paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip

Tippmann E-Grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann E-Grip

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann E-Grip
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Introducing the All New E-Grip, Electronic Grip System. The E-Grip system uses an electronic control board to activate a solenoid. When activated, the solenoid disengages the sear, which in turn fires the marker. The System is powered by a concealed 9 Volt Battery. All electronic components are completely contained inside the grip, which allows you to quickly and easily change grips.

Fire Modes:
Semi-Auto: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull.
Auto-Response: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull or release.
Full Auto: Fires Repeatedly as long as the trigger is held.
3 Shot Burst: Fires 3 Shots for each trigger pull.
Turbo: Fires 1 shot for every trigger pull, fires 1 shot for every trigger pull or release if the time between trigger pulls is less than .25 seconds.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann E-Grip is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
goats896 Sunday, October 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Trigger & Frame
Marker Setup: Tippy A-5, lps w/ dye gauge, tippy reg, macroline, shocktech supafly, e-grip, double trigger, 16" tippy sniper barrel, flatline, shocktech dropforward, JT 47/3000
Strengths: Could not be simplier to install. Can install in under 5 minutes.
Weaknesses: Changing the battery is a nuisance , but nothing else.
Review: The e-grip is a very good investment for anyone wanting to up their bps. It is very easy to install; it only takes a few minutes and you're ready to start shooting. I highly recommend this upgrade for anyone serious about the sport. This upgrade will not let you down. I also enjoyed the five different mode settings and the mode rate. My personal favorite setting is auto-response. It is not as hard to change the settings as some people think.
Conclusion: If you have the cash, then buy it right now, if not wait until you get some cash and go buy it. You will not be disappointed. GREAT UPGRADE!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

detonate13 Saturday, October 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have not used any thing else
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Egrip
GTA double trigger sanded down to blade.
16" sp progressive.
72/3000 pmi N2
Strengths: Please read review
Weaknesses: Not adjustable and read review
Review: I love my A5. The only thing is i play speedball and the speed of a stock tippmann jsut cant work for me. Therefore i bought the egrip. I got it for a deal on ebay for 70 bucks. When it arrived i was very exicted when i first got it. I took it out and hooked it up to my marker and whent out to play around with it. My first thoughts were that the trigger pull was a little heavy. Luckly I know the pen spring mod and it littened the pull a ton. PM me if yu want it.

The next sunday i went out with a couple of friends to our local field and the first impressions was great. In the beginning i did run out of battery but it was just because i just clicked around my house with my marker. Any way i went through 1700 paintball in about 4 and a 1/2 hours. I was very impressed with it. When i got home i did a pre-pull trigger mod that i think eventually ruined it but read on please.

The next time i went out the micro switch that set of my gun was messed up. Even when the saftey was on the gun would shoot. I was very dissapointed.

When i got home i called tippmann and they said to just send it in and they would fix it. THis is were you are glad you have a tippmann. When i got it back it came with and invoice saying that they replaced the micro switch and a new board. I did not have to pay a thing. I took it out and hooked it up to my marker. It would not fire. I called tippmann and they said to bend the micro switch. I did and it did work but it was frustrating that it came back from tippmann and it sill did not work. The trigger pull was now about a inch and a half and way to long. I then figured out that i can do the trigger spring mod and cut it enough just to reset it enough to still be able to fire it.

Since i have got it i have been in one tourney and rec played a coupel of times and have had no problem.
Conclusion: i reccomend buying this product new, not used. Other than that the only weakness is that it is not adjustbale. The speed of my a5 is great now about 13 to 15 bps.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hillbillyyoung Tuesday, September 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: E-Grip, 16 in Dye Ultra light
Strengths: ROF (fast as crap comin out a goose)
Reliable
Weaknesses: Having to take the trigger assembly off just to instal the battery
Review: This trigger is FAST, and RELIABLE. That says it all.

My personal experience with it, both giving and receiving, has been nothing but awesome. What got me to get one was when I played against this kid that had one. We did a one-on-one match; he lit my butt up like it was a brand new bug zapper during mosquito season! After that I just had to get one. After installing it I went and played with it, my opponents got the exact same feeling that I got when I first meat one.
Conclusion: I think that the welts that you will leave on your apponents will say it all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

