paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag

Airgun Designs E-Mag Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs E-Mag

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs E-Mag
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Its trigger is actuated by magnets, it has a
dual selector (switches from Electric to Manual
operation), operates with 18 volt rechargeable battery or
2 9 volt batteries, L.E.D. display features countdown
timer, shot counter, plus many other features, and it was
tested beyond 20 shots per second without shootdown but
is restricted to 13 shots per second (to comply with current industry standards.) Comes in power feed (for use with Warp Feed)
or vertical feed.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs E-Mag is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
BAZOOKA_Boy Tuesday, November 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-classic mag (not even close really)
-X valved mag (closer for the mech mode...)
Marker Setup: Halfed Psycho Ballistics Lightning
Mq valve
CP long reg.
Xonik frame
Zero B board/T board (I use both)
.44 mag ram
CCM LPR
Custom Eye cover
JCM halfblock parts
Evil Pipe kit to match
CP Micro drop
CP detent

Emag
custom anno
CP detent
custom grips
clear acrylic trigger
X valve
ultralighted thrasher rail
ULE body
Longshot barrel
Lowrise clamper
Recommended
Upgrades:
uhhhhh, new trigger if you so see fit, any barrel kit you would like, though the stock barrel shoots great, and maybe the Xmod software if you so wish
Strengths: fast
light (for a mag)
looks
simplicity
ITS A MAG
Weaknesses: Uhhh, none really, the stock trigger kinda sucks though...
Review: when I first got my Emag, I was so excited to take it out of the box, it was shiny, and yet it was boring looking...me bing an anodizer jazzed it up a little with a snazy new matching anno...

on to the review:

Strengths:
even with the stock software, the ability to make the gun fire super quick is very easy, the hall effect trigger sensor allows it to be ultra light, and not have an ounce of bounce. While it may be a little on the large size compared to other guns, its still very light, and very appealing to the eye. And it shoots even better than it looks! it dosn't need eyes, due to the level 10, and it shoots as fast if not faster than some of todays electros with 90's technology! Its a very simple marker, not many moving pieces, its really hard to mess one up unless you loose a piece or something...Just because its a mag gives it the extra points, its high quality...as AGD's motto says: "because quality always shoots straight" and it does!

weaknesses:
The stock trigger is a double trigger with a huge hump in the center, which for some its totally fine, though for most this is really annoying, and needs to be replaced pronto...it limits your ROF SIGNIFICANTLY, though its by no means slow with the stock trigger...Other than that, I honestly do not see any real weaknesses, its a very well designed marker to eliminate the defects after all...
Conclusion: Super high quality marker, these will preform with anything out there, and not even skip a beat! I love my mag, and will never trade it for anything! definably a 10, though you do really need a new trigger to really unleash this marker!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phrenologyfiend Monday, April 9th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months38 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Classic Automag - same reliability, consistency, and ease of use, but slower rate of fire.
Proto Matrix 6 - Smaller, lighter, easier to fire quickly, and just as reliable and easy to maintain.
Marker Setup: -Proto Matrix 6 (Olive)
-14" St!ffi Switch Barrel Kit
-Critical Raze Trigger (Blue)
-Lucky Un1tech Board with Spitfire software chip
-Halo B
-Pure Energy 68ci/4500psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10 Bolt (if not equipped already)
ULE or Tac-One mainbody
Fireblade trigger (if you can find one . . . rare!)
Strengths: Rugged
Dependable
No paint chops
Consistancy
Innovative
Weaknesses: Heavy
Archaic
Trigger
Cost
Review: When the E-Mag came out in 2001, I was a loyal Automag supporter, but sadly I was also a dirt-poor college student. I was so excited to try one. How could I not be? My beloved Automag was coming out in an electronic format that promised to fire faster, but I had to wait until the end of 2006 to do that when I purchased one from the manufacturer directly. I shelled out the money to try one, and while I was greatly impressed over the improvement from my Classic Automag, I was not by comparison to the electro-pneumatic monsters of today.

Strengths

Dependable: If youíve never used an Automag, youíll not understand, but for those of us who remember the Automag vs. Autococker debate of the 1990ís, you know what Iím talking about. Airgun Designs (AGD) has a history of making some extremely reliable equipment. Even if a part breaks or needs maintenance, it was always easy to do. The E-Mag is no exception to that. Itís almost a simple tube with a spring and some wiring. Maintenance is easy and the marker requires only one Allen wrench to work on any given part or adjust velocity.

