paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap ZXS 400 / Zap ZXS 400 / Zap ZXS 400 / Zap ZXS 400

Zap ZXS 400 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap ZXS 400

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap ZXS 400
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 47
Average Rating: 5.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• Entry level semi-auto polymer marker
• Spring loaded trigger frame
• Gravity power feed
• Rear cocking bolt with keyless
velocity adjustor
Product Availability 
The Zap ZXS 400 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
paintballin_kid Wednesday, July 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: ZXS-400 everything stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Doesn't break to many balls
light
compact
cheap
Weaknesses: Barrel
Loud
Review: Ok I used this as a beginner gun because I started playing paintball. At first I was using Zap paintballs they were ok, broke a few balls. But once i decided to use Brass eagle Rec balls i think....anyway they haven't broke on me once. anyway i took the whole thing apart oiled it and sanded the bolt. Now it works fine.
Conclusion: Its a good little gun. i would recommend this gun to someone just starting out.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

TIPP*A-5*MANN Thursday, May 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: I Have the A-5 with R/T flatline expansion chamber remote line and stock ZXS 400 back up
Recommended
Upgrades:
Beter barrel or do some work on the stock one. Also a remote line is nice.
Strengths: This is a vary nice starter gun. Vary cheap!
Weaknesses: The stock barrel would have to be one of the key weaknesses
Review: This is a vary nice started gun. Vary cheap ,about $50 at some stores, or look around and you can get really good deals, for example i got this gun used from a friend to use as a back up or if my sis wanted to play for 300 paintball and $5. This gun actually shoots pretty hard and if you want it to shoot harder tri taking the back nut off so you can put the velocity harded. The worst thing about this gun would have to be the barrel i would recommend just finding a new barrel to put in there.
Conclusion: This gun is a really good gun for people just geting into paintball and don't want to spend alot of money. I would recommend this gun to beginners !
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 13th, 2004 at 5:40 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sparrow_kh Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray, sliver eagle, icon Z
Marker Setup: Stock parts, vertical feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
First of all when you get it take it apart and look at the internals. The pin valve and the pin hole valve both have to be inspected. These markers were mass produced and some of them are not formed properly. The pin hole valve should be complete, smooth and well rounded, make sure other wise when you attach a CO2 bottle the gun will go auto untill all the CO2 is emptied. Next lube everything. This marker is platcis rubbing on plastic and the plastic bolt will expand after you fire a hopper. The plastic will then begin to bind otherwise. Use high compression oil for the springs and valve seals. Use light-medium grease fot eh triger and light-grease for the bolt. Porting the barrel is a must of you set your velocity high. I would recommned porting the barrel using a 5/64 drill and diagoally at 1 cm spacing, 2 rows. The velocity screw MIGHT break when beating around the bush and therefore a spare bolt from walmart might need to be in your spare parts bag.
Strengths: Accurate at lower velocity
Strong frame
Compact
Cheap
Weaknesses: Internals a bit rough
Needs more maintenance than a stingray
Velosity screw weak
Review: This marker is an adequate marker for bush play with buddies. As for an affordable semi i would spend the same amount on a stingray if strapped for cash. The marker preforms well for its preice and has a table rate of fire, 3-4 balls/sec. Anybody who says this gun chops balls is obviously pulling the trigger too fast and did not file down the bolt properly. The internals need to be looked after very often and taken care of. The one problem is that if they break replacements are hard to get. I have 2, one customized the other stock so if a part breaks i put the broken parts into the stock one and take it back to walmart and get another one. Then i put the pieces back and keep playing. For being a compact marker it works well with vertical feed as it feels like an uzi and is great for rushing. The trigger is hard and a bit weak but proper lube and a backup spring is a must. Fairly loud and easy to breakdown(take apart) this marker is good for what you pay for. Anyone who bashes it obviously is mechanically inclinded and is not allowed to call himself a man and should stop playing paintball. If you have bought this gun don't just throw it out the window, instead sit down and open it up and put some elbow grease into it. Like the stingray, a little work on it will take it a long way.
Conclusion: If you plan on having friends playing in the back woods and are looking for a cheap beat'em up gun, get it. Its cheap on gas ( will leak the first time a CO2 is hooked up, but will be stop once you fire it), will break the occational ball, all markers do, and is a fun compact marker.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 24th, 2004 at 3:14 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

airtoxin Sunday, March 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years26 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Revelation-I found the trigger too sensitive. Difficult to disassemble, or modify.
-Better accuracy out of box. Comes with double trigger. NOT durable
(especially the bottom line)
***even though the rev can cost upto $249. can.(can. tire kit) they are comparable.
Marker Setup: A5 with Flateline barrel, 12 oz co2, Delta 68, ZXS(back up), PMI Marbelizers.
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL (yes you can! 2 ways actually.)see notes.
Internal work (easy). Piranah threads ussually work.

