paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask

JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 57
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The JT Chameleon series™ Proteus (patent pending) is a quantum leap in paintball technology. Advanced micro spectrum pigments have been created to change colors every time you move. This new Proteus™ will constantly evolve in a spectrum of color with every play you make. The backbone of this new Proteus™ is still our most innovative creation, designed for maximum protection with a minimal target zone. The JT Uni-body polymer mask features one of the lowest profiles on the market today. Engineered for maximum effectivemess for communication on the field, it incorporates unique audio capabilities and fog-resistant performance making this the most advanced goggle system available. A 260 degree field of view is provided by the Spectra™ lens, the most popular in paintball. Competing this incredible system is our new "Diamond Gloss" finish, giving you that unbelievable "wet look". JT, the ever changing face of paintball!
Product Availability 
The JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
kimdinh901 Monday, March 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
dye invision, diablo skull, v-force armour, v-force shield, pmi x-ray
Marker Setup: model 98 (green), 14'' J and J ceramic, 20 oz with anti-syphon
spyder compact, with electro trigger
Strengths: -low profile
-looks good
-aerodynamic shape
-audio capabilities
Weaknesses: -protection- (its a very minor, read below for more info)
-lenses
Review: Hey, FIrst off, i'm just gonna say this is one of the best masks out there.

GOOD: i like how it changes colour as you move, (but kinda get annoying after a while), the aerodynamic shape so some balls will just roll off the mask, the audio capabilities i like how you can hear people talk a lot clearer and they can hear you talk too, its a pretty low profile mask, and of course the look of it is amazing, you will definately get recognize at fields, haha

BAD: the upper part is made of a hard shell, very easy for it to break when you get shot in the mouth part, it blasts right through and makes you eat paint and can make your mouth numb from the impact, thats what i meant by not good protection, but its still one of the best masks. The bright colour if you got gold, can give away your position in outdoor play. And last its hard to get the lenses in and out to clean the mask on this mask, but its still easier than the skull. It's just like all other spectra masks.

THE INVISION IS BETTER!!! WELL IF IT FITS YOUR FACE WELL. (in my opinion)
Conclusion: i love this mask!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chasden Thursday, February 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra, and various crappy field rental masks.
Marker Setup: Not that it matters, but I shoot a pimped out e-Orracle.
Strengths: Extremely comfortable, doesn't fog, looks great, low profile and breathes well.
Weaknesses: Changing lens can be a pain.
Review: I bought this mask nearly two years ago, and have never looked back. By far, this is the best mask I have ever owned. First off the Chameleon Proteus is extremely comfortable to wear. The mask covers just enough of my face, and the visor (which I wear) takes care of my forehead. This mask has good venting, breathes well, and hardly ever fogs--when it's freezing or boiling out--especially with the Vortex goggle fan (optional accessory). Changing lens is just the same as it is for the whole Spectra line, not too difficult, but kind of a pain in the ass. And, last but not least, this is one of the best looking low profile masks out there. I have the gold Chameleon and I think it has the bling bling factor needed for representing on the speedball court, yet the color is subtle enough to work well in the woods as well.
Conclusion: JT makes some excellent products, most notably masks, and the Proteus is the best they make. Priced better than other high-end, low profile masks, like the Dye Invision or the V-Force Profiler, this mask is a great value for the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 19th, 2004 at 7:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BiLF Monday, February 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: JT 6.0, CP 12" 2piece, PMI 68/4500, ST on/off with Stubby drop
Just ordered my ALIAS!! FEB. 9 2004!
Strengths: Very Small
Fitting is awesome
Comfort
Weaknesses: Lenses on Blue to clear, Price
Review: I love these masks they are great! People say they are hard to put together and take a part but i didnt have a problem. The Lenses how they fade blue to clear are ok.... im going to just buy an all clear one for $20.00. Price is not the greatest but u can find them for like $70
Conclusion: Get them!! Or get the dye invisions those are great
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 8:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintba11player Wednesday, December 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
Tippmann 68
Tippmann prolite
Spyder extra
Delta 69
Stingray
Stingray 2
Strengths: Verry comfortable and verry close to the face
Weaknesses: the stickers fall off of the sides
Review: The mask looks great but It did have a few problems like the nose stuck out way to far so when I took a breth the mask would fog. But then I super glued it and now it is all better. I like this mask because It Is close to my face
Conclusion: Its a good mask but I would buy an nother kind
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

poorbutgood Friday, December 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all kinds of others
Strengths: tight fit, lots of protection, small target
Weaknesses: if u talk ur chin sticks right out
Review: this mask is great. i bought it for $100(i had to take a loan out) and i got a free fan with it which is pretty good, but it makes one spot freezing while the rest of my face is still pretty hot(great for defogging though). i love the thermal lens that comes with it , once i got used to it. the only real problem i encountered was the rubber on the bottom. because it is such a close fitting mask, when i got shot there, the entire rubber part snapped back and whipped my face. it hurt, but the ball did bounce!
the chameleon also looks really cool

