paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
sticksnpucks1 Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Whisper Barrel, Tear Drop Barrel,
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 With Car Stock, Response trigger and Flatline Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizers
Strengths: The Ball Goes perfectly starit (provided the paintballs) and it has a flat trejectory.
Weaknesses: Sometimes breaks weak balls hard to clean in the field
Review: This is a great barrel and should be bought by anyone with an A-5. It is perfect for sniping. Also when i use my response trigger it never (provided paint is good) breaks in the barrel. It is perfect for woods ball it keeds the ball starit so you dont have to arc the call. Also it adds almost a 100 Ft to the distance before it begins its fall to the ground. People might say it is a slow shooting barrel they are wrong it is just that it flys strait in the air. Although it takes more gas than normal it is definatly worth it.
Conclusion: This is the best barrel ive owned and i think you should buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fluffdaddy1228 Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing compares
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Flatline Barrel with e-trigger on the way
Recommended
Paintballs:
X-Ball
Diablo
Draxxus
Strengths: Distance
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Makes paint fly a little bit slower
Review: I think the flatline is great! I think it is great for woods players but maybe not so good for speed ball. I personally didnt think of this barrel at first. I was thinking more along the lines of a Boom stick but i read such good reviews that i decided to try one out for myself. The first day i got it i tryed it out in my back yard. It shot great! It wasnt as accurate as i thought it would be but was still very accurate. This barrel does just what it says and out shoots the rest. I was using X-Ball and they shot great. I out shoot my friends everytime and snipe them on the field. If you want a good barrel get a flatline.
Conclusion: Get this barrel!!! It is great and shoots farther than the rest!! You wont be sorry and you will use this barrel forever.The only thing that takes away from it is that it is accurate but not the most accurate barrel out there. That is why im giving it a 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mongo80 Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 barrel.
Marker Setup: A-5,Flatline,Rufus Dawg bolt and double trig., expansion chamber , saw stock, PMI remote.
Strengths: Accurate, WILL out range just about anything out there,short.
Weaknesses: ??? Perhaps price. I guess. Nothing else to really complain about.
Review: I've pretty much always had the flatline and I think I always will. Lets get the small minor negatives out of the way. Unless you mod the screws on the housing at the end of your gun then buy a good squeegee because to get the barrel off under fire you will need a Ellen wrench. I've also noticed that where the male end meets the female end on the a-5 the paint (from the barrel) tends to chip possibly getting stuck in the inner workings of the gun. Other than that its awesome.
My friend that got me into P.B. always recommended the flatline even though he doesn't shoot it. Let me tell you that having field tested it next to "many" other barrel/gun combo's I can say with confidence that this barrel is at the head of the class.Very accurate and extremely long range literally make you the squad light machine-gunner and the sniper all in one no joke. On a average day I maybe break 2 or 3 balls out of 2000. Not bad at all some days are even better. Its a all around absolute winner in my book hands down.
Conclusion: A absolute must for the A-5. If you buy anything else buy the Flatline. You will not regret it I can guarantee it (almost) :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spencemo Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick
98 C flatline
Big daddy barrell
progressive
Marker Setup: WOODSBALL:
A-5
Flatline
E-Grip
Double JCS trigger
400 round Alein hopper-GREAT BUY
shocktech supafly bolt
Scepter 4000 grenade launcher-SWEET

