paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  Last
        Next Page
setesh Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels, tippman sniper barrel, J&J Ceramic
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5, R/T, Intruder F/X expansion foregrip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Don't know, have only tried Big Ball, and it didn't do well at all.
Strengths: Looks Awesome..very 'silencer like' shoud
Unbeatable distance
Doesn't break paint like rumored
Weaknesses: Poor accuracy
Loud
Heavy
size makes it awkward for speedball
Review: First off I had high expectations for this barrel, which may explain in part why I am so disappointed. If I can't get 5 balls within 2' of each other at 75' then I'm not happy. Take that into consideration

My opinion is this: if you can shoot 250 ft but cant consistently hit a target the size of my front door at 100ft (or my house at 200'), then what good is shooting that far? Every shot takes a different path than the one before it. I had one guy actually stand up from behind his bunker to shoot me, I couldn't hit him and he knew it. He had been watching the balls go every which way but the right one. Granted I was shooting from my 10, and he from his, but his Boomstick had no problem placing 5 shots thru a tire at the same range. The first time I used this barrel I played 5 games without a single elimination, the only other barrel I brought was the stock one, so I switched to it and got 3 kills in the next game. That was enough for me to put it up for the day. I went home and completely cleaned the Flatline, tried some fresh paint, and put another 300 rnd through it at different velocities....same story. Wind was maybe 5mph, and still I could't hit my roommates explorer consistently at 100ft. I give up.


I played with the velocity but with not satisfactory results. I tried speeds from 200-300. It liked about 280 best, but accuracy was still worse than the stock 8.5" barrel.

To be fair I have only tried Big Ball and no other paints. That's all they shoot at the field near me. Maybe paint is the missing piece in the accuracy puzzle. I asked every person I saw with an A-5 flatline, and even those with 98's to fire their marker a few times so I could see the accuracy, it was the same every time, just like mine (and a lot of them were using different paint). The exception was a guy shooting Premium Golds, he had much better consistency than I had seen before, but it was worlds away from an AA or a Boomstick.
Conclusion: I've been eliminated by flatlines at the field, but only at close range. Most of the time it's an All American or Boomstick that gets me. I have better results with the cruddy barrel that came on it. I'll stick with my SP AA Freak Front, if you can't hit what you're aiming at, it's just no fun imho..
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Azazel Monday, September 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop, A-5 Stock, Piranha stock, Black maxx stock
Marker Setup: A-5 Remote coil, response trigger, flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used powerball and Zap spank, the only thing that it doesn't seem to work with is brass eagle
Strengths: Range, Acuurace
Weaknesses: hard to clean, with too high velocity it's very innacurate
Review: This Barrel is amazing, I shot 1000 rounds of Zap spank, powerball, some paint i found on the ground, and a few brass eagle, the only 1 paintball that popped was brass eagle, but the barrel still worked fine. The range of this is pretty amazing, and the fact that it flies straight for the whole time can give you an unfair advatage. I'm used to the A-5 stock, so i fire in 5 or 6 shot bursts, but with the flatline all 6 hit, and without arcing.

Takes 2 allen wrenches to intall, and about 20 seconds.
Conclusion: Deffinatley buy this if you can afford it, but if you have the A-5 you almost certainly can
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fox.317 Tuesday, September 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock A-5 with Pure Energy 68/300 Air on a drop forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil
Strengths: Distance, accuracy
Weaknesses: weight, difficulty in cleaning during games
Review: My curiosity finally got the best of me. I had read oodles of reviews about this barrel (all good) so I had to try it for myself. I just bought this thing on 9/13/03 and used it the very next day. My very first game that I used it in it blew me away! I was out-distancing everyone else on the field! I was outdistancing my other barrel, a 14" All American by a long shot! Accuracy was phenomenal, I made a sweet head shot from at least 250+ feet. When dueling it out with other players I could see their balls just dropping to the ground and bouncing harmlessly towards my feet while mine were sailing right past their heads, sometimes into theirs heads, bodies, markers etc.
Well you get the point. Believe the hype, this barrel is incredible and I can't wait to use it again!
My only frustration is with the inability to clean the goo out if a ball does happen to break in it. I guess you could swab it, but that just pushes paint into the marker. To remove the barrel, you have to loosen the front three screws and twist the barrel out, then pull a squeegie through. This could be a pain during a game, so choose your paint wisely! I've had great luck with Evil so far.
Conclusion: Go get one! Paintball is about fun and with this barrel, that's what you'll get!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mr. Girlfriend Wednesday, September 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
what does it matter?
Marker Setup: A-5, Flatline, double trigger, red eye sight, 20 oz tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Marbilizers, JT Elite and Diablo inferno/dusk
Strengths: improves accuracy, DISTANCE!!!! and trajectory noticiably
Weaknesses: takes a minute to install and remove
Review: Fun things to do with your new A-5 Flatline:

