paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
gambo47 Saturday, March 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with f/x Ranger Deluxe Upgrade Kit and response trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
diablo, anything reliable
Strengths: The additional range is handy for pinning down while colleagues move in for the kill.
Weaknesses: Barrel removal is awkward
Review: Having had an fx ranger kit on my A5, I was on a walk on last week and could not get a shot in between a tree and barricade. A marker was targetted at me from a small gap and all my shots were dropping to the left or right at the last moment. I could not get a hit nor could I force the "enemy" to stay back for fear of being struck. Enter the Flatline...now its payback time!! I have read many reviews of the Flatline barrel and despite a number of negative comments these are far outweighed by the vast number of positive ones. I thought about the Apex but as Tippman have come up with such a reliable marker they surely wouldn't sell dud...I found that the Flatline does give a lot more range but that is a trade off with loss of oomph and no doubt a high number of bouncers..I am happy that I put a large number of splattered hits on one 6" spot and at half the expected range I will still have accurate powerful shots that will score hits that count...
If you haven't sussed it by now then read this...THE FLATLINE DOES WORK AND WILL SERVE YOU WELL.
Conclusion: It's worth the money and the hassle of changing barrels and cleaning just for the additional range ..(you dont need 150' plus...just accurate 80' shots that score!)
I give a nine because of the barrel change.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

supful Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with an e-grip and flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
Blizzard
Strengths: Accuracy, distance,and looks
Weaknesses: Balls some times blow up in the barrel, the barrel dosent unscrew
Review: This, hands down, is the greatest barrel of all time. I can shoot people when they can't shoot me. I can also hit anything twice in a row in the same spot. And if you are a sniper you will find this barrel very helpful. Ever sence I have had this barrel I am getting all kinds of one shot kills. Some people and CO.s say that it is not ment for accuracy but I strongly dissagree. I would rate this barrel the most accurate known to man kind.
Conclusion: It's the greatest hands down. I never have to worry about not hitting some one. I have complete faith in my barrel that it wil get the job done. And over the peroid of time that I have been using it every body hates me for it because if I get an angle on you chances are I will hit them every time. THANK YOU TIPPMANN!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 2nd, 2007 at 7:30 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

boing7472 Thursday, February 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None like it
Marker Setup: Tippmann 20th century limited edition marker
12in J&J ceramic barrel
Apache Ricochet
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ive used Draxxus rec and they work perfect
Strengths: Added Distance
Fairly accurate
Weaknesses: Cant just screw it out
Review: The flatline isnt actually mine, its my moms of all people and shes nice enough to let me mess with her toys.
Anyway I am a frontal player so the flatline only helped me in one way and that was its flat trajectory. It made shooting paintballs into the little holes in nettings reallly easy, also when trying to shoot people with a standard barrel, you sometimes have to angle your gun in order to get the ditance needed. Nothing is more frusterating then watching a perfect looking shot clip a twig and break in mid-flight. With the Flatline you dont have this problem because the bal flies flat.
It has been said that the flatline is much louder due to lack of porting. I have noticed that it is slightly louder, but it seems to echo so I dont think it would give away ones position.
On the occastions that you have your opponents in the back waving at you because they think that there out of range, it sure does bring you alot of pleasure watching their dismyaed reactions when they get hit, this barrel is fairly accurate even at long ranges.
As most people know, even if you do not break a ball in the barrel, it still gets oily, this WILL throw the accuracy off greatly, be sure to squeegee it every other match or so.
Besides this i have no other prblems with it.
Conclusion: Even you are a front player, BUY it. A great product.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 8th, 2007 at 5:41 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

