paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip

Tippmann E-Grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann E-Grip

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann E-Grip
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Introducing the All New E-Grip, Electronic Grip System. The E-Grip system uses an electronic control board to activate a solenoid. When activated, the solenoid disengages the sear, which in turn fires the marker. The System is powered by a concealed 9 Volt Battery. All electronic components are completely contained inside the grip, which allows you to quickly and easily change grips.

Fire Modes:
Semi-Auto: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull.
Auto-Response: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull or release.
Full Auto: Fires Repeatedly as long as the trigger is held.
3 Shot Burst: Fires 3 Shots for each trigger pull.
Turbo: Fires 1 shot for every trigger pull, fires 1 shot for every trigger pull or release if the time between trigger pulls is less than .25 seconds.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann E-Grip is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Predator1117 Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RT and stock the RT is fine other than you have to tweak it to get it to rip
Marker Setup: Tippy A5 with all the mods. Even rino lined paint too!
Strengths: Speed, Selectable firing modes, lighter trigger pull, Takes expensive guns to school
Weaknesses: Players keep complaining about how their $3000 AngelAutowhatever is out gunned by a $900 Tippmann
Review: This makes your Tippy rip. It scares the hell out of anyone you unleash it on. I play against semi pros with expensive guns and this thing makes em duck every time. You get Tippmann reliability with high end gun fire rates. E grip makes 20+ bps possible in Turbo mode the E grip is capped at 15 bps in full auto. Local fields usually don't allow full auto anymore so be care full. People don't like getting hit with 10 balls instead of 1 or 2 even though you only feel the first couple. You have to use a small flat head screw driver to change the ROF and this plastic screw wears out if your not extremely gentle with it. Tippmann needs to come out with a Gen 2 E grip maybe with a 45 frame adjustable trigger and battery on/off switch lcd etc. Anyway the E grip works great my bro has the RT and its great and all but the E grip definitely has him out classed.
Conclusion: Definitely worth the 100 bucks. Turns your Tippmann into a high end gun I give it a 9 only because Tippmann could have done better they have some bugs they need to work out and re release the E grip and quit leaving all us A5 owners hanging they've sold like a billion of these guns.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 1st, 2005 at 8:46 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Yusko Tuesday, May 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have shot 2 different electronic guns, a Kingman Advant and Spyder Imagine, and the only advantage of those is that you can switch the modes by buttons, but their consistancy is pretty bad.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, E-Grip, Flatline, Riochet hopper, laser (for messing around at night)
Strengths: If you have double trigger, your set; walk trigger; shoot more balls than auto.
Weaknesses: Obviously the changing of firing modes, water resistance
Review: This trigger is the best E-Trigger I have ever used, it shoots incrdeibly fast. The 5 different fring modes are very nice, you can choose your style of fire. The only thing that I don't like is that the firing mode and rate is adjusted by a small screwdriver in front of the grip, it could strip easily if not being careful. overall it is the best upgrade someone can possibly get for their A5. And i keep mine on full auto so i can light up people which is fun at fields with a lot of people. but if you get it, and you have the Flatline dont put it on the highest full auto because it always hits that curve too fast and SPLAT! BIG MESS!
Conclusion: Get it try it out, if you dont like it return it, but that first time i shot it i was hooked.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 19th, 2005 at 4:40 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

shotsomeone Saturday, May 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Pure Energy 16ounceCo2 tank, Ricochet R5 Hopper
Strengths: Speed, firing modes, trigger pull
Weaknesses: Goes through cheap batteries
ROF adjuster screw and Firing mode adjuster screw not very solid
Review: Alright ill starrt with the good points on the e grip and move to the bad and ill give details as well

Pros-
The speed on the e grip, although capped at 15, is just amazing. Laying down pant has never been more fun. However if your wanting more speed look into the soon to be released WAS board from Wicked Air Sportz. Back to what im saying. This system paired with a good double trigger and youll be thoroughly convinced this was the right pick. A good trigger would be the Rufus Dawg Blade Trigger or JCS Duel Trigger. You can also turn down the ROF (rate of fire) so if you like to conserve paint you can utilize this feature.

The trigger pull on the e grip is way shortened compared to the mech trigger. I hear many people say they trigger pull is the same but unless you have rigamortis the trigger pull is way lighter. With a single you can easily belt of 9 BPS (Balls Per Second)
And with a double trigger and fast finger you can hit 15 in a snap literally.

