paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  Last
        Next Page
shakey Sunday, July 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Flatline Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tippmann Flatline Barrel
Dead On Paintball Grip Adapter Block
Dead On Paintball Pro-Style Drop Forward
Pro-Team Sniper FX Stock
BSA 30mm Red Dot Scope
PMI Pure Energy 20oz Aluminum C02 Tank
Hogue .45 Pullover Rubber Pistol Grip
Allen Paintball Products A-5 Sight Feeder
Strengths: flat trajectory, durable, looks, installation, reliable
Weaknesses: decent accuracy (so far...could get better with better paintballs)
Review: This Flatline Barrel for the TIppann A-5 was absolutely great. It has a flat trajectory (hence the name), really durable (the shroud is made of metal, a way bigger improvement over the Custom 98 Flatline Barrel), looks like a silencer (but is quite loud), and the ease of installation (many times more simple than the Custom 98 Flatline). This is barrel is very reliable, in that I didn't break a single ball shooting over 500+ paintballs without a break (including rapid firing).

It's problem, is the accuracy. Maybe it was the cheapo paintballs I used, but it just didn't seem as accurate as the Custom 98 Flatline barrel. It has a pretty good clustering, but I think the Custom 98 Flatline has a much better grouping than the A-5 version.
Conclusion: If you have an A-5, definately get this barrel. It will add some weight to your marker, since the shroud is made of metal, but it'll be worth the extra weight when you can hit people with 3-5 shots, while everyone else fires off 20-40 shots trying to hit you.
It gets a 9 from me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jarlath Friday, July 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline for Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 w/o RT
Flatline Barrel
Collapsing Stock
Remote Coil - 20oz CO2
Custom machined Front grip with front facing extension
Harris Bipod (mounted on extension)
Custom scope rail
Bushnell 3-9X40mm scope (With see thru caps, fixed 3x only, and foam wrapped)
Sue me... I'm a sniper and I don't want to a shoot off lot of balls with a R/T.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Decent paint (Big Ball works really well)
Cheap paint will break in the barrel
Strengths: Distance
Accuracy * (See Review)
Weaknesses: Cost
Review: All I can say is that this is a much better flatline than the 98's.
Range: You want to watch the balls sail way out there? 200ft or more? You can do it easy with the flatline.
Accuracy: Here is the tricky thing. Accuracy is very good IF the flatline is perfectly upright when shooting. (AKA perfectly vertical shot). If you have the flatline tilted even a small bit you can see the curve imparted by the flatline barrel. (It is with this curve that you can, with lots of practice, shoot around corners slightly at distance). So from a perfect stance/setup you get great shots, but while moving/leaning/etc... your accuracy suffers and suffers more the further your target.
Conclusion: The flatline is great for us snipers with the time and ability to setup, but if you going to spend the money and like to run and duck I'd recommend saving up for a Dye Boomstick (Titanium all the way!).
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

max045 Thursday, July 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
nothin compares to it
Strengths: it gices nice flat distance and accracy
Weaknesses: nothin
Review: its great if u dont want ur ball to curve. also gives great distance. also helps ur accrecy



it is great. i just want to stress that yes it is a great barreil but it is really expencive. but if u do have the money i would say go get 1
Conclusion: its a great barrel. sooooo if u have the money go buy 1
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ForceFedGlass Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel, Taso barrel, Other junk
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5
-Response Trigger
-Flatline
-Double Trigger
-Ronin 4+1
-20oz Remote
-JT ProFlex 03
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evils, Blaze, Good Small bore paint
Strengths: Awesome Distance, Good accuracy, Looks awesome, Short
Weaknesses: Heard inside can wear down, Timely to remove, Expensive, loud
Review: The first second I shot this barrel I was amazed. I absolutely love it. I think it was worth every penny. I was shooting 200ft (measured) flat and accurate. At 100ft I was keeping groupings the size of a CD. The barrel looks great and works great.

Cons:
-I have heard this barrel will loose its roughness on the inside after prolonged usage. This roughness gives the ball its backspin, without it the barrel is useless.

-This barrel must be always kept clean and dry. And Screws have to be loosened to remove it. No Field cleaning.

-I have heard only running water through the barrel and letting it air dry is the best way to clean. No squeegees. Takes awhile to dry and finish cleaning process.

