However if you want to have a worry free game of paintball I would consider getting an APE rampage board after getting this or buying the E-grip frame, sear, and armature pin separately and then the A.P.E board (That way you have it right away). The W.A.S. board they put in this is nothing but a big problem. At the field I go to I always see people on the side lines with gun issues and they're usually the ones with W.A.S. boards.
Conclusion: Overall it's a great upgrade to get, especially if you're a heavy rifleman, but as I pointed out I'd consider getting an APE rampage board because eventually the W.A.S. will give you nothing but problems.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 12th, 2008 at 7:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ejk2969 Tuesday, July 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock trigger, Response trigger
Marker Setup: A-5, Palmer Stabilizer, E-grip, Jcs RVA, X-7 Hopper, Shocktech drop forward, Lapco 12" Big shot
Strengths: The key strengths:everything is adjustable. It has five firing modes and includes debounce, dwell.
Weaknesses: Key weaknesses: two holes for the settings are hard to acces and remebering the modes.
Review: Well, let me tell you a story.....I was very excited about getting this upgrade and When I received my first E-grip could not believe the amount of paint I could throw down range. In fact a few games I played I kept the enemies head down and with my teammates killed the other team off quickly but I digress, after about two games worth I started to encounter problems (OH BOY!), firing in full auto upon turning trigger on, a couple of times while loaded and on the field in a group of people! So I called the company who made it and they sent me another......Well, again, after a couple of games the same problem began to rear its head, so again I recieved yet another and again encountered the same problem. E-grip 4 was sent just the board this time as I was to find out the company who made them was having problems with there manufacturer. This was due to poor quality control on the manufacturers side. Also, due to the company moving around the E-grip to other manufacturers, as it was conveyed to me. I was told that this one would work, but to my amazement it did for the first hour inside the trigger housing. But like the others that auto problem is again rearing its ugly head! Don't get me wrong this is an excellant upgrade for anyone who wants an A-5 an likes throwing paint downrange.
Conclusion: My final conclusion is if you want to throw paint at the enemy and make them call referee's because they think you are ramping and complaining that A-5's can't throw that much paint , when in fact you are not and it can, get this upgrade. The other thing is I might be being to hard on my opinion of it or I am just having a bad run on E-grips, don't know?
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 24th, 2007 at 6:22 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

BISKEYJ Thursday, July 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Response Trigger
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, Cyclone feeder, E-grip, Double Trigger, Flatline Barrel, SAW Stock, Compressed Tank, Remote with Quick Disconnect and Harness
Strengths: Easy to setup, changing modes, amount of modes for different scenario games.
Weaknesses: Instructions
Review: I found this E-grip very easy to attach to the gun but the instructions for it weren't very helpful, mainly about how to get to the programming menu. The first E-grip I got wasn't working properly, the sear wasn't catching onto the bolt and releasing it, so I sent it in to get it fixed and I guess they fixed it. It cost me $30 to send it there and $30 to bring it back, (Tippmann was supposed to pay for the ride back) and when it came back it didn't work. I tried a bunch of different things but the armature pin was rarely hitting the sear, and I figured when they sent a replaced E-grip back, the armature pin was too short or the battery was dying. 4 weeks after I got it back I tried replacing the battery because it said if the light was blinking red when you turned it on, the battery was low, but it wasn't blinking. It only blinked after I shot one shot which I didn't know if this was normal or not because I hadn't had a working E-grip. So i replaced the battery, and what do you know, it works, amazingly. I love this grip, its amazing, I go through a lot of paint quickly as well as end the game quickly, auto response actually shoots a helluva lot fast than i expected at 20 BPS, and also the flatline is very accurate if you are looking to buy one, only problem is you need to find the right speed and paint for it.
Conclusion: Apparently the only weaknesses of this E-grip I would say would be the instructions and the fact that it needs 3 shots to get into full auto (but don't get me wrong, at times that can be a good thing). It is great for scenario type games and strategy. Get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 2nd, 2007 at 2:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Corrupted355 Monday, May 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Response Trigger - performs a very similar function.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
12" J&J S2 Ceramic / DYE Xcel / BT Apex
WAS E-grip and Response Trigger (alternating)
Vortex mod
Palmer's QEV
BT combat stock
CMI micro-coil remote
Strengths: Easy install
Major firepower
Light trigger pull
Relatively simple programming/use
Unloads LOTS of paint
Weaknesses: Not great battery life
Somewhat disconnected feel
Shuts off after 20 minutes
NXL modes annoying
Review: I got this because I was tired of being out-gunned by ten-year olds with speedball guns. It turns out it's pretty easy to use too. It allows you to adjust a variety of things easily, such as firing mode and ROF, along with a couple other things you probably won't use like debounce and dwell. Just turn on the board in programming mode, then use the trigger to navigate around and change things. Everything you change is confirmed with color coded lights

As far as use, it is very effective. Trigger pull is very light while remaining precise, with the right trigger. Depending on what mode you use, you can really unload a lot of paint at your target. That can either be a good thing or a bad thing depending on how you look at it. Overall it does give an edge over the factory mechanical trigger.