No paint chops: AGD outdid themselves here. With the introduction of the Level 10 bolt, they even took the electronic eye off the gun (It was briefly used). The Level 10 bolt stops its forward travel if it meets any real resistance. The founder of AGD Tom Kaye even did demonstrations of its gentleness on paint by sticking his tongue in front of of the bolt and firing. Again, for those of us old enough to remember the old ĎMags, this is a scary thought, but the new bolt stops and vents the gas. Iíll admit that I stuck my fingers in the breech and tried this experiment. It works.

Consistency: I have no empirical proof of this beyond my brief trips to the chronograph and my own observations of play, but the velocity seems to be at least as, if not more, consistent than my Proto Matrix 6 (PM6). Again, though, this is just anecdotal. I have not run controlled tests.

Innovative: Not only does the inclusion of the Level 10 bolt bring this ahead of the Classic Automag, but it has several features that also make it stand out. The trigger modes are a wonderful idea. The E-Mag has several trigger modes: manual, electronic, and hybrid. Manual operates like an Automag RT and has the reactive push on the trigger. Electronic operates by magnetic activation of a Hall sensor in the grip frame and has magnetic return. Hybrid operates by combining the two. It gives magnetic actuation of the solenoid, while still offering a mechanical push on the trigger.

Weaknesses

Heavy: While Iím a big guy and I didnít mind the weight at the time, once I started using other high-end markers that are out there ...well, I became spoiled. I applaud AGD for including a rechargeable battery instead of the standard 9-volt that is needed, but it feels like half the weight of the marker. Fully loaded, it weighs noticeably more than my PM6, or even my classic Autocockers. While the addition of the ULE part line has helped, it's still heavy by today's criteria.

Archaic: While AGD tried many innovations on this marker, they still kept the basic design of the Automag. Iím not saying I donít like that. Like I stated before, I love ĎMags. What it means is that the basic blow-forward, mechanical design that was introduced in 1991 is still used here. The electronic solenoid simply trips the mechanical firing pin faster. It also gives the E-Mag just as much kick as its predecessors.

Trigger: Initially I was exited about the trigger and its innovative features, but itís not as smooth firing as the other triggers on other electro-pneumatic markers. It's a classic double-finger trigger, and beyond that its shape is blocky and less intuitive to walking. Itís possible to walk it, but it took practice in my case. Also, while it is mechanically capable of firing 20 shots per second, it's very hard to achieve. Not so much on other high-end electro-pneumatics. In hybrid and mechanical mode it also had no rear-travel limiter, so while the reactive push was nice, its travel path was longer and therefore achieved a slower rate of fire. In mechanical mode itís also possible to short stroke, if anyone even knows that term anymore ;-). But to be fair, the addition of the mechanical mode in case of electronic failure was inventive and ingenious.


Cost: All previous criticisms would have been taken with a grain of salt had the price of this marker dropped at a rate comparable to that of the Autococker. It didnít. To purchase a marker new from AGD costs approximately $1000. For that kind of money you could afford quite a few of the top-end electro-pneumatic markers out there. My PM6 cost only $750 new, so I still would have had money to buy a small compressed air tank and a Halo.
Conclusion: As much as I'd love to recommend this product, and as much as it pains me to say this after years of Automag loyalty, this is a product that's past its prime. It's alright for Woodsball, but not speedball. And for the cost, you could make a Woodsball monster out of a Tippman A-5 with plenty to spare. You could also buy a different electro-pneumatic marker that would be more competitive in today's playing environment.

Final rating: WIth 5 being the average and 10 doing everything advertised with no suggestions for improvement . . . 6. It possesses some novel features, but it's just not as competitve today as it was in 2001 when it came out.

