paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  Last
        Next Page
MadMan w/A-5 Wednesday, March 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Well Lets See. I've USed the 98 Custom, And Flatline with that. And i've also used The A-5.
Marker Setup: Its pretty Basic, Just the a-5 Flatline, and A Double Trigger. / Im going to buy an 02 Tank, and a low preaussure system.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Well.. I havent used this product more than a day, But i've Been useing SunFlares (CHEAP WALL MART PAINT).
Strengths: -Range
-Acuracy / For the most part.
-Looks like a Silencer.
-Better than 98 Flatline :)
Weaknesses: -Heavy / Not a factor.
-Loud, Loudier than before.
-Cost alot.
Review: I like it, I almost love it. And ive only tested on full volocity. Ive herd you need the PERFECT volocity to make it work bueatifully. But I do not rcomend this for Speed Ball. In fact the only way i would recomend this gun (A-5) for speed ball is with the Low Pes. System.
Conclusion: I recomened this product for back men Everywere.. I am a back man By the way. Good luck and i hope this Urges you to order this barrel system
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tpmn-Sniper Wednesday, March 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none-this is the only barrel that puts a backspin on the ball
Marker Setup: Tippman a5, vertical, lapco big shot 12", 12 oz w/ 20 oz back-up, r/t,
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything small to medium bore (ie marballizers or even big ball)
Strengths: -length
-looks
-loud and intimidating
Weaknesses: -big
---i'll xplain in the review
Review: OK......so you are thinking about getting the flatline barrel, i say that you should save your money and get a two-peice barrel because the flatline barrel is useless. Tippmann says that it adds about 100 ft and quite frankly it does. But the thing is if you are unloading on someone who is probably 150 to 200 ft away from you it WONT break if you are hitting their chest because by the time that the ball got to the person, there would be no power behind the paintball so it WONT break. BUT if you shoot them in the helmet of gun.....then that's a different story. If you are also playing against an experienced player then he would be able to see the path of the ball and he would just advance on you and then toast you. The balls path is very easy to see because first it stays up then floats down then back up and somehow to your target. (>>>>____>>>>)
Conclusion: so if you think that you hav the paitience to keep pounding paintballs into this guy or you have good enuff aim to high the guy in the mask..then go ahead and get this gun. But i advise you to get a different barrel and use the extra money.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Supersk8er79 Monday, March 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 Flatline
No other barrel compare to the flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tippmann Flatline Barrel
RESPONSE TRIGGER
J&J ceramic 12 inch
Remote
4+1 harness
CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Allstar-best
Big Ball-great
Servere - ok but broke sometimes
Strengths: DISTANCE, DISTANCE, DISTANCE
ACCURACY
LOOK
BEING ABLE TO REACH SOME1 N THEY CANT REACH YOU
Weaknesses: HEAVY, AND NEED GOOD PAINT BECAUSE WHEN A BALL BREAK THE BARREL IS INACURATE
Review: THE FLATLINE BARREL IS REALLY GOOD

IVE SHOT AT A POST FROM ABOUT 150 FEET AWAY WITH MY RESPONSE TIRGGER AND HIT THE POST ABOUT 7 OUT OF 10 TIME WITH THE FLATLINE. WITH THE J & J CERAMIC IT HITS IT ONLY 2 OUT OF 10 BECAUSE THE BALLS DONT EVEN REACH.

iVE USED THE BARREL IN SPEED BALL AND ITS ACCURATE AND CAN HIT SOMEONE EASILY. THEN IN WOODS BALL IT HAS THE DISTANCE TO GO FAR AND HIT SOMEONE WHEN THEY CANT HIT YOU,
Conclusion: THE FLATLINE BARREL IS THE BEST BARREL YOU CAN GET. IF YOU WANT A BARREL THAT IS ACCURATE GET THE FLATLINE. IF YOU WANT A BARREL THE CAN GO THE DISTANCE AND HIT SOMEONE GET THE FLATLINE. OVERALL ITS THE BEST BARREL FOR YOU TO GET FOR YOUR A-5
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UGADaWgSmAn14 Saturday, March 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye ultralight, stock barrel
Marker Setup: Dm4 with halo-b victory board, crossfire 70-4500 low pressure nitro tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
evils, pmis,draxxus
Strengths: distance, accuracy is ok, sounds intimidating
Weaknesses: LOUD LOUD LOUD, not as accurate as some barrels, curvage, paint picky
Review: this is a very good product FOR WOODSBALL i dont think that this barrel is good for tourneys because the main advantage is distance and you dont really need all the extra distance in tourneys. when i owned my a-5 with a flatline i definately noticed that it shoots alot farther and straighter. after a while of traveling through the air it begins to curve which is very inconvenient. it is also paint picky. 70% of the paint i shot through it broke like crazy. some paint didnt and when it didnt break i liked the performance and accuracy of the barrel. also very inconvenient to clean and squeegee. i owned a dye ultalight for tourneys before i got my dm4(which has ultralight for stock barrel) and it performed better in tourneys than a flatline.
Conclusion: overall a great barrel. i would use this barrel above all others for woodsball but if u play mostly tourneys and want something in this price range then get a dye ultralight or a boomstick because they are much more accurate.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 2nd, 2004 at 3:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blakice Wednesday, March 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5 w/ flatline, 20 oz. pure energy, 32 degrees remote line w/slide check and quick release, a5 adjustable stock.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Way more expensive ones
Strengths: distance
Weaknesses: Breaks cheap paintballs to hell
Not accurate, only close
Costs WAY too much
Review: The first day i got the barrel i thought it would be awesome. i mounted it on my a5 and the first 10 shots one of the paintballs broke, and you have to unscrew 3 screws to clean it! The paintballs veered to the left even though it was aligned straight. Overall i payed WAY too much for this barrel 120$$ and it didnt impress me, only the distance did!
Conclusion: i reccomend using the stock barrel more than the flatline.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 24th, 2004 at 3:47 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pvensel Wednesday, March 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Carbon Fiber, Smart Parts
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Flatline Barrel, or 16" Smart Parts Barrel, BSA 30mm Red Dot Sight, A-5 Expansion Chamber, Double Trigger, Rear Velocity Adjuster, Pro Star Bolt, ACI Remote, hooked up to a 20oz. CO2.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I Would have to say Marbalizers worked best for me.
Strengths: Distance
Weaknesses: Accuracy for group pattern for long distance.
Review: The Flatline Barrel shoots a very good distance, and doesn't hold a tight pattern on the long shots, but med shots the barrel does well. After all, the barrel was designed for distance, not long range tight group pattern!

