paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs Minimag / Airgun Designs Minimag / Airgun Designs Minimag / Airgun Designs Minimag

Airgun Designs Minimag Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs Minimag

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs Minimag
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 157
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $259

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Minimag features outstanding looks in a
compact design for the player who demands the
balance of a vertical bottle and the convenience
of a quick disconnect hose.
The Minimag includes the same high-performance
valve system as the 68Automag with a shorter 8"
barrel for fast maneuverability in tight spots.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs Minimag is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
delta2k3 Tuesday, May 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: minimag with a hyperframe, dye dropforward, aci 6 stage reg., 12v vL, aci zero gravity barrel, 88ci comp. air
Recommended
Upgrades:
hyperframe to make your gun electric and easyer trigger pull
Strengths: Minimag is a solid gun with about everything good about it other than the trigger
Weaknesses: You gata get another trigger frame for this gun because you can't shoot fast
Review: This gun is a great gun other than the trigger. But you can always replace that with another one. One other thing AirGun needs to do is come out with more upgrades for it. other than that AirGun has done a great job on designing this gun. I got mine 2 years ago and it is still working fine. I have had no problems with it at all. If I was you I would buy this gun anyday
Conclusion: The big thing is you are either a Mag person or a cocker person. Cockers are more complex and impossible to put back together. Choose a mag because of its simple design and reliability
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

NiumGas101 Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The only other gun i have used was a piranha PRO TS G3(great starting gun!)!
Marker Setup: Mini Mag w/ EVO2,14" 2002AA, Recharging Valve, Black ANS sight rail, CP flame drop w/ CP on/off,AGD Intelliframe, and a level 10 bolt set-up!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Bolt, Intelliframe!
Strengths: Fast with new trigger, duriable, looks great, lots of compliments, no chopping!
Weaknesses: Kinda a gas hog but no biggie!
Review: Well i got this gun off of a friend and it had already come with the Intelliframe and when i first saw it i was like wow this gun looks really cool! Well i shot it and wow i couldnt belive it i was going pretty fast with that air powered trigger and i loved every second of it! So i have been slowly buying these upgrades for it and it keeps getting better and better! this gun will take me all summer and winter and then i am getting my DM4!!!!!
Well i thing this is a great next gun if you are taking a step up for a blow-back!
Conclusion: I highly recomend this gun to anyone and dont worry when i get my DM4 This gun will still be seeing the feild!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

magiclee18 Thursday, April 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders and replicas- not even close to the mag perfomence
Cockers- better distance but more maintence
Impulse- way better rof but not as durable
Marker Setup: AGD minimag 4 star with intelliframe, lvl 10 bolt, AA freakfront 10 inch, shocktech drop and on/off, richochect 2k, and a Crossfire 68ci 3000psi tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
First off definitly nitro- dont even try C02, get nitro right away
lvl 10 would be next- never have chopped a ball with mine
barrel- stock is ok, but not great
intelliframe- increases rof by a lot....stock trigger feels heavy and is only one fingered
drop- gun isback heavy and a drop makes it balanced
Strengths: Aye there are many.....
consistancy
durable
AGD
4 stars
compact
great looks
many upgrades
simple
Weaknesses: not many but there are some
gas hog.....
bad distance
expensive
maybe heavy....not really
Review: I love my mag but i know there are some problems with it....
First thing i noticed when i got my mag was consistincy. The reg inside shoot between +-4fps everytime.
Next was accuracy- with the stock barrel you can hit a target 50 ft away easily and if u upgrade it can be better
After that was how simple the gun is.....if you dont like to fool around with your gun or just dont even wanna bother, get a mag. The only thing you ever need to do is put a few drops of oil into where it says to. Easy as that.
After that is how compact the gun is. In airball you will be able to notice how great this gun is. Your gun never gets in the way and is very small!
After playing with the gun stock for a few months, i looked into upgrades and there were many!
This gun is also very durable. You dont have to worry about it breakign down because it never will... The 4 stars on the gun make it even better.