FunkOn$ight Sunday, February 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel for a5
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5 with Flatline Barrel and E-Grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
None
Strengths: A little more range
Weaknesses: Price, accuracy, noise,
Review: More range then stock of course.harder to clean and hard to put in and out but no big deal. it makes a wierd noise from the sound of the barrel not quiet noise. alot of smoke comes out of the barrel. Range is good but not accurate just take care of it
Conclusion: Take care of it
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

rcko Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A-5 RT
Palmer Male Stabilizer
Rufus Dawg Bolt and Power Tube
Flatline
Palmer Cyclone QEV
RT and Cyclone 1/8" ID Hoses
PMI 4500 88 Tank
Tipmman LPK
Cyclone Ratchet and Lightning Rod
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium field grade paint is all I have used to date.
Strengths: Effective range. Can engage ~50-75ft beyond range of other barrels
Weaknesses: Accuracy at max ranges. Cleaning. Affected by wind
Review: Barrels comes to its own when used with a well regulater marker. See my setup above, but with the above mentioned components, even the aftermarket bolt, the performance from this barrel has been fantastic. First off, this barrel is used for woodsball were its flattrajectory and effective range can make a difference in how the other team reacts to your actions. The ability to lay suppresive fire at 50-75 ft beyond what the other teams can engage allows your flankers and fwds to maneuver that much closer and take out the perimeter positions of the opponent. The squad I have played with was equipped with three flatline and two JJ. Us with flatlines suppressed, and no no need to rip tons of paint. A few well placed shoots are effective. The JJ move up and clean up while their heads are down. Numerous eliminations with the flatline were done at range to unsuspecting players. It earns its repect.

Observation regarding ball breakage: With the above set up I have shoot 2.5 cases with not a single break in the barrel. Paint was PMI premium field paint. Not the best in the world, but has a decent dry thick shell. A few ringers, as to be expected, but overall not a single break.

Clean the barrel after a day of play. Make sure you get all the gell off the powder coating inside the barrel by using very hot water to melt the gel and wash it off.
Conclusion: SHort range accuracy is on par with mid range barrels. Yes, you can still snapshoot. I done it. From time to time you get a ringer, you can still effectively punch it out with reg barrels at short ranges. But if used effectively, in the right fields, with this barrel you shouldnt have to be pushed into short range battle position.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 28th, 2007 at 11:17 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DRTHV8R Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing like this, apex maybe
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with the following:
Flatline barrel
SP Progressive 14" barrel
front laser dot sight
stealth hopper
remote line
4 step expansion chamber
quick change barrel screws
custom front hand grip (similar to A-2 grip)
jcs red hot power tube
starfire bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
decent ones. Don't buy cheap wal-mart crap for this barrel. Do NOT get pmi super swirls
Strengths: Range
looks
very accurate with new bolt
intimidation factor
Weaknesses: Weight
price
accuracy is debatable - better with new bolt
Review: Of the barrels that I have owned or shot paint through, this is my favorite.

The range is unbelievable. I knew it would add lots of feet to my shots but WOW. This barrel you can actually tell the difference in the trajectory.

I think the barrel looks cool, and you can buy different bodies for it with sight rails or like the sort.

Because it is a big bore, I can't say that it is very accuate shot after shot after shot. It is accurate, don't get me wrong, but the consistency of that accuracy suffers. I would be willing to be that that is because of not just the big bore, but also it doesn't have any ports in the barrel. Some people will claim it is very accurate, some say that accuracy suffers, I'm not going to pick sides.

It comes with a quick change adapter built in. YESSSSSS

Don't try to shoot out a broken ball. If a ball breaks, take off the barrel and clean in out. I haven't had a ball break in it yet, but I have heard a lot of complaints about if balls break.

Keep it on a good velocity. Find the optimal velocity for the best accuracy. I have found the best accuracy to be somewhere between 250-295 fps. This way on a lower velocity, it won't break paint in the barrel either.

Don't try to turn your gun sideways when you shoot. The backspin will not keep it a straigh line but will hook it that direction. I guess it could be used like an apex but w/e.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - UPDATE - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
3-25-07