Now for the Firing modes. The extra 90$ of the e-grip compared to a Response Trigger is well worth it. Not only do you have repsonse mode but 4 other firing modes as well

Semi-1 trigger pull 1 shot
Response- 1 trigger pull 2 shots
Full Auto- Fires as long as the trigger is held down
3 round Burst- Pretty self explanatory
Turbo- When the time between trigger pulls is .25 of a second additional shots are fired
this is pretty much ramping in a way.

See isnt the extra 90$ worth all this

Cons-
As great as the egrip is it has its downfalls. First probelm youll see is the ROF and Firing mode adjuster screws aare pretty soft. I suggest using a small screwdriver for adjusting the firing mode screw. MAke sure you apply a generous amount of pressure because over time the screw will start to strip if you are not careful.
Dont worry though if you add a generous amount of pressure, not too much though, you will not expirience this problem

Now for the second problem. If you dont use good batteries such as Duracell and Duracell Ultra youll find yourself switching batteries more time than your underwear. I when through a cheap set of 9 volt batteries in a week. Keep in mind there was seven of them. Do the math to figure out how long they lasted. However I do shot alot and practice alot. With a good set of batteries youll have your e grip runnin good for quit some time
Conclusion: If your lookin for a great upgrade the E grip is the right choice.
The good outweighs the bad, and the bad are easily fixable. So head to your local Paintball supply distributer and buy one. You will not regret it.......at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RAGE250 Friday, May 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, spyders, and a mongoose
Marker Setup: A-5, dead on drop, 114/5000 on remote, titanium bolt, etrigger, BSA red dot, flatline-quick release/evil pipes/all american/progressive/end game stubby/R5,LPK
Strengths: -ROF
-Variety of fire modes
Weaknesses: Inconvenience
-Fire mode adjustement is a little tedious (micro screwdriver and all)
Review: I would recommend this upgrade to anyone and everyone who owns an A-5. Myself and 5 of the guys in my group all had these installed months ago and have all equally enjoyed them. We all had R/T beore and all hated it. That trigger never works the same from game to game.....very frustrating!. We play in a pretty wet part of the world and haven't had any probs even though we play in the rain every other weekend. The etrigger definitely makes an impact on the opposition, it's loud, fast, and generally intimidating to lesser equipped players. this has been the single best addition to my gun, bringing me more satisfaction than all my barrels and accessories combined. I hav e Of course some of you will have a different experience but that's how it goes.......can't please em all! Give it a shot and I bet most will be very happy.
Conclusion: Buy it, use it, smile
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 20th, 2005 at 3:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

egaleye2 Wednesday, May 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippy stock grip
Marker Setup: tippy a-5, freak berral system, hpa and e-grip w/ doubble trigger
Strengths: Rate of fire
Trigger pull
Simplicity/ease of installing

Weaknesses: Changing rate fo fire, plastic screws
Review: ok, come on people, first of all its a tippman product (its durable), second, u need to read the directions that came with it-- in other words-- you wont have any problems with the grip if u just read the directions. plus u should leave the tammpering of the gun to the experts-- they know what they are doing!!!-- i have played in weather from 28 degrees to 98 degrees with no problems at all with the grip. defenatly buy this if u own a tippy a-5, but READ THE FRIGGIN DIRECTIONS PEOPLE, and u wont have any problems what so ever!!!
Conclusion: read the directions, know how ur equipment works, and u wont have any problems, tampering with it is out of the question- experts know what they are doing- the only way i can see any one having a problem is if they screwd up while instaling, or if there just dumb and dont know what/why they did what they did.(in other words- not for the avarage idiot. ;P )
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 11th, 2005 at 11:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ness Monday, May 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Paradox Electro - Cheaper model and not as great. Only had Semi, 3 round burst and full auto at 10 BPS, but E-Grip costs the same as the entire marker setup!
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ E-Grip Custom Stock and Flatline barrel
Soon to come sidearm: Ariakon Overlord stock with Ariakon Holster
Strengths: Ajustable rate of fire
5 different modes
Turbo mode
9-Volt life
Weaknesses: Price (Got mine for 150 USD)
Swiching modes is harsh
Low quality balls can chop
Review: First off, when I receved this product, it came in a neat, yet very small box. The packaging was lacking a little bit, but suffecient for the job. I opened the box, read the instructions and found that it should only take the average user around 15 to 30 minutes to install. The only thing you have to do is pull the two quick strip pins on the old grip, slide it off, slide the E-grip on, and re-insert the pins. Within minutes, I was ready for action.

