paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
ELDC-Bishop Sunday, May 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c 14" Warrpig barrel, 16" J&J Full-Tilt Ceramic for Spyder MR2, 16" Smart Parts Progressive for A5 (2nd Gen), Smart Parts Progressive 14" for A5 (1st Gen).
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 with J&J Full-Tilt 16" 2 Piece Ceramic Barrel, Empire B2 Loader, 32 Degrees Heavy Duty Remote Air System, 20 oz Co2.
&
Tippmann A5 w/W.A.S. E-Grip, TechT Paintball Complete Cyclone Upgrade Kit, Rufus Dawg Venturi Bolt, Flatline Barrel, X7 Hopper, Pure Energy Remote Coil, Pure Energy 72/3000 HPA Tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Small Bore Size with slightly "slimy"/ Oily coating. NOT textured dry shells like Monster Balls.

- - - BEST OF BEST: (1) RPS (2) Draxxus (3) PMI (4) Evil
Strengths: Range, Flat Trajectory, Looks, Range
Weaknesses: Picky about paint, Cost, Barrel breaks could be a nightmare, Co2 Sucks with it
Review: Installation is simple; loosen 4 screws and slide it in. Looks good.

Went out for a weekend of play (using Co2) and brought some old Monster Balls and some fresh JT Pro-Tac paint. The JT's performed much better than the textured shell of the Monster Balls. I continued using Co2 and cheap paint all day and messed with barrel fit and velocity and achieved an accuracy equal to that of a Spyder MR series' stock barrel (but much better range). (About a 5'x5' Square at 40 yds)

I decided that i would give the barrel a chance to truly shine, so i invested in a Pure Energy 72/3000 HPA system and some RPS Marbs and AllStars. Seemed like Marbs did best, grouping was very good and i could go full auto at 25 Balls Per Second with almost no variation in trajectory or flight. This barrel turned from "alright" to INSANE by changing paint and switching to HPA.

I have also used this barrel with Draxxus and PMI, Draxxus works better than PMI usually; but after using Marbs; PMI and Draxxus pale in comparison.

I have put over 8000 rounds of paint through this barrel and have had ZERO breaks, even with year old paint and cheap Wal-Mart paint. The barrel does not add any amount of noise to the gun, maybe muffles sound a slight bit.

I have my Velocity Adjuster so far out (down in pressure) that it almost falls out of my gun. The accuracy got better the less velocity i pushed to it, and range stayed the same. I'm not sure what people are saying about the shots "flying slower" but if you've ever actually shot a Flatline or been shot at by a Flatline, the balls seem to travel faster, not slower. Though i've never tried a chrono to test the difference between Flatline and a normal barrel; I don't think there would be a huge difference in FPS numbers.

After playing with a Tippmann 98c with 14" Warrpig and a Spyder MR2 with 16" J&J Full-Tilt Ceramic barrel, getting used to the flat trajectory was wierd. This barrel was verging on painful to use with trashy paint and Co2 (because of inaccuracy past 25-30yds) but after getting good paint and some HPA, this barrel has become a TRUE factor on the field.

This barrel is less accurate than the Smart Parts Progressive series that i have used (with Marbs) but only by a slight bit (50 balls shot within 3'x3' square at 40yds w/Progressive VS 4.5'x4.5' w/Flatline).

This barrel, however; is UNRIVALED in range WITH accuracy. If you play any mid or back position on your squad/ team i highly recommend this barrel. Be sure to do the barrel justice and get some good paint for it though.
Conclusion: Unmatched range with accuracy that nearly equals that of some of the most accurate barrels on market. May be a bit expensive but for raw performance this barrel ROCKS. BE WARNED, barrels like the Smart Parts Progressive shoots trash paint pretty accurately even using Co2; but using trash paint and Co2 on a Flatline may cause more frustration than anything else.

Doesn't break balls, even old paint. Unmatched range. Flat trajectory is a God-send for woodsball, good looks, easy install.