SPEEDBALL:
05- Red Smartparts Shocker
Brand New Tag Sportz Predator SFT Board (5.0 code)
Black A+ Products Composite Trigger
2005 Black Smart Parts Guage Mount w/ Gauge
New Designz V3 (Stinger) Low Pressure Bolt Kit
Black New Designz Shocker Low Pressure Firing Can
New Black Smart Parts Detents.
14" Red Tip/Black Back All American Barrel
Black Smart Parts Angle Drop w/ Black/Red Smart Parts On/Off
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs shoot B-E-A-U-T-Y-F-U-L-L
Strengths: Distance
Distance
Sometimes acurate
Weaknesses: Acuracy
Review: Ok ive had the flatline a little over a year now...i started out with a stock a-5 with it and it worked nicley. People say velocity helps and this and that but nething around 280 is fine. Then i got the egrip, now i can shoot fast and far; but the faster you shoot the less acurate it is in my opinion balls are swaying everywhere. To improve this get a new bolt it will drastically help. And get your tanks ANTI SIPHONED....normally people do this for higher end guns but trust me you will see a drasticly better in your flatline because normally one your tank starts to get low the distance and accuracy of your flaline suffers, but with antisiphoned tanks this does not happen.
Conclusion: In a nut shell this is a good barrel but requires some work to get it the way you want it. But i dont care what anyone says this gun does suffer from bad accuracy..you can listen to everyone else go get a chrono and get your velocity at EXACTLY 285 and it wont make much of a diffrence....but now since they came out with the apex barrel im considering getting that to see if its drastically better then this barel..cause the apex is basically a new n improved flatline. the reason im giving this an 8 is because of accuracy
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FishTaco Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: A-5 r/t ,18'' barrel, bt stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Just About any paint works but Irecomend using at least mid grade. the cheap stuff really just doesnt cut it, unless your just messing around...
Strengths: (effective)RANGE! 250ft+
Looks SWEET!
Haven't had a ball breaking problem yet...
Weaknesses: Accuracy is not quite what you can get out of a 14inch or more barrel
Review: I'd like to say that anyone who says that the accuracy of the flatline is just as accurate as any other barrel has smoked up the crake pipe one to many times... or is a newblet. BUT>>>>>>>> the flatline barrel is most definatly not inaccurate... it simply is not as accurate as...say... a barrell that is maybee 14-18 inches long. (yes size does matter) So I rate the accuracy at a B.

secondly - it just looks flippin sweet. A flippin +

Thirdly - The range is unbeleavable. I havent actually measured it yet, but i'm thinking at least 200'-300'. A+++

Fourthly (is that a word???) Velocity... This is very disputed among woodsballers... but what I say is that if you turn your velocity to 300 fps your GUN is going to shoot at 300 fps (duh!) The velocity is not going to slow down just because its spinning backwards on the top... its spinning forwards on the bottom to...Bottom line is that the flatline is just a fast as any other barrell
Conclusion: The Flanline is an increadable barrell. I recomend this barrel to everyone but snipers (because the accuracy isn't as good as other barrels) once again, the range is incredable and Velocity is most definatly not an issue. The flatline is a must.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98 Flatline, as well as most other barrels out there.
Marker Setup: Icon T PDS, Reloader B, 72/3k, rest is classified ; )
Recommended
Paintballs:
Good stuff.
Strengths: Smaller than M98 flatline, good range.
Weaknesses: Provides a larger target. Questionable accuracy.
Review: Compared to the M98 flatline, i found this one to be the lesser of the two. It's accuracy (with Diablo Scortch paintballs at 100ft, 11" x 10" target) scored as 12/20 breaks on target. The shroud is a pretty massive target for recballer and speedballer alike. It adds around 40ft of extra range, but the accuracy, even when perfectly set up, is not nearly as good as say, a J&J edge kit, or Evil pipe.
Conclusion: Good product, but not worth it on a A5.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cornnut135 Thursday, December 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-grip
flatline
Double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any Nelson Paint
Strengths: Shoots further
Weaknesses: Balls drift upward
slightly inaccurate
Review: This barrel works well for what its made for- being able to shoot further without having to ark every shot. But, it is slightly less accurate than other barrels (for example my works 14 inch) If you plan to play speed ball steer clear of this barrel (and the A-5) that's not what its made for. Its far too big and bulky for that. That's not what this barrel is made for. If you are looking for a barrel that will give you the extra edge in a woods ball game this is a perfect add-on to your A-5.
Conclusion: Great barrel for woods ball but not for speed ball. Its slightly inacurate.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

