paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31
        Next Page
A5runner Saturday, April 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, Flatline, Remote Co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil work great, no breakage.
Strengths: You need your long distance card to tell the guy to duck.
Weaknesses: People asking me if my silencer works, (its round).
Review: This barrel shoots sooooooooo far. Far enough that you can call the guy your shooting at and tell him the paint will be arriving next Tuesday. Not really, but I sit back and take my time and this barrel allows me to cover players from far distance, snap some paint on someone out of range from them.

With good paint you will have no breakage, at least none for me so far (knock knock knock) You will have an accurate marker that you will be proud of.

Conclusion: If you want one good barrel for the A5 this is a winner. Nearing 100 bucks it is expensive but worth the advantage.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ajsmith1701 Tuesday, March 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 flatline
Marker Setup: A-5 pro-team commando delux f/x
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil
Strengths: distance, accuracy
Weaknesses: Couldn't find any.
Review: Tippman has done their homework. This barrel is 200 times better then the 98 flatline. Anyone who has a A-5 NEEDS this barrel. You will put fear in the other team. Mental is 60% of the battle. Big confidence booster.. Will help you get out of pin downs on the field..
Conclusion: The A-5 is the best and the flatline makes it even better...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mujothebard Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
98C Flatline (Sucked)
Marker Setup: Speedball) E99 with 12V revvy, Poorman's Lightning Bolt, 12" Teardrop, Palmer Stab, Polished Internals, C02, More to come
Scenario/woods) A5 with Flatline, Bigshot, SPAA, Intruder X Chamber, Combat Sling, Adco Sure Shot, C02, More to come
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo, Marbs, anything small or medium bore. I even shot Nelsplat(.693) without many problems
Strengths: Accuracy
Flat trajectory
Distance is truly amazing
Installation is a snap
Way better than 98flatline
Weaknesses: Price!!! Over $100!!!
Backspin slows down the balls
LOUD!!!!
Review: I used this barrel for one day of woodsball and was AMAZED. Installation is a snap, and it's like impossible to install it wrong. This is ten times better than the 98C Flatline, which I hated. As far as performance, at 150+ feet you can keep a human torso-sized spread, and make eliminations, I mean it. This barrel is truly amazing. Anyone who had or tried a 98C Flatline and got a bad impression, try this, it's like a different barrel. The reason I say you can keep a good spread and make eliminations at such a far range is because it's aligned perfectly, no more guesstimating. Let me put it this way: I bought an A5 to use this barrel after buying a 98Cw/flatline and selling it for a loss. The reason is because I saw the potential in the 98C Flatline, and the flaws:
1) Installion was a bazitch, and took a lot of guesstimating.
2) The plastic shroud was not durable
3) The shroud on the 98flatline made the marker really big and hard to manuever
When I read about the differences to the A5 Flatline, I knew I had to have it. Belive me, accuracy is there, distance is unreal, and you can aim like a real gun because of the flat trajectory. I am absolutely AMAZED by this product.
Conclusion: To anyone who didn't like the 98C Flatline, try this barrel! It's so much better, it's like a different barrel. You really do get accuracy, distance, and a flat trajectory, install is a snap, and there's no way to align it wrong. I can't say enough good things about this barrel! However, the price hampers my opinion. If it were reasonably priced, I'd give it a 10 hands down.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Meet The Shot Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
My first marker was Tippmann 98 Custom at one point I tried a flatline on it.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Response Trigger & Flatline on CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Common sense, No Trash - No Footballs
Strengths: WOW - Great shot groups at range - So much better than 98 Flatline - Oh & DISTANCE
Weaknesses: So far, NONE!
Review: This barrel is FAR SUPERIOR to its predecessor.
I tried a flatline on my old 98 custom, and hated it. (shredded too many balls)

When I installed it, it took longer to find the right allen wrench
than it did to do the actual swap.
I liked how there was no way to misalign it.
In this design, Tippmann made it one assembly, rather than multiple
parts you had to install and fit.
The metal schroud is too shiny, but some very fine steel wool can fix that.
And it looks freaking cool.


Conclusion: This barrel is a no-brainer - Get it, you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigdog67 Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: A-5 with E-Grip (sweet) and Flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used cheap paint "32 Degrees Team Colors" but I sudjest Evil
Strengths: Range and accuracy
Weaknesses: It's not as accurate at 300 feet as I hoped.
Review: This barrel does exactly what Tippmann claims. At 300 fps it can out range my friends 16'' All American with the same setup even when he cheats up to 360 fps. Joey if you read this get a Flatline! I'm not going to bore you with war stories but trust me this barrell is excellent. The noise this thing makes is great. It yells get down. With this barrell you can bust of shots that everyone else cannot even begin to imagine. Tippmann did a good job with the installation. Loose three screws and you're in business. When you shoot good paint; break just don't happen. MSRP is $150 but I got mine for $98.

