paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip

Tippmann E-Grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann E-Grip

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann E-Grip
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Introducing the All New E-Grip, Electronic Grip System. The E-Grip system uses an electronic control board to activate a solenoid. When activated, the solenoid disengages the sear, which in turn fires the marker. The System is powered by a concealed 9 Volt Battery. All electronic components are completely contained inside the grip, which allows you to quickly and easily change grips.

Fire Modes:
Semi-Auto: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull.
Auto-Response: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull or release.
Full Auto: Fires Repeatedly as long as the trigger is held.
3 Shot Burst: Fires 3 Shots for each trigger pull.
Turbo: Fires 1 shot for every trigger pull, fires 1 shot for every trigger pull or release if the time between trigger pulls is less than .25 seconds.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann E-Grip is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
draxxusd12 Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Custom Pro
E-Grip
14" Smartparts Teardrop barrel
Strengths: Fast shooting.
Weaknesses: Mine broke.
Review: I really loved my e grip but the wires broke when i tried to change a battery and the place i tried to get it fixed at wouldnt fix it. The same thing happened to my friends e-grip also. But if you like to shoot fast get it.But be careful while changing bateries.
Conclusion: Get it but be careful.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MajikMonkey Friday, May 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A5
Palmer Female Stabilizer
Ricochet R5 Hopper
Tippmann Werks 14" barrel, Opsgear 6" CQB barrel
Tapco Front Grip
Pure Energy 48/3000 tank
Strengths: Easily adjusted
ROF
Battery Life
Warranty
Weaknesses: Need to carry tool to turn on and off
Can't switch rapidly between modes
Review: This is a review of the EGrip with W.A.S. Equalizer Board installed as shipped by Tippmann.

First is the basics...

Programming:
The programming mode is entered by turning the board on while depressing the trigger. The board has 4 programming modes, dwell, debounce, rate of fire and firing modes. Each are fully adjustable. In addition, the board can be reset back to factory if you need to.

Firing Modes:
There are 5 modes of operation with this board (Semi, 3 shot ramping (3 shot burst), 3 shot full auto, response (my favorite), and turbo. These modes are easily accessed through the board's programming mode. The first three modes comply with NPPL, PSP, and NXL rules respectively, so there isn't any reason this board will not be allowed on any paintball field. The mode options here work very well. The restrictions on burst and full auto that you fire three semi auto shots before the mode activates means you have more control over overshooting opponents. With other boards there is no restriction so overshooting can become a huge problem.

ROF:
This board is adjustable from 15 bps to 30 bps!!! Not that anyone with an A5 could use 30 bps, not even with a QEV and all the ups in the world will an A5 ever reach that rate, but it's nice to know you can't outshoot the board. Adjustments are easily done through the programming mode and trigger pulls.

Dwell and Debounce:
I have not had to adjust the stock settings as they work fine with my marker. Like the other programming modes, all adjustments are made with trigger pulls. One thing I failed to mention before is that the board tells you when a successful program change has been acknowleged with a flash of lights right outta "Close Encounters of the 3rd Kind"(This is for all us old schoolers out there).

Now the performance...

Good:
The new egrip is far better than the old one when it comes to adjustments. I have seen players with the original struggling with their tiny screwdrivers to get the mode that they wanted without stripping the plastic out. That was a major reason for me not getting an Egrip to begin with. Now all you do is start the board in programming mode and pull the trigger when you want to make an adjustment. You still need a tool to turn the board on and off, but it can be anything from an allen key or a paper clip.

Battery life is extended. I think I played with the settings for a good week before I actually got to use it on the field. In that week I must have pulled the trigger well over 3000 times, and that does't count the times I put it into full auto and let it rip at 30 bps for a full minute. Wicked Air Sportz claims a 3 times increase in battery life over the old board. With that being said, the board will tell you when the battery is low with a blinking red led. So you can't really go wrong there. The board will also shut itself off after a period of inactivity so you won't drain your battery while your marker sits in the bag between games.

