paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot / Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot / Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot

Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $65

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Donnachaidh Thursday, March 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing this short, however I have used other Lapco barrels
Marker Setup: A5
Intruder
JCS Folding stock w/ RVA
Squishy Paddles
Spring Kit
DOP Bottomline Mount
Ion Barrel adapter
X7 Hopper

Ion
ND QEV
Lapco Apex Ready Bigshot
Lapco Clamping feedneck
Trinity On/Off
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much anuthing you would normally shoot. I didn't find it to be paint picky.
Strengths: Short-maneuverable
Accuracy in Urban/CQB situations
Not Paint Picky
Weaknesses: None really
Review: I have used all manner of field paint, as well as marbs etc with this, it drives nails in the short distances. Shot clean fairly well, pretty good barrel all in all. I actually liked this better than 12" and 14" Lapco one pieces I have used. I found it especially worthy when snapping from behind buildings/non-inflatable bunkers. In a situation like that, I'd say it's about the best.
Conclusion: I'd say go ahead and get it, but know that it ain't for longballing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

adot14 Friday, November 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline barrel
Marker Setup: 98 custom
Pro-Team Products Intruder Expansion System
Lapco bigshot 8 inch
BSA red-dot sight

Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium bore
Strengths: Short, accurate, nice bead-blasted finish, makes the marker more compact, and well built
Weaknesses: Loud (if that matters to you)
not as accurate as longer barrels at longer distances.
Review: Before I got this barrel I was playing with the Flatline barrel system, which was fine but it was not my style. I wanted a shorter barrel so I bought myself the Lapco Bigshot and it is great, especially in urban set games and anytime you need to play tight. I like to be in the front lines and move around a lot so a compact set-up for my marker is a must have. The barrel is very consistent and shoots at the same place every time. Anything within 100 feet will be a sure hit with this barrel. In one game I dove into a bunker and ran the barrel into a pile of dirt and it got all in the barrel, but I just shot off a few rounds and I was back in action. Moreover, the barrel was fine! there were no scratches or anything and I really hit the barrel hard. It is a good barrel.
Conclusion: Get this barrel if you don't mind one that is a little louder. It is accurate and very well built. The bead-blasted finish is really nice. If you want a compact set-up and you are looking to move around a lot, this is the barrel for you. Hope this helped.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 30th, 2007 at 3:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skandalous_MF Saturday, October 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing....i used 2 other upgrade barrels but they were for my Spyder and so i don't know if the performance is comparable
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Lapco 8" BigShot
Pure Energy Remote Coil
AK47 Expansion Chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used Zap Cryptic, worked good
Strengths: -Short
-Accurate
-Reasonably priced
-Looks cool
Weaknesses: -Loud (if that bothers you, I like it)
-Short range (it's an 8" barrel...)
Review: I got my BigShot for $40 from zephyrpaintball.com. It's actually slightly shorter than the A-5 stock barrel, but the accuracy is much better. I did get the occasional curve ball, but i later discovered that the Zap balls i was using were .689cal (the barrel is exactly .689 so they were slightly large for the bore) but i did not get any chops or breaks. This barrel shoots very straight at close-medium ranges and is ideal for a tape runner or pointman. It also looks pretty sick.
The only things that might be disappointing were the lack of range, which is to be expected from an eight inch barrel, and the fact that it is very loud; personally i like my guns loud but that bothers some people so if you want to bust out your slick splinter cell moves i would not reccomend this barrel.
Conclusion: This barrel is perfect for CQB or forward assault. Buy it if you like to get up close and personal with your game.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Neo_Enhander Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just other barrels
BT APEX
J&J Ceramics(12'-16')
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Lapco 8 Inch BigShot
SpecOps MP5 Mag Kit
SpecOps MP5 SD Full Shroud
OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock
Red Hot Power Tube
APE E-Grip
TechT Vortex
QEV
---------------------------------------
Tippmann 98 Custom
OPSGEAR 18 inch Interceptor Barrel
OPSGEAR Barret Muzzle Break
OPSGEAR Raider Shroud
OPSGEAR Gas Thru Raider Mag
FX 6 Point Stock
----------------------------------
Tippmann 98C Modded to WWII Thompson Sub Machine Gun
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium Bore
Strengths: VERY ACCURATE
Small for compact places
Price
Weaknesses: Loud(if that bothers you)
Review: Well, just got my new 8in Bigshot. I LOVE IT.
I was very skeptical when I first bought it. I kept thinking how crappy the stock barrel is and how short it is...etc. I was not dissapointed when I put this barrel on my A5. I was shooting less than a 3 inch spread from about 70-75 feet. Even closer at 30-50 feet.
Paint I was using: RPS Stinger (checked, good paint/barrel match)
Velocity: 275ish
Gas: Pure Energy 72/3000 Tank
Temp: 35 Degrees
I had to keep in prespective that I wasnt shooting my Apex. Ive used the Apex for about 2 years, only reason I swichted is because I got the SO MP5 SD Long shroud.
I am, by no stretch of the imagination, upset or dissappointed by this barrel.
Look for a Accuracy vid on http://fearpaintball.net soon!!!!
Conclusion: Dont let the length full you, this barrel rocks!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rcko Friday, September 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
14" JJ Ceramic
14" AA Freak
Marker Setup: 05 Pro Stock Autococket
14" AA Freak Barrel
Odessy TSA LED Backman
PMI 88/4500
A-5 RT
Palmer Male Stabilizer
Rufus Dawg Bolt and Power Tube
Lapco 8" Bigshoot
Palmer Cyclone QEV
RT and Cyclone 1/8" ID Hoses
CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Med bore paint

PMI Premium
Blaze
Marbs
Strengths: Short Length
Accuracy
Report
Weaknesses: Report
Review: Excellent little barrel.