Also, along the lines of dates, don't forget to look at the dates of reviews to make sure that the rating of 10 on an item you're wanting to buy now wasn't written in 2002 and may or may not be valid any longer for the given item. That's just smart thinking.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007 at 10:09 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

thejones Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Classic 68 automag
Minimag
Tac one ULT custom mag
XMag

Fully palmer up'd 2k3 Autococker with eblade
Marker Setup: AGD E-mag
3.2 software
Tunablade
kaner kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
lvl 10 and xvalve (if you have a piecemeal mag with emag lowers)
ULE main body
3.2 or xmod software
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See Review.
Review: I traded an upgraded Ion for my emag about a year ago, and I havent looked back. I have always loved mags and the Emag is no exception. My obesession was rekindled when my Reloader B ran out of batteries on the field and I borrowed my friend's ULT (ultra light trigger) equipped tac one mag. That 10min game was all it took to reinstill my love of mags. I bought one the next week.

Strengths:

The Xvalve/AIR regulator is one of the highest quality regulators in the industry, and the consistency from shot to shot is apparent in the Emag. In my experience (using autocockers, friends timmys, my Ion, and various other electros/mechanical markers) you cant find a more accurate elctronic marker. My autococker is damn accurate, but the emag has less reciprocating mass (bolt weighs about an ounce), so shot to shot recoil is less than that of an autococker. With a ULE body, my emag uses 'cocker threads, so I can't speak for those who have the old school slide lock bodies.

With the 3.2 software from AGD, the emag is capable of 20bps, so it is as fast as some of the "flavor of the week" electros out there. Upgrade to the XMOD software (available at niedtech.com) and you will have ramping, burst, full auto, and all the features of the newer electros in a more reliable marker. The best of both worlds.

The Emag, as with all mags, is one of the most reliable markers in the industry. Simple maintenance and some standard spare parts (orings, oil, etc) will keep your marker in top shape for years to come. This marker is built to last, and its solid construction is apparent the moment you lay hands on it.

Weaknesses:

The only weakness I can think of is the marker is a little on the heavy side (a result of the 18v battery in the foregrip). However, things like ULE bodies and rails can help to reduce this weight, as will an all aluminum xvalve. I am used to toting around a heavy stock 2k3 body cocker though, so the weight doesnt really bother me. But for limp-wristed ballers used to Ions and Mini's, it might be an issue.
Conclusion: None, buy this marker and never look back. I gave it a 9 because no marker is perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyslexiapaintba Tuesday, January 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Intimidators
Karnivor Autocockers
Ego's
about all high end electro markers really
RTPro
ULE Custom
And I got to hold an X-mag once
Marker Setup: Black ULE E-mag with Empire Revolver barrel, Redz rail and on/off, CCM mid rise feedneck, and X-mod software.
Recommended
Upgrades:
X-mod
Good Barrel
Strengths: Low Profile
Mechanical Override
AGD relyablity
LX antichop system
Weaknesses: Air efficiancy
Alittle heavy
No eye LX makes up for it though
Review: First off, I've used about every high end marker out there and can definatly say this is the best marker I have ever used. The level 10 works great at avoiding chops, I actually break less paint with my E-mag then I do with my Intimidator. The marker marker has a mechanical over ride so if you batterys go down you just flip a switch and keep on going. I have used Mags for years and my origonal one from about 1995 still works great so relyablity from them is awsome plus AGD has what is probably the best customer service out there. It is alittle on the heavy side, it doesn't weigh a ton but it is noticeably heavier than my Timmy. Now, this is a high pressure gun and while I still get about one hopper for every 200PSI out of my 68CU tank which isn't too bad at all you can only go down to about 600psi befor the marker flat won't shoot anymore so you can't shoot very deep into your tank. Both of these are minor problems but they do need to be addressed. Really I love this gun and like I said it is definatly my favorite.
Conclusion: I would highly reccomend this marker to anyone who is looking for a high end electro. It shoots great is extreamly relyable and an awsome preformer. The Trigger is great, very similar to the trigger on the Karnivor Autococker but I like the mags better. Like I said I would highly reccomend.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

arson51 Friday, October 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego - better, more features, more competitive
Proto Matrix 06 - better, more features, more competitvie
Intimidator 03- not as good, alot of high end markers from around the emags hay day are general equal or lesser to a fully ULE'd emag.
Marker Setup: Basic emag with X valve, upgraded with: LT3 trigger, ULE exile body, RPG ULE rail, ULE trigger frame.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any upgrade that reduces weight on this gun is probably worth the money. Eyes would also be an excellent upgrade as it would allow you to use the level 7 bolt and thus increase your ROF.
Strengths: Ive listed this in the review.
Weaknesses: See the review below.
Review: Emag Review
Note:this review is over the stock parts from the original gun from 2003 and not the upgraded one listed above. Also bold tags have been placed on things i wanted to draw your eye to, please excuse the fact they are placed quite arbitraily with no reguard to consistancy.