Strengths: Tweakable, Great for price, Good for bringin' in the newbs (more targets).
Weaknesses: Made THE cheapest way possible, courtesy of ZAP inc.
Easy freeze.
Review: ZAP-ZXS400 is what it is. A cheap MASS-produced paintball marker, specifically marketed as a beginner gun. Now the ZXS is a great beginner, but DO NOT go buying it at a retail store. There are thousands upon thousands waiting to be bought used for about 40$ or less canadian.
Now about the rumors about this gun shooting hard? It is actually pretty standard at around 275-280 fps. If you need to shoot harder for some reason, you can remove the bolt off of your velocity adjuster, now there goes your accuracy. At 300+ fps you will be lucky to hit a truck at 100 feet. That's because of the 8' stock PIPE. Its lovely how ZAP even forgot to hire a buffer. Anyways there are 2 ways to improve. My friend has a 14' All American on his, it fits great. He picked it up used for 50$ canadian, and he can now actually control his shots. I just took mine to a machinist and had him port it, buff the inside (babies bum), and I wanted the outside to be shiny silver instead of dull. That gave me the same result as the All American, and it only cost me 20$ can.. If you don't like these options I saw a kid who got a machinist to shorten his barrel, and add threads. So that he could screw another barrel into it. The end result was a barrel that looked like a DYE boomstick.
ZAP inc. unfortunatley forgot to hire people (or machines), to do the finishing work on their markers, so grab some tools. (small file, sandpaper) If you want to fire faster you can do some things to the elbow joint. First you'll see all the unnesesary ridges inside...file smooth(as you can). If you do it right you'll start filing into the feeder(so slightly). Next drill 2 holes on each side of elbow. Then you'll want to smooth and grease your sear. If you know how your gun works, you can also file the sear to make the trigger pull quicker. All rough edges should be filed, then sanded smooth.(Be careful not to scrape!) After that just be sure to use 0-ring grease on all your rings, sear, and bolt, and I use lots of gun oil on my valve stem (which is the usually the first part to go on these). After you have you marker ready, you will see and feel a dramatic improvement. When you are comfortable and ready for more, get an A5! Want to spend a fortune get a Halo!
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun as a first gun. It is a great learning gun, and an affordable way to open the paintball door. Just remember it is the player that wins, not the gun.

See you on the field...but you probably won't see me.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 3rd, 2004 at 8:53 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

lacrosse freak Saturday, March 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
zap zxs:500 vl orion
Marker Setup: vl orion brass eagle hopper 9 ounce tank stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: good on gas, cheap
Weaknesses: bad accuracy, slow rate of fire
Review: My little brother got this as his first marker last night and we went out shooting this morning. It performed pretty good it choped the odd ball but wut gun doesnt. It is very gas efficitent whern my orion ran out of air he put on the tank and got at least 100 more shots out of it. the only bad thing is that it has bad accuracy but u can just get a new barrel to fix that
Conclusion: this is a very good gun and from wut i hear it has a lot of upgrade capabilities
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Blackwolf819 Wednesday, January 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray II is similar in that it is a polymer gun, they are comparable.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A sling, perhaps a better barrel, but you can mod the one that's on it. A foregrip, has to be handmade though. A bottomline if you want it, but not really neccesary.
Strengths: INEXPENSIVE, easy to work on, solidly built.
Weaknesses: Slow rate of fire, not fit together well, hard to cock.
Review: Alright, I picked this gun up for $25 at Academy, and I bought it as a beginner gun for my girl, or as a backup gun for me. I brought it home and completely disassembled it. It's solidly built out of a thick plastic and it's got a lot of metal parts in it too, so don't be fooled by the fact that it's "plastic".

Alright, so what I did to it was: I first of all ported the barrel by drilling a series of holes into it about every three quarters of an inch, then I smoothed out the edges caused by the holes and then polished the barrel. I polished the lower portion of the bolt (metal), and then sanded down and smoothed out the upper portion of the bolt (plastic). On the face of the bolt that strikes your paintball, you have to be careful, because there can be (there was on mine) a little lip, edge, whatever you want to call it, of plastic that would cause severe ball breakage. You can also smooth out the bolt face a bit and round it down a bit more. Also, on the front of the gun, there is a big screw that fits into the gas chamber, remove it and make sure you really lube the gas pin, otherwise you'll leak CO2 or air or whatever all over the place. I also polished the sear and trigger realease. On the metal bolt housing, make sure you file down all rough edges, otherwise when you start using it, little flakes of metal will get rubbed off and can foul up your gun. The feed tube needs to be filed down as it has a semi sharp edge surrounding it. The elbow that come with the gun needs to have a small hole drilled in either side to allow the gas to escape but don't drill it more than a 1/4 of an inch otherwise you'll risk weakening the elbow. Finally, just make sure you lube the gun up really well.

