paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31
        Next Page
Knwahs182 Wednesday, May 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A-5, respose trigger, Solid Fixed Ranger Stock, coiled remote, A-5 Flatine, E-Dot sight, and Double trigger, and 14 oz. CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything but Brass Eagle
Strengths: Distance, straight, consistant, all temps, uses most paint, sight is actually useful, auto fire isnasty
Weaknesses: At full auto (about 10 shots per second) no breaks but it looses acuracy
Review: Using this ultimate sniper setup i can hit almost anyting as long at it stays at about 275 feet per second. at 150 feet i used my e-dot and i could hit a head shaped canalope 9/10 times and the one that missed would have hit the persons neck. nothing comes close, but its a little loud which i dont mind at all becuase the time they hear it there already dead.
Conclusion: But it, NOW, the 100+ Bucks are easilly worth it when you dominate all of your friends.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WillDaThrill Tuesday, May 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5
remote coiled
20 oz co2
and a flatine barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
small ones.....like marbelizers
Strengths: rage, accuracy, and i like noise
Weaknesses: you need to have the right velocity
Review: This is the best barrel i have ever had. it has great accuracy, range and looks cool. i can shoot so far with this gun. everyone should definately get this barrel if you have an a-5. it looks so cool too. you all should get it if u have the money
Conclusion: get this. it works so good if you have had bad experiencs with the 98 flatline dont worry cause the a-5 flatline works so good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MisterPX Monday, May 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel; shot better. Yes, the stock barrel shot more accurately.
J&J Ceramic; I've always loved my ceramic barrels, and this one didn't let me down.
Marker Setup: Stock A-5,Pure Energy HPA, CMI regulator
Recommended
Paintballs:
Nothing shot worth a damn from my flatline.
Strengths: Distance (when it flys straight), looks cool
Weaknesses: Accuracy, Accuracy, Cost. Did I mention accuracy?
Review: I've only shot about 800 rounds of different paint through it, and I can wring any kind of accuracy out of it. I locked the marker in place and shot it with RPS premium, Big Ball, and Diablo Nightmare and Midnights, and none of those balls would fly consistently. Each shot would come out of the barrel heading a different way, I could actually watch the balls come out of the barrel in different directions; left, right, up, down, far short. I've heard that people are getting great accuracy from these barrels, but I can only say that I could probably throw paintballs more accurately. The ones that did fly straight flew pretty far, but what good is range if you can't hit anything with it.
Conclusion: I bought the A-5 so I could have the flatline because everyone gave it great reviews. All I can say is that I feel like I've been had. $100 for something that shoots worse than the stock barrel.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Kester Monday, May 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Flatline Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT, Double Trigger, Flatline Barrel, CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Most paintballs will do, but it is best to match up the bore size and use ones that don't have any dimples. I have used good ones and shoddy ones and the difference is minimal.
Strengths: LOOOOOOOOOOONG Range.
Weaknesses: The barrel makes the marker forward heavy.
Review: This barrel takes some getting used to, you have to realize that you can shoot farther than you can be effective with it. Some people have said that the ball travels slower, but it seems to me that at a longer range people just have more time to react to it. It is alos important with this barrel to get the velocity right. If you crank it too much, like over 300fps, the ball starts to go wild and you have more breaks. In comparison to the stock barrel I have broken two balls in the Flatline, while I have never broken one with the stock barrel, but I was using cheap, old paint with the Flatline and shot almost 1000 rounds.The A-5 Flatline is easier to clean than the Tippmann 98 one, and it is much more compact than the other, so while I can play back because of its range, I am not hindered playing the front, which I love.
Conclusion: I recommend this product, but you have to go out and practice with it to find the optimal range, which is still farther than other markers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

candymanjl Thursday, May 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Response Trigger, Flatline Barrel, in-line Tank Pressure Gauge, Double Trigger.
Strengths: flat trajectory, no arch. more accurate aiming, great for woods play.
Weaknesses: once you hit the end of it's range, it drops quickly
Review: I love this barrel, it does exactly what tippmann says it does, adds 100 feet of flat trajectory. I can go out and start to get good shots on targets before I have to worry about them being able to reach me, especially in woods play when the other person can't add arch to their shot to compensate for their shots falling short.