Now for the criticism...
My gun is a major gas hog! my 68 3k tank maybe gets 600-700 shots off, when my friends impulse and cocker can get 800-900. Make sure you are near a fill station when you are playing...
The minimag also has very bad distance....In woodsball games i have to arch to get someone that any othergun could get easily.....a long barrel with fix this just a little bit. I have two fronts for mine a 10 inch and 14 inch. one for airball one for woodsball.
This gun is EXPENSIVE to put together! After one year i have put over 800 into my gun when i only planned on maybe 600. If you plan on getting the mag, you have to get the whole package.
This marker can be considered to be heavy compared to other high end markers, but when compared to blow back it is about the same. It really is not that heavy.
Conclusion: My mag is great for tourneys and small woodsball games. I wouldnt get a mag if all you do is rec ball b/c mags suck up gas and the distance is not great. I do rec ball sometimes and the mag is great in it, but make sure your an up front player when you get this gun.....I love my mag and would never trade it for an electro or cocker. The minimag is a great gun! simple
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gto120 Sunday, March 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive used a rebel before i used this
Marker Setup: angel ir3 last blude to ice fade to be produced in US, with evolution y board, stainless steel freak kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
a good barrel and a double trigger, and a good reg
Strengths: its very compact
Weaknesses: hard trigger pull
Review: Ive just retired my minimag after a little less than 4 years of service. It has seen me through the good times, and the bad times. My minimag was given to me as a gift from a good friend of mine. He had just gotten an sto autococker and had no need for it. I was just getting into paintball and this was a great deal. It was set up from the begining with a no name reg and a drop. My CO2 tank worked fine with it, and so did my nitrogen tank. The good thing about this gun is its reletively easy gun to clean. the body and the bolt come of with out problems and it has a idiot proof design. The drawback to the gun is its trigger is really heavy. you need a good amount of force to shoot it so its really bad for speedball. i didnt have a clue either how to lighten the trigger. If anyone knows how to i would love to know.
Conclusion: This is a really good gun and i loved the time we had together, lol. I would gladly use again but i have an IR3 now, but it still sits proudly on my shelf as a backup gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

unc1jay Friday, March 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none realy this is a one of a kind gun.
Marker Setup: i have a minimag cp flame drop forward and a pmi expansion chamber a dye Axel barrel, and a electric hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would recommend the level 10 upgrade along with double finger trigger frame and the ule short trigger pul upgrade. and your going to need nitro cause it freezes with C02.
Strengths: doesn't break balls very reliable compact just a all around sturdy gun wont break.
Weaknesses: very heavy heavy trigger pull doesn't work with C02 it freezes weird barrel thread
Review: I think this gun is good for someone who wants a gun that there not going to need to get fixed every month. with a little upgrades and some care this gun cood last for 20 years. i do think price is steep though, but thats the cost for a reliable gun.
Conclusion: this is a good gun i would recommend this gun to the best and the beginners very simple and yet very good and reliable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xman Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
automag
autococker
Marker Setup: cnc xmag dust black to red fade with the 72ci 4500psi flatline halo b and a left warp feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
a foregrip
level 10 bolt
barrel
2 finger frame
Strengths: small, very easy to clean and maintain
Weaknesses: chops paint
Review: this is a good marker, but you will have to get many upgrades to put on it. the barrel isn't that good and the frame is plastic. get a reg and a drop forward. it's great for beginners, and a back up gun. perfect for small players who don't want a big gun and need not to know a whole lot about it to get it working when it goes down.
Conclusion: it gets a 9 basically because of the plastic frame. but it can also run on co2 or air which is really good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Phrostbite06 Sunday, February 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Semi-Tippmanns and other mags
electro-angels,shockers,bushmasters
Marker Setup: 2002 V-feed Shocker, LS chip, New Designz Delrin Bolt,Eclipse Blade Trigger w/custom magnetic setup, gadget grip, 9volt Con, Max Flo, Halo Backman, 68 3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a new barrel, new trigger frame, level 10
Strengths: Very solid gun, compact
Weaknesses: distance on this gun absolutely sucks, dont touch it if you play back.
Review: This is a very solid gun, its compact, and holds up. But if you are on a team and are going to be in tournaments, dont touch this gun. It will not hold up with the higher end guns out there. I hate to say it but mags are growing into the past and they arent coming out. This could could work in tournaments if you really decked it out, and i mean really. But by the time you put all that money into it, you could have bought an 03 shocker.(IMO the best)
Conclusion: If you play rec ball and dont know much about guns, this is a good choice. If you're going to be in tournaments, dont get it.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

skyhoops21 Saturday, January 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann98- I have used my friends tippy and it can compare to the short crisp trigger pull of the minimag. It is also a very upgradeable gun
Marker Setup: Minimag, y-grip(intellifeeded to my warp), retro valve w/lvl 10, warpfeed, vl12 with x feeding my warp, and an 88/45 armageddon. I also have a 12" teardrop barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Before I start to say anything I will be reviewing the minimag in it's stock form. Though there are some upgrades that can really boost the performance of your mag.
I had no problems chopping paint in my minimag. If you seem to short stroke a lot or are going to upgrade your mag to perform high rates of fire, then you may want the level 10 bolt system. The bolt really babies the paintballs so you can't chop. It also somewhat lightens the trigger pull.
The minimag trigger pull is a stiff one. It will break in and will become less stiff. My suggestion as your first upgrade is to put an intelliframe or Y-grip onto your minimag. The double trigger will make your trigger pull seem lighter by increasing leverage and torque, thus increasing your bps by roughly 3 bps or so. You can also link it up to your warpfeed or revolution or new evolutio 2 and make the propeller spin every time you pull the trigger.
The mag valve system cannot have liquid co2 in the valve. If it gets into the valve, the orings will freeze up and you will have to wait for them to thaw. If you are planning on running your mag on CO2, you MUST have a remote kit, and/or expansion chamber. When I first got my minimag, I ran it through an expansion chamber and I had not one problem.
The stock minimag barrel is surprisingly very accurate for a stock barrel. The only problem with it is it is very loud. This can be fixed with maybe a longer barrel with some porting.
To not worry about getting liquid into your gun you might want to use nitrogen. You can by some small tanks for as low as $70

