paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Barrel Sock / Dye Barrel Sock / Dye Barrel Sock / Dye Barrel Sock

Dye Barrel Sock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Barrel Sock

Paintball Barrel Plugs and Condoms

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Barrel Sock
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 48
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $10

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Quickly replacing traditional barrel plugs, the soft barrel sock is fashionable and fits into your pocket comfortably. The unique elastic tip design catches misfired balls without breaking them. Red, yellow, blue, gray.
Product Availability 
The Dye Barrel Sock is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
mxer394 Sunday, May 25th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A wrench, a blowtorch, a babies mouth, Jake Spivak, and the souls of forgotten children.
Marker Setup: VS2
Reloader B
Tadao Board w/ M7 chip
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
Polished Internals
CP reg
DP on/off
Strengths: Doesn't stop paintballs
Weaknesses: Really, really good.
Review: So I got this in the mail yesterday, so I pooped all over it, and then it smelled bad, so I returned it, cause that was their fault.

So I got a new one, and I put it on my gun, and it didn't stop my polar bear from killing me.

WORST PRODUCT EVAR!!!!!!!11
Conclusion: I wish I was not so dead.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

baller1280 Thursday, January 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
barrel plugs
Marker Setup: impulse w/ freak back all-american front, 32* drop-foward, smart parts 68/4500 with inline max-flo regulator, Velocity Jr. w/ ganstar chip
Strengths: Looks nice
Weaknesses: Doesnt catch balls
Review: My team won a tourney and these were part of the grand prize so i cant tell you what a good price on them are
When i got it and saw it claimed to catch balls instead of breaking them i had to test it. so i shot a ball into it 10 times and each time the ball broke so it didnt do what it said but no paint got into my barrel which was nice its also a pita to clean
I havent had any problems with it shooting off the gun like others had said and it hasnt shown much wear
Conclusion: It looks good on your gun and it keeps you from shooting your friends but it doesnt do what it claims to do so im going to give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Invisty Thursday, April 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Noname barrel plugs.
Tippy socks.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine,
Viewloader Evolution II,
Smart Parts Linear 16" Barrel,
V-Force Vantage Pro Mask,
AIM pyro regulator,
Delrin ACS Bolt,
Maddog Designz Spring Kit,
50g switch mod,
Strengths: Unique "paint catcher" design.
Adjustable.
Durable.
Weaknesses: Paint catching feature isnt flawless.
Review: Well its a good all round barrel sock, is highly reliable and well built. The unique feature of it is that it has an elastic tipped end which is designed to catch paint in the event of a mis-fire. This is rather unreliable in its working, it seems to catch the paint only half the time. Of course if you happen to have a very sensitive trigger, 2 shots is going to cause 2 breaks. In all cases no paint ended up in or on the barrel, which is definitely a good thing. The adjustable strap means you can wrap the elastic cord around nearly any part of your marker, which is a bonus compared to inferior unadjustable straps.
Conclusion: Since it dosnt do (reliably) what its stated to do (with regards to the paint catching), it isnt perfect. One could consider the catching technology more of a bonus, since other barrel socks do not have this feature. For a barrel sock however, its definitely a good purchase.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ego_Trip Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
NXe barrel sock, spyder barrel plug,
Marker Setup: I Use a Gun metal Grey 06 Ego hybrid grips (Grey), eclipse shaft two peice barrel (gun metal Grey back silver dust tip) silver dust CCU kit, Halo B w/rip & angry board, dye throttle 68 cui 4500 psi air system, Dye Rhino Bottle cover.
Strengths: Looks cool
made by Dye?
Weaknesses: Lousy construction
price
Review: Ok i bought this barrel plug because i had no choice. i was at a local field and lost mine (actually i think it was stolen!) and the refs flipped out so i ran to the pro shop next door and the only one they had was this one. first of all wow i payed about $ 13.00 dollars for it. come on overpriced is a under statement. well then i used it it scratched the tip of my barrel. next i misfired and the thing flew like 4 feet . it was full of paint well at least it caught the ball but in the process it itself became a projectile. and a month later i used this for a science fair project we tested how many paintballs the barrel plug could withstand before it was ineffective in stopping them, so we unloaded about 30 paintballs and the elastic snapped. well sucks. but i guess if you don't shoot like 30 balls you are ok.
Conclusion: All in all it is an ok barrel sock but a little over priced im kinda neutral so im giving it a 6
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