I give it an 8 because of the picky nature of the barrel and its cost. ($80 on Ebay)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 25th, 2008 at 6:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

punker9105 Monday, May 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom flatline barrel, apex barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Flatline barrel, dead on large drop forwards w/ on-off, E-grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything Diablo and higher grade.
Strengths: Not really that many strenghts.
Weaknesses: Very heavy. very picky on paint, curves off after long distances due to backspin.
Review: First off I dont like this barrel. yes it shoots far but what good is it if it cant hit what you shoot at. the barrel is yeah heavy, and can only take the Tippmann barrel cover that it comes with. Its very picky on paint. the barrel puts a baskspin on the ball so you dont have to angle your shots at long range. Due the curve on the barrel, high grade paint with a thick shell is needed, or the paint pops in the chamber.
Conclusion: I dont understand why people would buy this barrel. its not worth the price.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

NotoriousCheech Tuesday, April 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi 16' carbon fiber
Smart Parts 14' Teardrop
Tippmann 14' sniper
Python insert kit
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Egrip w/Rampage board
AK47 expansion chamber
Drop Forward
Tech T Vortex cyclone upgrade kit w/squishy paddles
DeadOn Powertube
Shocktech Supafly bolt
Two finger trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
DXS (Draxxus) silver or gold (otherwise known as procaps) Bronze work ok 2
Marbs work ok
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I will try to keep this as simple and short and give you all the facts on the flatline as I see them.

If you put the flat line vs. any other barrel next to each other and hold them level, the flatline will out distance easily (This is due to the arc from the way the barrel curved up). This is a great thing if you are out in the Deep Woods and need to shoot through trees where you cannot arc you shots (Arcing your shots can get you lots of distance but depends on marker and accuracy can depend on your barrel). It also has great accuracy in short range (or as stated by the company: The Flatline (if properly tuned) will be more accurate within the standard barrel range than most traditional barrels.). But, in open field play (which happens to be 70% of the play) where you can arc your shots you can easily get out outdistanced. Let me explain: the Flatline while far shooting has a curve towards the end of its path (thats where you get the curve ball effect that ppl talk about) that can throw off your consistency and accuracy. The curve is not always consistent due to the rough finish on the inside of the Flatline (another reason ppl say it is a paint blender, as the rough finish is not good on cheap paint.) which affects each ball a lil differently. Using a straight barrel can get you a lot better accuracy and distance in open field play due to the fact that you can arc your shots and drop them in. As far as paint goes its really a game of pass/fail. Try out different kinds until you find the one that fits it best. Paint breaks and accuracy can be due to several key factors such as temperature, bore size, shell quality, velocity and feeder. Also, it is heavy so you have to be prepared for the weight add. As far as looks go It does look very cool
Conclusion: In conclusion, the Flatline has many great benefits. It all really depends on your play and shooting preferences. Its a great Deep Woods barrel (I can lay in the brush and shoot from between logs and out shoot most ppl) and for inside bunkers its awesome but in the open field and long distance play I prefer the straight long barrel so I can arc my shots n drop it in on guys behind bunkers from far away. Its the best at what it is so ppl need to stop talking bad about it and try to understand what its made for. People who dont like it just usually dont understand what kind of barrel they are buying and ppl who say its the best ever dont usually explain why they like it. I dont know if I would call this the best barrel ever but its the best at what it does!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gg67 Saturday, April 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Tippmann A5 Flatine
Remote Line
Adjustable Stock
Strengths: Distance
Accuracy
DOES NOT BREAK BALLS LIKE EVERYBODY SAYS
Weaknesses: A little heavier than I expected but no big deal...
Review: The stock barrel that came with the A5 didn't really do it for me. It didn't shoot far at all and was really inaccurate. I purchased the flatline for $80 and easily installed it. As soon as I shot it I saw the improvements. The accuracy was incredibly improved and the distance was also dramatically improved. I have put a little under 1000 balls through this barrel. I went home and took apart the gun to clean it. I put a squeegee through the barrel and when it came out, it looked exactly the same as before, not a spot of paint. I highly recommend the barrel to any paintball player.
Conclusion: This barrel is awesome, if you are deciding whether to buy it or not, but buy it, you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kindness Thursday, April 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None. Completely unique.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Blade Trigger
Delron anti-chop Bolt
Revvy with X-Board
Recommended
Paintballs:
I haven't tested to see what works best...look at others if you want to trust them. I recommend that you use the expensive one though. They are generally more consistent and the flatline will effect different paintballs in noticeably different ways. I used evils and it worked good.
Strengths: See Review. Range. Look.
Weaknesses: See Review. Loud. Price.
Review: Introduction:

Flatline is awesome. It's a special work of art from the people of Tippmann who are as dependable as there markers. Although it looks bad above, the strengths definitely outweigh the weaknesses. My cousin have modified ours (it's my cousin and mine we are poor and combined money) to simply snap on and off. Wanna know how. I can't tell you, not because I'm an @$$hole, but because he did it somehow. I don't think he even remembers what he did exactly, but I could ask I guess if anyone wants to know.