metalkid601 Tuesday, July 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder grip frames, shocker frames, etc.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with E-grip, Tapco SAW stock, Shocktech Superfly bolt, remote line, dot scope
Strengths: Modes
Trigger Pull
Rate of Fire
Weaknesses: Installation
Over-travel
Review: I got this E-grip for Christmas, and I was so excited because I knew it would make my A-5 much better, which it did. But when I tried to install it, it took my some time and frustration because it fit SO snuggly, that it was pretty hard to mount it on the gun. Another problem was after I got the battery in, the grip was active, so if I touched the activation pin, the thing went nuts and the trigger assembly rocketed out of the frame. That was no biggie, since you could just set the frame to an inactive setting and pop on the frame with no trouble. The last problem I had was lining up the safety bar, which was soon fixed by just tweaking the positions of the trigger assembly. The installation was a simple process, it just had some bumps along the way. After it was in, it made my gun so much better in terms of ROF. 15 balls per second is good for a Tippmann! The Cyclone feed could keep up with that speed, so I had no chopping problems. The trigger pull is only 3mm (call me a loser but I measured it out of curiosity) and much lighter than the stock grip frame trigger pull. One slight problem is the massive over travel. The 3 mm is the pull it takes to trip the switch, but the over travel make the pull longer. If you can get your fingers used to the triggers sweet spot, the over travel problem is no longer an issue.
Conclusion: This is easily one of the best upgrades you can get for an A-5. It makes your gun faster, adjustable, and just better. It make getting people out a lot easier since you can just lay down a ton of paint in their direction, or you can go semi auto and conserve paint. The modes are great and it just made paintball more fun to me. I give it a nine just for my problems installing it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phsycopyro dlf Wednesday, July 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: A-5 Marker
Dead On ON/OFF Bullet Drop Forward
Lapco Drop Forward Adapter
M-16 3 Position Adjustable Stock
Ricochet 200rnd Hopper
Shock Tech Foregrip
3K 800 P.S.I. Pure Energy Compressed Air System
Tippmann A-5 E-grip
Tippmann A-5 Double Trigger
Rufus Dawg Venturi Bolt
Flatline Barrel
Strengths: Multiple firing modes, decent firing rate and modes can be changed quickly.
Weaknesses: Firing rate could be better and will add alot more weight to your marker.
Review: I've been using this product for about 3 months now and it works great. The amount of chopping before I installed it didn't change either. It's trigger sensitivity is much greater then the stock trigger frame decent but could use a little improvement.
The E-Grips board is great too and you don't really need to upgrade that since the cyclone feeder cant really keep up with more then 17-19 B.P.S. My buddy paid like 100$ to find that out when he purchased this new board for his A-5 E-Grip. The only thing I would really consider a down side to this product is its weight, but that really thats never been a real problem me and really shouldn't be one for anyone else either.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to be able to pelt there opponents 10X faster then before. This is a great improvement for anyone with an A-5.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 5th, 2005 at 7:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

viiiper Wednesday, July 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
R/T [responce trigger]
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, E Grip, Flatline, remote line, 1x AIMPoint M2 clone RED dot scope.
Strengths: Fast and reliable
Weaknesses: Price.
Review: I started with a R/T trigger and never could get it to the magic 15-16 bps
I would be lucky to get 5-10 ball bursts..

So I read up and bought a E-Grip for the A5, what a difference.
From the first time you pull the trigger, you'll be amazed, just like a MP5... balls come
thick and fast.

installing was a breeze... but if you've had a R/T on previously, you'll need to remove the additional R/T feed points. Or like me mode the E-Grip with a dermal to fit with the R/T air points still in situ. The advantage of this is, I am still able to refit my R/T if needed within 20 seconds.

The E-Grip can be adjusted from 1 bps to full 16 bps in full auto and burst [3 ball burst],
this is done by a recessed dial in the handle, which requires a small screwdriver [which is supplied].
The mode selector is located just above the speed dial and is a recessed dial switch.
Mode is changed in the same way, with the screw driver.
Conclusion: If you have a std. trigger or an R/T... and are not happy with the fire rate... The E-Grip will give you what you dreamt of.... a MP5 style of performance only down side with rapid fire is, the hopper goes down quick and the CO2 cools off fast !!! so carry plenty of balls [800-1000] and use in short 2 second bursts.....

But if you wanna scare the opposition and alarm your team mates... then let loose...
BEST BUY I'VE MADE THIS YEAR.... AFTER THE A5 ITSELF.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

