paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
big_A_5 Thursday, June 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
All American 14"
32* Whisper
Boomstick
Stock 98 and A5 Barrels
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ Response trigger
Smart Parts All American 14"
Flatline
Special Ops A5A2 Foregrip
32*Remote
20oz Co2 (2)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Only tested marbs so far, but those work well.
Strengths: Distance
Flat Trajectory
Decent Accuracy
Weaknesses: Accuracy Not Great
Review: So i just put 250 marbs through my brand new flatline and i am impressed with the results.
Basically, i compared my All American with my Flatline, and here are the results:

100ft 3x3 target

All American (in my opinion one of the top 5 barrels you can buy)
Average 9/10 on target

Flatline
Average 7/10 on target

The Flatline showed accuracy comprable to the stock A5 barrel.

An interesting side note, i shot 20 balls as fast as i could (which took about a second with the super response trigger upgrade)amd it seemed that the flatline might have recorded more hits. Also the flatline really can shoot through bushes and tall grass better that regular barrels.


In the end, the all american is more accurate, but i personally love the flat trajectory and increased range of the flatline.
Conclusion: Overall a great barrel
I would reccomend this and the all american combo for any a5 owner
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Carbon999 Thursday, June 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman stock barrels
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 & 98c (i own flatline barrels for both guns...hate em)
Recommended
Paintballs:
psh...what ever is one sale
Strengths: -Increases speed of ball while using less co2 (turned down velocity)
-Distance
-Very Durable
Weaknesses: -Inaccurate (after 45-60 feet)
-MASSIVE curving of paintballs
-Really heavy
Review: Ok, well i got my A-5 two Christmas's' ago for my 2nd gun...its a good gun in itself but i wanted a better barrel. So i took my money, went online, and ordered the flatline barrel. I slapped it on my gun (very easy installation) adn went into my back yard and started shooting...whoa...the balls went crazy and curved every which way..so i turned my velocity down...BLAMMO worked like a charm, dead on...at least for targets about 45 feet away.

then came playing time...took it to a lone wolf outdoor Field...the barrel did offer more distance as advertised...but that's because it curved up after 60 feet, so i was aiming down at far targets. Then i don't know what happened but it went crazy and balls were flying every-which way by curving massively right, left, up, and down..at anything over 20 feet away!!!
Conclusion: Get it if you want...definitely not worth the $120 bucks...i would buy it for 40 or 50 at most...its heavy, inaccurate, curves...but it does look cool...so if you can find a way for it to work better than it did to me...more power to ya.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Matt6996 Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing as bad as this
Marker Setup: A-5
Now a Bt* 16 barrel which by the way is way better then the flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
Small bore
Strengths: Looks good
Weaknesses: Heavy, inaccurate, tough to find right size bore of paint
Review: This barrel is by far the wrost barrel I've ever seen. It's a pian in the but to take off and on if you chop a ball. I will giveit some credit on looks, but the bt-16 has way better looks then the flatline. Also it is not accurate, once again bt- 16 better. Range not good, once again bt- 16 way better. See what I'm trying to say:D
Conclusion: Do not get this barrel. If you want a good barrel for around the same price, get a bt- 16 barrel or a freak or an all american.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

specter81 Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
just the stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann/Flatline barrel/ co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
evils or marbalizers
Strengths: Accurate, consistent, looks mean.
Weaknesses: Has to have nice round paint, no cheapies here guys.
Review: Was a little disappointed when I first put it on, while I was getting incredible distance, the curves were horrible. Of course I was shooting walmart (scorch) paint, which have more dimples than golf balls and might be as round as an egg, if your lucky. I bought a couple bags of good paint (marbs and evils) I was totally blown away by the performance of this barrel/paint combo....and so were all my competion (literally) I have read the reviews about not breaking on target and inconsistent grouping. NOT SO!!! If you spend th $ to get good quality paint that is actually round this barrel will own anyone within 200 + feet. This barrel is awesome buy you have to feed good paint.
Conclusion: Great barrel, lethal on the field, but it does require quality paint to get the full potential out of it, for that reason i'll give it a 9 because some people just don't want to drop $80+ on a case of paint. I highly recommend this barrel if you can aford to feed it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Daltonator4 Thursday, May 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
J & J Ceramic
Freak
Smart Parts All american
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Response Trigger
Double Trigger
Collapsible Stock
Flatline Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizers (sick but pricy)
Evil (good)
PMI Premium (awesome and inexpensive)
Worr Games Domination
Strengths: Its EXTREMELY ACCURATE
Weaknesses: Its real bulky and heavy
its also real hard to clean on the field
Review: This barrel is a must have and its well worth the price
although its alittle bulky and heavier than most other barrels on the market.
Its extremely accurate. Buy it buy it buy it buy bit buy it! You will love this barrel its very durable and very accrate thers not much more to say.
Conclusion: BUY THIS BARREL IF YOU HAVE AN A5
trust me
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Havoc XIII Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none yet
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 (yes woodzball playa, woot woot)
Flatline barrel
Sliding stock
E-grip
remote coil
Recommended
Paintballs:
dunno
Strengths: I'll admit it does have range plus an auto setting does scare players easily
Weaknesses: Wait til you read below
Review: I bought that whole setup with my graduation money last year along w/ the flatline and i loved every game i used it til last sunday. i just bought a remote coil to make it easier on me and after 4 hours of playing while using full auto the barrel shot out of the flatline shroud but not before breaking over ten balls and getting completely jammed. yes the part of the barrel that adds the backspin flew out. later that night i looked and the barrel i had was scratched from where the screw tried to hold it in place.
Conclusion: In conclusion, very good barrel but use it at your own risk especially with remote coil + auto capabilities
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Shawn Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98C Flatline, Apex Barrel
Marker Setup: Speedball: Octane Shocker, Maxflo Micro w/ 68/4500, Halo B
Woodsball: A-5, Flatline, 68/4500 Crossfire, R-5 Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used a variety of paint and have no complaints
Strengths: Range, slightly improved accuracy (over stock)
Weaknesses: Picky about Velocity, strongly affected by wind
Review: I quite enjoy the added range that my flatline allows, and the flat trajectory in which the ball(s) travel. I have found that by not having to arc my shots (in the woods), I am breaking far less paint on branches, and am hitting my targets far more frequently. This barrel is ideal in the woods, especially for those of you who are playing in areas where there is alot of under-growth.