I played one day with the stock 9" barrel on my A-5, it worked great, predictable, no breaks, just not the range I wanted for a $300 gun. maybe I just expected too much since I'm fairly new to paintball, but I was a little dissappointed. then someone showed up with the flatline on their model 98 custom, it only took one shot to make me a believer! ordered my flatline the next day!

it shoots just like tippmann shows on their site here...
http://www.tippmann.com/systems/image/flatline/flatlinea.gif


ok, I think everyone knows what it does and not too many people argue that it does add distance, but everyone who poo poo's it says negative things like "it breaks balls" "it's not accurate" things like that.

Breakage - I've used about 5500-6000 rounds with the A-5 and the flatline barrel, I've yet to chop a ball (go cyclone feeder) and have only broken 1 ball in the barrel. that break was with the velocity all the way up (target practice) and $30 a case paint. with the velocity at a normal range, I don't think I would have broken any paint so far. so, if it does break paint, it doesn't break more than any other barrel, I can't complain about 1 in 5000+ breaking.

Distance - like everyone knows, the distance is awesome, I can aim straight at targets before they can reach me. or maybe they can reach me with a upgraded barrel on their gun, but they have to add arch, which isn't always an option. again, mine acts exactly as the animation from tippmann's site

Accuracy - accuracy is great, I don't want to keep repeating, but the strongest point to me is that I can aim dead on target and hit it. as opposed to the standard barrel where you aim on target, first couple shots fall short, compensate, then hit the target. it shoots very repeatable from shot to shot, which is nice.

I've shot cheapo $30 a case paint, diablo blaze, and about to try some nitro ducks to see if there's a difference. so far the barrel has been good with all the different paint I've put in. more consistant with the diablo blaze, with the cheapo stuff, I would get an occasional shot that would go off target, but after using a case of diablo and not having that problem, I'm figuring that the ammo was to blame, not the barrel.

I don't think I've said anything new here, but I hear a lot of people bashing the flatline, and I think the bashing is undeserved. also, the people I've heard bash the flatline, don't have a flatline or even a tippmann, so I think it's a case of "my (insert brand here) is better than your (insert brand here)".

this barrel has worked great for me, added a ton of distance to my marker, is accurate, and at $105 shipped, is about the same price as it's competitors.


Conclusion: if you have a A-5 with the stock barrel, order the flatline right now, you'll never regret it! it may not be the end-all, be-all, but it's darn close. and honestly, I haven't seen a better barrel in action yet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sfcwils277 Monday, May 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armson Stealth & Pro-Series
Marker Setup: A-5 with flatline, e-grip, intruder expansion, carbine stock. 32 degree 3000 psi remote, 3a paintball 91/4500 tank, spare barrel is a 10" Armson Pro-Series, spare tank is a 88ci (40) CO2 tank from smart parts with on/off valve.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS All Star, Marbs, or Premiums, I use the All Stars.
Strengths: Greater distance while maintaining good accuracy
Weaknesses: heavier than normal barrels (for all those girlie men) LOL
Review: I am completely satisfied with the performance of this barrel. I was getting excellent accuracy and good distance with the Armson Pro, but when I switched to the flatline the increase in distance was very notable. I would have to say the barrel has lived up to expectation with the distance increase. there is a wider shot spread but that's to be expected. A wider spread occurs with real firearms at longer distances, so this is not an issue. The barrel is heavier that normal barrels but since I'm use to hauling around M-16's with 203 grenade launcher attachments the weight is nothing. The weakness I have indicated is not really a weakness at all. I have never understood how people can complain about the weight of paintball markers. I was able to purchase the barrel on e-bay for $107.00. I think the price was worth it based on the performance I have had thus far.
Conclusion: If you own an A-5, get this barrel. You will be able to reach out and touch people alot farther away.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

diver Sunday, May 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years737 of 752 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spiders, piranha, tippmann m98 have used bigshot, jj ceramic, and stock barrels on all the before mentioned.
A freak barrel on the spiders
Marker Setup: A-5 tippmann with a flatline barrel and an e-grip on pure energy HPA
tippmann m98 with a JJ ceramic barrel on Pure energy HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs. (good)
evils (better)
big ball (the best) I'll explain below
Strengths: Distance, accuracy, does not break balls, flies real flat
Weaknesses: You have to have the right paint to barrel match and the speed set right.
Review: First off let me start by saying I have read a lot of reviews about this barrel and would like to put an end to some myths. The reviews go from real good to real bad. Most people who dislike this barrel have not given it a chance or do not own one just borrowed it for a game or witnessed someone shooting one. So here we go