Out of the box
A big box from AGD arrived, it was foam lined and inside it was a shiny new Emag, I was very pleased to learn that the than new Level 10 bolt and Xvalve came installed from the factory. Also in the box were a few spare parts, and a very low budget instructional video on how to break down the Emag.

Appearance
I did not chose the Emag because it was the prettiest, shiniest most colorful, or shapely. In my opinion it's what inside that counts. In any beauty contest the Emag would place very low, below some Spyders, the only thing it would be above would be Tippmann's and Brass Eagle markers! The Emag is very angular, consisting of a tube and squared off parts, there are lots of lines and angles on it making it look un-aerodynamic, not very streamlined. It slightly resembles a sub machine gun because of its fore grip/battery but not to the point of making you look like a freak.

The parts
The Emag came with the new level 10 bolt and aluminum X-valve. The level 10 was not tuned very well out of the factory and broke a PMI premium dangled into the breech after about 10 or so hits.

The stainless steel main body had brown colored blemishes inside of it out of the box. These blemishes are not rust and do not affect performance. The stainless steel of the body also scratched up considerably after a year, surprising of steel. The aluminum parts, the body rail grip and battery case, were anodized well and after that time did not scratch as much as the main body.

The body rail fans out and widened at the area under the valve. This is totally cosmetic as far as I know; it and serves no purpose other than to add weight. The sight rail included with the Emag is very well machined and anodized. I am sure it added an extra 50 to the price tag. I removed it.

X-Valve and lvl 10 bolt
This Emag came with the newer and lighter Al constructed Xvalve and Level10 bolt. These parts are lighter than the original parts that would have normally came with the Emag. Itís a sign that AGD is starting to think about what players want. The LVL was tweaked well out of the factory but I made it even softer. This gun cannot chop a ball. The main flaw with the lvl 10 is you must open it up and

The trigger frame on my Emag was not the standard Emag frame as it did not have a back hump and finger groves. I was told it was a ULE Emag frame by an AGD tech, which is nice. Its frame isn't a true 45 because it lacks the proper grips, I can fire on its double trigger with a single finger as if it was a normal pistol grip and I have really big hands. There is an LED display on the bottom left of the grip. It is only one line and is accessed with the 2 recessed buttons on the back of the grip. The LED displays info on shots fired over all, shots fired since activation, rate of fire, burst modes(removed in version 3.2), and game timer, shot buffer and triggers sensor. I don't mess with these features. When I had to select a duck bill or asa adaptor for my Emag, I found that most duckbills need to have a flat top(like the tippmann 98's asa) or they will not fit the oversized Emag grip. I used a grinder to make my old adaptor fit. Not a major problem, but watch out for it when selecting asa adaptors or just get a rail (I recommend Custom Products).

The trigger doesn't have much side to side play and is completely different from other electros' triggers. Instead of springs it uses magnets to return the trigger. Up to four magnets can be placed in the frame on top of the trigger for maximum trigger weight. For minimum trigger weight I dropped 3 small o-rings into the magnet area and put a single magnet on top of them. Instead of a micro switch, the Emag uses a magnet and a hall effect sensor to trigger the solenoid. A magnet placed on the back of the trigger activates hall-effect sensor when the trigger is pulled. This feature removes the need for a cheap effective micro switch, and replaces it with an expensive electronic sensor. There was no need to put in this sensor, a cheap .05 cent micro switch would have done the job fine if not better. The length of the pull out of the box is pretty good but the video showed me how to make it smaller. My advice is to totally ignore adjusting the internal trigger stop(major pain to do), but instead turn the selector switch all the way back, past the E until it points towards you. This automatically sets the trigger to the smallest effective length. Even at the smallest setting the Emagís trigger is still much larger than other electros triggers, it doesnít compare to any other top end marker.

