paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
saladfingers Tuesday, September 14th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Flatline
APEX
Marker Setup: A-5
Expansion Chamber
JT 24oz
14" Battle Stikxx
New Designz X7 / A-5 Power Tube with Delrin Bolt
E-Grip
12"Lapco Big Shot Apex
Riochet Low Profile Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Small bore paintballs
Strengths: Accuracy
Increased distance
Weaknesses: Makes the A5 louder then it already is
Paint picky
Review: I have used this barrel for a very long, over 5 years now. This IS a great barrel if it is installed and used correctly. The flatline does take a little fine tuning and getting used to but it is overall a good barrel. The flatline can easily achieve distances of 150'+. The accuracy at long ranges dwindles a bit but nothing unexpected. accuracy at short to mid range is sweet. I just recently stopped using the flatline because I bought a 12" Lapco Bigshot with the APEX tip.
Conclusion: Overall, I used and loved this barrel for a long time, even though I dont use it any more its still a great barrel especially if your a rec/woods baller.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ZachGregg Monday, September 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing can compare this thing is amazing !
Marker Setup: Flatline,JCS Combat folding stock(amazing),stock trigger,shocktech drop forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
Depends on time of year but I always get different balls for different times
Strengths: RANGE,ACCURACY this thing is DEEZ
Weaknesses: You can use it in CQB but I wouldn't just me maybe my setup.
Review: Alright I usually am upfront blast off mad rounds and stuff you know just being the crazy guy from the movies who takes a million shots and then finally dies. But this time I was way back probally 150-175ft. from the action just wanting to test the capabilities of the flatline barrel. This thing just nails people if you want the edge buy this well worth it makes it 10x as fun because you'll most likely be winning. Take 5 mintues go out back and adjust your velocity to tune it in if you can't do that take your gun and feed it to that thing that lives in the desert in the Return of the Jed.
Conclusion: Most but for true woodsball / scenerio player. Make sure to adjust velocity very crucial.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slyce476 Tuesday, May 18th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert NightStick
J&J Edge Barrel kit
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5
Flatline or Nightstick Barrel (Depends on game type)
68cu Compressed Air Tank
E-Trigger
Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt and Powertube
Recommended
Paintballs:
Really cheap paint will occationally break so buy something decent.
Strengths: Range!!
More Accurate then stock
Weaknesses: Less Accurate then other good barrels
Will break paint occationally
Review: I like this barrel but alot of the reviews are either way to positive or way to negative.

On the positive - it def increases range and trajectory. For Scenario games and woods ball it's great. You can def get hits and breaks on people a good 10 to 20 yds further then they can on you. It's accuracy is better then the stock barrels or some of the $20 barrels. I also like how it fits the overall look of the gun and it is short so it doesn't get in my way when I'm crawling through the woods or in tight spaces.

on the negative - it def isn't as accurate as the Invert Nightstick or the J&J barrel kit that i've used. I don't know what people who say it's the most accurate barrel they ever have shot have used in the past but it's just not. It's accuracy isn't bad it's just not the best. It will also break a paintball every now and then because the interior of the barrel has a roughness to it. I shot 1+ cases two days ago with it and it broke 2 balls and they were cheap paint. So overall it's not really an issue but it does happen.

As for other things I've read - Taking it on and off is really really easy. I clean it inbetween games and store the gun without the barrel all the time. It's not a problem as long as you have your tools around, which you should anyway. It doesn't use any more air then normal.
Conclusion: Buy it if you play alot of woods ball. If you play alot of speed ball and need to hit someone quickly with the first shot or two buy something else.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chuck_za Sunday, September 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Apex
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, E-grip, Flatline Barrel, SAW Stock, Palmer's Pursuit Regulator, Air or CO2.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Instinct Three-2
Strengths: Accuracy & Range
Weaknesses: Too sensitive to type of paint used, hogs gas.
Review: Ok, I've owned this barrel for 2 years now and believe me, when you get it right, it is magnificent!

The problem is that it is just too darn difficult to consistently get it right! This barrel is just too sensitive to the type and size of paint being used. You need something that is absolutely round (yes that sounds funny, but I'll explain later), smallest bore size, consistent ball size, hard shell and consistent velocity.

For starters, paint develops small indentations when stored for a long time as the balls lie on top of one another in the box. Anybody that has inspected balls closely would have noticed these small "dents" some time or another. If you bring such a ball close to this barrel, it shoots anywhere and everywhere, except where you want it to go! So your paint has to have been kept at optimum conditions and has to be as "fresh" as possible.

I've had a lot of barrel burst and experimented with type and size of paint. Generally speaking, the smaller and harder the shell, the better. This unfortunately results in two additional downsides. Firstly the smaller paint ball size allows more gas to escape between the ball and the inside of the barrel and results in higher gas consumption. Secondly and much more problematic is the use of harder shell paints. The problem is that at longer range (say >30-40 yards), the harder shell paint just doesn't break anymore! So why have a barrel that is supposed to give you increased range if the optimum paint to be used with it just doesn't break anymore?