Pro:
*It's appearance is unique. I love the look. It looks better on the A-5. It seems to finish it IMO.
*I like the MP5 look, and it delivers the look but adds the range. Imagine a MP5 that shoots as far as a rifle and you got an A-5 with a flatline, if you remove the stock. I can't stress the amazing range enough that the flatline grants you. You would have to experience it.
*In a way, it's roar (loudness) is a strength. It is very intimidating, which I can say from experience. It will especially make a newbie player either duck and stay down, or run like a whipped dog.

Con:
*When you can shoot farther than anyone else (who doesn't also own a flatline), you want to be sure it can hit them every time. Distance screws your accuracy to hell.
*It is definitely heavy than most barrels. I personally like it. Most people don't. I think it feels more realistic and it also provides an excellent counterweight for your air, if it's not remote line...
*If you have to field strip or squeegee, it can present a problem. With the sandpaper like curved barrel, you'd think there would be more paintbreaks, but this in not the truth.
*Loud. It roars your position. Experienced players will pick up on this and your more sought after than Osama.
*Despite what you hear, this is very paint picky. Any defect on the ball will cause a radical trajectory. Each shot will be a little different, because the coarse grain will effect each ball differently. This ill effect can be minimalized by buying quality paint but not eliminated entirely.
*Expensive.

Conclusion/Strategy:

Use the flatline's stengths to your advantage. If you command your squad, get this, because you can pick off enemies from far back but remain in contact with you team and out of line of fire. Plus it will redirect their attack to you who they can't hit, but you can hit them.

Use the weaknesses to your advantage as well. The suppresion man can definitely utilize the flatline's erratic behavior. Buy cheap (not too cheap and breakable) paint and let the spray begin. By using the ball's defects, you can send them in a wide array of carnage. With an Egrip, you can create a wall of paint without even trying. You can cover a bunker without even aiming.

Don't get it to fulfill your sniper dreams, as I'm sure most of you were thinking along those lines. I was anyway. It is way to loud and bulky. The accuracy isn't that consistent, although it is decent.
Conclusion: I'd say: if you have the money, buy it. If you don't, buy a cheaper alternative that has different strengths.
Appearance: +2
Performance: +2
Reliability: +2
Price: 0
Value: +1

Appearance: It looks badbutt. On A-5, it looks even more badbutt. Easy +2

Performance: It increases your range by crazy. 'Nother easy +2

Reliability: Can always count on it sending your ball farther than enemy. Paintbreak not very common. Accuracy is good for normal contact distances. +2

Price: It is expensive. You decide if it's right for you or something else is better. 0

Value: It is worth buying, but the price is a little steep. +1

It's a 7 out of 10 when you add it up, but it's more of a preference. I like it so I'm giving it a 9 out of 10. Some people will not like it. They would give it a 5. My initial score is the average I think.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 10th, 2008 at 9:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Carl Gustav Wednesday, January 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original tippmann flatline for 98, similar performance but the a5 is more user friendly and is smaller.
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5 with Flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
higher grade, dont go too cheap
Strengths: Accuracy, extreme range, flat trajectory
Weaknesses: Hard on cheap balls especially in subzero temperatures
Heavy for its size
Review: I've taken this barrell out many times this month and love it. i shoot diablo heat, which is cheapish paint but it seems to work most of the time, and on the bright side this barrell performs better than the original with paint in it, giving the option of finishing the round before taking it off to clean it. it also comes off with much less work, just loosen 3 screws on the gun, twist and pull. this barrel works excellent and i am very pleased with my buy, although i bought locally instead of online 200$ =(
The big ups for the barrell are a flat trajectory, so you aim straight instead of lobbing, and wonderful distance, 200 feet plus!!!!( with enough speed and accuracy to hit someone with 3 or 4 balls, as long as their not running of course). your main problem will just be the fact that the paintballs only go so fast, so people see them coming.
it works best at about 275 fps. it has a textured coating inside so it can be hard on cheap quality balls since it rolls them along the top to gain a backspin. it has a built in peice to replace your adapter so that you dont have to worry about getting it on straight and makes it easier to switch between normal barrells and the flatline. its compact at about 9" too
Conclusion: Excellent barrell. The flat trajectory is unreal to watch, its like an illusion. It is well worth its rather high price if you play much in the woods and fields.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