I put on my CO2 and ran out side. At first, I didn't bother to see if the thing was on. I loaded up and pressed the trigger several times to find my E-Grip didnt work. However, after reviewing the instructions again, I found that to chage the mode of firing, you must stick a little screwdriver into a small hole in the grip facing toward the barrel (The worse side of the two for quick changing). The same goes for changing rate of fire. The worst part of this is I screw a 20 ounce CO2 into the recever directly, not under the grip. However, with this modification, you cannot fit the screwdriver into the holes. Immediently, I knew this was going to be troublesome. At first, the E-grip shot as promsed, 14-15 balls per second, and all modes worked. Next week, I took the thing to a game. I played for hours, and later found myself reading to bunker some guy behind a small plywood board. I reached into my pocket, and began sticking in the screw driver to change my mode of firing into full auto, when I got bunkered myself, all because I panicked and couldnt get the driver into the hole fast enough. To re-instate my thinking, the placement and choice of changing modes of fire sucks, and should not have used a screwdriver rather than a LED and push buttons. However, some fields will let you play in semi with the E-grip becuase you cant change it without a screwdriver. But if you're going to use semi, just take a few minutes to swich out to the old trigger.

Next, is the modes of fire. There are 5.
Semi: Plain and simple. Pull the trigger, and it fires one ball.
Response: Fires a ball when the trigger is pulled, and fires when the trigger is released.
Turbo: Same as Response, however, only if your trigger pulls are under .25 of a second. Otherwise, its only one ball.
Full auto: Also plain and simple. Pull the trigger, and hold for longer effect. I got mine to fire between 7-15 balls per second.
3 Round Burst: Shoots 3 balls at the selected speed. For example, 3 shots at 7-15 balls per second.

This is a great little puchase if you are looking to get a fully auto gun for your team, or just for fun and you have the money. But if you are not looking to make your A-5 full auto, consider purchasing a different marker. One 9 volt has really lasted me 6 months. However, be warned about changing it. Once your battery starts showing signs of heavy use, change it. First off, your gun wont be able to reach 15 balls per second, but more rather 12 when the battery is low. Next, is when my was low enough, it would fire, then the voltage would get low enough, and reset the trigger, then fire again, then reset the trigger again without the user pressing the trigger. In otherwords, your gun would be stuck on full auto and firing until you remover the battery. Also, another note to take, is do not use lower quality balls. At around 12 or 13 balls per second on some wal mart quality balls will cause the gun to jam and chop.
Conclusion: For the serious paintballer looking to make their A-5 Full auto, go for it. This is probably the best buy for your A-5 next to the flatline barrel. However, shop around and see if you can't get one for cheaper than 150 USD. If not for the placement of the mode of fire and rate of fire screws, and the whole screwdriver idea, it would have scored a 10. However, for the price I paid, and the screws, an 8 out of 10. If you can get one under 150 USD, a 9 then.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

