paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot / Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot / Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot

Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $65

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
The American Sunday, March 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
16in Thunder Pig-haha!
Marker Setup: A-5 with egrip, double trigger, lapco 8in bead blasted barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium bore size balls work fine!
Strengths: Makes gun Compact
Looks cool
Price
accurate
What more could you want?
Weaknesses: Loud-does it really matter?
Review: This is a really good barrel, I have mine Bead blasted which takes away the shinny look which matches the A-5 pretty good, but costs about $5 extra. Great for the Price, especially if you are just looking for a decent upgrade for playing around with friends in woodsball/speedball. I really don't understand why people give it a lower rating just because of the loudness, once you shoot no matter how quiet people are gonna spot you out. I prefer the 7.5in (same as 8in) over the 12in because I like to stay more compact, some people like the 12in though because they say it helps them aim better, so its up to you, but it doesn't really matter.
Conclusion: Great barrel, something every player should have! Come on just buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trains are bad Tuesday, February 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, J&J ceramic
Marker Setup: Shaved top cocking 98c
Low pressure mods
Palmer's Stabilizer
Lapco 8" Bigshot.
Revvy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Doesn't matter as long as it goes through.
Strengths: Size, accuracy
Weaknesses: Not barrel pluggable
Review: SIZE! I have no idea why everyone like long barrels nowadays. The 98c is a long marker so this is perfect for it. It's actually a tad shorter than the stock barrel. If you shoot a mag or something it would be really really short feeling-I think I'd run a 10 or 12 on a mag. This barrel is very accurate. VERY. I love it. It is quite loud though.

The end is drilled out oversize so the paintballs don't touch the bore after the porting. So you can't use a regular barrel plug with it. Not a big deal since most places require covers anyway.
Conclusion: Can't reccomend it more, best 98c barrel, unless you like long barrels. The only other short barrels I could find was the blackpoint barrels.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mills-pb Tuesday, December 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
12" Lapco Big Shot, Stock Tippmann 98 custom barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Reactive Trigger, Lapco Big Shot 8" Barrel, NW 8" Drop Forward with on/off, Revolution 12 v Electronic Hopper w / x-board, 12 oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything - Lapco Big Shot Barrels are not too picky
Strengths: Short, Accurate, Quality Built
Weaknesses: Kind of Loud
Review: After reading the other reviews on this barrel, I decided to get one for myself. I was skeptical at first because of its short length but when I actually got the barrel on my gun, I was very impressed. The 8" barrel is shockingly accurate. I tested it against my 12" Big Shot and it is as accurate from close to medium distance. I don't play on a very large field so I don't need the extra distance that a longer barrel would provide. This barrel looks great on my marker, the finish matches pretty well. If you want a barrel that is not too long, get this barrel. You won't be dissapointed.
Conclusion: Excellent product. Get this barrel if you don't want a barrel that is really long. It is very accurate and looks great. What more can you ask for?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

balazs Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
teardrop, various other barrels
Marker Setup: 98c
8in bigshot
GTA expansion chamber
LAPCO powerfeed
Toxic performance 2x trigger
Rico AK
DOP drop
Full Boar Shadow
And some slight trigger tweaking(its pretty light)
Recommended
Paintballs:
its not too picky.....medium bore i use super swirl and dusk usually
Strengths: extremely compact and short
cool looking
accurate
price
Weaknesses: not as accurate as other longer barrels.
Review: For the 98c a barrel is an absolute must so i decided to go with this very compact little bueaty. It improved my game a crapload. The tippmann stock barrel shoots about as straight as i can piss which isnt very straight. I really recomend to a person who doesnt like having a really damn long barrel. Im not very tall so i didnt want a long ass barrel hanging to the ground.
Conclusion: Buy this u wont be dissapointed i like it alot. It is much better on the A5 than it is on the custom in my opinion but it didnt deter me from getting it. Really good price too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ebegoli Wednesday, September 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Dye excel
Stock for Tippmann 98 and A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Lapco BigShot 8"
BSA Red Dot 30 3/8
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium bore
Strengths: Size-accuracy ratio
Aesthatical match for A-5
weight (light)
quality of finish
Weaknesses: My version of the barrel is glossy, I would prefer bead blasted
Review: Fantastic choice if you are looking for a good balance of accuracy, and maneuverability.
I've heard some people claiming that it is very loud. I compared it with stock for A-5, custom and Dye Excel for 98 cust. - It is somehow louder, but not at the point where it would get you in trouble (unmask your position,...) Paintball is a close proximity game, so loudness of the source of fire is not as much of an issue as it is in a real combat (trust me).