*Chew up Spyders!
*Slaughter innocent Piranhas
*Step on Brass Eagles
*Intimidate Intimidators
*And shove aside Angels and Cockers as you reach for the flag!!!

This barrel is the ultimate upgrade. This is where the line is drawn between Markers and Killers. This barrel is further proof that you don't need to spend an excess $800 to have a sick gun. Their are paintball guns, and their are Paintball Guns with Flatlines.
Choose your allegiance
Conclusion: The A-5 Flatline should be the first upgrade anyone gets for thier marker. This barrel makes your gun break out of its shell so that it can become the killer it was born to be.
Newbies or amateurs! Cockers and Angels beware: There's a new gun in town, and he don't like you!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 10th, 2003 at 9:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Derek33 Friday, August 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
98c flatline
Marker Setup: A-5
flatline
smart parts all american 16"
88 3000 HPA
app hopper
asr1 sight rail
dye izon
collapsible stock
double trigger
remote line

Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil
Marbs
team colors
Strengths: distance and mediocre accuracy
Weaknesses: need the right paint
loud
Review: It does slow the ball down a bit but that can be fixed by turning the velocity up

this is the kind of barrel that you would buy 2 diff barrels, i recomend the all american.
in woods play there are some, but not many chances that you can shoot 200 feet because of a branch or vines. But the chances you do get this is a great barrel because if the front man of the opposing team is 175-200 feet away, you dont even have to hide because he wont hit u.

the price is way too hight, all your paying for is a curved barrel with a patent so no other company can copy it and sell it for a resonable price.
Conclusion: Buy the barrel but buy a secondary barrel with more accuracy to use when u cant shoot 200 feet out, because theres no need to sacrifice accuracy for a barrel with distance to shoot people 70 feet away.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A-5Saiyan Wednesday, August 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
12" GTA Sniper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
-E-Grip
-Flatline, 12" GTA Sniper
-Custom Cone Hopper
-Double Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything will work...I've tried
Strengths: Great for that Long Shot
Weaknesses: You have to get use to the curve and range
Review: The Flatine has everything you need in a barrel for the A-5
First off it Increases your range by at least 100ft
Great Accuracy: The arc give you the power to drive the enemy back
Great Look: Looks like a Gat
Easy to Clean
Easy to Remove/Install
Weight evens out gun
CAN HANDLE 15BPS WITHOUT BREAKIN BALLS
only 9in's in length
what else is there...
Conclusion: If you have an A-5 I suggust you buy every upgrade Tippmann makes, That's why the made it...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

need4spd Sunday, August 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month48 of 51 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99 - Recieved it as a gift. Returned it within a month.
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT, Stock Tippmann Barrel, Tippmann Flatline Barrel, 2002 All American 14" Barrel, Pure Energy 20oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Advantage Marballizer Paintballs
DO NOT use cheap paint with this barrel. It isn't that the barrel will break the cheaper paint (Although the risk is higher), it is just the cheaper paint will not take true advantage of the barrels capability.
Strengths: Distance and Accuracy all in one
Weaknesses: None!!!
Review: A couple of months ago I went out and bought a Tippmann A-5. The awesome thing about the A-5 and all the other Tippmann products, is the stock barrel wasn't all that bad. Unlike some of the cheaper marker brands that are around. After a couple of months I was in search for something that would help with accuracy and distance. Well I didn't look too far, I took one look at the Flatline and was almost sold on it. I drove down to the paintball warehouse and started talking to the guy behind the desk (who also was a huge Tippmann fan). Well, all I heard from him was praises about this barrel. I took it home that day, installed it within 2 min. and started shooting with it. It surprised me so much, this barrel was such a strait-shooting barrel! One of the cool things about this barrel is that you can install it upside down. I know that you are thinking, "why in the world would I do that?". Well if you are playing on a course that has a lot of trenches, you can aim and shoot at the people that are laying down in the trenches. With it upside down, you can arc the shot so hard. Nothing is more demoralizing then getting shot in the head when you think that no shots can hit you.
Conclusion: This barrel is so adaptable no matter what playing style you are...Speedball, Sniper, or a Front-line Grunt. If you are looking into getting a after market barrel, buy this one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