X2O Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Neoprene Barrel sock
Vinyl Barrel sock
Barrel plug
Marker Setup: Tippman 98C with:
- 16 in CP barrel or 12 in 32 degree night stick barrel
- BT fixed sight rail
- 3-9x 32 Powerline scope
- BT sealed bolt system
- 4 position CAR stock
- Barrel mounted folding Bi-pod
- cyclone feed system
- EGD feed neck offset
- Remote line setup
- Starfire bolt
- Three point sling
Strengths: -Looks
Weaknesses: -A pain to clean
-Ball "catcher"
-Price
-Elastic draw strings
Review: The Dye Barrel sock is pretty nice and looks, and how its supposed to "function". I recently tried an expirement with this barrel sock and a supposedly accidental "misfire". first time i fired, i noticed that yellow started to ooze from the front end of the barrel sock , notifying me that the ball indeed broke, when i pulled out the barrel, i noticed that it was still clean, which is a plus. i did another test later to see if it would catch any of the balls. none catched. next came cleaning. this was a pain!! unlike the other rectangular barrel socks which you can easily reverse to clean, this one you cannot. its even hard to remove the ball shell fragments from the little pocket at the tip, since the sock was really narrow. the only way known so far to wash it is through the washing machine... but i don't know if the ball fragments are removed. Overall, when you use this.. make sure that its securely tightened because since the elastic is kinda thin, if its not tightley placed, it can fly off of the barrel
Conclusion: Looks nice and if an accedental "misfire" occurs, it will keep your barrel clean, but if it should happen to fire... make sure that you have enough time to clean it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Phathed Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Uped Smart Parts Ion
Halo B
Redz Envy pack
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: Well, its a barrel cover, i mean they all do the job well, it keeps you from shooting someones eye out while in the staging area. it looks really cool, it comes with a wicked awesome sticker. You can put it anywhere you want to too. its cool. i've heard it can not break balls but it has, but its no big deal anyway.
Conclusion: Buy, if you dont want to be sued for shooting someones eye out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Thursday, February 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Generic ones - just as good.
Marker Setup: Ion
SP swivel qev
AKA Sidewinder
Kila '06 detents
VP Scythe trigger
CP 2-piece
CP Micro drop
CP 2k5 on/off
CCM No Pro
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
Crossfire 68/4500
ProTouch grips
Strengths: Does its job.
Looks cool.
Weaknesses: Costs more than generic ones.
Mine ripped.
Review: Bought one because it matched my setup & gear (black & yellow). No other reason, really. The barrel cover that came with my Ion, the one a former local store (Tracer) gave me for free and the two generic ones i had previously all work just as well.

Now for the weakness. My Ion has gone off a couple times in it, when i thought it was off... dang hard-to-see light. The Dye barrel sock has this "pocket" on the end that is reinforced & has elastic so it catches an accidental shot better. But on one of the accidental "discharges," the paintball didn't go directly into the pocket. Instead, it ripped through an area just above the pocket and some paint and a piece of shell came out.

I'm using the Ion's barrel condom now.
Conclusion: It looks cool but a plain barrel condom will do the trick. What happened to mine may have been some freak occurence, i dunno.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goldeagle Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2004 Empire Barrel Condom
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro E
Tippmann 98 Cyclone Feed Hopper
20 oz. CO2 Tank with PMI on/off valve
Strengths: Looks
Stops ball breaks
Weaknesses: Hard to get on until you wear it in
Review: When I first tried to get this sleeve on, it wouldn't go on. I thought, "oh great, this will be a joy". But it turned out to be great. It actually caught a ball I had accidentally fired and the ball didn't break. The only problem is that it's hard to get on until you wear it in. Just put it in an open position for a few days, and you're good to go!
Conclusion: Buy it, you'll be glad you did.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most other bbd's out there.
Marker Setup: Icon T PDS, Reloader B, 72/3k, rest is classified ; )
Strengths: Stops paint. Looks good. Lasts a long time.
Weaknesses: More costly than other bbd's.
Review: This is probobly one of the better socks out there. Rivaling the ones from Empire, these will take multiple hits, and still keep that barrel covered. The elastic stretches to the point where it will wrap your marker, and leave a little bit of give in case it has to do its duty, and needs that extra shock absorbant flex. It's a great sock, but it's a little more than i cared to spend on one. But it was a good investment. Makes my gun look cool. :sunglasses:
Conclusion: One of the best out there. Buy, buy, buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tphelon Monday, December 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippman Pro-Carbine
16'' J&J Ceramic Barrel
Black Aim Shock Regulator
Black Dye Sticky's
Macroline
Crossfire 68/3000 HPA
Strengths: Easy to put on when broken in
Look cool
Can catch a ball without breakage
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got this barrel sock for 10 bucks from my local paintball shop. I only got it because the place I was going to required them. But while we were there my friend wanted to test his to see if it could catch a ball without breaking it and it worked. It was a pain to get out but it didn't break. It looks really cool and it gets really easy to put on after a while.
Conclusion: I say get this if you want a stylish and fairly cheap barrel sock or if you don't wanna clean if you accidently fire a shot while your bag is on. Definit 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 1st, 2006 at 12:44 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media