Myth one. The barrel floats the shoots out to the target making the balls move slower. One person on a review I read even stated that the balls move so slow that he could “swat them out of the air” so when my gun/barrel showed up I when to my local range to test this out. I set my speed to 275 fps (deviation of 5 fps up and down) measured at the end of the barrel. I then backed off 30 yards (90 feet) and shot again speed average was 265 at 55 yards (165 feet) I was still going 250 fps and at 75 yards (225 feet) now I do not know about you but I would love to see a player try to swat a ball from the air at 225 fps I am not saying it can’t be done (I have seen people catch arrows at that distance) I would just like to see it. For comparison I did the same with my jj ceramic barrel the numbers are 275 at the barrel, 30 yards was 260 fps, 55 yards 240 fps, 75 yards 200 fps. Some of the reason that the jj was so much slower could have been the arc path it was following as it when over the radar gun.

Myth two. This is an inaccurate barrel. When my barrel showed up I tried shooting a five-gallon bucket end on from about 15 yards and sent 2 out of ten in the bucket. This bothered me. At the range I found out what was happening the gun was set to 200 fps as I increased the speed I was able to hit 5 out of 10 at 250 fps at 25 yards. Then at 275 fps I was able to send all ten into the bucket. At 285 fps I was able to hit a standard CD at 30 yards 10 out of 10 times, with the right paint. At 300 fps I could not hit the bucket at all. The speed that you set a flatline to is very important. So go to the range and find out what speed your gun likes the most and keep it there.
Paint is everything. I started with marbs. They were ok. I read that evil worked well, they did. All in all I tried 27 different paints from super swirls, and dusk (Wal-Mart), venom, inferno, maxim (1 and 2), nelson, etc. to platinum, evil, marbs. The one that worked the best in my barrel was big ball (lucky for me $45 a case at the local sporting goods store). Big ball placed 7 out of 10 hits on a police issue man size silhouette target at 75 yard (225 feet!!!!!!) my jj hit 2 out of 250 rounds. Note: my friends gun, an identical setup to mine, does not like the big ball at all. His setup liked the evils. So try them all and find which on works for you.

Myth three this barrel is an air hog. My jj ceramic gets 550 shot out of my pure energy 48 cu HPA set to a speed of 275 fps my flatline get 540 shots set at 275 fps. Is that an air hog I do not think so. Ten shots out of 550 has not won or lost a game for me yet.

Myth four. This barrel and the a-5 hopper are a “paint blender” in the effort to find the right paint I shot over 27 different paints from 14 sellers and 6000 round. Any ball bigger then platinum will come out the end of the barrel as a squirt of liquid. The old test of placing the paint in the barrel and looking for two half moons around the ball has never been better then here. Big diameter paint will come out of your barrel in a stream of liquid paint. The second it hits the top of the arc in your barrel it will explode. With that said. I have shot Marbs, Evils and big ball over 2000 rounds with out one break in the barrel. Even when set to full auto and 18 rounds a second.

Myth five the barrel is hard to get off incase of a break in the field. Well let’s get a little creative here folks. I am a Mechanical Engineer by trade. If you do not like something then change it. You customize every other part of your gun why not this one. Could it be because there is not a kit you can buy? I went down to my local nuts and bolts store and bought three thumbscrews (cadmium coated they are black to match the gun and will not rust when they come in contact with aluminum or water) that match the three bolts on the front of my A-5. All I have to do is use my hand to twist the screws two turns each turn the barrel one quarter turn and remove. Clean barrel and reinstall in reverse order. I have raced my friends, which have spiders, m98s and auto cockers. Only the 98 beat me the big threads on the 98s take a lot less turns to get off. The total mod cost me a dollar fifty.

Myth six this barrel does not like the wind. I was out playing in a mesa canyon with a 10 mile per hour wind and did not notice any difference between the wind affect on my flatline and ceramic barrels. With one exception when you shoot directly into the wind. The flatline tends to rise a little (one foot over 55 yards). But my ceramic was not even getting to the 55 yard mark so in trade the rise did not bother me that much.

Myth seven you can shoot around corners with this barrel. Not exactly but if you turn it on its side you can get it to throw on very useful curve ball. Just like in base ball the curve ball does not turn 90 degrees all at once. But it does let you hit a player that is behind a barricade or wall before they can get a clean shot off at you. The arc is about two feet at 30 yards. I can compare this to using the wind with my ceramic barrel to arc a shot around a barricade and hit someone. The only difference is I do not have to rely on wind to be there. Also for those shots in the wind where you need your ball to fly straight but the wind is making it arc. You can with a little practice tilt the flatline and compensate for the wind allowing you to get a straight shot.