Now for the not-so-great. I'm not a fan of being tied to electronics. If it starts raining, or the battery dies, or a myriad of other things happen, you're out of luck. As far as battery life goes, the WAS board isn't that great. You can get maybe two days out of a nine volt, depending on how much you're firing. The electronics also give you a somewhat disconnected feel of the gun, as opposed to the part-of-your-arm sensation you get from shooting a Response Trigger. Also, because of the pre-programmed NXL modes for 3 shot burst and Full Auto, you have to fire three shots (semi) within a few seconds before it will actually give give it to you. Another feature that I find interminably annoying is that if you are stomping around in the woods for more than 20 minutes without taking a shot, the board shuts itself off. That means if you suddenly walk into an ambush or find yourself under fire, you've got to find a stick or something to turn the grip on, unless you've done the Rivet Mod (see below). Basically, the WAS has a few bugs to work out before it's a perfect upgrade.

Rivet Mod:
www.a5og.net/trigger-systems/4115-how-e-grip-button.html
Conclusion: This is a good upgrade if you have a factory mechanical trigger. However, if you've got the old screwdriver style board, don't bother. It's a good, cheap, simple addition to your Tippmann, as long as you're willing to deal with it's nuances. Personally, if I knew what I know now about the WAS when I bought it, I would have gone with APE's Rampage board instead.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 14th, 2007 at 2:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trolleyman98 Saturday, May 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing except other etriggers
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
egrip with W.A.S
Crossfire 68/4500
smart parts linear barrell 16"
pen spring mod
Strengths: lighter pull
faster ROF
Weaknesses: Price
Review: If you want to be a competitor, this upgrade is definitely recommended! This makes your trigger pull WAY lighter and with the pen spring mod its basically pure SEX. This deadly combination shoots with the best of them. The only thing you need is a double trigger and you might want to get a QEV or the TechT mod so you can shoot at higher ROFs (the cyclone is capable of around 15 or so) Those are my next upgrades
Conclusion: If you want to compete with the best of them, then get this product!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zhelldog Monday, March 26th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann A5 stock trigger-maximum ROF was about 6 bps. no full auto :(
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
m4 stock
egrip with W.A.S board
PMI remote hose
Special ops C-series Blackcell barrel 16" with suppressor tip
Strengths: Can go up to 30bps
easy to install
long battery life
Weaknesses: Hard to program
Difficult to switch modes
Review: The newer egrip(like the one I have) has a W.A.S board and can be programmed to shoot up to 30bps! Which is just unbelievable. It runs off of one 9v battery and will last about two 24 hour scenario games before the battery life starts to die. But when you need to change the battery, its no problem! just pop off the grip and take the safety pin out first then unscrew the grip and pop in a new battery! it is that easy! the hardest part of changing the battery is buying the battery. this is a great addition to any tippmann A5 no matter what style of paintball you play. but if you are playing speedball you should add a double trigger. but if you play woodsball, you'll be fine!

The rate of fire is difficult to change though, and can be frustrating. It is also hard to change the firing mode, so I recommend setting the gun on full auto at 15bps for woodsball. You dont really need to switch between semi-auto and full auto though, since you just pull the trigger and release it to shoot one ball.

The price of the egrip is definitely worth every penny, since it gives us A5 owners the ability to keep up with speedballers high ROF $1500 guns that aren't really worth it at all.(looking at you, dye dm7)
Conclusion: If you are a woodsball player that likes to pin down the other team with heavy doses of supressive fire, then this is THE accessory for your A5.

Oh and by the way, if you are planning to shoot the egrip at a higher speed than 15bps(which is the maximum the cyclone feed can shoot at) , you will need to get an upgrade for the cyclone feed so that it can feed up to 35bps. The upgrade is only $25.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

robotman Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT4 e-grip
Marker Setup: tippmann a5 w/e-grip
apex barrel system
smart parts progressive barrel
bt4 combat
Strengths: Different firing modes.
Almost water proof.
Easy installment.
Weaknesses: See body.
Review: Heres the problem with my e-grip.
-Battery changing is difficult, but not too bad.
-selecting firing modes is harder than it should be.
-You have to use a screw driver to open it up.
-Turning it on is harder than it should be.
-Stock board doesnt shoot fast enought (for me)

I am not saying this is the worst product tippmann ever made but it could be alot better.
why make a push button on the out side of the grip, I mean you have to use an allen wrench to turn it on, and since most feilds dont allow tools on the feild you have to use a stick and im too woried about getting dirt/mud/sand in there.
Conclusion: Its an ok product
And im ready for a bunch of flames for this
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cpt. Morgan Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
High end electronic boards
Spyder boards
Strengths: Read review
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: Well, my friend after much frustration decided to let me have a crack at installing his e-grip with a jcs dual trigger and program the board.