I thought the Flatline barrel was the best barrel I ever used when I used it for my first couple games..Then I realized that it is not all it is talked up to be! Yes, I can reach out and touch somebody, but I personally like a tighter group pattern, so I am not waisting paint.

Conclusion: Tippmann can keep the Flatline Barrel on the shelves, for the amount of money it sells for. 16" barrels have a tighter group pattern in the long range distance, than the Flatline, but the Flatline can shoot further. Save paint!!! Stick with the 16" Barrels
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 10th, 2004 at 10:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crikie Monday, March 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
this is first gun so i have only used this and stock. have played with freinds impulse and b2k.
Marker Setup: i have nitro on the a5 with the flat line response and also jj aluminum grip(or however you spell it).
Recommended
Paintballs:
i use zap spank (pretty good) i have used evil some times it breaks (evean in my freinds impulse) i have used zap tounement grade paintball they were great only 1 or 2 broke in 100 shots
Strengths: it shoots straight,
Weaknesses: loud paint breaks
Review: well its good shoots straigt it is loud. i would recamend it but i rather get a phat pro extreme thats what im saving up for ( you need to get a adapter). you should buy a good high quality paint like marbalized or torny paint also premiam. so i were were you i would save up for the phat performance but that is after you buy that unless u want to stay with stock barrel.




in hole buy it or dont but what do i know i u know someone who hase it try it out and see how u like it
Conclusion: if you want it buy it mostly for outddor i use indoor and its loud evenoutside but great nun the less
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Risk Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months36 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J 14" Ceramic (not really similar)
Marker Setup: A-5, Flatline, nitro duck x-stream 88/4500 w/remote, DOP Power tube, AIM68 Reg, JSC folding combat stock, red dot sight , E-Grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Blaze or better, most RPS
Strengths: Long range and flat trajectory for rec/woods play.
Weaknesses: Heavy, cost. You will need a SWAB squeegee to do a quick field clean!
Review: Are you tired of using the "indirect fire" method of dropping a paintball on your opponent at long range? Or how about watching you shot break on leaves and branches as you try to angle a shot to go far enough to hit a target that you can see clearly underneath all that foliage? Then I recommend the Flatline barrel.

This barrel will extend the range on your A-5. I was using a J&J Ceramic (Which is a great barrel in its own right!) on my A-5 for some time. Then I went and bought a Flatline for a scenario game I knew would have some large open areas with little to hide behind. I thought, "With some added range, I can engage opponents that can't quite get to me." I was right. Only other "Flatliners" could get me with out shooting into the air to have their shots rain down all around me.

The Flatline also proved be be extremely effective in the woods. With the flat trajectory, one can shoot at targets that used to be "out of range" because angled shots would get lost to trees.

There is something I want to mention about the whole "increased range" thing. This is going to be a little lesson in physics.

We all know that the Flatline achieves its increased range by putting backspin on the paintball. This backspin creates an airfoil effect similar to the wing of an airplane. OK, so now the ball is going further. However, all paint guns are shooting at the same velocity, i.e.: 280-300 fps. By the time a shot is out to the maximum range from a standard barrel and air friction and gravity have finally forced the paintball to the ground, the flatline's shot is still in the air. However, the flatline paintball will still be traveling at the save velocity as the standard shot when it hit the ground. What does this mean? Well, first, you need to remember that the paintball starts to slow down as soon as the shot comes off the bolt. So the Flatlines extended range allows more time in the air for the paintball to slow down. We're only talking about a few feet per second over all that distance, but it can translate into whether or not the paint will break on the target or not. That's what is important.

