paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  Last
        Next Page
PBA5 Tuesday, June 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none similar to it
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 w/
Lapco drop forward
68CU 4500 PSI tank
Comp air low pressure system
double trigger
Tippmann response trigger
RVA
Flatline!!!
(my gun has been upgraded!)
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbs, any high quality RPS ball with small bore size. PMI premium works well as well.
Strengths: range
installation is easy
high BPS can be done
durable
Weaknesses: accuracy isn't great
VERY paint picky
velocity picky
EXPENSIVE!!
Review: Well...I played paintball for a year now, and after reading some stuff up on many sites, including this one, I purchased the tippmann A-5 flatline barrel. It took 2 long weeks, but after getting it i immedietly tried it out. My first shot, the ball burst and came out looking like a water paint gun. After cleaning and shooting many times, the flatline still sprayed my porch a brilliant shade of orange. Discouraged by my failure, I proceeded to go where i went wrong.

Prob 1. I was using old premiums, like 2 weeks old. Flatline accepts nothin but the cleanest, roundest, small bored paint. BE is intolerable, and even dusk broke in the barrel a lot. So i proceeded to buy RPS marballizer, a rather expensive paintball, but i wanted the stupid barrel to work. After the switch to marbs, the barrel still shot funky, even though it did not break. There i met prob 2.

Prob 2. The flatline requires a specific velocity, one that varies from each. Mine seems to favor 276- 280 FPS as its range. I had been shooting on 300 FPS or so, thus making the A-5 into a super soaker.

WELL...after solving the problems, I proceeded to a local field to play. Many of the guys said "Flatline, what an idiot!" or "flatline..whoa hes gonna kill us all!". I proved both theories that day and below are my observations.

Range. Its the only way to describe it. Its got RANGE. Im raining paint on guys 160-170ft. away and they arent even coming close to me. I mean they were cussin, cryin and yellin get the jerk wit the flatline! I was a bit scared until i realized they werent gonna come close. However, the accuracy was not as good as hoped. When the guys actually got close, they just lit me up because their all americans and dyes were so much more accurate. As an all american owner, i could also tell the barrel was lacking some accuracy, even if it was better than most. However, by consistenly raining paint, i managed to take 2 guys with me, at 160 ft. or so. However, i still dont think the rumors of 220ft. face shots just dont add up. Unless you have luck up ur nose, at 220 ft. u dont have the chance of hitting Shaqille O Neal standing still. I have heard of shots at 160ft. nailing head, i can believe that, even if the breakage is only 50/50 chance. However, if you can prove me wrong, go ahead, while your at it, tell me your settings and tell me what im doing wrong.
Conclusion: I give the flatline 7/10, since it lacks accuracy at long range, and suffers non-ball breakage phenomenon. Also the heavy price tag and paint pickiness of this barrel is another score cutter. IF you want it get it, but if you play just small to medium size arenas just go get yourself an all american or boomstick.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

1BallAtaTime Tuesday, June 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c flatline- is more difficult to set-up, longer length, more range, less accurate.
Marker Setup: A-5 Flatline, e-grip, Female Stabilizer, DOP d/f., DOP 2x trigger.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any round ball. I recommend a good regulator to make its performance 100%
Strengths: -Raaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnggggeeeee.
-Intimidating.
-Does not affect ROF
-Straight Line.
-Short.
Weaknesses: -Odd balls curve.
-Heavy.
-Needs consistent velocity.
Review: This barrel, simply put, is greatness. Allthough it is hard to hit someone at mega long range you can still hold them down, while you kill closer ones. Other barrels can't touch this barrel's uniqueness. Its straight line is like a well thrown rise ball in baseball, it deeks out your eyes. Takes a little to get used too, but it is great to control your spin on the ball. At the end of your tank you will lose your straight line and it becomes a normal barrel, 20 shots or so, then you run out. It tells me when not to fire so my gun doesn't freak out on E. The range and accuracy is measured by the amount of backspin, which is measured by the velocity. Anyways a reg keeps your velocity steady, so it is handy, without one is still very fun. The flatline barrel system is a great addition to any team game, they will love and hate you.
Conclusion: It is easy to get a bad experiance with a flatline if you've only tested it. You have to understand that it is measured by velocity. Unfortunately the rating is lower than it should be for this break through.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