prodis Friday, December 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-99, Tippman 98 custom.
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 with Flat line barrle double trigger Car stock Red dot scope sling 20 ounce Co2 and 12 ounce Co2.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Well right now i'v had no problems with any real PBs but i would say stay away from brass eagle
Strengths: Strong, Durible, Powerful, sexy look, great gun.
Weaknesses: Cyclone feed uses alot of Co2, complicated parts. Advise not to take it apart
Review: On the line for the Cyclone feed there is a hose make sure that the hose going to the gun to it, make sure that the screws are set up right or ur gun won't shoot right. with car stock it lowers ur psi i would advise sticking somthing to make the spring longer.
Conclusion: Great gun worth buying. great for woods ball. Its ok for speedball, overall i sujest u buy it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

lupisargent Thursday, December 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker and 98 flatline
Marker Setup: Trilogy Comp, 20ozCo2, evo2 loader, 14" boomstick
CCI phantom, air through stock
Strengths: -Range
-Flat trajectory
-Barrel shroud
Weaknesses: -Accuracy
-Noise
-Cleaning
Review: Alright, I don't actually own a tippman or a flatline but I have used them quite abit. My friend has a couple of them and being a speedball player myself, never really saw a need to get a good woodsball gun (although thats changing). I would always borrow his A-5 or 98 (whatevere he wasn't useing) when we went out in the woods and he has a flatline on both. His guns were geared towards his style of play (mid/backfield laying cover fire). I, however, am a sniper. I like being able to hit a CD at 75 ft 100% of the time. With that beinig said here is my review.

Good
Range: With out a doubt the flatline barrels are the logest range barrels in paintball. If you need to hit something at 200 ft, this is your barrel. The backspin the barrel puts on the paintball does a fantastic job of making your opponents think twice about sticking there head out at the other end of the field.

Trajectory: The flatline puts the paintballs out, well, flat. Unless there is a serious problem with the paint your using, all of the shoots will stay within a horizontal plane of flite.

Barrel shroud: The barrel shroud for the A-5 just looks cool. The marker already has the MP5 feel and the shroud reminds me of the old suppresors they used to use on them.

Bad
Accuracy: While the flatline has reach, it does not have the accuracy that pinpoint shooters want. This is because of the backspin put on the paintball. No matter what paint you buy no 2 paintballs are identical and will therefore react differently to the backspin. While shoots will almost always stay flat, they won't always be straight. In my personal experiance, I had shots spiral around peoples heads at 30 ft. Not good when your relying on a one shot kill.

Noise: This barrel is loud. If your not concerned about stealth then its not an issue. I if you are I strongly recommend a different barrel. The lack of porting on the barrel practicly says "I'm over here." It does, however, scare the bajesus out of the noobs.

Cleaning: Its kind of a pain to clean the barrel. Having to take out the screws holding the front of the gun togeather. It really isn't that complicated and easily fixed (someone else mentioned the thumbscrew idea). So its really more of a speedbump than a problem.
Conclusion: Like any other barrel it has it pro's and con's. Depending on your play style the flatline can be a curse or a god send. If your looking to send out the longshots or lay down some heavy fire, this is your barrel. If your looking for 100% bullseye accuracy or stealth, try something else.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

culley91 Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
normal barrels
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5
flatline barrel
collapsable stock
32 degree remote
e-grip rampage board
rufus dawg double trigger
truglo 25 mm red dot scope
dye sticky grip
nitro duck 90ci 4500psi
32 degree star fire bolt
ricochet R-5 sniper hopper
scepter 4000 launcher
UMS bipod
UMS tactical riser
UMS MK II R.I.S
QEV for cyclone feed
Recommended
Paintballs:
Small bored paintballs, no cheap ones either
Strengths: Distance, accuracy(if you adjust it)
Weaknesses: Breaks brittle paintballs in the winter make sure to buy thick shelled paintballs
Review: Now when i first got this barrel there was an accuracy problem, so i took it apart and adjusted it to be more accurate and wow nobody would think a flatline would be so accurate. added with the distance it is a nice addition to you marker. if you are looking for accuracy at large distances, the barrel wont have it because the ball will be more prone to wind knocking the ball out of line, but at close range it is pretty accurate. and in winter you may have problems with the balls being to brittle an they will break so keep your stock barrel.
Conclusion: Good accuracy, good distance doesnt like brittle paintballs so get thicker shelled paintballs
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media