I rated this a 9 because nothing is perfect.
Conclusion: With this barrel you will rule a 300 foot cirlce. If you have any other barrel sell it on Ebay Joey! I love the long ball!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rodregan Tuesday, March 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom Flatline
Freak - on a Matrix

Marker Setup: A-5
Flatline barrel (replaced 14' barrel)
HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have had success with all kinds, including white box cheapies.
Strengths: ACCURACY
DISTANCE
Short barrel length (shorter than what I had).
Weaknesses: Loud
Barrel does not remove quickly for cleaning
Review: This barrel seems shorter than the 98 Flatline, and has a metal shroud that looks like a silencer.
It shoots incredibly straight and far.
I buy a variety of white box cheap paintballs, and it has not had any problem.
I also switch between CO2 and HPA, and have not seen any real difference, except I have to change the velocity.
Conclusion: With Tippman's unique feed system, this barrel makes an A-5 an awesome, reliable and accurate gun. I would not trade it for my son's Matrix. If you have an A-5, you will not regret getting this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 18th, 2003 at 8:44 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chuglobal Thursday, March 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: A5 + Flatline
Drop Forward
20oz CO2
Strengths: Straight Trajectory
Distance
Looks
Length
Weaknesses: Accuracy @ 75ft+
Barrel Cleaness
Temperature and CO2 Dependant
Review: I received the A5 Flatline on 3/7/2003 and was able to do a quick test the following day. At first the Flatline was worse than my Smartparts Freak Jr. however I discovered that someone filled my CO2 too much and caused the velocity to become very inconsistant. After shooting 100+ balls the Flatine started to show its true ability. Tom ( brother ) and I played a few quick games of woodsballs to test the ability and I was very impressed; I was able to shoot Tom before he was even in range to shoot me. It was so unfair for him that we decided to stop playing.
Today I actually did some real tests w/ my A5+Flatline setup. I purchased PMI Premium, RPS Marbalizers, and Diablo Dust to try. I used all 1500 rounds at 75degrees +/- and NO breakage ... I did have the RT going at times and everything seemed fine. I shot at targets at 50ft, 75ft, 100ft, 125ft, and 150ft+ ... the accuracy spread was <5in, <12in, 2-3ft, 2-3ft, 5+ft, respectively. Ironically using all 3 different types of balls the performance was pretty similar in distance + accuracy thus for future reference I can purchase Diablo Dust for home play and PMI Premium or RPS Marbalizers for field play. The Flatline does seems to be VERY picky on the inside "cleaness" of the barrel; the PMI Premium left a residue on the top part of the barrel which seem to "gunk" up the barrel which caused inaccuracies. Also the Flatine in general was just "dirty" on the inside even when new and took me a while to clean out. I heard that Tippmann barrels are dirty in general? The Flatine seems to have its pros and cons reflective on barrel cleaness, temperature, CO2 level, and R/T. The barrel needs to be CLEAN, 70+/- degrees, and CO2 CANNOT fluctuate. The R/T did cause ball breakage at 50+/- degree however once the temperature reached higher levels it seemed fine.
The Flatline does shoot in a MUCH straighter trajectory than normal barrels which is a huge plus. However once going past 75ft+ the barrel curves balls left and right especially if the barrel is dirty. The velocity of the balls shot from the Flatline seem to be very dependant on the CO2 ... you can see a HUGE difference when the CO2 is vacilitating. I have not played a real games yet however I will post updates when I get a chance.
Conclusion: Does anyone have any insight on how to keep the barrel from "gunking" up w/ paint residue, ways to increase accuracy, and ways to increase distance due to CO2 fluctuations? I'm still new to the paintball sceen and will post updates when I see the Flatline in action. Thanks.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 13th, 2003 at 6:38 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