-Only good, small bore paint can be used.
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel. It is short and can be used in every kind of game. It is very accurate even at far distances. Only use good quality small bore paint. Don't expect gods gift to man when you purchase it. Don't cry if you don't like it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SoupDevil Friday, July 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
14" barrel
Marker Setup: A-5
Flatline
DOP X Core
DOP Blade Drop Foward
Recommended
Paintballs:
I don't know.... what ever is in your price range
Strengths: -Very accurate
-Not hard to install
-Short, but yet fires far
Weaknesses: -Heavy
-Pain to clean
-Expensive
-Loud
Review: Good barrel overall, i switch off between this and my 14", but I mostly use the flatline. Another good thing about it, is that it looks cool, almost looks like a silencer, but its anything but silent. It makes me wanna play back more, it just makes it so easy to pick people off when they are trying to lob balls at you and yours are going straight right into the bunker the player is at.
Conclusion: If you are reading this, its probably because you havent bought it yet, so go buy it now if your lookin for a good barrel for a back player
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.Sandman2242 Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only tested the Flatline for the 98 Custom
Marker Setup: A-5 with R/T Kit and Flatline Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evils, Marbilizers, or Diablos (Diablos must be in great condition however)
Strengths: (Included in review)
Weaknesses: (Included in review)
Review: The cost of the barrel system is up there, close to half of the actual gun's cost if you buy online. Don't expect the A-5 to shoot like an actual rifle, but an improvement in range is highly noticeable, and with the extra distance, long-range accuracy increases. At close range, the Flatline seems to shoot just like all other aftermarket barrels. If you have the money, definitely buy this barrel over other $100 barrels, such as the many pricey DYE barrels. This barrel no doubt is the best functioning for the A-5, since it uses backspin technology and is made by Tippmann and specifically for the A-5. It truly allows the A-5 to shoot at its maximum performance, but that doesn't mean it shoots like real guns.
Positives
Great improvement on shot range -- Small improvement on accuracy -- Shroud offers comfortable aiming and great to stabilize aiming -- Includes specialized barrel plug and squeegee -- Appearence and physical design makes the A-5 look very good.
Negatives
Must remove barrel system to clean thoroughly--Louder than most other barrels (not too much of a negative factor though)--Expensive
Conclusion: A definite purchase for those who want to max out their markers performance. If you're thinking of buying a high-priced barrel like a BoomStick, buy the Flatline instead, you'll be happier with distance and accuracy. A little pricey and a bit hard to clean, but other than that, the Flatline is a complete Tippmann success. Rating is a high nine due to the process of installation (which is simple, but still needs some extra work) and no items are 100% perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

havoc1969 Thursday, July 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
same a5 with armson 16 inch rifled barrel, all american 16 inch barrel
Marker Setup: tippman A5 with flatline barrel, drop forward, remote line, and 20 oz co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
small to medium bore paint, diablo hellfire is great, zap europro (gold and black shell)
Strengths: long accurate shots, compactness of barrel
Weaknesses: barrel is wide, leaves you more exposed, cleaning a little more difficult
Review: This is the best upgrade I believe you can put on your marker when you first get it. The stock barrel is only accurate to 60 ft (+/- 10 ft). I play recball, speedball, and tourneys, and this has been an excellent addition. I have as good if not better accuracy then I have gotten from armson and all american, with a shorter, faster barrel, am happy to say excellent movement on the field,can easily snipe out people on the other side of the field on the break...
Conclusion: Would recommend this to all A5 owners,,, an upgrade that is good as gold!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kink882 Thursday, July 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel, freak set, boomstick
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5 with RT, Flatline barrel, solid stock, remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: shoots amazingly far
Doesnt break alot of paint
Weaknesses: Heavy
not accurite but acurite enough
expensive
Review: the barrel is good cause the length u can shoot u can hit people from across a big field which is good for snipers or anyone but it is expensive i was hesatint to buy it cause the price but it is worth the price i was happy that i bought it cause i get a lot more hits now that i have it
Conclusion: i would recommend buying this barrel if u have the money i am giving it a 9 because of the weight n the price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

butt rocker Wednesday, July 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none, this thing beats all
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5, flatline barrel, and gta sniper barrel, double trigger/ tippmann 98 with sticky grip, and 14" system x barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil, i heard big ball works good but i tried it and it sucks for me, i love evil
Strengths: accurate, great distance, awesome look
Weaknesses: if you hold your gun sideways it will shoot sideways, but oh well
Review: i really like this barrel. i play both speedball and brush ball but mostly speedball. it is not only good for great distance but it is so accurate. the flat trajectory is great, now you can aim straight at someone and actually use the sights. This thing has also never chopped. i have only had it for about 3 weeks but i have shot about 7000 rounds threw it and it hasn't chopped once so throw your squeegies away!
Conclusion: if you only wanted to make one upgrade for your a-5 do this one. this barrel is so nice. don't 2even spend your time buying another barrel. i know this may be a lil spendy
(109$) but it is all worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A5 Panda Friday, June 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
14inch Dye Boomstick
Marker Setup: Bob Long Intimidator and Tippmann A5
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizer and PMI
Strengths: Great for long ranged attaks like Rec-Ball
Weaknesses: Has trouble with short distance but no a factor
Review: This is a barrel for the average paintballer this barrel helps get the "squatter" that pisses everyone off . You just need a shoe or their barrel sticking out from a tree or bunker. you would get them if your can aim correctly . This barrel adds a 100 feet to your shot with ease.
Conclusion: This is good alternative to a dye boomstick . The Flatline shoots farther than the boomstick
and looks cooler too . If your the paintballer that is doesn't like to put together things get a Flatline Go for it best barrel out there for A5 owners every where!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media