Takes weight off the marker and makes for a more milsim look. Due to lack of proting the barrel is very loud. This might be an issue for some folks. In my case it makes the whole field turn and stare at who is RTing with a marker so loud...

Performance of this barrel is what has impressed me the most. Dont be fooled by the lack of length. This barrel can hit what it is aimed at. The only real shortcoming is firing from bunkers or heavy brush were you can not use the barrel as leverage to fire through. For those who like to play fwd positions and rush/flank this barrel will fit your game style.
Conclusion: Very good performace from a small package.
If your marker does not have sights you might have a lil hard time boresighting due to the lack of length.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sim672 Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
lapco bigshot 12", cp 10", thunder pig
Marker Setup: 98c w/rt & cyclone lp kit, bob long reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, i used the rec balls from my local field, i believe its sterling
Strengths: Short, accurate, good mobility for tight spots and bunkers
Weaknesses: Its a bit loud i guess but i dont care about that
Review: If youre playing on small fields where its pretty close quarters this barrell is awsome, and i guess if your a front man and agressive and like being close to the action this is a good accurate barrell to have. i dont have any regrets i also hope this puts me beyond the min words as well.
Conclusion: Buy it , its alot of barrell for the money!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

s0509102 Friday, March 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, E-grip, Folding Stock, Mag, Lapco Suppressor, Lapco Bigshot 8"
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Short/Compact
-Great Finish
-Give Gun a Unique Look
Weaknesses: -Not accurate over long distances
-loud
Review: I have been using this barrel for three months and let me tell you that it is the best barrel that i have ever owned. Even though it is very short (8") it is very accurate over about a 70+ feet range. I like to play in close quarters so this barrel is the best for this type of situation. It allows you to maneuver better and does break paintballs that easily (if you are using good paintballs).
Conclusion: This is a great price for its value and its setup. The short 8" inch barrel gives you better accuracy than any other barrel at its lenght and will accommodate to rapid fire modes presented by the Tippmann E-grip or any other fully-automatic set-up. So if you are a trigger happy individual and you like to have accuracy in close range battles, I recommend that you purchase the Lapco Bigshot 8" barrel. Trust me you will not be sorry!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheDon1 Monday, January 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I'm going to make this short and sweet Dont buy this thing
Marker Setup: tippmann a5
a5a2 kit
m249 gas through stock
tactical cap loader
custom sling/mounts
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything with a bore well over .689
Strengths: If you want to pull off a shot and it scare people instead of hitthem
Weaknesses: Everything
breaks most balls
does not like cold weather
Stock barrell out preforms the BIGSHOT
Review: Look seriously if you are looking this hard before you buy a new barrel, dont buy this one.
This thing sucks,it breaks balls and is a pain to clean. The stock Barrel out preforms this one. I mean come on the stock tippmann barrel beat the living hell out of this thing. My adivice to you is go play at your local field and if you see any kid crying ask him why and he'll probly tell you he just got owned because he tried to use the BIGSHOT. By the way anyone want to by mine 30$ and its yours
Conclusion: Why ?!?!?! Would you sell this to kids?
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

A5Dawg Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 Flatline
14" All American
Marker Setup: A5 with E-Grip
HPA, Drop Forward
JCS RVA and Maddman spring kit
JCS Double Trigger
Strengths: Accuracy
Length
Look on Gun
Weaknesses: None found
Review: I have had the Flatline and All American 14". Flatline is awesome for woods ball or any wide open field. Flatline sucks for any small fields where you might have to turn your gun sideways to shoot, such as around a bunker. Al American is pretty good, as long as you keep the thing super clean.

Just ordered the Bigshot 8" and I must say this barrel is awesome!!! I was looking for a good short barrel to play speedball with and this was the shortest I could find that was getting good reviews. The accuracy of this barrel just blew me away!! And it actually did great in the woods too. I just recently switched to HPA and could only get my A-5 to shoot in the 280fps range. With the 8" Bigshot, I was nailing 300fps consistently.

With the 8" Bigshot and after removing my front grip, I transformed my A5 into a mean looking automatic pistol!!
Conclusion: Highly recommend this barrel for all fields.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rouge Saturday, August 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Jt 2Piece
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
8" Lapco Big Shot Barrel
Pro Team Intruder Foregrip
3000psi 72cu compressed air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
I personally don't think it really matters
Strengths: -Light
-Short
-Still acurate
-Bead blasted
-looks
Weaknesses: -Not as accurate as expected
Review: For the length of this barrel its pretty accurate way more accurate than the A-5's stock barrel. I play speedball and play a front man and this barrel is perfect for my position. nice and short and can stay behind bunkers and maneuverability is no exception. The is bead blasted which is nice for when i do end up playing scenario games. This barrel just looks killer on the Tippmann A-5. The barrel is not as accurate as expected, but is nice enough for me playing up front in speed ball. I've gotten plenty of compliments on this barrel people were actually surprised by the distance i could get with this short barrel.
Conclusion: This is an excellent barrel for its length and recommende for small front players. A must for my barrel bag. And worth the money if you ask me.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 16th, 2004 at 5:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media