ROF is superiour as well. The old board was hard coded at 13 bps. As I mentioned earlier, the new board is adjustable from 15-30. This range will suite any player whether their conservative or like to chew through paint.

Not Good but Not Bad...
The auto off feature is good, but can be bad as well. During a long break, my Egrip shut itself off. I didn't check that before going on and only realized my problem when I tried to shoot during an attack and defend game. Much to my horror, I pulled the trigger and nothing happened. I didn't have anything on me that I could use to turn my board on and so I was just a moving target. Make sure you have some sort of tool on you at all times!!

Overshooting is easy to do if your not carefull. The 3 semi auto shots before ramping or full auto allows more control, but trigger happy individuals will blaze through those and absolutely pepper their opponents. It's quite easy to shot 15-20 balls at someone without realizing it with this board. Case in point...I played in a game of "no mercy" where you stay on the field till you can't take any more. I got locked into a one on one with another guy and I have to give him credit just for staying with me as long as he did, but I unloaded half a hopper on him in about 10 seconds. When he walked out his blue jersey was pink and there wasn't one square inch of his mask that he could see out of. In comparison he managed to hit me only 5 or 6 times with his stock A5.

Bad...
This board comes with confusing instructions from Tippmann. You have to carefully read them in order to undestand them. I tossed them out and instead went to Wicked Air Sportz website and downloaded their instructions. These were much clearer. Also Tippmann includes the original screwdriver that you would use for the old Egrip. It's not that usefull for programming this board. You are better off using an allen key.

Conclusion: I recommend this upgrade to anyone that wants to be competitive with the faster markers out there. IMHO you should never be outgunned again unless your taking on timmy's and other tourney guns that come outta the box shooting 20+ bps. Even then, I would feel confident that I could hold my own against these guns. I can also recommend this to anyone looking for a tourney legal edge for their A5. Other boards may offer more modes and push button programming, but this is the only one I know of that is tourney legal. This is one of the best upgrades I have done for my A5 and I can't wait to see what it'll do in a big scenario game. I give it a 9 of 10 because Tippmann needs to rethink their instruction book and give you a more appropriate tool. I know these may seem petty complaints but that speaks well for the product when all I could really complain about was that.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sia_simba Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ESP Frame, Spyder imagine electric trigger frame, E1, E2, Ion frames, DM4 frame, shocker frame.
Marker Setup: DM4 w/Dye UL, 68/45 CF, HaloB w/rip

Storm trooper ION w/Freak Kit, 45/45 PMI, Egg2
Strengths: Read review
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: First off, let me begin by saying that being that it only cost $60 for a new e-grip with WAS board, it is one of the best upgrade you can get for your A-5.

The grip looks sturdy, it is also pretty easy to take the grip frame off the marker. One thing I didn't like though was also the fact that you have to remove the entire frame to get to the internals. They should have like a compartment door or something like the other eframes. Another thing it should have also is maybe an on/off button?

I tested this item and took it apart the first day I got it. I wanted to see how the internals work and see what it is really made out of as compared to the other eframes. Let me tell you one thing, when I first opened it, boy was I surprised. I guess for $60, you really get what you paid for. The internals look very cheap and the components of each are likely to wear off, break into pieces, or be lost.

First off, the trigger mechanism is terrible. The trigger and sear component is all made out of plastic. Worst of all, its not even plastic that sticks together properly. The switch with the trigger is completely not my style. Instead of the trigger pushing on the switch, its actually the trigger GLIDING over the switch, which in my opinion, in the long run... that metal switch is going to fly off because its constantly being rubbed with a horizontal force instead of a veritcal force as its suppose to be.

