paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs Sydarm / Airgun Designs Sydarm / Airgun Designs Sydarm / Airgun Designs Sydarm

Airgun Designs Sydarm Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs Sydarm

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs Sydarm
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A variant of the AGD automag configured as a handgun to run on 12-gram CO2. Very rare, as they are usually only sold to the military or law enforcement. Recently, AGD re-released the Sydarm to the general public. It now includes a new sight rail.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs Sydarm is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
spaz66777 Friday, March 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
USP, Zues, PGP, and phantom.
Marker Setup: I run a phantom with; frantom II 8" with full freak kit, 13/3000 HPA tank, 45* trigger frame, 12 round feed, smart parts drop and bottom line with on/off, and trigger guard.

AGD Sydarm. <--now my main

AGD Automag, ULT, ULE, you name it, 45/4500, and halo b.
Recommended
Upgrades:
C/A adapter from tuna, barrel adaprer for a freak back and docs 1 1/2 inch freak tip.

You can make this marker run off a 3.5 with a full freak kit and still be a pistol.
Strengths: Feel, Size, accuracy, easy cleaning, its a mag, and its mostly steel.
Weaknesses: A little heavy (I like that) and shot count is less than the phantom.
Review: I found one of these new in box for $400 shipped at Paintball Charleston. I have played one day with this as my primary felt very nice accuracy was everything I could ask for. I purchased the C/A adapter and hooked up my 3.5 oz tank to it (haven't use it yet) and ordered the barrel adapter. This marker feels very nice and balanced. I got about 24 shots per 12 gram in 40* weather.
Conclusion: I like this marker. That is my personal opinion. I haven't shot a better marker than this one here. I feel comfortable with it, it has a good shot count, and it gets looks!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skyless Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5 w/flatline barrel, palmer regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
bottom line setup with 3.5 oz co2 tank, expansion chamber or regulator, 10 inch barrel
Strengths: Shoots pretty good, very fun to customize, holsterable, easy to work on
Weaknesses: Hates liquid co2 in valve, only 8 shots, upgrades limited and hard to get
Review: First and most important is that the sydarm does not like liquid co2 in the valve. So if you use 12 grams you will have problems because when inserted they are located horizontally above the valve. This does not help keep liquid from entering the valve. After going through 30 12 grams and having problems with freezing, I upgraded to a CA adapter, and a foward facing asa mounted under the grip connected to a 3.5 oz co2 tank. This gives room for the co2 to expand (though an ACI sub Zero x-chamber or a palmer regulator would be ideal) and is still pretty compact. I only freeze up if i rapid fire as fast as i can. I have not had problems with chopping and i use mid grade balls. The 8" stock barrel limits range and twist lock center feed barrels are hard to find.
Other note:12 grams get 16 consistent shots if you shoot slow
12 grams will work ok if you shoot very slow ( 1 shot every couple seconds)
Ive heard that in ideal conditions the 12 grams work find,but i don't play in ideal conditions very often.
Conclusion: If you want a marker that uses 12 grams DON'T GET THIS, you will only be disappointed with freezing. If it did not freeze i would give it a 10 however since it was designed to use 12 grams and they freeze up i give it a 5. If you get around this problem this marker is great, other wise get something else.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BOBO Friday, January 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
used a bunch starting with the rapide , pt & the list goes on ending with the sydarm. None compare
Marker Setup: Sydarm is bare bones at the moment , I do have the WWA constant air adapter , just havent used it.... yet
Recommended
Upgrades:
Might get a barrel but the barrel on it is good.
Strengths: Made by AGD the first name in quality, consistent, small
Weaknesses: None , best pistol made in my opinion.
Review: Well, I have wanted a sydarm for close to a decade, finally was able to trade for one. Very happy that I did. I got my hands on one of the newer type sydarms. The sydarm is everything that I had always heard it was. I get about 24 good shots at 265. The Max appears to be about 270/275 fps. The marker is built like a tank in comparison to any other pistol that I have used. Its a little heavy when compared to things like the usp etc. But the profile is a lot smaller. I really enjoy playing with it thus far, its great for indoor & a real kick when playing speedball. Its very consistent & accurate. Like all mags its easy to maintain. The repair kit is a little spendy but will last for ever.
Conclusion: If you can get one I couldnt recommend it more. For a side arm I dont know that it can be beat by anything on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AutoMagX Tuesday, September 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag classic, X-valve
Marker Setup: 68 Classic Left Powerfeed, Intelliframe w/Sticky3's, X-Valve w/Level X Bolt
Ricochet Apache, SP Freak SS Kit
Shocktech Drop, On/Off, Foregrip, Nitro Duck 68/45 Plasma
Sydarm w/Tuna CA adaptor, Intelliframe
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tuna's CA adaptor
Strengths: Reliability, mag style, compact
Weaknesses: Expensive, hard to find
Review: First let me say I mostly bought this pistol because I thought it was well engineered, and it matched my Mag. Most pistols are too big (triple tube design) and mostly low quality blowbacks. The Sydarm is a rose in that patch of dandelions, well designed, unique and relatively compact. I have no idea what the CO2 efficiency is, I use Tunaman's CA adaptor, which adapts the 12-gram chamber to a QD fitting. The only time I use it is scenario or woodsball games, when I run a slide-checked remote from my HPA anyway. It would be easy enough to rig up a 4-oz CO2 to a home-made coil remote and keep it in a leg holster- another viable option, which negates many drawbacks of 12-grams. Reliability has been great for me, as any Mag should be. Accuracy is exactly what you'd expect from a pistol- decent at close distances, out to about 50' or so. Beyond that, it does it's job well, makes a good conversation piece, and may be a bit of a collectible someday. The price is steep, I picked mine up on ebay for $300, AGD was selling them for around $400 a while ago, but they are no longer in the store, so I assume they don't have any more. The only other upgrade I did was an Intelliframe with RPG's Viperblade trigger, mostly because the stock frame was ugly, and the Intelli matches my Mag. A double trigger is unnecceasry on a pistol, but the Sticky3's are great.
Conclusion: If you like Mags, or are looking for a reliable, quality pistol or a great conversation maker, get one. Otherwise, the Sydarm would probably not be worth the steep price. I give it an 8 for the inherent 12-gram problem, and the old-school stock frame.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Commissar_Loki Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Punisher, PT enforcer, PT extreme, PT extreme jr, Delta 68, Pirahna USP
Marker Setup: Automag classic valve, ULE body, Revvy, Full tilt Edge kit 9the old one), Dye grip frame with dye stickies, collapseable stock, 160z chromoly. Thats the main, not gonna bother with the others.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Perhaps the constant air adapter if you don't like 12 gram changes.
Strengths: Small, built like a rock, mag, consistancy
Weaknesses: Not effecient, can freeze up, some would say heavy.
Review: I haven't used this on the field as of yet, I will update when I do. Thus far I've had a few leaks, but that just required a few orings, and since it was used I cannot complain about the marker. After said problems, it's worked great. (Oh yeah, the special o-rings are shocker orings for the valve, and normal tank orings for the 12 gram sealing chamber). I love mags to death, and honestly love this design. Mine doesn't want to work very well around 280, although it can achieve higher. Mine likes to be at 240 fps, as recomended because of CO2 freezing up the on/off. I'm getting roughly +-5 over the chrono for about 15-16 rds depending on how fast I pull the trigger.
I love the design on this thing, its quite ingenius. Although I do wonder why the 12 gram puncture piece wasn't drilled or something to allow more room for CO2 expansion. Accuracy so far seems pretty good, even with a bad barrel match and crappy paint.
Will update after Tippmann World challenge.