asanchezm Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco 12 inch bigshot
A5 Stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Dead on Paintball Bullet drop forward
Lapco Universal Mount
Crossfire 47ci 3000psi
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS/PMI paintballs
Strengths: Short barrel
Added distance
Interesting appearance to gun
Weaknesses: Barrel insides wear off
Loud
Heavy
Price Vs. Durability
Review: I bought the flatline after reading the reviews here on Pbreview only to later discover that the rough internal surface of the flatline wears off after less than 10,000 shots and the flatline is rendered useless. It must be sent back to Tippmann for reblasting so that the surface can again place backspin on the paintball, which is crucial for the distance of the paintball. This is not mentioned anywhere in the tippmann site and is a major drawback for me. (When the review was written people where having problems with their barrels after 10,000 shots of wearing off, tippmann addressed it later by stating that it will wear out but after 250,000 shots, will update again after 10,000)

Currently, the gun is very front heavy, when before it was perfectly balanced with the lapco bigshot barrel and I hope the rought texture of the flatline lasts me for a while....

Sometimes removing the barrel adapter from your gun is a pain. I've installed two flatlines to a5s and on both of them I had to damage the adapter (paint damage) to get it off. No matter how carefull I was.
Conclusion: THE woods barrel, not a speed barrel since you will have to shoot in awckward positions and balls will curve everywhich way.

As a woods barrel it gets a 10, speed it would be a 7.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 30th, 2003 at 3:52 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntball1016 Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 flatline barrel
Marker Setup: tippmann a5
flatline barrel
response trigger
double trigger
chrome body
Recommended
Paintballs:
blaze
marballizers
Strengths: gives you more distance
nice shroud
Weaknesses: not accurate
Review: key strengths

distance- you can shoot 100 feet farther and reach the other side of the field

nice shroud- the shroud makes it look a little like a shotgun which can scare new players!

key weaknesses

not accurate- if you are crazy about accuracy, you might not want this barrel.
Conclusion: if you want farther shots, get this barrel. i gave it a 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

longbow17 Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing even comes close.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ Response Trigger
Flatline Barrel
Soon to get ASR-1 Sight Rail, and BSA 30 mm Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Marballizers (actual paintballing), Diablo Dusk (target practice, also good enough for actual play)
Strengths: -Doesn't scratch
-Extends range
-Puts paint where you want it
-Silencer-like
Weaknesses: -Expensive
-Tempermental with paint type
Review: The Flatline was the first upgrade I got for my A-5. After reading these reviews, I decided I would try it...boy, was I amazed...it was even better than I thought. All you have to do is put it on target, and shoot. It shoots straight every time. I was able to hit targets farther than ever before. It does exactly what Tippmann says it does, and maybe even a little better. Now to the problems... I didn't have any problems with it, except the fact that it is a little expensive. Just like everything else though, if you shop around, you can find a good deal...I got mine for $100. Also, you need to use a fairly good paint type...Dusk and Marbs work well. Note: YOU CANNOT USE JUNK PAINT IN THIS BARREL! No using Brass Eagles anymore. Other than those things, it is the ultimate upgrade for the A-5.
Conclusion: If you have the money, get this. It works perfectly and I swear it extends the range of the A-5 by at least 150 feet. The Flatline is very accurate, and with this upgrade, you'll be the talk of the paintball fields. Some guy walked past me and I heard him say, "HOLY COW! It looks like a bazooka!" That made my day. GET THIS BARREL!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 12:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media