I'll tell you one good thing though, the sear solenoid is huge and seems very powerful. heh. However, I dont like how tippman designed this item. There is a free floating rod that is used with the solenoid. The solenoid charges, and displaces the rod upward. This upward deflection inturns, pushes the sear and causes it to release the hammer. I played around with this for awhile and find out that if you don't properly place the rod into the right position, it will occasionally move out of place causing you not to be able to fire anymore. Then you'll have to take apart the entire frame, etc. etc.

Another thing that bothers me as well is that the grips don't close together smoothly. You need to use force in order for you to get that tight seal.

HOwever, when I was shooting the marker, it shot faster than what I thought. There is recoil and I can imagine how that would mess up accuracy and precision. Because you put it into the cyclone feed, there will always be a ball there. Only thing you have to fear is just not enough air going to your cyclone, causing it not to move, thus allowing a paintball to be jammed inbetween the bolt and cyclone resulting in ball breakage. Other than that... w/o the eye, I personally think its still fine. But I think its faster than what the cyclone can handle.
Conclusion: The overall product isnt bad if its main purpose is speed. however, I don't like the fact that half the parts are very cheap looking and cheaply made. I really don't like the fact about with the rod not being held stationary. What is the deal with that? Couldn't tippmann put the solenoid on the top instead of the bottom of the grip?

If its for speed, I would def give it a good rating base on tippmanns' conventional 6bps on regular mech.

As for user friendly, design innovation, quality of product... I don't like it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stockguy03 Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Response Trigger
Marker Setup: 1.)Tippmann A-5 with a G36 stock and barrel and E-grip
2.)Tippmann Model 98
Strengths: 1.)ROF
2.)Selection
3.)Good Construction
4.)Loud ( Intimidating for noobs...)
Weaknesses: 1.)Eats batteries like a starving child at a buffet...
Review: I have had my E-grip for almost a month now, and am in love with it! It shoots so fast, you almost forget you are shooting an A-5 and begin to think its the real thing. I am also impressed with the selection of firing modes that is given to you. These include Full-auto, Three round burst, Response, Turbo, and of course Single shot. It also comes with a ROF dial that enables you to ajust the speed at wich you fire. This alows you to give your E-grip a personal touch, and fit your style of play. The only problem that I can find with it is the speed of wich it eats up 9v. batteries...it loves batteries almost as much as I love to be trigger happy...as you can see, that does not work out too well.
Conclusion: Over all, I am very impressed with this product. If you are as trigger happy as me, It will be worth every penny. BUY IT...seriously...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

jayw347 Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: a-5 , j and j, gas throu stock, e grip
Strengths: Fire modes
Weaknesses: Needs to be more weather resistant
Breaks
Review: well i bought the e grip when i purchased my a-5. i have the older model with out the W.A.S board. i like the e grip but there r some issuse. adjusting the rof and mode is a pain and the screw strips out easy. my first e grip went down do i brought it back to the people i purchased it from. it wouldnt trip the sear. well i didnt want to wait so i bought another one. a back up is always good. well i used it for one day and at the end of the day, the e grip wouldnt trip the sear. oh yeah i did replace the batteries on both of them. so i ended up sending that one to tippmann after the store wouldnt take it back. custom support is great!!!!!!!!!! by then i first e grip was back and working and i then recieved my second e grip so i put that one aside. well i decided to break out the second one to make sure it worked but to my surprize i still had the same problem. oh well ...i figured i will just put the ape board in it
Conclusion: well i liked the e grip just disappointed that it doesnt last. but this is for the older e grips not the new ones with the W.A.S board
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eastcoastkilla Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
RT
Marker Setup: A-5, starfire bolt, E grip, expansion chamber, double trigger, compressed air 3000 psi, tactical sp barrel, flatline barrel, and sp all american.
Strengths: Fast, battery usage, durability, cheap.
Weaknesses: Very hard to program.
Review: I recommend this to any ambush or ghost flank snipers.
I am a ghost flank sniper and this thing really gets the job done.
just pay the extra ten or twenty dollars for it.
i most definetly recommend it over the RT.
now the e grip comes with the new WAS board which makes it alot faster.
the e grip does very well in all types of weather as well.
Conclusion: If you know how to read and have time on your hands get it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 20th, 2006 at 5:29 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CrotchSnot Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
RT for the Mod 98
Marker Setup: Tipmann 98 Custom
14" JJ Ceramic
Expansion Chamber
Tippmann Drop Forward
Response Trigger
Double Trigger
20 oz Pure Energy Tank
Full Boar Rear Cocking
Viewloader Revolution X-Board Hopper
Dye Sticky 3 Grips
Adco Sure Shot Red Dot Sight
Chrome Sight Rail

Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrell
Cyclone Hopper
Tippmann E-Grip
Stock Barrell (Sucks)
Pro-Dot Sight
Strengths: 5 Different Settings
Easy Install if you delt with tippmanns b4
Battery operated
Weaknesses: Keep a small thingy accessable to change speeds
Won't take away power like RT
Review: Besides a new Barrell this should be your 1st upgrade. E-grip + Cyclone = " SAY HELLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND" This will help you get just about everything you can out of the A-5. (5) varieties of shooting speed. If you can't find one to make you a good competitor on the field you need to sell your A-5 and stick with squirt guns and playing socom 3 on PS2.

It could be a little pricey for you people who still make $7 an hour at work. But even you can save up for it. Must have....must have......must have.

Most places $125 - $145........you can find one online for $99


...did i say it's a must have.


1. SEMI AUTO - Fires 1 shot for each Trigger Pull.

2. AUTO RESPONSE - Fires 1 shot for each pull and release of trigger.

3.(3) SHOT - DUH!, 3 shot burst when trigger is held or if trigger is release b4 3 shot cycle is complete.

4. FULL AUTO - Fires whole time while trigger is held.

5. TURBO - Fires 1 shot for each pull of trigger until the time between trigger pulls is below .25 seconds - then it goes 1 shot for each pull or release of trigger.

. . . . thats 5 reasons to buy it

Doesn't use CO2, THAT MEANS more air for your Cyclone Feed, Damn 9 volt batteries are over priced - but fit right in your pocket (5 finger discount).

Make sure u have a strong battery b4 u hit the field, easier to change an A-5 then a Mod 98 on the field. It should only take a minute or 2. Practice changing it fast when your sitting home watching reruns of "HAPPY DAYS". Worst comes to worst carry your old trigger on till you get the time u need to properly change your battery (If possible).

************************************************************
***********************************

I believe they have to versions of the E-Grip. Older ones need a small screwdriver for selecting fire rate and turn counterclockwise to slow the rate, or clock wise to increase. Then there is another hole near the finger grip that selects "FIRE MODE" by turning with screwdriver, and the e-grip turns on when u pull the trigger. Then turns off after not using for 10 minutes.
************************************************************
***********************************

The E-grip I have you push a little button and hold for few seconds till the green light is lite under the button. The you push the button to select "FIRE MODE".