There is a selector switch on the trigger where the safety normally is (the safety is now further back). It toggles between manual mode (M) and electronic mode (E). On electronic mode it uses the hall effect sensor and fires up to 16 bps (UPDATE in version 3.2 it is 20 bps. In manual mode, the Emag functions like an RT pro, and uses the Reactive Trigger. I've only played around with this mode using it in a game only once because of battery failure. Because of the solenoid attached to sear, the reactivity of the Emags' trigger is much less compared to a normal RT Mag(see rapid firing later on). Like a normal RT it is possible to "short stroke" and double feed. When the manual mode is toggled when there is still a battery on, it fires in a Hybrid mode. It says in the manual it fires up to the advertised 26 bps, but with a lighter pull. I've used this many times but I really don't see the advantage of this over Pure manual mode or E mode. Some users said that they achieved allot of bounce firing in this mode but others find it more difficult to fire quickly(I'm in this group). In manual mode the trigger pull is pretty long and can't be made shorter. Itís All the way from its resting position to the back of the frame.

The battery
One of the most prominent features on the Emag is its huge battery pack that also acts as a fore grip. Because of its weight and size the battery is vexing and is one of the low points of the Emag. The battery is an 16 volt NiMH, it's really big but doesnít last long at all. According to the manual it can get 20,000 but the most Iíve shot before a recharge was around 10,000. Instead of an on off switch there is a hole on the top of the battery where a "key" is inserted to turn it off. The key is a tiny yellow stick that is put in to cut off current. This small yellow key is pretty ridiculous and easy to lose, how much harder would it have been to place a 3rd button on the back of the grip for power, I've seen other users put them on tethers attached to the gun to avoid losing the key. The Emag should have been designed to use a weaker solenoid and utilize a lighter on/off pin, thus freeing it of its big useless battery.

Barrel
The stock barrel of the Emag isn't bad. Looking side of it I can see that it was well honed and smooth. It also has 2 ball detents instead of the normal one (to prevent double feeding with the warp feed system), and it can be set for a left, right or center feed configuration. Its quality is comparable to the auto cocker stock barrel, which is pretty good. Use large bore paint with this barrel though, it's a wide .69 calibers.

Light weight isnít one of the Emagís strengths, my Emag with tank warp feed, revolution, weighs a whopping 13 lbs. AGD stuck to using SS as the choice materials for their bodyís as stubbornly as Nintendo stayed away from Disk's. This is the heaviest set up I've shot. It is possible to reduce weight through upgrades; most parts on the Emag can be replaced with ULE equivalents.

On the field and in action.


Known problems and issues
On the field in the first few times I pull the trigger (in E or M mode) the gun clicks several times, and it fires as normal. The number is usually, 1 but its done it up to a dozen times. I've learned this was caused by an not cleaning and oiling gun often. My badÖ

The level 10's brass power tube tip has an edge worn off. It was caused when I applied pressure from underneath the twist lock barrel to lower velocities in tourneys to cheat. The upward pressure put friction on the bolt which grinded up the power tube tip, it did get me and extra 10 fpsÖ

Rate of fire
The Emagís rate of fire is quite slow in comparison to other high ends, mainly because of the lack of bounce from recoil, and from the ridiculous 20 bps Limit

There is little recoil during firing because the little reciprocating mass, and poor sensitivity from the hall effect sensor. This problem was corrected with software updates, but these updates will never be released to the public.

Full auto stick
When the rate of fire limit is reached what ever it may be, some Emags get stuck on full auto and will only stopped when the trigger is held. My Emag is one of these, the problem is correctable by switching the wires into the solenoid, I kinda like this feature actually I think it will stay.

Cleaning on field and off
During a game if a barrel break, or an even rarer chop occurs, cleaning out the barrel is a simple process of twisting and sliding out the twist lock barrel. Because the barrel is also the breach it can be cleared quickly. If you happen to use a ULE body with cocker threads I have no idea how you can clear a break in the barrel quickly. Shoving a swab from the front might even make this problem worse.

Rapid Firing
Runaway or rapid fire with the Emag is much more difficult than an ULE Custom, (which in turn is harder than an RT pro) because of its heavy complex sear assembly. Although it is possible to achieve consistent fully automatic fire, it never gets faster than 18bps; it's possible it's just the Dynaflow's fault.