airtoxin Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
There is nothing like it to compare! I have used many great barrels (dye, AA).
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Flatline, Palmers Stabilizer.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have never broken a single ball in over 10 cases. Better paint does get better accuracy, but even egg balls will not break. I like Draxxus for dead straight shots, but mostly I use Zap Rec Series.
Strengths: Range!
Very accurate.
Not paint-picky.
Unique.
Weaknesses: Heavy, Loud.
You become enemy's #1 objective.
Can be tricky to adjust. (co2, velocity)
Review: I was very worried about my flatline purchase at first, and tried to change it at the last second to a Dye Ulralite. Fortunatly for me I was too late, it had shipped earlier in the day. This is the biggest break through in barrel technology since the barrel itself. I have waited a good while to post my review since it takes some time to get an accurate "feel". After being used to a standard barrel's arc the Flatline is quite amazing. Just when the ball is supposed to drop it seems to float on, this gives an illusion that the ball is slower than normal. I am the only one around my area to own an A-5 or a Flatline, and it is very funny to see their reactions upon firing it for the first time. "Holy crap! Look at that ball fly! It just Floats! Can I try again!?" The accuracy of the Flatline depends on the paint you are willing to buy for it, and also the consistency of your shot to shot velocity. Even with Zap rec series paint my accuracy is very good, as long as my pressure is right. It is perfect at 270 fps, under 260 is not enough and over 280 is too high. This is a pain with co2 being unreliable, so I have bought a Palmers Stabalizer.
I find that you can't get it to curve very much around corners or trees, but you can put it on upside down! Talk about dropping balls, they zoom straight down after 60-70 feet...very useful. Some say they have difficuties removing this barrel. It seems that anyone that says it take 3 bolts does not have this barrel. It only takes 2, and if you want to leave 1 semi-loose, only 1. If you want to be able to switch to upside down mode quickly just leave them semi tight. Or have an allen key and some cover fire (15 secs)
After owning the Flatline a while you get used to the new arc or lack of it, and the novelty seems to wear off. All I have to do though is just switch barrels and see the difference. After alot of cases the Flatline loses its sand blasted surface and must be re done, that is a pain but at least Tippmann does it for free. All you have to pay is shipping The best part is watching unsuspecting people stealth up to you, because they are out of range, then shooting them in the back as they run! This is not a camper's gun however, it gives you the confidence to stand right up and watch everyone.
Conclusion: This barrel owns anything out there! It will kill any other gun in the bush. It is revolutionary, and amazing. Do not let any one talk you out of it, it is the best bush-ball upgrade, and is great in scenarios (building window to other building window etc.) If you want a speed-ball barrel get a Lapco 8' or 12' Bigshot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FantasticDamage Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Tear Drop, 98 Flatline, Spyder & Tippmann Stock Barrels
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Flatline, Pro Team F/X Sniper Stock, JCS Offset, BSA 30mm Reddot, JCS Redhot Powertube and Bolt, Black Male Palmer Stabilizer
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any medium to small bore paint
Strengths: Long range and good accuracy
Weaknesses: Doesnt get the credit it deserves
Review: The Flatline is by far the most innovative barrel on the market. Tippmann learned a lot from its 1st gen Flatline for its 98 and put what it learned into its A5 version. Ive used the Flatline ever since I got my A5 (I was so happy with the 98 version I purchased the A5 version with my A5). I immediatly noticed increase in accuracy when I first got it. As a matter of fact the other day at Aim Straight paintball I shot one guy through a 1 foot circle from 175ft away, with 2 double taps. Now your probably thinking "Well you were using expensive ass paint"....well I wasnt I was using greasy Zap white box, and my Flatline was spitting it out like it was nothing. Get this barrel, its awesome
Conclusion: Like I mentioned earlier, this barrel is just in general awesome. Tippmann uses what it learns in later products; and it learned from its 98 version. The A5 Flatline is definantly my favirote barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

BuzzSimpson Monday, June 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
2 piece sniper barrels, smart parts barrels, and various other highquility barrels.
Marker Setup: A-5, everything stock, hey, I have only had it for 3 months, ha ha ha!
Recommended
Paintballs:
As long as it is affordable and won't spew juice out the barrel. Try and see whats cheap that you can get away with shooting. My friend has used some pretty bad paint and never seems to have to many problems.

I guess If I have to recommend paint I would say Super Swirl or Diablo, cause they are cheap, available (they even have them at Walmart, for all of us cheapes!), and relativly good.
Strengths: Accuracy and RANGE (can shoot further than 225 ft.!). It is loud.
Weaknesses: Not quit as flexable as other barrels I have used. It is loud!
Review: What Can I say, hmmmm, I think you all know how this barrel works. BUT, if you don't than this is what it does: The barrel is slightly curved (so slight that you won't ever notice it, even if you try.) and has a rough inside. This puts a backspin on the ball allowing it to go nearly 100 more feet than most other barrels. It also gives the ball a flat tragectory (meaning the ball doesn't arc, like before, so no more paintballs being popped on treebrances!).

Thats what it does...

Now I don't have alot of experience with this barrel except that my friend let me borrow his for a few days, to test it out. It is well worth the 130 dollars.

Costs really aren't that bad... Now onto nitpicky grips!!!

This barrel is not quit as flexable as other barrels I have used, In terms of paint and cleaning. However it is still good with most paints. It is also loud (yes I perposly put this in both catigorys). Has limits in speedball, cause you want the ball to arc a little for bunkers exc. Not as easy to take off and put on as other barrels (however, it still isn't rocket science and any idiot can do it in a couple of minutes.).