UPDATE: I love this thing. Shooting once every 5 seconds I'm getting about 24 consistant shots at +-2 at 240 FPS. Solid, and reliable, I love this thing. I have no complaints and am looking to purchase another. +1 to the rating for awesome build, style, reliability, and in general a great pistol!
Conclusion: Great product, but it's not perfect. It lacks the effeciency of other pistols that are far chaper. However this thing is a tank. I could most kilely use it as a hammer and it'd fire great. I'm not giving it a 10 because nothing is perfect. Not a nine because of the freeze up (which was a warning, but still something that bothers me), and the fact that it's not very effecient. I'm ignoring the fact that it doesn't want to run at 280 FPS because in all honesty, it's a pistol, it shouldn't be used for that. I love this marker, and plan to keep it until i quit paintball. Highly recomended.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 11th, 2005 at 9:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jouster666 Friday, April 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE, unless an older model then a simple upgrade kit consisting of O-rings
Strengths: self contained unit, easy to load and change CO2
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have been using my sydarm as a backup for many years (serial number 137) and have had no probelms. Even stock games I have played in where it was being used as the primary marker, did not fail me. If you get your hands on one it is a keeper and you won't look back.
Conclusion: One hell of a back-up marker or even a stand alone. Easy to load, change CO2, maintain and use
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

autofreak Friday, December 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pt extreme
Marker Setup: sydarm
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Small, effiency, weight
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is a training pistol, it is meant to simulate a 1911 (45 automatic pistol)
It is almost the same weight as my 45. It holds 8 paintballs in clip same as 45
Comes with its own holster.
The point made by another review about dropping the co2 plug in the mud is entirely irrelevant to the performance.
That is the same as falling and filling your barrel with mud and saying the barrels major flaw was the hole in the end.
Conclusion: There fore it is a extremely nice and balanced pistol.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Mark-2004 Wednesday, March 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
This is the only paintball pistol that I have used.
Marker Setup: Highly modified Tippman A-5 with a flatline barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
10 round clips / pods to reload.
Strengths: small, durable, very sleek design, very accurate, did not chop balls in action scenarios
Weaknesses: The price ($800) and the availability (police and military training only, not sold publicly).
Review: Well, I can't give enough praise about this gun. It's light, it has a very sturdy construction, it's sleek and very portable. It was designed for close quarters combat training. I got a chance to try this through work training and had a blast with it. I'd love to order one for myself, but they cost the government (tax payers) $800 a pop and were never available to the public.
Conclusion: As I have recently learned, the Sydarm is not even in production anymore. So anytime you have a chance to get your hands on one of these badboys, you better take it because they're rare.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 17th, 2004 at 9:37 am PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media