paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Shocker / Smart Parts Shocker / Smart Parts Shocker / Smart Parts Shocker

Smart Parts Shocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Shocker

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Shocker
[ View Photos (42) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 245
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Avaliable in spring of 2003. Everything has been changed except the accuracy.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Shocker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  Last
        Next Page
nikxii Monday, December 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
01 shocker
03 impulse
03 autococker
Marker Setup: 03 black ultimate shocker
stock two piece AA barrel
maxflow regulated smart parts 68/4500 tank
halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
new designs stinger bolt
freakkit or pipe kit (when it comes out)
Strengths: comfortable
sold gun for how small and light it is.
very fast ,accurate.
Weaknesses: FSDO!!!!
leaking maxflow
Review: over all the gun performed great. going from a spyder, to an old shocker then to this there is no comparison. the 03 shocker blows them both out of the water. I was thinkgin about getting an impulse for the longest time, but I am very glad I decided to go with the shocker. FSDO wasnt a big problem. take a few shots before your game and everythings fine. maxflow was leaking but thats is nothing to knock on the shocker but on SP's maxflows. I think it just needs new o-rings installed and lubbed up.
Conclusion: I would def recommend this product. it's fast and accurate. possibly a bit pricey. I dont have the vision eyes and havent seen to need them as of yet. I havent fully gotten used to the awesome trigger yet though so maybe later. a good electrinic hopper is a must.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spimpulseman69 Saturday, December 6th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k3 e-bladed cocker
Ir3 angel
aka Viking and excal
SFL emag
shocktech intimidator
Marker Setup: Full Shocker setup
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, like the j& j edge kit
Strengths: Small
Weaknesses: Efficiency, ROF, dissasembly, manufacturing, First shot drop off.
Review: Yeah, The original shockers ruled, albeit they were huge.

I recently purchased a 2k3 shocker, and well the experience hasnt been so good. The looks and compactness of the gun are GREAT, but everything else just sucks.

First day on the field with it, I had a horrible time with first shot drop off, as well as when i hit high rates of fire i would encounter drop off. Plus the efficiency is horrible. On my AKA Viking im getting 2000+ shots off a 68/4500 tank. With this im getting about 800 shots off a 68 45 =\

Dissasemblys a pain in the butt as well, because everything is sooooo fragile in the trigger frame.
Conclusion: Dont buy it till they do some serious work on it
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