Efficiency
Average around 600 from a 68/3k tank. The Level 10 bolt decreases the efficiency of an already poor performer. The guns operating pressure is between 800-600, but if the tank is staring to empty the gun will chuff at 800PSI.
Misc
Because of the Emagís good balance, its overhanging back end it serves as a perfectly fine snatch grip, several machinist also produce bolt on after market snatch grips for mags.



For a good Picture of my current Mag look in the Automag forumís picture thread.
Conclusion:
Overall Conclusion
The Emag is a fine high end marker, though there are design elements I donít agree with. For the same price markers can be purchased for the same price with better performance and more features. -1/2
-It's ROF is capped low in comparison to others in its class. -1/2
-trigger lacks adjustability of others in its class. -1/2
-it is unnecessarily heavy due to poor choice of body materials, and extra fat left on the stock parts.-1/2
-the battery is unnecessarily large while others in its class work longer better on a 9v. -1/2
-its efficiency is poor in comparison to others in its class. -1/2
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 27th, 2006 at 2:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sactownslappies Wednesday, October 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Karnivor - E2 (accurate, fast,not as reliable as the automag family)
Shocker - nerve board (very similar, not as consistent with velocity as a mag)
Nerve (one of my favorite guns, but requires more attention to keep working properly)
05 Ego - virtue board (ego is the best, but still does not compare when it comes to ease of use and reliability)
68 automag (one of my first guns over 13 years ago - still kicks a**)
Marker Setup: Nerve - nerve board (obviously), freak kit, halo "boarded", 68-3000 x-fire)
05 Ego - virtue board, empire loader, dye boomstick, 68-4500 x-fire, etc)
Micro E-Mag 3.2 - eggy boarded, dye boomstick, 684500 x fire
68 mag - don't really use anymore
Recommended
Upgrades:
New programming (depending on what yours came with) - recommended 3.2 or the predator board if you want ramping
Strengths: Low Maintenance!!!!
Consisent Velocity
Fast (if you have fast fingers or ramping) 26bps
Looks good

Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Hard on paint
upgrades hard to come by
Battery pack is heavy
Review: After 12-13 years of paintball I've owned or used every type of marker from pgp's to egos, and the mags and cockers are the only two that still haven't been outdated, or needed much improvement to still be competative.
I love my e-mag, always will. I may not use every time I play, but I will still take it up against other timmy's, ego's, angels, and hold my own. The e mag is still just as fast as any other gun (provided you have the software for it).
If you want to compete using an emag you just need to:
*relocate the battery pack (it is way to heavy)
*get a predator board (so you have ramping)
*put a foamy on your bolt (because it is hard on paint without)
*make sure level 10 bolt is installed (never chop a ball again)
*install eyes (if you don't trust the level 10)
Conclusion: Awesome - This gun will never let you down. New/ young players will always be asking "hey is that an old shocker or something??" You can tell them, this is where shockers came from. Or tell them, "don't you know that this is what Oh Pawlak uses??? ":). anyways, buy one!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 18th, 2006 at 11:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HuD1Ni Tuesday, June 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Anything electric and fast
Marker Setup: 2k- ReTro-Mag
- [Airgun Designs] ULE CF Body ( Nickel )
- [Airgun Designs] Intelliframe ( Nickel )
- [Airgun Designs] Level 10 ( N/A )
- [Airgun Designs] ReTro-Valve ( Silver )
- [Airgun Designs] Blade Trigger ( Silver )
- [Planet Eclipse] Rail ( Silver )
- [Planet Eclipse] Foregrip ( Silver )
- [Planet Eclipse] Mount-Rail ( Silver )
- [Custom Products] On/Off ASA ( Silver )
- [Custom Products] Detents ( Silver )
- [Chiply's Custom Machine] Feed Neck ( Silver )
Recommended
Upgrades:
XMOD BABY! ULE it to, that is if it doesnt come with it
Strengths: Fast, Upgradeable, Hot as hell, just perfect
Weaknesses: They are underestimated....
Review: i'm not going to waste my time review it much -

