paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask

JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 57
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The JT Chameleon series™ Proteus (patent pending) is a quantum leap in paintball technology. Advanced micro spectrum pigments have been created to change colors every time you move. This new Proteus™ will constantly evolve in a spectrum of color with every play you make. The backbone of this new Proteus™ is still our most innovative creation, designed for maximum protection with a minimal target zone. The JT Uni-body polymer mask features one of the lowest profiles on the market today. Engineered for maximum effectivemess for communication on the field, it incorporates unique audio capabilities and fog-resistant performance making this the most advanced goggle system available. A 260 degree field of view is provided by the Spectra™ lens, the most popular in paintball. Competing this incredible system is our new "Diamond Gloss" finish, giving you that unbelievable "wet look". JT, the ever changing face of paintball!
Product Availability 
The JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
ballinboy5 Wednesday, September 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
proflex
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with a flatline.
Strengths: looks awesome
VERY COMFORTABLE
bounces paint
capable with a fan
LENS NEVER FOG
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought this used from an old paint baller for only $20 since BEFORE I thought that goggles can't make that big of a difference so why pay so much. I bought these but the lens were messed up so I went to the store to see if they had any others and they had a million different lens that all looked awesome. So this mask has many accessories you can get for it like all the lens, a fan which came with mine, speakers and many more. I had a war all scheduled but in ended up being 35 degrees out. My mask didn't fog at all while everyone else's did and they had the stock scott goggles, all different kinds of Vforce and some other cheapies.
Conclusion: These are great goggles, well worth the money, i would even pay full price for them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

porschekid Wednesday, September 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing in any comparison
Strengths: Looks never fogs soft plastic is grand bounce factor
Weaknesses: Somewhat to bright for woods ball
Review: I've had my chamelon for a long time , and i've only ever had it fog up once really bad {mostly my fault washed it the night before and got water inthe lens} if you get the fan for it you should never really have any trouble. One thing that i wished i did was get it in black the yellow/green is ok but if you get it in the purple/blue and only play woods don't get a chamelon just get a black proteus
Conclusion: I think there one of the best masks out but if you into woods ball like my self i recommened getting it in black
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

puck2paint Wednesday, August 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
some brass eagle mask, it wasnt all that bad, I just couldnt find an aftermarket lense, and it was really scratched
Marker Setup: 2003 BKO
10" Boomstick
Palmers Stabalizer
Supafly Bolt
Razerblade
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Pros:

really cool looking (some noobies sometimes say "it looks like something from halo"
tight profile
can put fan on
good ventilation
wide field of view
if hit at the right angle the ball might bounce

Cons:

cant find any aftermarket lenses
the bottom is really close to your mouth, so if you get shot there your upper lip swells up and you look like a moose (yes that happened to me)
pretty hard to clean thuroughly
Conclusion: I am really happy with this product. its a great product for rec ballers and tourny ballers. looks great and works just as well
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snakexeyes Sunday, August 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Hot Shot Termal
Rentals...
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom OD Green
32 degrees Whisper barrel
Lapco sightrail
Target Sports Red Dot sight
200 rnd hopper
20 oz tank
High pressure Coiled Remote
Dead on Rear Velocity Adjuster
...
Strengths: Awesome looks 'n color!
Comfort!
Quality!
Visibility!
Upgrades!
Weaknesses: Price?
Replacing lenses needs practice
Review: Let's start with saying that this is an awesome mask!

What made me buy this one, I have to admit, is the color! The chameleon color i sreally cool! It's not that camo, but hey, if you're a good player that doesn't really matter.

Do you know the movie "Alien"? Well, maybe you remember those aliens called "facehuggers"? That is what this mask is, it really hugs your face and that's why it is so comfortable, it's like you're not wearing a mask at all! With my Scott mask I often felt like wearing a medieval knight mask, because it didn't always stay in place. This one is really a winner when it comes down to comfort. The strap is very easy and effective to adjust. This one always stays in place while running and jumping.

During the last game that lasted for more than 5 hours I did not have any problems with fogging. Plus you have a big field of vision, very cool!

The quality of the material. It's a sort of softer plastic, wich adds to the comfort and also seems better than the harder plastic of some masks. I think it'll last longer.

Also the visor (big one) helps you to cool of, if you tilt your head a little bit up the air comes flowing in and it really refreshes you!

You can also slap on alot of cool upgrades/replacements. Like new straps with cool designs, diff colored lenses (I have yellow fade and chrome orange), fans etc etc.

As for weaknesses...

It's more expensive, but still worth it's price (check eBay, I got mine there for 'bout 50$)

When you want to replace the lens, it's a real pain in the ass. But after doing it twice I got hold of it. But if could've been easier.

Conclusion: Just buy it, I don't think you will regret it! You get alot of impressed looks in between games and you have a high quality comfy mask that gives you clear visibility!
Just replacing lenses is 'somewhat' difficult. But hey...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chazmatazz Sunday, August 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Flex, Scott, Dye mask
Marker Setup: Dragunfly Mech, 14" freak barrel system, HPA, "Playboy" drop forward
Strengths: Comfort
Peripheral vision
Upgrades
Weaknesses: Lens changes are a pain
strap isn't very secure
Review: I bought my Proteus Chameleon from a friend, and I haven't looked back since. It fits like a glove, peripheral vision is amazing, and the upgrades are wikked...(the vortex fan is great and you can even get a custom 2-way radio system installed, earpieces fit where the round ear caps go and the mic snaps to the front of the mask...PURRRRfect for scenario games)

I replaced the lens not too long ago cause I always seemed to get gogged...I asked everyone what they saw when I was bunker-jumping, and all they said was "Your lens"...so I changed them...and man what a time I had doing that...If you ever plan on doing a lens change, take the afternoon off, cause it'll take you that long to do it.