George Fraudin Wednesday, December 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: blue 2003 vertical cocker with All American Barrel 68ci 4500psi crossfire tank, cam adjuster with oracle 3-way and oracle bolt (.44 Magnum Ram and tickler regulator on the way)
Recommended
Upgrades:
twister feed neck
Strengths: very fast
magnetic trigger
Vision
Size
Weaknesses: hopper wiggles a little
Price
Review: Last week i went to the local field to play and noticed a guy in the stageing area with his gold 2003 shocker. I asked him about it and he just handed me the gun and said try it for a few games. I did. It was amazing it was much faster than my autococker and was just as accurate. It was also very light and compact. I dont think they could have made this gun any lighter or smaller.
THe AA barrel is very good, and in my opinion doesn't need changed, and the only problem was the feed neck(probably because i sanded down my ricochet 2k hopper to get it to fit in my feed neck) but that's not that big of a problem. On the field the marker was very consistant and very fast. The only thing is i can't say anything about cleaning and maintanance because i didn't have to do anything to it.
Conclusion: It's a very good gun. A little on the expensive side if you have a limit on money like me, but if not go for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PA#1 Monday, December 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nasty Impulse, Evil Omen, and Mars Evo are slower and heavier
Marker Setup: Evil Omen, HALO TSA, Crossfire 68ci 4500psi nitro tank, Redz tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
HALO B
Strengths: Faster than any other gun out there, lighter than any gun out there
Weaknesses: Maxflow makes it so you can not have more than one tank
Review: It is so light the HALO B empty is heavier than it. I would get the newer ones because of the vertical reg. It is faster than you can imagine. No problems at all. Smart Parts makes one reliable,f ast, light guns. The new Shockers are going to be just the same but with the new and improved vertical reg.
Conclusion: Great gun if it wasn't for the maxflow crap I would give it an 11 (even though u can't) If you have the I don't know.........1000 dollars laying around the house buy the new Shocker and be happier than a lubbed beaver in a can!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mag_medic Saturday, November 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Name one...I've shot 'em all.
Marker Setup: 2003 shocker
vision eye
vertical max-flo
Halo B
Pure energy 45/5000
Freeflow bolt kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
1)The freak
2)a lot of paint
3)Freeflow bolt kit
Strengths: speed, light weight, accuracy, beauty
Weaknesses: Air efficiency still needs some work
Review: This gun has everything going for it. Angels are on the way out, and the '03 shocker nips at the heels of any timmy. If you like small tanks (smaller than 68ci) this may not be the gun for you, but other than the efficiency problem it's perfect. I don't care because that's what scuba fill stations are for. The freeflow bolt is a godsend. Don't get me wrong, you can't shoot all day off of one fill, but playtime lasts considerably longer with the new bolt. Now if only I could scrape together the money for a 68ci Mac Dev Conquest...hmmm...
Conclusion: In conclusion...BUY ONE. You won't regret it. It gets a "9" for the efficiency prob, after all, nothing's perfect (but this is as close as it gets).
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 5th, 2004 at 6:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyle420 Tuesday, November 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k3 impy
2k 'cocker
Marker Setup: 2003 Shocker (blue)
4500 PSI, 48 CI maxflo system (blue)
CP micro-drop (chrome)
Evo 2 (clear)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-halo B or Z-boarded evo 2
-freak kit w/ 10" front
-vision eye
-FBM teardrop style, chokechain locking feed-tube
Strengths: -ROF(up_to_25)
-Accurate(closed-bolt)
-Small(8"X6")
-Light(1_lbs._14 oz.)
-Delrin-bolt
-No_external_moving_parts
Weaknesses: -First_shot_shoot_down
-Gas_Hog
-allen-key_required_to_field-strip
-no_optics_in_trigger
Review: -smaller/lighter than any other tourney-level gun
-faster than any human can possibly shoot
-just as accurate as a 'cocker
-one of the best triggers on the market (second only to e-blades)
-vision-eye compatible
-cheaper than most timmies or angels
-no stupid ramp, burst or full auto modes (that are useless for tourney play, unless your into cheating)
-The positives totally outweigh the negatives in this gun
Conclusion: buy it! it's better than your gun isn't it?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntbaler1123 Friday, November 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel ir3
Marker Setup: 2003 shocker red and black freak kit wiht all american tip 4500psi smart parts tank eoulution 2 hopper and 2003 maxi flow
Recommended
Upgrades:
freak back with inserts and an evolution 2 or halo
Strengths: its light, it shoots fast,and its accurate
Weaknesses: its a gas hog
Review: This gun is the best gun I have ever played with. It never brakes a ball, it's lighter than any other paintball gun,it comes with a great barrel, and it's fast. This is the first gun i've been able to out run my evoulution 2 with. It's capable of 20 balls a second . But it eats air. I have never seen a gun use up a 4500 tank so quikly. But it's still a great gun.
Conclusion: i love my shocker mainly bc its so light and accurate
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sergio101 Monday, November 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
impulse, Timmy's and old shocker
Marker Setup: 2k3 black shocker with 68/45 max-flow and halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
all i can think of is a freak
Strengths: accuracy, distance, speed ,light,and looks
Weaknesses: maybe to light, a bit of a gas hog
Review: when i first got the shocker i thought the box was empty because of how light it was. right away i was on my way to my local field. when i felled my marker with air the first thing that happened was that it was leaking out the barrel but wasn't enough to stop me from using my shocker. well i was playing i found it very easy to walk the trigger. my only complaint that is that the gun might be to light and un balanced at times. the reason for this is because event though it has very little blow back because it is light you can still fell it but its no big thing. Its air consumption is a little concern but i mostly play speed ball so it doesn't mater. After one day of using it i had to clean it up real nice and send it back to smart parts so they could fix it. when i got it back i found out it came with a defective bolt. after the fixed it i found that it performed even better. if i could i would give this gun a 12
Conclusion: overall this is a great gun that cant be beaten for the price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jetswu Saturday, November 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month30 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Toxic Matrix, Lasoya Intimidator, Angel 3