Next crucial thing is velocity. If you can maintain exit muzzle velocity of 280 +-5 fps, fine. Anything over and under has disastrous consequences for any form of accuracy. I've installed a downstream regulator on my A5 to try and improve consistency of exit velocity and this has assisted. Problem is when you are hammering your e-grip and pushing high rounds per second. Velocity spikes then occur and again accuracy is gone. So for single shots, works well. Forget about accuracy with high rates of fire. I don't care what anyone says, it just doesn't work!

Ok, if you can get all of the above sorted, the barrel works darn fine. But that happens at home when you have a lot of time to fiddle. When you hit the field, things go astray, too many variables are introduced and things just don't work.
Conclusion: If your game is single shots at relatively short range and you're prepared to inspect every ball of paint for roundness etc. before play, this is the barrel for you. If you want a simple solution to get increased range and reduced curvature on shots, look elsewhere!
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

somemook Saturday, May 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
nothing like the flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5,
collapsible stock,
Flatline barrel,
E-grip,
Low profile hopper.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I hear all these people saying you have to have the right kind of paintball or that you have to buy high end paintballs. Honestly I have put nothing but cheap field paint through mine and I have yet to have a break out of thousands of shots. I haven't tested fate with wal-mart paint, and I most likely never will, but if this barrel is picky on paint I have yet to see it.
Strengths: Added distance
Style
accurate
Tough
Weaknesses: Must be installed right
tough to field clean
loud
Review: First off I want to touch on the subject of this barrel being picky with paint. I have shot thousands of rounds of cheap field paint through this barrel and have never (knock on wood) had a single chop. As I said I haven't used wal-mart paint and most likely never will but as for just normal mid range quality paint I have never had a problem. I have also turned my E-grip on full auto and shot a full hopper (about 200 rounds) and had no chops and no problems.

Accurate. I'm not going to say that you will be able to pick off a target from 200 yards away. The barrel does for the most part shoot pretty straight, although the balls will sometimes be off target the further you are shooting. All and all the barrel itself is pretty accurate but I do notice some of my balls going off target if the shot is near the end of its reach. Then again that is true for all barrels. One thing that will help increase how accurate the barrel is, is buying high grade paint. This might not be a option if your local field makes you buy their paint however. But if you play any farmball or own your own land I would suggesting thinking about this in order to increase how straight your marker shoots.

Added distance. The flatline does increase the distance in which your balls will travel. They might not be the most accurate shots but that doesn't mean you won't get kills. And if nothing else you can lay down some nice cover fire for a your team from a distance that just isn't possible with a normal barrel.

Style. This is a big factor for me, and the reason why I own a Flatline and not a Apex. the Flatline barrel looks just as nasty as it is.

Tough. Just as anything Tippmann puts out this barrel is made to last. You don't have to worry about breaking it on a tree or any kind of barrier. The only downside is the shroud itself can be prone to rusting if you don't take care of it.

Must be installed correctly. This is by far the most important part. This is not a screw in and play barrel. You must make 100% sure that your flatline is installed correctly in order for it to work. If you find your balls always curving to the left or right every time you shoot your barrel is most likely not properly installed. If your barrel is loose or if it wiggles at all you do not have it installed properly or there is something wrong with your marker.

Tough to field clean. since this barrel doesn't just screw off it is a bit tricky to clean it in the field if you need to. Honestly I have never needed to but if for some reason you just had to take it off to clean it out you will need tools and if you are in the middle of a game a good hiding spot. However I have never run into this issue.

Loud. This isn't really that big of a deal if you are playing air ball or some other game where being sneaky really isn't that big of a issue. But when you are attempting to be sneaky during a game of woods ball it is a bit hard to keep your location on the down low with this thing basically announcing your location every time you pull the trigger. All and all though this is a very small issue for me.

One more thing. You must have the proper velocity on your marker. Anything close to 275 is recommended. If your velocity is set to high it will cause chops!
Conclusion: I know there are going to be people who wish to disagree with some of the things I have said. But all and all I see no reason not to have a flatline barrel on your A-5. Unless of course your style of play is to run up and get as close to the enemy as possible. then the added distance isn't needed and you might as well just get a 10-12 inch barrel. I can't say it enough, I have never noticed any pickiness in the kind of paint that this barrel uses. I'm sure that higher quality paint would improve the accuratcy of this barrel but I have never had a problem with mid grade paint chopping in the barrel.