Installed starfire bolt on the gun a week or so ago and wow does it make a big difference in accuracy. Did a high school science project a few days ago to test the trajectory compared to the stock barrel. All I can say is holy crap. Does it add 100 feet for sure? That is very debatable, but wow. It does add a lot of footage. Played with it yesterday with some old paint i had laying around. Had a ball break every game on 240fps. make sure to put fresh paint in the gun when using the barrel. The paint i had was a few months old. Also, tried some PMI super swirl i got for christmas. Probably the absolute worst paint to put through this barrel. I put 50 shots of the stuff through and i had 1 (yes, this is not an exageration) that did not break. Buy decent paint! Will update if anything comes up.
Conclusion: This is an excellent barrel if you have the money. This barrel does take some getting used to but after awhile, it will be one of the best purchases for your A-5. I would give it a 10 except for the heavy price tag. But if you have the money, I would suggest this barrel. This is a barrel where you will actually say wow when you try it. Look into new bolts too for the best accuracy with and without the flatline on. Overall though a great barrel and a great buy. Never will regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 25th, 2007 at 2:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A-5 crazy guy Tuesday, January 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: The marker that I use is a Tippmann A-5. The accessories that I have for it is a Flatline Barrel system, a JCS aluminum powertube and front bolt, E-Grip, and a 48cu/3000psi high pressure air tank with remote.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Karnage Bite (White Box)
Strengths: - Great Accuracy
- Great Range
- Great Price
Weaknesses: - Hard to take off the A-5
- Hard to clean
Review: The Flatline Barrel is set at a good price. I bought this barrel because the stock barrel can't do a thing. The Flatline barrel is a 5 star barrel and has good accuracy, range, and durability. The barrel can be heavy because it's made out of aluminum and if you don't like heaviness, buy a sniper barrel which is a 4 star. But, if you can afford it, BUY IT!!!
Conclusion: This is the best barrel for the A-5. Like I said in the review, it's the BEST barrel with great accuracy, range, and durability.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 4th, 2007 at 5:35 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

redrum2377 Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: A-5 with Flatline barrel and remote system.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ive been using Polar Ice, and i've never had one break.
Strengths: *UNMATCHED DISTANCE
*DOMINATES IN WOODSBALL
*Intimidates
*not paint picky
Weaknesses: *Ball travels a little slower
*Wind really screws you over
*Barrel comes unscrewed a little
Review: I waited forever to be able to get this Barrel. I must say that when I was playing woodsball and players were in the distance they actually cursed and jumped because they didn't even believe anyone could hit them from that distance. This is an amazing woodsball barrel. I have tagged people in Urban fields but wind plays a real key role in the accuracy of this. Also as I mentioned it has to be aligned correctly.
Conclusion: You can't buy an A-5 and not buy the Flatline that is only for the A-5. Such a compact barrel that adds ENORMOUS distance to your shots. If you want to watch your balls float across the field, hit someone, and watch their look of complete surprise and confusion then this is the barrel for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannfreak3 Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann a-5 stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5 with Flatline and TASCO 30mm Red Dot Scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any kind of RPS paintballs work great.
Strengths: Incredibly accurate, barely any breaks.
Weaknesses: Hard to clean and loud.
Review: I love this barrel. It will not curve within 170 feet! My first game, I got practicaly everyone out. If you look hard enough, you can find this barrel for $90 an a website. This is the best barrel ever. It never let me down yet. Do not let the sound get you down, when you shoot people will hear but you are garunteed to eliminate them anyway.
Conclusion: Buy it and you will have the power to eliminate the whole team.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

andis Monday, January 8th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing I have used sucked this bad.
Marker Setup: Dye Ironman 16", Rocking trigger, Custom Part Flame Drop Forward, 68ci 4500 psi PMI HPA, Empire Reloader 2(on the Fenix) Stock 12" TL-R Barrel, Stock Trigger, Stock Bolt Stock everything.
Strengths: With the right paint you have distance like no other.
Weaknesses: With the right paint the only weakness is you have no opposition.
Review: This barrel sucks. The shots curve like crazy. I went out shooting trees to test the A-5 with this barrel, I stood 20 feet from the tree and i was missing it, even when I lined up the shots I was missing. When you get the curve figured out it changes. I have never used a barrel this crappy, I have used Brass Eagle that were more accurate.

EDIT: This barrel annhilates when you run PMI Marbelizer through it and you can't go wrong.
Conclusion: EDIT: Use PMI Marbelizer with this barrel and it won't miss once. Just kinda bulky.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 6th, 2007 at 9:59 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media