As I said earlier this barrel is unusually loud which is both good and bad. What I mean is because this barrel is loud you can scare newer players and even intimidate some older ones... However this barrel definitly gives your position away, which means that it isn't the best barrel for snipers who don't want to be found right away.
Conclusion: All in all this barrel is a must-have for any A-5 owner or for that matter any tippmann owner! It is a relativly steep price at about 130 bucks, but it is soooo good that you won't regret this purchase! I have vrey few bad things to say about this barrel, and what is bad isn't all that bad! I am saving my money as I speak and will order my barrel just as soon as I have the money (just need 20 bucks). Go get yours tooo!!! I SAID GO GET YOURS!!! NOW!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Freiermuht6 Saturday, June 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: A-5 , Flatline , Car-15 Collapsible Stock , Response Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have fooled around with some different types of paint and found that Sun Flare made by Draxxus works the best for me . It has a very hard shell and is great for penetrating bushes .
Strengths: Distance , Accuracy , No ball breaks
Weaknesses: None Found
Review: A great product ! I have had no ball breaks since I have used my flatline . The shear sound of the barrel instills fear into some of the opponents . It has awsome distance and accuracy like no other . Better distance so you can hit them before they could ever dream of being close enough to shoot you .
Conclusion: It's the best thing since sliced bread ! If you own an A-5 I highly recommend getting this barrel to out gun the competition .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rukusDeepRiver Saturday, May 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armson Stealth 14 inch
Dye Stainless 12 inch
Stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
Exp Chamber
Double Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Small bore paint, PMI Evils, JT Maxim 2s worked great
Strengths: Opens up the field
Great Range
Accurate
Weaknesses: Not really any
Review: Totally changed woods ball for me. Two weeks ago, i was having some breakage through my 2 other barrels, and a player showed up with the flatline. Awesome barrel, superior range to everyone else, and surprisngly accurate.

In my opinion, they shouldnt even sell the A-5 without it, it was that much better. Had a complete blast with this barrel on my A-5
Conclusion: Awesome, unbelievable
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 12:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tvothestud789 Wednesday, May 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann-98 flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, response trigger, flatline barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbalizer, evil, (if you are on tight budget) big ball even work great.
Strengths: -DISTANCE of coarse
-ACCURACY way better than stock barrel
-FLATEST trajectory of any barrel
Weaknesses: -little expensive but well worth it
Review: -The distance on my A-5 with the flatline barrel probably doubled as well as the accuract.
-The barrel is easy to clean so anyone who thinks it isn't needs some serious help.
-a little hard to install the barrel (30 sec) but not to bad.
-best barrel on the market for woods ball.
Conclusion: This barrel is a great barrel and is the first barrel I would recommend to anyone with an A-5. The A-5 flatline is definialy better than the 98 custom flatline. There are so many pros to this barrel and no cons except the price but if you can afford it then get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Noobie Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5 Flatline 300psi Nitro
Recommended
Paintballs:
not cheap ones
Strengths: Accuracy,Accuracy,Accuracy
Weaknesses: a bit loud,hard to clean on the field
Review: I just got my tippmann a-5 yesterday with a flatline, i didnt bother with the RT because it was an extra 80$ and i wanted accuracy. I called some friends up and we started a game. I started doing practice shots with the gun, amazing went atleast 200 ft gliding and maybe swayed a little towards the very end. The point is this barrel increases your accuracy and range by far. with cheap balls though it'll break (with most guns too) and a hassle trying to clean. This barrel is extremely good.
Conclusion: BUY this it is really good.....yea...so buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j3paintball Friday, May 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom Flatline
Rebel 3 Sniper Barrel
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
-Flatline Barrel
-Shoulder Stock
-4x30 SWAT Scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: -Mega Accurate
-Insane Range
-Looks Cool
Weaknesses: -Somewhat Expensive
-Relatively Difficult to Put on/Remove
Review: I got the flatline barrel for my birthday one year, and I couldn't wait to try it out. After a long wait, I finally go to bring it to a game.
In the first few games (like Capture the Flag and President) I was absolutely blown away by the flatline's accuracy. Every paintball went exactly where I wanted it to, even with the field's handout paint. I was having a blast knocking one player after another out of the game. Sure, I got hit sometimes, but that's not the barrel's fault :) Then we got to play an Alamo battle. I was selected to be in the Alamo, and I couldn't wait to get started. When the refs blew the whistle, I peeked out my window and saw the enemy players spreading out. They were walking because they were out of range, or so I thought. I took a couple of potshots just for fun, and what I saw made my eyes bulge. The paintballs were reaching the other players! I was shocked, but thrilled. I opened up a huge stream of fire (which is easy to do with the A-5, thanks to it's cyclone feed) and chuckled to myself as the other team was thrown into a frenzy trying to find cover. One of the refs yelled at me not to waste my paint while they were out of range, but I just laughed and responded that I had a flatline. During that game, I proceeded to eliminate more players than I have ever eliminated in another game.
The flatline is pretty expensive, but you get what you pay for. More in my opinion. It's also a little difficult to remove, but the instructions make it easy if you read them right, and the A-5's cyclone feed makes it next to impossible to chop paint anyway (even the junkie stuff).
Conclusion: I highly recommend that anyone with an A-5 buy the flatline barrel. It may be expensive, but it is sooo worth it. The accuracy and range will astound you, not to mention it looks sweet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media