I highly recommend the flatline barrel for anyone who owns a A-5, or any other tippmann.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 13th, 2009 at 10:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

virus209 Thursday, January 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ak 47 barrell, and the stock barrell
Strengths: Reliable barrell.
Weaknesses: Not great looking, not accurate, and needs tools.
Review: I really liked the barrell, it didnt give me much problems. When shooting at a target the ball slightly curves down, so i had to get use to the barrell. I didnt really care because i was able to hit targets from far distance, but like i said it does not shoot strait because inside the barrell it curves, it spins the ball so it can go more further. When it comes to cleaning the barrell, it can be dificuilt becuase the barrell is mounted unless you unsrew the two screws that hold the barrell, but whats the chances of busting a ball, thats with my experience. Busted maybe twice.
Conclusion: Its a ok barrell, could be better. It would of been sweet if it shot straight. Do i recommend this barrell, ya.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 15th, 2009 at 11:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LongJohnPeeter Sunday, November 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Classic 1 Piece
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5 stealth, flatline, car stock, and remote line
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium
Strengths: Distance
Weaknesses: Inconsistent
Breaks all kinds of paint
Review: I wasnt a big fan of the flatline mainly because it broke paint left and right. Whenever I play I would break 8-9 balls in a row. There was a few shots in a row that were kind of consistent. But nothing like a regular barrel. I have decided to switch to a J&J Ceramic Barrel, mainly for a better shot grouping.
Conclusion: I wouldnt reccomend this to anyone.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

nootz Friday, October 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hammerhead Rifled Barrel
Tasco "BigShot" Barrel
Marker Setup: BT-4 SWAT:
-BT-16 Barrel kit
-BT Bi-pod
-Tippmann Verticle Grip
-BT e-Grip
-Extreme Rage Overdrive hopper
-BT 45 degree picatinny/weaver rail (on top of foregrip)
-Walther 2x30 RD scope (mounted on BT rail)

Tippmann A-5:
-A5 Flatline barrel
-A5 Response Trigger
-OpsGear sight riser
-OpsGear Gas-Thru UMP magazine
-OpsGear folding G36 stock
-SoftAir 1x28 RD reticle
-Tippmann Cyclone LP hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Blizzard & Combat 68
Strengths: Straighter shot, more accurate shot, farther shot...not much else can be said.
Weaknesses: Only one I can think of is that it's a hassle to clean.
Review: Most accurate barrel I've every used, it's relatively inexpensive too. It installs merely by sliding into the A5's barrel adaptor socket sideways, then turning it clock-wise to line up with the front sight and tightening the receiver's front screws.
I can easily get an extra hundred feet out of the Flatline than I did with the 14" barrel I had for it. Although it makes the marker a tad bit heavier, the air system should balance out the weight.
More than having added distance to your shot, you will also get a straigher shot.
Since I added the Flatline to my A5, I've rarely missed a target past the third shot (while the target was moving).
Conclusion: The Flatline is a definite must-have for any Tippmann marker! You will get more distance and better accuracy to your shot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skyblue6 Thursday, September 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
there is NOTHING like the flatline barrel
Marker Setup: A-5
Response Trigger
Tactical Flat line Barrel
Red Dot
Collapsible Stock
Tactical Hopper
Remote line
20 oz CO2 tank


Recommended
Paintballs:
Evils or anything similar. not practice paint!!
Strengths: Two hundred extra feet, and more accuracy.
Weaknesses: Picky about paint and shots get messed up if dirt gets in barrel.
Review: i have a tactical flat line barrel and love it. it is like nothing Ive ever seen. it makes your shots more accurate and adds 100-200 feet. the only downside witch i really want to mention is that you cannot use cheap paint or else your shots will get EXTREMELY messed up and curve everywhere, and also, if you get dirt or sand or paint or anything in your barrel, your shots will also be in-accurate, VERY INACCURATE, so i suggest if you get a flat line barrel, you carry around a cotton squeegee just in case, so all you must do is just swab the barrel and your done. trust me on that. :) that's really the only downside to the flat line. something i love about the flat line barrel is that the barrel is curved, witch adds a backspin to the ball, so instead of shooting the ball straight like most paintball guns do, it adds a backspin to the ball, making the ball spin backwards in the air so it basically glides through the air instead of just getting shot through the air. it dose not decrease the speed of your shot at all ether. Your balls do not break or jam inside your barrel unless you get really crappy paint (cracked, dented, hard, soft etc) then they might break inside the gun and mess up your shots. the flat line is east yo install and easy to clean. i highly suggest you get it. its the best barrel TippMann makes.
Conclusion: Get good paint, it will make paintball less stressful and will make your paintball game better in the long run. also keep your barrel very clean!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 11th, 2008 at 7:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

keithcleghorn Wednesday, September 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline for tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
Expansion chamber
M-4 Butt stock
32 degrees remote coil
E-Grip
24oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Visible Impact, most RPS products
Strengths: Distance, and Accuracy.
Weaknesses: Can be paint picky
Review: I have been using this barrel for over 3 years now and love it. The accuracy and distance is awesome. I recommend to you nay Sayers that are having trouble with the barrel... turn your velocity to about 275-285 fps, I found that this is the only way to gain maximum distance and accuracy with this barrel. This barrel is paint picky, I found that RPS paint, and visible impact work the best with the flatline barrel.
Conclusion: Buy it, you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media