BB1 Saturday, April 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5RT
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 w/ E-grip
JCS Double Blade trigger
Palmer stabilizer
Air America "The REG" 68/4500
Lapco barrel Accushot set
Madmann Spring kit (rear spring only)
JCS RVA
JCS Gold Member Power tube
Air through T-stock
JCS front grip
Ricochet R5 hopper
BSA 30mm Red Dot sight
Custom Remote with Pro Connect
Custom Paint Job
Strengths: Very light trigger pull. It rips in all firing modes.
Weaknesses: Dead spots in between settings. Can't use all modes on most fields.
Review: I have had problems with my Tippmann since I bought it. I was originally a RT model (which I could never get set up right), and I've been through many up-grades. I've tried Flatlines, air systems, etc. trying to get the gun to shoot reasonably straight, and consistent.
The last straw was having my rear bolt, and sear wear out...I went to the A5 guru on my scenario team. After a new rear bolt, and sear from Tippmann (they have really good customer service), getting the internals polished right, a new power tube, the Madmann kit, and the Palmer set up right, he switched out the Banjo, and turned me on to the E-grip!
My Tippmann has given me problems almost every game last year, so I was simply amazed when my sleepy A5 started ripping paint at lightning speed, and with very respectable accuracy...and that was just in semi mode! when we put the gun in auto-response, and turbo, forget it! I had a monster on my hands.
We blew through a case of paint in a few minutes, and the evil grin on my face gave way to shivers of paintball joy. I was simply amazed by the increase in performance.
I feel so jinxed with my A5, that I'm still holding my breath, but so far it appears to be holding together. I've kept my mechanical grip for backup, and when it rains, but the E-grip has put the love back in my relationship with my A5...a really great upgrade!
Conclusion: A5's don't shoot as advertised, right out of the box. You will need to upgrade it before the maeker will shoot straight, and consistently. FORGET ABOUT the Flatline, RT, and CO2 for the A5...in my opinion they don't work well. DO GET High Pressure Air, Regulator, the Madmann kit (red spring), RVA, JCS Gold Member power tube (or be ready to loose MANY velocity adjustment screws), a good "normal" barrel, AND the E-grip. The JCS double trigger, and other parts add on nicely, and I would recommend them as well. They will turn your Tippmann into a paintball monster!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NoSurrenderBoy Tuesday, April 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
electro-spyders
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5
-Flatline
-E-grip
-32* Car Stock (Sucks)
-JCS Combat Folding Stock w/RVA (Sweet!)
-Lapco Slidecheck
-32* Thick Coil Remote
-R5 Hopper (smoke)
-Custom Trigger Job
Strengths: Different Fireing Modes
ROF Adjuster
Fast!!!
Weaknesses: Nothing Advertises As E-grip
Review: The E-grip is a must for any A-5 owner. It may cost a little more than the RT but it is worth it. Not only does it offer a lot of fireing modes, it is fast! I keep mine on Turbo (see description) and I find myself emptying half a hopper within a few seconds. To Adjust the Firing mode you use a jewelers screwdriver (included) and turn a wheel that has a arrow pointing towards different numbers representing each mode. the wheel is housed inside the front end of your grip easily accesable to the outside though there is no way dirt or debris can get it. The ROF adjuster is located below it and works almost the exact same matter.
Since the E-grip requires a tool to adjust the ROF and fireing modes it is tourny legal! The trigger pull is very nice and light. The trigger assembly is a little tricky go get in right the first couple of times but once you get the hang of it, it's easy. The E-grip has great battery life as long as you use a decent battery such as Duracell or Energizer. If you plan on using the Dollar store kind you may find yourself without any power left. A Duracell should last you 20 cases of paint easy (9 volt).
Conclusion: If you are currently trying to decide between a RT or an E-grip for your A-5 the E-grip is the bette choice. It may be $25 or so more dollars but they will be the best spent dollars that you'll ever use. 10/10 for Tippmann!

Check out www.a5og.net for some mods and other players opinions on the grip.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 1st, 2005 at 4:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper21 Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Response Trigger, DM4
Marker Setup: A-5 E-grip, 68,3000 PMI Tank, CMI barrel, Jcs Trigger, DOP Gas Thru, Psycho Ballistics Drop.
Strengths: Different Modes, Seperate Grip, Light trigger
Weaknesses: Needs a new trigger, shoots faster than cyclone
Review: The E-grip is a really nice innovation by tippmann for the A-5, it is even better if the field you play at allows full auto. The trigger pull is considerably lightened and the cyclone keeps up with it when firing full auto. the different modes allow it to fit any situation. if you play speed ball this is the upgrade for you. comes with built in ramping modes.
Conclusion: get one if you own an A-5
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 21st, 2005 at 9:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jda2631 Sunday, April 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-Grip
Flatline and dye 12" ultralite
Palmer Stabalizer
Carr Stock
Remote
Double Trigger
Strengths: ROF!!!!
very light trigger pull
tournament legal, unlike the response trigger
Weaknesses: You have to take the grip off to change batteries
hard to change firing modes
Review: I love this grip. I havent used the RT, but the rt isnt leagl in tournaments. With this grip you can take advantage of the cyclone feed. I have never had any problems with it. I will say that they could have made it easier to change the battery instead of having to take off the whole grip. One more little thing, hence little thing-neither are bad, is that you have to use a small screw driver to change the firing setings. I only wish the field i play at would let me use the full auto mode or the turbo mode- fires 1 shot for every trigger pull, fires 1 shot for every trigger pull or release if the time between trigger pulls is less than .25 seconds- basically in turbo you can fire 1 ball at a time if you like or if you start pulling the trigger faster it will shoot 2 balls every time you pull the trigger making it pretty much full auto.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to anyone that has an a-5. This upgrade is worth the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media