Strengths: -accurate
-simplicity
-customer service
-short,crisp trigger pull
-ease of upgradability
Weaknesses: -stiff trigger(can be fixed)
-upgrades can be expensive
-gas effiency
Review: The automag has been here since the early 90s. There has been no change to the design of the automag. I've heard of people that have owned their mag for 10 years without a problem that can't be fixed. Can you say that about any other marker.
Due to the open bolt design of the automag there is great accuracy, even with the stock barrel. Due to the blow forward valve system of the minimag there is not near as much kick back when you fire a paintball compared to the blowbacks such as spyders and tippmanns. With the level 10 antichop bolt your gun won't even so much as budge when a paintball is fired. And if you have a problem with short stroking you will probably want to burchase the level 10.
automags are gas hogs. This is the only problem in the automag, and is the only problem that can't be fixed with upgrades.
The minimag is very simple. Without the use of tools you can unscrew one screw and will have complete access to your gun. You can field strip your automag within 30 seconds.
The AGD customer service is awesome. With the star warranty where you have from 2 to 4 stars on your valve, each one means you can send you gun back for a free repair if there ever is a problem that you can't fix.


Conclusion: This is a great gun at a great price. Once again the rating I gave the minimag in it's stock form. With all the upgrades I put on mine I would rate it a 10.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 31st, 2004 at 8:13 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

houseopayne4 Saturday, January 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom - equal in durability but not even close in accuracy and rate of fire
2002 vision impulse - faster rate of fire but much harder to clean, not near as durable
Marker Setup: minimag w/ 4 star valve, 32 degrees black gas thru forgrip, polished chrome body rt powerfeed, chrome intelliframe w/ blade trigger & black dye sticky grips, chrome CP flame drop forward, chrome/black smarparts on/off asa adapter, 14in freak kit w/ stainless back & black freak front, lvl10 bolt, 12v smoke revy wired up to trigger frame for intellifeed, 68/4500 nitroduck N2 tank, all steel braided hoses
Recommended
Upgrades:
first and foremost, the level 10 bolt, best upgrade you can get for an ADG marker, no more chopped paintballs period. next a new trigger frame, the frame that comes with the minimag is like relizing your girlfriends fat and you need to get rid of it as soon as possible. the intelliframe is the pamela anderson of tigger frames, you can also intellifeed it to your hopper (every time you pull the trigger the hopper agitates). then at least a 12 in barrel, the stock barrel is pretty accurate but any smartparts barrel will up the accuracy a ton. then an N2 tank, yes the mag will run on co2 but it will freeze up fairly quickly, N2 solves that problem. make sure to get a 12v revy or better too.
Strengths: durability, consistency, compact, quiet, easy to use and clean
Weaknesses: very heavy compared to other guns, thats bout it
Review: the durability is off the hizou, you cant break a mag, all the parts of manufactured from stainless steel. these things are the tiger tanks of paintball markers. rate of fire is good, and with the ULE trigger pull kit you can obtain trigger sensitivity of an electronic marker. extremely compact, very consistent, deadly accurate, and quiet. everyone says they are gas hogs but if you know how to tweek the lvl 10 bolt, gas is no prob bob.
Conclusion: freakin awesome gun, with the level 10 bolt you get a feature that most players pay hundreds of dollars for on other guns. best gun ive ever bought, if there is every nething wrong with it, which i havent had a problem in 2 years, then its most likely an o-ring. this gun can easily compete with the shockers, cockers, impulses, and timmy's. get this gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

minimag03 Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
blow backs, cockers
Marker Setup: minimag, lvl 10, intelliframe, smart parts ss, revy, and other stuff
Recommended
Upgrades:
double trigger (not benchmark), really depends on how much money you want to spend
Strengths: small, can be used with co2, reliable, accurate, and a lot more
Weaknesses: heavy, heavy trigger pull
Review: The gun is really accurate and quiet. But the trigger pull is very heavy, and this is the only big problem on the gun. This can be fixed with a double trigger. Besides that it is all good. The main reason that I got the gun was because you can use them with co2. Don't listen to people that say you have to have commpressed air.
Conclusion: A unique gun that you don't see that much of anymore. Get the gun it you use co2; it's more accurate that a stock impulse that can aslo be used with co2. If you have commpressed air, save you money and get the RT Pro. I'm rating the gun as if it were stock.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media