JasVox Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco, Thunderpig/Truflight, Boa, various customs.
Marker Setup: Loaded A-5...all the extras.
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything good, you know the drill
Strengths: 1) 95% of the paint shoots very straight and with minimal curve from side to side. Paint travels about 50% futher than with an ordinary aftermarket barrel. (that alone is what makes this the barrel to get for this marker).
2) This barrel is rugged, no need to feel as if you have to be extremely careful as with some ceramic or aluminum barrels.
3) Barrel looks cool, instantly recognized on the field.
4) This barrel adds to the overall look of the A-5
5) Can shoot around corners if marker is shot from it's side
Weaknesses: It isn't free. It isn't standard with your A-5 right out of the box. It isn't discounted heavily...yet.
Review: See my good points listed above. Here is the deal: This barrel rocks, plain and simple. If you know how to install it correctly (takes about 30 seconds to install or clean once you know how), you will be very impressed. If you have ever thought of sniping as a silly rumor or thought that playiung back is boring, think again with this barrel. it WILL out shoot anything else on the field as far as distance goes, so try it and start staying in games longer and sitting out and wiping paint off less.
Conclusion: Try it, love it. If you have never tried the4 Flatline on your A-5, you will be very happy you did. Buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 11th, 2003 at 6:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BBjones Saturday, March 8th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month130 of 143 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares at all.
Marker Setup: A-5 with flatline, 68/3000 nitro duck tank, remote cord.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any RPS balls. (use a small bore size)
Strengths: The good-

1. This is the most accurate barrel ever, and its consistant.
2. distance, distance distance.
3. serves as a great shroud.
4. DOES NOT BREAK PAINT MORE THAN ANY OTHER BARREL (some people say this barrel broke so much paint, thats a myth no matter how fast ur shooting)
5. makes it look like a HKsd (silenced) but when u shoot it gives it that nice loud, realistic submachine gun sound, its awsome.
6. made by tippmann
7. i can hit a soda pop can with 1 shot form 100 feet away. all u gotta do is line up the sights perfectly to the pop can and pull the trigger without moving the gun and it just giudes the ball to the taget, amazes me. just like a real fire arm
8. Flat Trajectory, this is the best part, because u can just aim it like u would a real rifle, this is much much much much better than triying to angle a regular barrel.
9. Takes me about 20 seconds to install (no kidding)
10. form about 200 feet away i can hit the size of a head 1 out of 4 times while still maintaining a flat trajectory. u can probably go further, but i dont have that much room in NJ where i live.
11. this barrel is so great for speedball, its about 10 inches, and its great close up, makes it super accurate. and form one side of a speedball field to the other u can easily just aim strait and shoot someone with one shot from one side to the other!!
12. This barrel is much better than the 98 version, the a-5 flatline is rougher on the inside to give the ball better backspin and is 10 times easier to intall, (litterally i timed it)
13. did i mention instalation is extremely easy? the barrel adapter is permanenlty attacked to the flatline, and all u do is losen 3 screws, pull the old adapter out, push the flatline in and twist it all the way to the right, and wha la, ur done. its perfectly lined up when twisted as far as it goes to the right
(gun facing at you)
14. theirs so much good about this barrel, i dont feel like typing it in sorry. i told u all the importand stuff already.

Weaknesses: the bad is..um wow, i just thout really hard about whats bad about this barrel , and out of all honesty, i cant find one single thing.
Conclusion: By putting this barrel on your gun, your A-5 is officially the baddest ass marker on the planet.
i spent alot on other 100$ barrels, and nothing compares to the flatlines accuarcy, consitancy and distance. and its many other great pluses.

Some people call them selves snipers (haha) , i thout this was funny until i got the flatline, then i realized that the flatline bassiaclly makes you a sniper when you compare it to any other barrel, besides another flatline.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

goats_896 Thursday, March 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
n/a
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
A-5 Sniper f/x Stock
A-5 Flatline barrel
Red Dot Site
Remote Coil
20 oz CO2
4+1 PMI Pursuit Pack
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI or Rps......if anyone out there is on a tight budget i found Rps Super Swirl purty good!
Strengths: It has the flattest trajectory of any paintball gun barrel, and the range is just as impressive. For any of you who want a new barrel for your A-5 this is the one to get. It doesn't chop that much paint really about 1 of every 700 or so that is another good quality. It is great for woods ball ( great for the Sniper). The guys at Tippmann have done it again. Keep it up!
Weaknesses: It takes 1/2 a minute or so to put the barrel on. And it takes a lil while longer to take off the barrel clean it and reinstall it. But other than that i haven't found anything back with this barrel yet.
Conclusion: In conclusion i strongly feel this could be the world's best paintball barrel. Any of you guys want a new barrel for your A-5........don't get any boomstick or any other crap ........get this one you won't regret it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media