MUCH better than invision
Conclusion: i love the thing, even if it causes a little more pain than the average mask
this mask is a lot better than the invision
i changed it to a 10 cus my friend is stupid, does that make sense to u?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 5th, 2004 at 3:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntbaler1123 Wednesday, December 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
invision proflex 7 envader
Marker Setup: 2003 shocker red and black freak kit with all american tip 4500psi smart parts tank evoulution 2 hopper and 2003 maxi flow
Strengths: small but big enough to protect your face light and good venalation
Weaknesses: doent protect your neck
Review: i like this mask alot all my friends told me to get the invision but the invision shreds paint as soon as it hits a vent and its doent pretoect your forhead or face but this mask its great it protects u but doesnt limit vision or head movement its small and close to your face so it feels liek u arnet whereing a mask at all the thing is though is that it doesnt protect any of your neck at all and its somtimes alittle hard to clean and itts kinda expensive
Conclusion: i would suggest it to anyone who has the money and doesnt mind gettin shot in teh neck when u go aroud over a bunker but remeber if u want to b able to see and hear your team well this is the mask to get
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SC20Ksniper Thursday, November 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
crappy brass eagle jt knock off, and several Dye Invisions
Marker Setup: tippy 98 custom RT, rico AK, IS boomstick
Strengths: nice strap setup, low profile, wide specta lenz, looks like a viper head.
Weaknesses: some problems with lenz(read review)
Review: This is one superior mask, from looks to performance. First the strap, it doesn't touch the lenz, instead it threads nicely through the back. Then the spectra lenz, this kicks the invision's ass and then some. awesome side to side vision, and little fogging. in some places i play it can get pretty humid, and will fog no matter what, however it is at a more slower rate, and seems to move like a wave down ur lenz, i kno it's hard to explain, but it shows the intensity of ur play in humid areas, a large heavy band of water that moves down, and as u calm down, it's a smaller less dense area. next is comfort, excellent, i've used my friend's invision and it ain't nothin special, i actually prefer the proteus. then there's appeal, i've had several invision owners ask to try it on, and they like it better! Although i do agree that the invision does appeal more in looks, but the proteus is just plain interesting. the rotating ear covers that adjust is u r a back or front, and the huge spectra lenz.
Conclusion: all in all this is a top quality mask, (it should be for the 90 bucks i spent on it, however that price has dropped), it provides more protection than the invision in the chin area. I give it a 9 because JT could have done something more to the ventallation
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 27th, 2003 at 3:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tk_03 Wednesday, November 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Proteus
Marker Setup: Piranha E-force EXT PRO
14 inch Teardrop
12 Volt Revy
16 ounce Pure Energy CO2 tank
Strengths: Thermal lens
Color
Never Fog
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This is a great mask it never fogs so u dont have to worry about not seeing the opponent. This mask is very comfortable. This mask has a great design and looks really cool. This mask is a little on the expensive side, but i think it is worth every penny because it protects your eyes. If you have ever had your mask fog up and the opponent sneal up on you and get you out you know how frustrating it is. With this mask you dont have to worry about that because it never fogs.
Conclusion: This is a great mask and i recommend it to anyone and everyone. It is pretty expensive but is worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ccchiu1026 Monday, September 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision, V-Force
Marker Setup: Tippy A-5 w/ Flatline, Lapco Bigshot, CMI Barrel, and Collapsible Stock
Strengths: -Comfortable
-Durable
-Nice Look
-Easy to breath through
-Fits perfect for those with Perscription Glasses
Weaknesses: Sometimes the mask wouldn't fit comfortably. Best to wait and get it just right.
Review: I like how the mask is made, really feels good quality. It's very easy to clean takes like a few minutes. Another good thing is that it's not noticable as some may think it would be, I use this mask playing woodball. Also I like how it kind of forms to your head.
Conclusion: I would recommend this masks for others to try and purchase. Some may think that it is a bit pricey but overall I love this mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbmbryan Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI X Ray
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 Custom
-12 Volt Revoulution W/ X board, Blue
-Dye Boomstick, 14 inch
-CO2 (changing to nitro in a few months)

Strengths: -Good Protection
-Looks good
-Durable
-Ear spinners help (a little)
-Ok-Better Audio Capability
Weaknesses: -Not really any throat protecion
-attract too much attention =)
Review: Good
-The color changing thing is awsome
-Good Protection everywhere (except throat)
-Looks good
-oh yeah it dosent fog until after 20 minutes (35 minutes with fan)
-Speedball like
-ears and mouth have a bit more audio capability them most masks
Bad
-Lenses arent anywhere near fun when you have to changem
-the mouth peice area gets wet beacause of the moisture of your breath eventually water will form in droplets
-cant think of anything else

Conclusion: Get it, you wont regret it, i would suggest it for any player, i would give it an 9.5 but 10L do
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media