I also made a foregrip for this gun, for an idea of how, see my review on my victor. With the vertical CO2 tank, and the foregrip, it looks slightly like an MP5 or other SMG.

Finally, for a sling, just buy a utility strap from the camping section of wal=mart for like $2, feed it through both the front and back of the sight rail, secure it, and then pull it tight against the sight rail.

Even with all the mods you can't fire too fast, because for some reason the balls don't feed super fast, and if you get ahead of your rate of fire you end up shearing one in half and that's NO fun in the middle of a game. I suppose if you used an electrical hopper, it might solve that problem, but having an electrical hopper is just one more thing that can go wrong in a game.
Conclusion: I'd say that if you know how to work on guns, or want to learn, this is a good gun for the money. I believe it's been discontinued, but a lot of places still have them, or you can find them on E-bay. I would say not to pay more than like $25, cause if you get up much higher, then you can go ahead and buy a Victor for $45. If you're wanting to learn, then once again, buy one, cause if you mess it up or something, then you'll have only lost $25. It's good to have as a backup or a loaner. I'm very impressed for the price.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

<Sch> Raven Saturday, January 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Max, Thunder Cat
Marker Setup: Armson 16" Barrel, 9oz CO2, "Custom" Full Auto kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BLOODY BARREL!, the players kit needs a better mask and squeegee.
Strengths: Good Strong gun, CO2 efficiant, not heavy, Good gun for it's price
Weaknesses: needs some cosmetic work, stock accuracy is pathetic, Pressure screw is sad, hard to cock
Review: This has been my primary weapon for a long time and really is a good gun for tourneys. It hurts like bloody hell to be hit with!
Little advice:
Never go against someone using this gun with a longer barrel!!! Unless you dan't want to walk for awhile
A few problems are the fact that you CAN make someone have a hard time walking with one leg shot (Thats why I use it in tourneys).
Other then that it's a reliable gun with little needed maitanance.
Conclusion: This is a good gun if your opponent is brave but if you don't want to hurt anyone get a Brass Eagle Murauder.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Taylorius Wednesday, January 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Marauder
Marker Setup: Zap 400 ZXS, APP230 hopper, 20oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel if you can find one
Strengths: Accuracy, inexpensive, teaches you to be a better player. last a long time
Weaknesses: Very difficult to find upgrades, slow, noisy
Review: this is my first gun.I bought this gun for $50 and used it for three years. It is a good beginning gun. It could use some work but it works fairly well and it increases skill because you have to learn to play with not the best fastest gun. If you play with people who have good guns you with increase skill faster and you will learn to adapt and will get better.
Conclusion: If you want to get good faster buy this gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

08paruu Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stingray, pro-carbine,
Marker Setup: -16in thunderpig barrel
-10 inch sniper barrel extension
-A pronghorn hunting rifle scope
-Home made stock
-heavier spring
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Extension or new barrel
stock
scope
Strengths: Dependable, loud
Fast , accurate with extension
Weaknesses: Heavy, Plastic, no double trigger, no hopper, can't field strip the gun.
Review: This gun is a inexpensive and a good first gun for starters. but if you start to play tournaments ditch it and buy a gun that is non-plastic. it can take a lot of abuse and it will still work fine. the gun I own has never jammed on me once.
Conclusion: good for the money
It gets a 7 because it is a surprisingly durable and fairly accurate for the price and that it is plastic
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 at 5:28 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tomotmho Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mokal Fokus - much better
Eradicator - About the same
Marker Setup: I run a Mokal Fokus with a 14" teardrop Barrell, and EVX trigger frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't think you need any - just get a new gun after after you outgrow it.
Strengths: CHEEP!!, reliable for the price
Weaknesses: hard to cock, hard to adjust velocity
Review: I used my friend's when my Fokus went down and I was impressed. thegun dosent chop paint and it has a low ROF which is good when you are strapped for cash. overall a decent gun for the price ($80 Cdn for kit) it is also PEALLY LOUD which I personally like. it is overall a decent gun.
Conclusion: good starter gun get it if you are short on funds
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media