paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Shocker / Smart Parts Shocker / Smart Parts Shocker / Smart Parts Shocker

Smart Parts Shocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Shocker

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Shocker
[ View Photos (42) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 245
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Avaliable in spring of 2003. Everything has been changed except the accuracy.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Shocker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
dyeguy1993 Thursday, March 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm6, Dmc, Dm5, Dm4, Dm3, ton ton shocker, ego's, angel's
Marker Setup: Dm6, Dm5, DM4, Dmc, Shockers, Angels, DP Fusion 07 and 08, Ions, E-blades, ego 08
Recommended
Upgrades:
New reg new barrel new on/off
Strengths: Fast, accurate, light, small
Weaknesses: Kick, inefficient
Review: This over all is a very good gun and can be bought very cheap on line cause it is an older gun. the strengths of the marker is that the gun is very light 2 pounds with out ASA. It is as accurate as its going to get without using a autococker. very small as small is you get without it being an invert mini. if you are looking for a cheap but still very nice gun buy this gun
Conclusion: Good gun that you can get for a very low price
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 19th, 2009 at 10:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Woozer Wednesday, June 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used just about every high end electonic marker on the market.
Marker Setup: Dust Black 2003 Shocker
Free Flow Bolt Kit
Roller Blade Trigger
Empire Clamping Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Locking Feedneck
Blackheart/Virtue Board 9break beam eyes)
New Trigger (I use an NDZ rollerblade)
New Regulator (I still use my stock maxflow, but I used a CP reg for a while)
Internals (I have all free flow, but I beleive that company no longer exists)
Strengths: Reliability, weight, looks, speed, upgradability, and price.
Weaknesses: Air consupmtion, resale value, reflective eye, basic board.
Review: I have had this marker for around 4 or 5 years now and have never once had a major problem that I myself didn't cause. I will probably keep this gun for the rest of my life, and I bet it will last longer then I will.

Pros:

Reliability - I got this gun new in 04' and have yet to have a problem. Many people are going to say this gun is unreliable, but I strongly disagree just because it's lasted me 4 years without a hiccup.

Weight - This gun is light and well balanced.

Looks - I think the design in classic.

Speed - No problem there. I have a nerve board in it, and at full ramp it doesn't have an issue, no shootdown, nothing.

Simplicity - This gun is very easy to take apart and maintain.

Cheap - I bought this gun new for I beleive around the 700 range from a friend (estimate) and even then it was cheap. you can pick up a used sft shocker for under 300 now. You can't beat that price..

Cons:

Stock boards - No adjustability whatsoever except for ramping (nerve board) and dwell.

Air Consumption - This thing is a hog. I think with my FF internals I get around 1000 shots per fill on a 68/45, but don't quote me on that, just a rough estimate.

Eye - Only a reflectie eye, but there are breakbeam upgrades.

Resale Value - Well, they're worth squat now, but if you're buying one, then i guess that's good news as long as you don't plan on getting rid of it.


All in all, great gun for the money. Reliable, light, and fast, what more could a paintball player ask for.
Conclusion: If you're thinking about buying one, do it. They can easily keep up with other high end markers out there and there are loads of upgrades for them.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