************************************************************
***********************************
Conclusion: - Just Buy It, most efficient way to spend $99 for the A-5.
- Now just learn how to use your gun.
- I know guys that spent close to $1000 on a gun and get blow away by very little modified tippman 98's. You just need to learn your gun and don't be fooled by unnecessary modification. I'm not saying don't buy stuff like a Laser Sight, because they look cool, i got one. But don't depend on them. Practice on squirrels or your neighbors dog just learn what your gun can and can't do. If you can hit a squirrel running up a tree aguy trying to run behind a bunker isa breeze.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 16th, 2006 at 1:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ICU117 Thursday, March 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
RT trigger, stock triggers...
Marker Setup: Folding stock, egrip, Apex, double trigger
Strengths: Faster ROF
Selectable firing modes
Tourney legal. (Semi auto)
Weaknesses: Battery eater
need tools to switch modes
run through sears quicker
Review: The e-grip is the best thing to buy if you wanna make your tippy into a full auto monster. I had the RT trigger before I bought the e-grip, and there is no comparison. The e-grip was easy to install, and right outta the packaging I was loving this thing. The battery is easy to replace once you have done it once. My only real complaint would have to be that you need to carry a jewlers screwdriver to be able to switch firing mods and ROF. It might be a good idea to also by a decent double trigger for the egrip. Those are easy to install as well. A good JCS double trigger or something like it will insure you can play speedball as well as woodsball. Some refs even think I'm cheating sometimes when I double tap.... But thats another story. The battery lasts for 3-4 cases of paint. After you have played a few times, it might be a good idea to carry an extra 9-volt. The sear comment above may just be for me, I have gone through 2 in the past 6 months, might just be somethin wrong with mine, but just thought I'd mention it.
Conclusion: This is the best alternative to the RT out on the marker. The only negatives are that it eats batteries pretty quick if you play alot, you need tiny screw drivers to change the ROF and mods, and it could potential make you buy new sears. Overall however It is a great investment, especially with a double trigger.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Madballaz5 Thursday, February 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
RT and the 98 egrip thingy( dunno what its called)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
M249 air through-connects to mp5 mag
Air through Mp5 Mag
S.P ion, Halo B
72-45 Crossfire
Strengths: Fast, adjustable ROF, light, internal wires and sutff
Weaknesses: Wires break easy, hard to cahnge battery on field
Review: K i play with the Egrip and the RT, this is a great upgrade but tippmann could ahve done a better job. If you wear down the ROF and firing mode screws UR BONED!! the wires snap real easy while changing batt. and thats about it, this is a godly upgrade, and u will scare the crap out of newbs when they hear u coming over a ridge with this baby!!! great upgrade, could use some tweaking
Conclusion: Get it if you are willing to be EXTRA careful cahnging out batt. U WILL OWN WITH THIS BABY ( i give it a nine because of the wires)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stixdannov Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing compares
Marker Setup: Standard hopper and CO2 tank.
Flatline
E-Grip
Strengths: Speed
Versatility
Weaknesses: Long trigger pull
Cost, but it's worth it
Review: This is the best upgrade money can buy for the A-5.

The trigger fires amazingly fast, over 20 bps. One ref was simply stunned, and he was a tourny speedball player.

Semi auto mode is a huge improvement on the mechanical trigger. The pull is light but you do have to pull the trigger all the way back for it to fire. I tried to mod it so that it would fire without having to pull the trigger all the way back but this would have eliminated any usefullness of the safety. This is because of the design of the trigger mechanism is a bit unwilling to cooperate.

Burst mode, also amazing. If you pull the trigger rapidly it is the same as full auto.

Auto response mode is my prefered setting. It's easy to hit the top speed of the gun with this setting. This mode fires for each trigger pull and release. However, if you hold the trigger down for a second, then release, it only fires once. This is excellent for the sniper who wants to engage many people at once.

Last game i played was a 20 v 20 game. I rushed down the field and tagged 15 people. I didn't use any pods and as i reached the end the rest of the team followed, eleminating people and creating openings.
This success is in no way due to my skill, i am an average player. The only reason it worked is because i was able to empty a hopper on 20 people in less than 15 seconds from about 20 feet away.

The only problem with this trigger is the long pull. By the time it fires, the trigger is as far back as it goes. This isn't really a problem though as you can easily ride the edge.
You could even see that distance as a buffer zone, in case you accidentaly bump your elbow or something.

For those debating between this and the response trigger:
The response trigger resets your trigger after each time you fire. This means that your finger is bouncing all over the place inside the trigger guard while you are fireing. Plus at some tourny's the response trigger is not allowed.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this upgrade even for those that don't use much paint. This gives you the opportunity for heavy fire whenever you want it. If you like to empty pod after pod, this is even better for you because of the cyclone feed. Combine the E-Grip with the flatline barrel and you have one mean marker capable of lobbing a full hopper at people 150 feet away in less than 15 seconds.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media