I hope this helps some of you who are on the fence about this barrel/gun combination. Please do not believe the things you read out there about this barrel/gun combination go out and try one yourself, And not just for one game ether. Play with the speed setting and the ball combinations. if you put a little time into your set up you will not find a more accurate, flat shooting gun that will reach out and touch someone at 75 yards.

January 29 2004
I am adding a section because of questions I have received about the screw replacement.
The number one question I have received is where do you find the thumbscrews that replace the ones on the front of the a-5 so you can remove the barrel fast. The link is as follows: http://www.mcmaster.com/ then in the top left corner type in thumbscrew and do a search. You will come up with a page that has all the choices. I liked the knurled head shouldered screw with in Stainless Stee, part number xxxxxxxx in 10-32 with a 1 inch long thread. You can choose anyone you would like they even have plastic covered large headed t-handles.
I have been sent e-mails telling me that the screw part number are not right. so please give me some time to recheck my part numbers and get back to you on the right part numbers.
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel. Those of you that play in a small area will like this barrel those of you like myself that play in large area like the woods, mesa, or town scenarios will love this barrel. Snipers and back players will love the distance and front players will love the short length, flat shooting (great for those tight shots thru trees and bushes) and fast shooting ability of this barrel. Put an e-grip on this thing and you will have a very fast (18+ round a second) long reaching (75 yards) gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 30th, 2005 at 5:33 pm PST
I found this review  
56 Comments - Add Comment

Angelwhat? Friday, May 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: A-5 with flatline remote sniper stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs and basically any RPS
Strengths: Distance
Accuracy
Durable
Looks sweet
and did i mention distance?
Weaknesses: hate installing and removing, because of the new bore...
it also costs a lot
Review: This barrel has accuracy... you can also use the cyclone to its full extent and not lose much
the distance on this barrel is amazing, it shoots farther than the 98flatline without the huge size of the 98flatline
i only use this barrel in woodsball so i can only use the distance factor in a clearing, but it doesn't matter, because this barrel is as accurate as any other barrel i have seen.
it is also good for shooting at bunkers... if u play it right, it can go right in the bunker.
Conclusion: i think anyone who has the money and is getting serious about paintball... need to buy this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigRock Friday, May 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
14 inch Dye Boomstick (shoots better) JT Excellerator 6.0 with stock barrel (shoots better) Spyder Flash with stock barrel (shoots better) All shoot more accurate than the flatline barrel in my opinion. At least the one's I have do.
Marker Setup: A-5, Dye 14 inch boomstick, Response trigger, Hyper star bolt, Expansion chamber from Tippmann, Sniper stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil seems to work best
Strengths: Distance, that's about it. But it does look cool.
Weaknesses: accuracy at the long distances that it shoots
Review: I have tried two flatline barrels in two different A-5's and neither of them shot as good or as accurate as my boomstick. One off to the right a couple of feet at 100 ft., the next off to the left a couple of feet, then maybe the next where it's supposed to go, maybe... I also have a friend that just bought an A-5 with a flatline, and his went far ok, but no accuracy. He put my Boomstick on and it shot great. I finally got tired of the accuracy problem and sent the gun and barrel back to Tippmann to see if they could do something with it. Sure it shoots the long ball, but if you have a hard time hitting anything out there in never-never land, what good is it. I'm just telling you the experience I have had and have seen others I know have. Three A-5's with flatline barrels and none shot that great.
Conclusion: If your reading this and you have a flatline and are getting great results, that's super. I'm happy for you. All I can tell you is my experience with them. My boomstick shoots straighter than any flatline I have seen. I will have to give the flatline credit for shooting out there a long long ways compared to anything on the market. But for me, accuracy is more important than shooting 25 balls and hope one hits it's target.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

imspecil Wednesday, April 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never used the M98 flatline and regular barrels cant compare to this one.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with stock
Response trigger
Flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
Almost anything except crappy paint like BE
Strengths: Super accurate, dosent break paint unless BE, flat trajectory, easy to install.
Weaknesses: You need to unscrew 3 screws to remove it, but why would you want to?
Review: This is a great barrel it lives up to what Tippmann claims, it makes your A5 look even sweeter, and allows me to pick off people that I couldn't never have before I got this. Like I said before you cant easily interchange it without an allen key and a minute or two, but once you shoot it and see those balls literally float over and hit some guy 150 feet away square in the mask you will never take it off.
Conclusion: Buy it you wont be dissappointed. Even my friends who don't have an A5 or a M98 want a flatline. To bad for them ;)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media