13pbstar13 Monday, April 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
uld pm6- they are in about the same price range, but I think you get more gun if u go with the pm6.
Marker Setup: I shoot a sft shocker with a hyper 2 reg and a cp barrel. I have a 68/45 draxxus, and a halo.
I also shoot a uld pm6 with a tadao board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think the he bolt for sure, new trigger,and a new on/off
Strengths: Fast and Accurate when tuned right.
sleek design
Weaknesses: Gas hogs.
Hard to maintain.
On the heavy side.
Review: I bought mine for just to kinda check out the shocker. I was pretty impressed. They have alot of things I like, but also like any gun some I dont like. If you want to buy a gun when you are on a budget go for a shocker. This 300 dollar gun can easily compare to an ego.
Conclusion: It's a great gun for the money. Although its has some bad things about it. It holds its own against any ego.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chevyman2007 Monday, March 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
NXT Shocker
Angel A1
Super Stock Autococker
Marker Setup: 06 SFT Shocker
All American Barrel
Halo B with Rip Drive
Dye Throttle 70cu/4500psi Peanut Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much, nice guns as is.
New clamping feedneck
If your a tourney player, I possibly recommend a virtue board.
Strengths: Fast, accurate, looks, what else do you want?
Weaknesses: Changing gun settings, dwell, rate of fire, air efficiency
Review: Great gun, very fast. You need to have a little marker experience and know how to change certain settings. I have very poor air efficieny though. Easy to maintain, easy cleaning. Although the manual it comes with is poor for working help. Doesn't help you that well, not easy to follow the manual. But the gun is awsome though! I love mine!
Conclusion: I would buy one if you like them. Good guns, good prices also! They are worth the money!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 24th, 2008 at 4:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skinnybestard2 Monday, March 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
NXT's basically the same gun. (one less eye and no offset regulator)
some ego's
nothing else really compares
Marker Setup: 06 SFT shocker
Virtue board
Hybrid grips
CP reg
Hybrid Bolt guide
Shocktech mini drop
Dye ASA
Hybrid Feed neck
Dye 14 in Ultralite

Halo B
V-35
Speed feed
Rip drive
Red Cone

Pure energy tank
68/3000
and a pure energy 48/3000
(looking for a new one)

(Sponsored by EMPIRE/Invert so...)
08 Invert Jesey
08 Invert Pants
08 Invert Gloves
Empire Vents
Empire fast Pack
Dye ATC shoes.

BACKUP
Custom Annoed Superman Red/Blue DM4
Tadao M5 chip
CP ASA
for sale. video at... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gr7BmA-8taQ
Old Halo B w rip
Dye C5 jersey
Empire React Pants
Proto Pod Harness
Proto Switch or JT PROTEUS


Recommended
Upgrades:
first off, get a virtue board
then i would says some new grips
new feed neck
thats all really needed but mine is pimped out to the extreme!
Strengths: FAST!!! low profile, comfortable feel, light, accurate, and sweet looking!!
Weaknesses: The shocker has a little bit more kick than I expected but nothing else!!
Review: Overall
The SFT shocker is a great gun. It shoots fast and is light and low profile. The marker looks amazing. Shockers are also very accurate. It shoots ropes and completely mow down Noobs.

The Board
The stock Board goes 20 BPS. I personallly got a virtue board for it almost right after I bought it, so i dont know much about the stock. But if you get the Virtue. It has the standard seven Modes of fireing. Simi, PSP, NXL, Ramping, Full Auto, Auto Response, and Breakout Mode. I would highly suggest getting a virtue board

The Barrel
Shocker comes with an All American Barrel. This is a very good barrel. It is moderatly light and really accurate. The only reason i have a Ultralite Barrel is because, I got it for $6.50 for the back and had an old ul front. I actually made money by switching to a UL.

The Trigger
The stock trigger is just fine. i personally like it more than a cp trigger, but thats just me. It is fully adjustable (4 ways) and is verry sensitive. It is kind of like a Ultralite trigger. If you dont like the stock one you can upgrade but i think the stock one is just fine.

Feed Neck
The stock feed neck is kind of junky so i would highly sugest getting a new one, ( as for the stock one on mine) It wouldn't even fit a Halo, or any other loader with a larger feedneck. And in some of the older Shockers. The feedneck is extremely tall and would be really annoying. I would get a lowrise. (I have a hybrid Headlock and a CMM feed neck)

The Eye
One small disadvantage with a SFT shocker is that there is only one eye. However, that one eye is perfectly fine, but the only disadvantage is you cant get some Virtue Breakbeam eyes. =[ But I havent had a chop yet, so it seems pretty good.