seank Saturday, January 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98,bt-4
Marker Setup: tippmann e-grip, flatline folding stock, coiled remite,double trigger, x7 low hopper, scope, nitrogen tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
stryker or bigball
Strengths: This barrel is the best my friend was 400 feet away and i hit him.
Weaknesses: Have to buy good balls.
Review: This barrel is so awesome i can hit anyone in one shot im so good not to brag or anything but i couldent do it without the barrel. And it is also really good it hurts so bad like i couldent evan see it go it looked like it was floating it was really cool my friend dident evan now what hit him he almost fell backwords it was soo crazy.
Conclusion: Barrels awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryan67675 Thursday, December 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 with flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
i use midnight and AMP
Strengths: Shoots far, doesnt break balls all the time, accurate
Weaknesses: Breaks balls sometimes,not reccomened on windy days.
Review: I love this barrel. it is good and accurate. The only problem i have with mine is that it started breaking balls and and when it was windy the ball would curve alot. Other then that i thought the barrel were good and almost on target but does not work best on windy days.
Conclusion: this barrel is AWESOME its accurate and strong. should buy good paintballs and should use on nice calm days
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 27th, 2007 at 3:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

johnson64 Monday, December 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I own this exact product
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with flatline barrel, low pressure chamber and folding stock
Tippman 98 Custom with flatline barrell and folding stock
Piranha R6 with E-GRIP and custom barrell setup
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much any ball works good with this barrell, but of course the better brands work a lot better because they have less imprefections.
Strengths: Increased accuracy, distance, and straighter trajectory
Weaknesses: Must be tuned to a specific velocity to be accurate.
Review: Many people claim that this is a poor barrel because it has poor accuracy, distance, and that it is an air hog. These are not necessarily true claims. 1st- This barrel will be accurate, but you have to take the time to tune it in. If the velocity is too low, the ball won't achieve enough spin and it will be very sporatic. If the velocity is too high, you will have too much spin and you will have the same problem. I'm not sure on the specific fps but if you take some paint and go take the time to do a little target practice you should get it tuned in about ten to fifteen minutes at the max. My marker is accurate at 200 feet on average, sometimes as much as 250 depending on conditions and balls.
As far as the air hog is concerned, I usually can shoot around 4 to 5 hoppers on a 20 oz CO2 tank, so if you like to paint the forest, I amagine that you would have problems.
Conclusion: Overall, this is my favorite barrel and marker setup out there, especally for the casual player. It isn't a super expensive package and it is the easiest to clean and maintain.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IdtSup Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ Flatline+Battle Shroud+RT+Cyclone Feed,Flexi Paddles.
Tippmann 98 Custom, J&J Ceramic Sniper, Electric Hopper
Strengths: If looks could kill you would be dead already.
Weaknesses: Picky on paint and marker
Review: Let me start by saying that I just bought this barrel and this is my first experience with it.
I will come back to this review next spring when I get to put this barrel to another test.

I went with a bunch of people to Skirmish USA in PA (Go Grave Diggers!). Out of 16 of us about 9 - 10 had this barrel. As soon as the ref saw our markers (Wassup Nikki!) she told us we were going to have issues. After taking some test shots the balls were all over the place. I went to the techies and they said expect this to happen all day. Ball breakage is what I should expect. It was like 32 degrees but it felt like 22. He said Flatlines suck in the cold and I should put it away until next spring. I was like WHAT!!! I just bought this thing. Sure enough, 1 game later I was switching to my Tear Drop. Don't get me wrong that one experienced breakage as well but nothing like the flat line. All of the members of my team had the same issue.

I read some reviews on the Skirmish field and players are stating that its the cheap (but expensive) paint that is supplied.

I'm not sure what it was but I know that I was and still pissed at the way this barrel performed.

I hope to update this review with some positive information early next spring.

And yes I tried changing the velocity.

Fell free to dispute this review but it won't do you any good. I will update next year.

UPDATE: So I noticed that the balls were really breaking in my cyclone and not in the barrel. So I purchased a Palmers stab and installed new paddles in my cyclone. I went back and BINGO it worked!

Conclusion: End result is that the cold weather+flatline+co2+no stab = problems.

I will give this review a 4 until next year.

UPDATE: I give it an 8. No 10 because it's to much work to get it right.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 26th, 2008 at 10:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media