On the other hand - it is very accurate. I was zeroing my BSA red dot with this barrel and let me tell you what could I do with it coupled with BSA:

I used Draxxus Inferno and Dusk (yes, Dusk. I can not practice wtih $70 pballs).

At 50 ft I can hit the 12 ounce plastic bottle from the first shot.

At ~80 ft. I can hit the same bottle 80-90% of the time. I can definitely hit the helmet.

At ~105 ft. I can hit the helmet 50% of the time. Using red dot with some manual elevation compensation I could hit the water pipe (6") at some 110-120" once out of two or three trials. This is as far I went during my target practice.

I also practiced with mechanical sights and results were very encouraging. I did not measure exact distances, but at some 80-100 ft I could hit the 10-20" tree trunk 70%+ of the time.
Conclusion: If you like Tippmann A-5 or 98 custom. if you like to play fast, move, crawl and attack and still be accurate at 30-90 ft distances then you need this product. I can not think of anything better.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 17th, 2003 at 6:30 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

paintball fre@k Sunday, June 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 stock barrel, 14 inch bigshot
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
8 inch lapco bigshot
E-Grip
20 oz. CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
medium bore paintballs
Strengths: short
maneuveravble
accurate
looks cool
loud (if you like loud)
cheap
Weaknesses: none.unless you don't like loud barrels
Review: longer isn't always better and this barrel proves that statement. this barrel is just as accurate the 14 inch at close to medium ranges. at longer ranges the 14 inch is a little bit more accurate. the price is great also. in my opinion this is the best looking barrel for the A5. with the A5, stock, fake suppressor, and fake mag it looks almost like an MP5.
Conclusion: buy this barrel. you won't regret it. don't let the size keep you fom buying it. i hope my review helps you in your decision.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 at 12:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hr34 Monday, March 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
various barrels
Marker Setup: 2k2 intimidator
empire 10-piece barrel kit
halo-b loader
crossfire hpa tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
medium bore barrels
Strengths: short
accurate
looks sharp
Weaknesses: people say it's loud, I honestly don't think it's that bad
Review: It's short and sweet. Slap this on your A5 and you have a tasty looking marker with awesome accuracy.
Since it's so short, your turning radius is much better then the average 12 incher. In fact, it's shorter then the stock barrel.
Don't let the size fool you though, it's accuracy is as good as it's longer bretheren. So get this with a big smile.
Conclusion: If you must get a medium bore barrel, get this. You won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Azzy Wednesday, January 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
12" J&J ceramic
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5
BSA red dot
8" bigshot
RT
proteam intruder
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything not crappy
Strengths: -manuverable
-Looks great (with fake lapco suppressor, looks awesome)
-accurate
-nice report (loud, if you like a nice mean sound)
-excellent quality
Weaknesses: -loud (if you don't like loud)
Conclusion: I wanted a nice short barrel that was still VERY accurate. If you take slow shots, you can put one on top of the other. Rapid fire with the RT gives you a nice little spread. This is definately my favorite barrel, but I tend to use the J&J in my backyard since its 10X quieter than the bigshot. (Dont want to PO the neighbors.)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alexi1337 Friday, January 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32* Quiet Riot
JJ's 1 piece Ceramic
Dye Boomstick
Marker Setup: Sentinel TS Red/Black Fade
Stock at the moment (just got it)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs
Strengths: - Length. This barrel looks/feels good on an A5, which is what I used it on.
- Pretty much anything that an aftermarket barrel has to offer, it beats the crap out of the stock barrel of the A5, but it's not better than the stock on some guns.
Weaknesses: It's loud
It's not as accurate as other barrels
Conclusion: This barrel is nice if you want something to make your gun compact, but there are much better barrels out there. I guess the novelty of this barrel is that its so short, and it has quality construction, but as I said before - not the best for the money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

saveferris Tuesday, December 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Bigshot 12", 32 Degrees Carbon Fiber, Tippmann Flatline. Lapco barrels have been my favorite by far. Best price and most accurate.
Marker Setup: Stock A-5 with 8" Lapco Bigshot for indoor duty.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbelizer, All-Star, Diablo Blaze,
Strengths: *Short length looks cool on the gun.
*Very accurate
*Good in-door barrel for tight spaces.
*Price
Weaknesses: *Only bad thing I can think of is that as with any short barrel, it is loud.
Conclusion: Excellent price, excellent accuracy. If you can only afford one barrel, I would recommend the 12" Lapco Bigshot. I bought this barrel for playing in a warehouse we have permission to play in in my hometown. The short barrel is great for the tight corners, hallways, stairwell, offices, etc. I highly recommend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 5:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media