All in all, this mask is amazing.
Conclusion: I give it a 10, even though the lens swap sucks...you don't do it often enough for it to really matter
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lord Manimal Tuesday, August 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nearly Every JT mask ever made
Brass Eagle Junk
Nearly every 32 Degrees mask ever made
Marker Setup: Too many to list
Strengths: Comes in CLEAR
Supports com system; for scenario players this is KILLER
goggles are builtintomask
Weaknesses: Lens's difficult to remove
Thermal system double lens makes for glare between them
Review: The fit is incredible for "medium" heads, and aside from the "chameleon clear" not being chameleon at all, I have no real complaints. In fact just getting a quality CLEAR mask is rare in case you've never noticed. Mask is super flexible and the CLEAR mask is all one peice, not two like the normal chamelons.
Conclusion: Firstly, this review is on the CLEAR chameleon mask, not the one in the picture. Don't ask me why they market this mask as a chameleon clear; there's nothing chameleon about it in the least. It's just... clear!

The mask has a super good fit, which despite my love of JT products, isn't something that can be said for too many of their masks for people with "medium" sized heads. As an earlier review put it, it's more like wearing a helm than a paintball mask. The foam around the goggles is full and thick, and no part of the mask touches your face that isn't foam. They even put foam in the "cheekbone" area to keep it from touching your face. It has an ultra small profile that, like everyone else said a gazillion times, won't cover your neck. Personally, I try and keep my head as small a profile as possible, and if people are sticking their heads out far enough that someone has a shot at their necks, I think they need to re-evaluate their game. That being said, it has one of the smallest profiles of any of the dozens of masks I own/have owned, and has quickly become a favorite.

The thermal system I'm not so in love with however. It makes it obvious to your eyes that you're simply looking through two lenses at once. You'll occasionally see minor reflections of things behind you on the inner lense, which can be disconcerting. Or helpfull depending on your point of view. lol Just go stand in front of an empty fishtank and read a book through the other side. It's the same feeling. HOWEVER, since that feature is intentional, and many people seem to like it, I won't deduct points from my rating for a personal preference.

The mask seems to venillate very well, likely due to the "no neck protection" concept mentioned earlier, and I suspect that after you give this mask a try (ask to put one on at your local shop) you'll quickly decide that for the price, it's not only a bling bling, but it's a super comfortable, ultra light-weight, exceptionally well made mask that you can get some crazy good deals on. Check out:
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 18th, 2004 at 11:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CaliDude Monday, August 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Java Mask
Scott Goggles
Marker Setup: Dragun T.E.S. B
Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Viewloader 12v Revolution
PMI 16oz CO2
Strengths: Keeps close to the head
Color looks cool
Keeps the sun out of your eyes
Weaknesses: No neck protection
Review: I think this mask it awesome. Its color shifts from green to yellow. The thermal lense keeps the sun out of your eyes and still gives you perfect vision. Also the mask stays close to your head witch makes you a small taget when peeking around corners and such. I have never expierienced any severe fogging in this mask either
Conclusion: Overall this mask it great. The thermal lense truly keeps the sun out of your eyes 100%. It may be a little expensive but it is worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IraqiFreedomVet Friday, July 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT, Scott, VForce Morph
Marker Setup: '03 Bushie w/ PDS
'04 MacDev Gladiator HPR
'04 MacDev Sonic LPR w/ Ram Gauge
'04 MacDev Sonic RED valve
MacDev micro gauge
MacDev Matchstik barrel set
Zenitram 15 degree ASA
Bonebrake quick disconnect wiring harness
Apache
92/45 Crossfire LP
VForce Morph
Strengths: Good fit, looks good
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This mask looks good. It forms to your face and head pretty well. I got more than a few bounces off of the visor that came with it.
I found it was fogging a lot.......especially indoors. Here in the summer it's pretty humid, so had some trouble there. That's to be expected.
It's a decent mask to buy, but try a few others before locking in on this one.
Conclusion: Decent mask to buy, but try a few others before locking in on this one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

soccer spaniel Wednesday, May 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
other jt masks
Marker Setup: dragon timmy with supafly, halo b, nitro duck 45/45
Strengths: low profile
lens
peripheral
style
Weaknesses: price
forehead shots without visor
Review: the proteus mask is by far one of the best masks out there next to the flex. the peripheral you get from jt is only rivaled by v force. this mask has style.theonly problem is their description of the color shift. its not that great. if your willing to be blinging all kinds at the field, get this mask. if you dont want to bling so much, just get a regular proteus or proteus II. its a better price for what you need.
Conclusion: the mask is good for those willin to be blingin, but for everyone else, the other proteus masks are just fine
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cybrax Sunday, March 21st, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Some V-force goggels(i think it was sheild) also some crappier JT masks and one brass eagel *barf*.
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 with some upgrades not really important since we are talking about masks
Strengths: Comfey, Looks cool, Small, Tinted lense
Weaknesses: Microphone weak, chameleon skin not as cool as it sounds, Hard to remove lense,Expensive
Review: Its a protus mask. The headphones and mic work very well as a hands free. Hearing is unaffected as well. The tinted lense really does help. Well my microphone only lasted one day. The headphones on the other hand are durrable, and i got shot in the face from five feet away and the lense wasnt dammaged. The mask never fogs. I ran a mile up hill in 45 degrees weather and had no fog.
Conclusion: Dont buy the sports coms. The protus is a fine mask but JT -USA still needs to work on the sports com system. I would just recomend throwing in a cheap hands free system. These work just as well and are allot cheaper.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media