The gun is great, wiht the xmod you have all the new modes available today, like ramping, tourny modes, hyper mode, etc.. even programable boot message... 20 bps is fast enough, and can EASILY be acheived.. or with a little dif set up, you can get some 31 bps.. but 20 is way the hell good enough for me...customer support, is the best period.. I could go on, but just giving some up to date reviews



also, NO NEED TO ADJUST REGULATOR !!!!!!
Conclusion: It is an early 2k prodigy !
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Heatstroke23 Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker,Timmy.Nerve,Autococker,automag rt pro, and automag classic.
Shocker is better then the E-mag for speedball and tournment ,but not for woods or scanrioe paintball.
Marker Setup: Speedball/ toruney setup,Smart Parts shocker 03 with virture board and new desginz kit , with a ANS regulator. Woods ball / scanrioe game setup Black ule emag with 4500k dynaflow and freak kit with a fire blade trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10 if you buy a used orginal emag and a fireblade trigger.
Strengths: Accurate easy to mantian and great customer service.
Weaknesses: Rate of fire is really the only downfall of this gun.
Review: Out of all the Markers in the world, if had to own just one it would defiantly be the ule emag. The reasons are clear and cut. The reliability of this marker is unbelievable. Even if something goes wrong you just have to replace a minor o ring here or there nothing major like air actuated solenoid or anything like that. The accuracy of this marker is off the charts. I can hit a flea through a picket fence with this marker. The rate of fire is okay for woods or rec speedball or scenario games. That’s were this gun lacks is rof compared to the other high end guns out there. You would not want to use this gun in a psp event. The reason being that it does not have ramping. Overall though with one con and too many pros this gun really rocks out of the box.
Conclusion: Just buy the gun because you will not be disappointed by the quality of this outstanding AGD product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The_Painter 66 Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Mags, but this one is faster!
Marker Setup: Airgun Designs E-Mag with:
Redz Camlock feedneck
ULE Mainbody, pewter
X-Valve w/ LvL 10
Tunapack
3.2 Software
New Designs rail and on/off
Halo B with Rip
Nitroduck HP 45/68
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
X-Valve with LvL 10
ASA
ULE Mainbody
Strengths: Reliable
Looks
Performance
Comfort
Consistent
Weaknesses: People say it's heavy, doesn't bother me

Review: I bought this gun straight from AGD about a year ago and couldn't be happier. It's given me only minimal troubles. In the entire time I've owned it I almost never have to adjust my velocity. I really can't say enough good things about this gun. It was well worth the money.
Conclusion: If you have the money, buy one! You'll never regret it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 14th, 2006 at 8:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gdog5 Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other various mags that ive owned/tested
Marker Setup: Angel 05 Speed
Emag
LCD Matrix
Ion
too many to list....
Recommended
Upgrades:
ule body if it doesnt have one
trigger
Strengths: Looks
Durability
Reliability
Speed
Battery
Mech, Electronic, or Hybrid
Weaknesses: Dont plan on getting an aftermarket board
Only hpa (not really a weakness)
Review: I love my e-mag. After owning a mag for a year i sold it and wanted to get back into them so i picked up a nice e-mag at a great price. In a perfect world guns dont break down and need maintencing, the e-mag is as close to that as youll find. Agd managed to bring all the great things about the mag and incorperate them into an electronic style. A little oil into the valve every now and then and your done with maintenance. The battery is easy to take off and charge and lasts for a good 20,000 shots. It is a bit on the heavy side, but its a very high quality battery and will last for a long time. If your worried about chops, put a level ten on it and your set. Its a little on the heavy side but its understandable. Mine isnt too bad as i have an xvalve and ule body. A big diffence from the standard emag valve and a p/f body. I love the fact that you can easily alternate between mech and electronic with the flip of a switch. There was obviously a lot of thought put into the design. If you think its ugly then you havent seen one with a ule and xvalve. They are infact very secksi guns. Now as far as speed dont expect to shoot as fast as other high ends easily. A new flat kinda blade style trigger helps a bunch and with the proper adjustments the pull is reduced to very little. The pull isnt as easy as other electronic guns but trust me this thing will still rip. Air efficiency is decent, not perfect but better than a lot of other guns out there. On a 47/3000 i get a hopper and 3 140rnd pods. Thats with a really small tank (i had to pick one up as this gun requires high pressure output and my 68/45 is a low pressure output owell).
Conclusion: Overall an awesome gun. A pleasure to own and use. I like knowing that i can count on this gun to work and perform flawlessly time and time again.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media