Marker Setup: Blue Shocker 2003
68cu/3000psi PMI Nitro Tank
12v Revolution Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
You do not need to upgrade a single thing on this gun. Smart Parts has already built the gun with the best aftermarket parts available. See "Key Strengths" to see just what I mean.
Strengths: 1) Extremely accurate
2) Shortened Delrin bolt
3) VERY light and compact
4) Spectacular trigger
Weaknesses: None
Review: The Shocker is the finest gun I have ever played with. I am on Team Vooodu in Chicago, and I have played with many very expensive and popular tournament guns. The shocker 2003 is the best because it is the lightest, fastest, and most accurate overall. For instance, my Intimidator is fast, but not as accurate. Same with my Angel. And the Matrix is accurate and fast, but it is a heavy son-of-a-gun. The shocker takes all of this and combines it into a tournament gun, under $1,000 and under 2lbs. Now, many of you are probably wondering why I wasn't looking into a cocker. I mean, Nexus and Naughty Dawgs do good with them, so they MUST be good guns, right? Well, I don't want to get into the age-old debate about cockers and how good they REALLY are, but I will say this. First off, have you ever picked up a cocker? They are very heavy. Also, unless you go electro, you always risk short-stroking. And even if you go electro and spend $1,000, there are still things that you will want to upgrade. Oh, and as for accuracy, the Free Flow I tested from Matt at ProPaintball wasn't as smooth as my shocker, and my shocker shot just as straight, but flatter and farther. Okay, well enough cocker bashing. Honestly, I own 4 tournament guns. My Matrix, Timmy, Angel, and Shocker 03. Out of all of them, I am now going to the shocker regularly for tournaments. If this review by a professional paintball player doesn't convince you, or if you are still uncertain, please email me, or go to your local shop. I can give you some more tips if you email me, and if you go to a shop I'm sure they will let you play around with the gun and you can decide for yourself. All I am saying is, this is a whole new gun from Smart Parts. Forget EVERYTHING you thought and have heard about Smart Parts. They really built a true champ with the Shocker 2003.
Conclusion: This is an excellent gun that surpasses most any tournament gun in all categories (i.e weight, accuracy, speed, etc.). It also won't cost you an arm and a leg to buy. It is also quite simple to clean and maintain. You simply remove the back nut and ALL the internals can be accessed and cleaned easily. So get out there and do some research and test the Shocker out at a local shop. You'll see why it is all the Hype among pros.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

TrashfaceJoe Saturday, November 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulses, automag, e-99 and other blowbacks (I only listed guns I have owned and extensively used not ones i just merely tested because I don't think you can base emphasis on a gun you shot about a hooper with and thats it)
Marker Setup: black 03 shocker, horz max-flo reg, 12" freak w/ red 12" TD tip
Recommended
Upgrades:
ummmmm vision, halo, nice big HPA tank, and lpr is they come out with one
Strengths: FAST, accurate w/ good barrel, damn sexy, light
Weaknesses: not the greatest on air
Review: I am impressed on how fast this thing is. I can shoot 15 consistantly without even trying. It is a very light and compact gun, I threw a 12" freak on it and it shoots darts. teh trigger is awsome. if you are used to shooting a bigger gun, it will take some time to get used to. it can be a gas hog. I get 900shots off 68ci 4500psi, with ruff dwell tuning because i was too excited to tune her perfectly. I'm sure if i fine tune it I can get alot more shots. very nice gun. I bought mine used so the price wan't so bad. and maintanence is very easy.
Conclusion: over all a great product in my opinion if you can afford it. most people complain about effeciency but there will be some mods to take care of that in the near future. If you are having trouble deciding then try one out before you buy it, play a few games with one. I don't think this gun will let anyone down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media