murphy101 Friday, July 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
other e-grips for spyder and viewloader
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
E-grip
Shocktech drop forward
14" dye excel barrel
Tippmann Expansion chamber
Double trigger
20oz Co2
Strengths: Speed
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well i love my A5 but it started to get pretty boring so i wanted to spice things up and get this egrip. I found a good price for it 130 Cadn
It took me a while to install it, but i enjoyed it, end up learning how the grip worked. Once installed i tried it out and this rips with response trigger and doulge trigger i can easily cap out the cyclone feeder. This is a great grip, fast and brings fear to the newbies on the field
People have been saying how its hard to see the numbers, ya thats true but what i do i leave it on semi auto and then just turn it clockwise and feel for the clicks then you just got to memorize that 2 clicks is auto response, 4 full auto... ect. This way i never actually look at the numbers.
I love this grip and recoment it to anyone.
Conclusion: This is a great grip for your tippmann. its a must have.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tbaylor828 Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Response trigger
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with LPK, 2 finger E-grip, Flatline,
Nitro duck 68/3000
Strengths: Ease of operation
ROF
Different program modes
Weaknesses: None that I can think of or have experienced
Review: I love this grip. I used to have the RT setup, and I truly loved the way it works, but you cannot always put three or six or ten shots when you want it. The e-grip is a programmed firing mechanism, meaning no thinking, just pull and go. I love its adjustable ROF and firing modes, this has seriously upped my game, I love to walk this trigger on turbo mode, great for any type of game play.
Conclusion: You will not be sorry if you purchase this upgrade
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A-5paintballpro Saturday, June 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, cyclone feeding system, E-grip,12 & 14 oz Co2, Flatline Barrel, 16in. whispher barrel
Strengths: You can shoot twice as fast.There is differnet modes too.
Weaknesses: Good question, I don't know.(none)
Review: I recommend you get this for your A-5. This thing has turbo. 3 burst. Semi & Full. Plus you can pull the trigger twice as fast. You also can use any trigger on this frame. This( E-grip) is one of the things that makes me be able to take out older and better people than me( in a game).
Conclusion: I would get this for you Tippmann A-5. I mean what the heck, there is nothing about it and tones of things that makes this a could contribution to your A-5
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DrewRiggio Tuesday, June 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months32 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, no other add-on electronic grip frames for A-5 I've found.
Marker Setup: A-5
E-Grip
14" Smart Parts All-American
Dead-on Paintball 5x2.5" Drop Forward
88 CI 3000 PSI PMI Pure Energy HPA Tank
Strengths: Lightens trigger pull
Allows faster shooting
Interesting firing modes
Easy to Install
Weaknesses: Moderately expensive
Adds weather vulnerability
Requires delicate touch to adjust
Adds battery requirement
Review: I love my A-5 and enjoy using it but from the first day I owned it I have disliked the heavy trigger pull. Having enjoyed the opportunity to test-fire several electro markers I had a real appreciation for just how heavy the typical A-5 trigger pull really is. I wanted something to allow a faster rate of fire while lightening the trigger pull. While the response trigger does allow higher rates of fire than the norm, it does not lighten the trigger pull and most fields I visit do not allow the sweet-spotting of it required to get those high rates because they consider it "full auto."

Enter the E-Grip.

The price was fairly steep, retail, but after using the popular "clicky pen trigger spring replacement" trick failed to give me the lightness of pull I wanted, this seemed the best choice in spite of price. Installation was easy. I had the local shop do a re-installation of it to use my double-trigger frame, however, and am glad I did. The two-finger trigger is a necessity for walking.

When taking it to the field the first time I found that the pull was so greatly reduced that I had to re-learn its use in order to avoid shooting myself in the foot (which I nearly did, as the lightness of the pull took me by surprise). I brought the marker to the Chrono range/shooting gallery and blew through a few hoppers of paint. Walking the trigger is a bit more difficult with this than a high end electro ebcause there is a gerat deal of travel in a Tippmann trigger, even the two-finger kind. I am still working on getting the rhythm of it down pat, but the muscle memory is coming along. When I do successfully walk it properly the rate of fire is terrifically increased.

The firing modes are interesting. The semi-auto one is the only one most fields allow. It also comes with full-auto, 3-shot burst, 6-shot burst, and two others I'll describe in more detail.

Response Mode: The marker fires once on pull, and again on release. This effectively doubles your naturally achievable rate of fire.

Turbo mode: Essentially it is a ramping cheat mode. If the trigger is pulled faster than a rate of once per 0.25 seconds it activates full auto up to whatever level you set it in the grip frame so long as you keep pulling the trigger at least once every quarter of a second.

Firing rates are adjustable inside the front face of the grip frame. One dial selects rates of fire from four times per second to 15 times per second. The other chooses the firing mode. These dials are accessable only through a pair of small holes in the front of the grip. My recommendation is to invest 99 cents in a cheap eyeglasses repair kit. The screwdrivers that come with those are perfectly sized for this task. Be gentle when using them, as the dials are not as tough as the rest of the Tippmann marker.

Adjusting either property (firing rate or firing mode) is accomplished the same way. Both dials can be turned with the small screwdriver and have a range of 12 settings apiece. The rate of fire dial settings are:

4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15 (12 levels)

Do not overturn this dial as it stops at both ends of its settings range.

The firing mode selector has 12 settings. These are:

Semi auto
3-shot
6-shot
Full auto
Response
Turbo

With each setting having a null setting between it and the next. This dial turns all the way around without having a stop at the end of its range.

To keep paint and moisture out of the holes I used black electrician's tape. All I had to do was wrap it twice around the grip frame and it covered both holes neatly.

This upgrade also adds a requirement to have a 9-volt battery. Replacing the battery is easy. Remove the grip frame and life out the trigger assembly. The battery space is clearly visible and you need only remove one and connect the next. When returning the battery to its slot make sure the wirign is not going to get pinched, and re-insert the trigger, then re-attach the grip.
Conclusion: I believe the E-grip is a fantastic upgrade for the A-5. It gives a rate of fire far in excess of what one would normally expect from a Tippmann without the increased air requirement of the response trigger. It does require a bit of delicate handling and protection of the access holes and has a high initial cost. If you would enjoy a higher rate of fire and light pull on an A-5 and do not mind the cost it's a wonderful upgrade. I will not give it a ten because easier access to the adjusting dials and a slightly lower cost would be improvements, but other than that it's a top notch add-on for an A-5.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media