Now how about paint. I've had the opportunity to shoot a few types of paint through the Flatline with a range of results. The best results I've had were from shooting Draxxus Blaze so I'm sure most paint on par with this in terms of brittleness and size will work just fine. I have also shot RPS/PMI Premium and had some good results with this as well. The Premiums however did break 2 or 3 time out of a case, but the conditions were not the best. I was rather cold and I think that was a big factor in the breaks. This happened at a FPO scenario game, and several other players who had flatlines were having terrible luck with the paint where other like myself had very minor problems. The worst results came from shooting Sever paint. This is usually a decent paint but for some reason my flatline turned those rounds into a paint-water gun!

Hey, what about speedball? I don't think I'd recommend the flatline for speedball for two reasons. First- Its heavy! This barrel, even though its short, will slow you down. Second- Flat trajectory. The same thing that makes this barrel great in the woods will kill it in speedball. With tall bunkers in close quarters you want some shots to come DOWN on your opponents and the flatline just won't do that. But- If you're a back player trying to hit the opposing back players...hmmm...

Well, these are just my observations. This barrel will suit some players style and not others. I like it.

EDIT 9/10/2004 -
I haven't followed up on this review in a while so this is a delayed response to LIKPhantom for pointing out an error I made in my original post. DO NOT USE A STRAIGHT SHOT ON THIS BARREL! It will ruin the coarse coating on the inside of the barrel. This coating helps impart the backspin on the paintball that make this barrel work the way it does. I reccommend a battle swab. Thanks again LIKPhantom!
LIKPhantom for pointing out a mistake!)
Conclusion: The Flatline barrel for the A-5 is an excellent choice for serious recreational and scenario players.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 10th, 2004 at 8:10 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

silent_bullet Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ flatline barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS premium, marbs
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: none
Review: This is the best barrel i have ever used, it shoots a flat trajectory and doesn't curve if ur using good paint. Some people say it sucks because people can catch them but it isn't made for tournament paintball, the flatline barrel is made for woods ball. It takes less than a minute to assemble.
Conclusion: This is the best woodsball barrel i have ever had.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snowyhessh Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Xcel Barrel for Model 98 (but you can't compare regular barrels to the flatline. It is a unique product.)
Marker Setup: A-5, Proshop Solid Sniper Stock, Armson Prodot, Flatline, PMI 48ci/4500psi
Recommended
Paintballs:
Though I've only used RPS Evils because of their good rating, smaller bore size, and ability to break well on targets without breaking in my marker, from reading about other flatline users' experiences, medium-small bore paint without dimples or oiliness should suffice.
Strengths: flat-trajectory, accuracy at great distances, loud (can make opponents run for cover)
Weaknesses: loud (gives away position), different maintanence from "normal" barrels, heavy
Review: The flatline is a barrel innovation, and the A-5 version of it is an improved innovation, now that it is easier to clean and align. You can truly "reach out and touch" other players that are hiding behind a false sense of security of distance. "He's too far too hit me," will soon be replaced with "The non-flatline's can't hit me here." In the woods, the flat trajectory is especially useful, through the brush that you try to aim through, but the angled paintballs just seem to never get through. For speedball, the flatline's okay too. The weight does require more effort to move around, but... it doesn't bother me. The barrel, because it is not ported, is very loud. This can be both an advantage and a distadvantage. Advancing players will rush for cover if they hear loud shots and are having paintballs whiz by them. As a down side, players may be able to locate you more easily, but then again, if they know where you are, but you mark them first... not big deal, right?

Aligning the barrel so that it shoots correctly is fairly simple, as one must just align the top screw with the front sight. As I've read from other reviews, this is a much more improved way of mounting than the mounting of the original Custom/Model 98 Flatline. The 98 version would probably deserve a nine, while the A-5 version recieves a shiny gold medal ten.

Tips:
Use the Flurry Industry barrel condom (it's able to cover the wide diameter of the flatline). A stock (any stock) will also help a great deal because of the extra weight of the flatline will unbalance your weapon.

For barrel maintanence on the field, I read an innovative idea to replace the two front allen key screws, with thumb screws so the barrel can be removed easily. Great idea, that I haven't done yet, but I plan to do soon.

When you purchase the flatline (you must buy because no Tippmann made marker owner should be without one), make sure you understand that the inside of the barrel is rough by design. The barrel is not dirty, and rather the roughness allows better backspin. If you use an abrasive cleaner, you can wear out the life expectancy of the barrel (250,000 rounds). Also, I was told that one should not use the barrel cleaner provided by Tippmann for the stock barrel. The thing is pretty hard, and the barrel cleaner that comes with the flatline seems to work fine. Just remember, the inside is supposed to look "dirty".
Conclusion: Anyone with an A-5 who plays woodsball should at least consider the flatline. Its flat trajectory renders your marker to be a short range rifle (in terms of the straight flight paths of the projectiles). The flatline is also best combined with a red dot, sight, red-dot sight, or low power scope, since the factor of curving paintballs is not an issue with the flatline. (I like the Armson prodot because it doesnt need batteries).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media