The Bolt
I think the stock board is totally fine. I use it in my SFT, My teamate uses the stock bolt in his NXT, and my friend (who has had like 7 shockers no joke 2 sfts, dynasty, strange, rl, nxt, and hybrid

The Regulator
The stock reg is fine, its nothing special but It still works perfect. I had a CP reg on my old Impulse so i just stole that. I wouldnt suggest buying one if you dont have to becaus the stock regulator is perfectly fine. This is one of the only differences between an SFT and and NXT, The new NXT has an offset regulator. (doesnt really matter)

The body and trigger frame
I wouldnt buy a new body or trigger frame. Its a waste of money and it doesnt even improve performance. Unless you dont like the trigger frame, then i would say get a Ton Ton trigger frame cause they are sweet!!!

Conclusion: GET A SHOCKER!!!! dont waste your money on an NXT cause all your getting is an extra eye, a off set Regulator, and a little different milling . But hey if you want to waste 700 dollars, Be my guest.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 11th, 2008 at 6:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

miniman69 Thursday, January 3rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
sling shot, blow dart
Marker Setup: invert mini with cp two piece 14'' barrel, dxs 68 ci tank, xsv VLocity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel, board, body kit, actually just a new gun
Strengths: I dont think there is any
Weaknesses: Inaccurate, slow.
Review: I bought this from my friend for cheap last month because he was getting a new ego. The first day i tested it on the field it broke paint so much i was wondering whether or not it had eyes. It broke so much paint i switched to a rental ion for the rest of the day. The next week i used it, had a new problem. It was shooting really really inaccurate. I took apart the whole gun and squeegeed the barrel and everything and i figured this gun was just not very accurate. It wasnt an air hog but i am currently using an invert mini and that is much more efficient for half the price.
Conclusion: Not air efficient, accurate, or fast enough to spend so much money on, get a dm or an angel. (try a mini though, its only 400 bucks and its pretty awsome)
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

FreakySpyder Wednesday, June 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 05 Speed
GZ Timmy
Dynasty Shocker
2k2 Angel LCD
2003 Angel Speed
Marker Setup: 2005 Angel Speed
Dark Seoul Custom Red Grips
Dual Volumizers
Soft Face Bolt
G7 Laser Eyes
System X Mico Shuttle
NDZ On/Off
Trinity T-Lock Feedneck
Freak Barrel Kit

2004 Vision Shocker
Predator Board
CP Reg
Critical Rail
AIM Skyforce On/Off
Trinity T-Lock Feedneck
Dark Seoul Cutom Black Grips
Hybrid Bolt Guide
HE Bolt
NDZ Roller Blade Trigger
Snatch Grip
Freak Barrel Kit