However; when playing in an open area I have found that the barrel "floats" the paint out in a manner that allows the paintball to be far more affected by wind as opposed to using a "regular" barrel. Wind is far less of a factor in the woods due to the cover that the natural growth provides.

I have found that the best way to set the velocity is to turn the velocity all the way down, shoot intermittently while turning the velocity up slowly until I can see the "lifting effect in the shot. This is generally the way that I see the optimum accuracy and lift, but on the chrono, it usually reads 245 fps to 265 fps....... this slow velocity increases the amount that the wind shifts my shots.

My findings are that this barrel is a "love it or lump it" purchase....... I love mine, but also know others that can't stand them. If the price were less, it would allow for those that don't like it to be less bitter about thier purchase.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this barrel to anyone. It is by far the best woodsball barrel I have used, and the fact that you can achieve good distance while keeping your velocity down helps maintain good spirits at the field....... no one likes to get shot with a gun that shoots hot. If you are one to play in close quarters (less thatn 20 yard shots), or in the woods (insane longball ranges), you will find the accuracy to be quite good. I give it an 8, the rating would be higher if the price were a bit more reasonable.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dr.Bong 4:20 Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock a-5 barrel(I cut it down to 4 inches because porting in the middle of the barrel is a real problem. It shoots just as far and accurate, and looks SICK! If you cut you barrel make sure that you smooth the end were the paintballs comes out with a fine sandpaper, cuz if its rough it will shoot very poorly. Lapco 12in Bigshot shot 180-190 Ft.
Marker Setup: A-5, flatline, e-grip, JCS Double trigger, Lapco front grip,PMI pure energy 45cu at 5000psi with remote, Solid and soon a collapsible stock,
Recommended
Paintballs:
Tippman tested and designed the flatline around Marbelizers so that's what i use.
Strengths: Length 220+ft stright
Weaknesses: SO,SO accuracy
Review: The 98 Flatline is better than the a-5 flatline. The 98 is 14", and the a-5 is 9". Thus the 98 shoot 20-30 farther. Also the 98 is ported, the a-5 is not. Porting is essential for accuracy. The 98 shoots paintballs in a laser beam. The a-5 shoots them in 4 foot welt clouds.
Conclusion: IF you have a 98 get the 98 flatline. IF you have a a-5 get an a-5 Flatline. The best combo would be a 98 Flatline on an a-5!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I gave it a 9 because the a-5 flatline is not ported,so accuracy can be an issue.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xtremepantbaler Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing similar
Marker Setup: A-5, red dot scope, flatline, mp5 mag gas through, fixed stock, hopper off set, remote line, (2) 20 oz Co2,
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbs, toxic, evil
Strengths: Adds much needed length to paintballs
Weaknesses: Sort of confusing to put on at first
price
Review: good over all barrel. Better than the flatline for 98c.

Be sure to clean it out after every ball break. (not that many, so don't really worry about it.)

good for a shroud.

a definate buy if you have a a-5.

Also once every body sees you have a flatline, they get scared, i was before i got it.
Conclusion: I was very pleased with the purchase of this barrel, even though a bit pricy, it was worth every penny
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

huffman150 Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel and JJ S2 Ceramic Barrel (Preferred)
Marker Setup: A-5
JJ S2 Ceramic
T6 Stock
Superfly Bolt
CP-Prorail w/ Reversed ASA (so the tank is directly under the gun)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Higher Quality-
Marbelizer
Evil
Etc...
Strengths: Flat Trejectory
Increased Range and Accuracy
Weaknesses: Must be completely clean to shoot straight.
Review: I bought this barrel as part of a package and thought that is would be great. Im not saying it isnt but unless you have money to spend on really good paint this isnt the barrel for you. i dont have that money so i bought ok paint. the thing is you have to have good shell otherwise when the ball reached the top of the curve it breaks and then you r done. thats just my experience with cheap paint but if you buy good paint then this is and excellent barrel. the paint makes all the difference along with the right FPS setting. About 275 to 280 seems to work best.
Conclusion: Good Paint Buyers should get it.
Cheap paint buyers should avoid it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media