It takes awhile to install a new trigger/guard but I think that probably has a lot to do with my inexperience with A-5 e-grips.

I quickly found out that my first problem was that I was using a good rechargeable batter y (9.6 volt) that was a little larger than a normal battery. It wouldn't allow the receiver half's to fully come together.

If you take the board and everything out you will see on the grip frames where they are milled to fit wires. Utilize this aspect of the receiver half's... it helps.

Also, your probably going to notice that annoying magnet... glue it into the slot it is supposed to go into. It really makes things easier.

I was pretty rough on the board but the wires are very strong. I find it hard to believe you could ever pinch one.

From my dealings with other boards using high ends i found it interesting the the micro-switch is so oddly positioned on its side. It requires extra tuning with a jcs dual trigger to make it work correctly and not stick.

As for how easy the battery is to program... I'm having a hard time. I just have set everything on default. I need to have another crack at it and when I get back after trying will edit this review.

Now... for the paint! well, i used re-balls. On semi with a light spring returning the trigger it shoots as fast as you need it to go. I will try and cap the board at 17-bps. The cyclone in its stock form limits how fast your gun can shoot.

Personally, I love it but still like my super r/t on my A-5 more.
Conclusion: Buy it if your want to be able to shoot just like ion owners and every other mid end gun user. But don't want to buy a new gun.

Only thing I would ever worry about regarding this is the fact its a good upgrade but tippmann's are already expensive and have a low resale value. Consider what I paid for my A-5 with all its up and could have bought something instead, That something being able to preform just as-well for half the cost or that something costing the same and being 50 times better.

Its a great upgrade, just watch how much you invest in your tippy.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 28th, 2007 at 11:07 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

netramakin Saturday, March 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've used both the stock and Rampage boards, but I only own an A-5 so have tried no other electronic grips.
Marker Setup: A5, Red Hot, Superfly, Rampage, Vortex, Flatline/C-series 4" flanker, A-5A2 foregrip, MP5 mag, MP stock
Strengths: durable frame
high ROF
quick & easy to remove
Weaknesses: Lack of interior grip space
Lack of wiring channels
No auto shut off
Review: I bought an eGrip a few months into my paintballing career and was happy with it for awhile in comparison to the stock grip. After all, how could you not like gaining a whole new range of new firing modes (especially if it's your first marker)? The good is that the grip is very durable, easy to remove, easy to get into and you can get 20+ BPS with a QEV. In the months since, however, it's drawbacks have really started to sour me on it.

For starters, the stock board (W.A.S. Equalizer) has no auto shut off and you must turn it on to use it (as opposed to, say, A.P.E.'s Rampage board which only draws power when you fire) which means it devours batteries. Changing the battery once a day or once every other day that you play is not uncommon and I use Duracell. In comparison, the Rampage only requires a new battery every half dozen games or so. And don't get me started on the ridiculous setup of the interior. There is no good place to put the wiring to the battery. You just have to lay them on top of the battery, which means the trigger group presses down on them, which can't be good. There's even less room for the solenoid and capacitor wiring. You have no choice but to sit the battery directly on top of them which, again, can't be good.

A couple of small spacers incorporated into the mold of the grip would have solved one of these problems and another 1/4" of length on the grip would probably solve the other. Did no one think of this or was the product rushed to production and never retooled? Either way, Tippmann should have been embarrased to have charged $150 for this product. You can get one now for $100 but I'd rather have paid $150 for an upgraded grip, with these issues addressed.

Also, the programming on the Equalizer is much more tedious than the Rampage (the only other product I've used to compare it to so far). You have to go into idle mode, then into programming mode and then into firing mode. With the Rampage, you just click the mode button once to advance to the next firing mode and just keep clicking to cycle through all of the available firing options. Oh and did I mention that the Rampage is waterproof?

And finally, although you get the various organizational settings (NPPL, NXL and PSP) on the W.A.S., there is no 3-shot or full auto options without ramping, which you do get on the A.P.E. If you need the organizational settings or if you can't find an eGrip with a Rampage board, try finding an eGrip and trigger frame to put the second board into so you can have two full grips that you can just switch out. That way, you can use one for tourneys, one for rec ball (or whatever) and if you ever have a problem with one of them the day of a game, you'll have a backup.
Conclusion: If you have an A-5, you have to have an eGrip, but if you can find a grip with the Rampage preinstalled, I'd highly recommend going that route unless you need the tourney settings, in which case, follow my suggestions in the last paragraph of my review body. I give it a 10 for the durability of the grip itself, a 4 for the durability of the board and wiring, a 5 for ease of use of the W.A.S. board, a 7 for the programming modes, an 8 for performance and minus 1 for all of the issues I've had with it which equals a 5/6.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media