Tippmann SL-68 II
Hopper Adapter

68/3000 AGD Flatline Adjustable
88/4500 PMI Pure Energy
6 oz CO2

Empire Reloader B
VLocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
VLocity Loader, Hybrid Bolt Guide, Some sort of HE Bolt, Trigger, Predator Board, Clamping Feedneck, and some new grips.
Strengths: Light, Fast, Accurate, Looks, Feel.
Weaknesses: Effeciency.
Review: There arent too many weaknesses with this gun, except the effeciency. Which is horrible. I was getting a hopper and a pod maybe two (about 350-400) on a 1500 psi fill on my 88/4500 tank. I am going to test out the HE bolt this Friday, and hopefully I will see alot of improvement. The speed is great, though I didnt have the stock board. At the time I had the Dynasty M1... Fast, but not nearly as fast as the Predator. If you are getting a board for any gun check to see if predator makes one for it. The boards are the best I have ever used, plus they now come with 16 base firing modes, which is sweet. Back to the gun, it can cycle extremley fast, average is around 22 CPS. I have never had a problem with mine except for the effeciency issue. With the CP reg I was getting + - 5 fps over the chrono. It took me a minute to adjust it and get it shooting at the field limit of 285. Nothing difficult. This thing is alot lighter than my 05 Speed, I had been playing with the Angel for a few hours and went to pick up my shocker and it felt like I was holding a soda can, it is incredibly light. I got this for $350 with a VLocity loader, so it worked out extremley well for me.
Conclusion: If your on a budget and looking for a great gun ooked for a used Shocker, try and make sure it has an HE bolt in it though just to save you some extra $$$. I love this gun. I think I found my two guns for a long time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RetroHOTTRODD Friday, May 18th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-tek Ego
Legend
Nerve
Marker Setup: Etek Ego
Pulse
Crossfire 3000 psi
Freak Kit
New Designz 06 Roller Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Got to get the Q-lock,Trigger,Barrel
Strengths: Quiet,fast,accurate
Weaknesses: Slow with stock trigger and hard to maintain
Review: my dad got one about 6 months ago,let me just say im not a fan of smart parts guns(they screwed me on the nerve)I didnt like it but it was a whole lt better than my nerve when he got it. In order to make it a fast, air efficient gun you got to put atlest 100$ into it.Maintenance is a painin the butt.I got my dad a ND Silk Trigger and it made a huge difference in the way thegun felt and shot. Overall GET AN ETEK.
Conclusion: ITS ALL ABOUT YOUR STYLE, Ididnt like it so you propably wont.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

happytriggers Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder electra
not as good but still ok
Marker Setup: i have a 2003 smartparts shocker with a custom products fore grip, smartparts gauge, reds feedneck, and an egg hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
definitely a very fast hopper
Strengths: Very fast, eye, nice stock barrel, light, comfortable, the list goes on
Weaknesses: Nothing i have found yet
Review: I got this gun not too long ago and i already love it its fast light small easy to use and the stock barrel is insanely good, its a very good gun and it looks awesome, and i got it for a great price i love this gun its awesome but you definitely need a fast hopper to keep up with it
Conclusion: This is an amazing gun i think everyone should get one
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 15th, 2007 at 6:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chadzmn69 Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion and cocker but neither come close to this bad boy
angel- fast but not as light and compact
Marker Setup: black shoker w/ 14 in freak and VL evo 3 and 68cu 4500 psi tank and massive physco ballistics drop also a virtue board and clamping feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothingi perfect the way it is but if you want a lil more you should get the virtue board
Strengths: Accruate
Fast!!
Light
Compact
Weaknesses: Not very gas efficient
Review: this gun is awsome the best i've ever used.

SPEED
Certainly this markers strongpoint, capable of laying a sweeeeet stream of paint, provided your hopper can keep up... The trigger is infinitely adjustable, from short and light, to a mouseclick, to whatever your twisted heart desires. The magnetic tension can be a biotch, though, I wouldn't mess with it unless you like having a $700 marker for a paperweight if you fook up... Yeah, get a HALO B for this one, you're gonna need it...

ACCURACY
This is also a fantastic feature of the new Shocker! Not only can you rain down massive amounts of paint, you can put it EXACTLY where you want it! It really is as good as they say it is. And yeah, there is basically no kick ! Barrel stays on target = better accuracy!

AIR CONSUMPTION
True, in stock form it does use a fair amount of air, but like I mentioned above, companies are stepping up to the plate to deliver some helpful upgrades for this marker. New Designz is working on bolt kit and a few other i believe are too.

MAINTENANCE
It really is pretty simple. You have a 2 piece bolt with a bunch of o-rings to keep clean and lubed. Rocket science, it ain't. Re-assembly is even easier that de-assembly; to take the bolt out, you unscrew the guide and use it to push the bolt out the back. To put it back together, you just put the bolt on the guide, and screw it all back in... If you have a leak, it's probably just one of the many o-rings, replace and play :-)! On an aside, the operating pressure is so low that if a paintball were to not load all the way, it wouldn't break anyways. Sell your squeegee on EBAY!

PRICE
i paid right around 550(brand new) for this gun which was a good deal and it was deffinantly worth it.
Conclusion: Its worth the cost, which isn't even that much.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media