paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag

Airgun Designs E-Mag Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs E-Mag

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs E-Mag
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Its trigger is actuated by magnets, it has a
dual selector (switches from Electric to Manual
operation), operates with 18 volt rechargeable battery or
2 9 volt batteries, L.E.D. display features countdown
timer, shot counter, plus many other features, and it was
tested beyond 20 shots per second without shootdown but
is restricted to 13 shots per second (to comply with current industry standards.) Comes in power feed (for use with Warp Feed)
or vertical feed.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs E-Mag is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
saltilance Wednesday, June 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
rt pros and classic mags and i guess angels and imps if you think they're similar.
Marker Setup: e-mag w/xvalve, pewter ule body, freak (12inch, w/alluminum back and black AAfront), revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
ule body, lvl 10 if it didn't come with one. and maybe a freak or evil pipe, but the stock barrel isn't that bad though
Strengths: The reliability and speed.
Weaknesses: Weight? gas consumption isn't that bad
Review: I bought this gun used for 500, and i was pretty experienced with mags, so I figured $500 for an emag that looks like its in such good condition, it must have something wrong with it. it came with a silver ule body (I switched to a pewter ule later) and a stock x-mag barrel. first thing i did before buying, I took it apart completely, and played about 4 games with it, just looking for a reason this guy was selling such an excellent marker for 500! Needless to say I bought it and I have been very impressed with it so far. The accuracy and feel is similar to the other mag I own, and thats exactly what I wanted! Its got the good solid feel of a mag with the insane speed of an electro. The speed, oh the speed. Its easily as fast as my old angel. With the ule body and x-valve, the emags weight isn't all that bad either. The different modes of firing, e-mode, hybrid, and manual mode are all excellent, it definately makes the marker unique. The e-mag (and all mags in general) are very well designed and unique guns, which is definately another plus. If you've ever worked on a mag before, then this thing will be very easy to figure out without any help. The person I bought the e-mag from didn't give me an instruction booklet, but you probably wouldn't need it. Its such a simple marker, yet it performs absolutely great. I could go on and on all day about why its such a great marker, but the review before mine pretty much covered everything very well.

BAD: I've heard bad things about the gas consumption, but after using mags for so long I hardly notice. i get about 900-1000 shots off my 68/4500.
Also, make sure you have a LVLX, they now come with them, but the older ones don't, I hear they chop without them, I've never had that problem personally.
DON'T LOSE THE LITTLE YELLOW KEY.
Conclusion: This is definately a marker to look at, very fast, very reliable, small, and very simple. Just gas the gun up and hit the field, no worries. For those who complain about this marker chopping and being a "blender", a monkey with common sense couldve told you that mags have a tendency to chop without LX, and if you buy an older emag that didn't come with one, you shouldve thought about buying a LX along with the marker. And if its too heavy for you, go to the gym, not that big or anything and I have no problem carrying it around. This marker is a definate 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXhappyAznXx Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys, angels, ecockers, vikings
Recommended
Upgrades:
ULE parts, 3.2 software, xvalve, lvl x
Strengths: Very sturdy, built like a tank, they can take a beating
Weaknesses: They were heavy, but aluminum parts are replacing the steel parts now.
Review: The emag has a decent speed, about 20 bps buffered. Lvl X completely eliminates chops, never chop again. There is Mechanical mode for just in case your batteries die. Emags have a simple and plain look, which i like, and is the taste some people prefer, not too fancy. ULE parts are now available, makes the gun weigh half as much as it used to.
Conclusion: I love this gun, i have a timmy right now, and i would go get an emag anyday.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CSD_E-MAG Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
GZ Timmy, Impulse, Rat , Free Flow Matrix, Empire timmy, AutoCocker, Tippmann 98, IR3
Marker Setup: E-Mag w/ Level 10 kit (a MUST)
PMI 45cui 5k nitro tank
warp feed and 12V revey
Freak Barrel Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
LEVEL 10 KIT!!!!!
freak kit
Strengths: Accuracy, speed , reliability
Weaknesses: it is a little heavy , the 45/5k tank helps
Review: Once the level 10 kit is properly tuned and the trigger set the gun rocks. If you do not use the level 10 kit you MUST use a halo or warp. You WILL out shoot a revey! This will lead to balls chopping left and right. I did have an issue with it in my last tourny though....However I found out that it WAS NOT the gun but the revey. My revey was sooo old that the terminals ,that connect the 9V batts up, were compressed enough that the revey was turning on and off during the games. Even while this was happening the Mag did not chop a single ball due to the level 10 kit. I could hear the LvL 10 kit activating ( it makes a pufff sound when the bolt can' t come all the way foward because a ball is not completly in the breach. This is the normal release of pressure to prevent the ball chop. Otherwise it has been very reliable. I got it compleatly wet, once at a tourny, at Full Hopper(thunder storms moved in during a game). Still worked fine after that. wasn't really worried though. Would have just switched to manual mode anyway :) The few bad things are the on off pin. That was fixed on the X-Mag. The LvL 10 kit can be tricky to get properly tuned. It will never rip as fast as a DM4 but that's cause it dosen't have trigger bounce! Also during tourneys, the games go to quickly cause you can shoot so many punks out.
Conclusion: It is a very good gun. If you are a front player looking for something light weight you might want a timmy with a 45/45 centerflag tank. It is great for my mid player position and it works well when I play back too. It will rip on the break so you can punk the suckers trying to make it to thier bunkers on the break!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Trunnion Monday, May 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag RT Pro
(Tested) Angel Speed, Angel IR3, Angel A4, pre-2k3 Shocker, 2k3 Shocker, Vision Impulse, Diablo Matrix, Dye Matrix, DM4, Bob Long Defiant, Bob Long Intimidator(old model), Bob Long Intimidator(2002),GX3 Autococker w/ Eblade, Homebuilt Autococker with E2, Evil Omen, 2k2 Bushmaster
Marker Setup: Emag ULE, Xvalve w/Lvl 10, SP Freak kit, Crossfire 45/4500 Nitro tank, Evo II hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Evo II or HALO loader. Depending on what you shoot in a game, you may want a 68/4.5k tank. ULE body
Strengths: -ROF
-Battery is not required for operation
-Shot effeciency(with proper Lvl 10 settings)
Weaknesses: -Trigger adjustment not explained in manual
-Level 10 adjustment time consuming
-Battery pin easily lost
Review: -Level 10: The level 10 mechanical anti-chop system is phenominal. With the proper tweakings, the marker will shoot all but the worst paint without chopping. Since it is mechanical, the anti-chop works even when the battery is removed from the marker.
-Trigger: the trigger is reasonably easy to adjust and can be made very short and light. However, trigger adjustment was not included in my manual(which was two sheets of paper). It was easy to find on the automags.org forums, but it should be included in the manual. The magnets make for a nice trigger pull, and it can be walked easily. UPDATE: Placing shims under the magnets in the body rail to move them further away with seriously reduce the trigger resistance. Any nonmagnetic material can be used, as I now use a small O-ring and folded piece of paper as shims.
-ROF: the board is capped at 20 bps, but that's really not an issue. With my trigger adjusted, I have done 16 bps. That was tested over a chronograph with a bps counter. I outshot my 12v X-board Revvy on several occasions, which is why I bought an Evo II.
-Battery: Many people do not like the battery, but I don't notice it to be honest. It is in a good position as a grip, and it's not uncomfortable to hold. The battery lasts 20,000 shots, and it charges to 80% in an hour, and in four hours will charge to 100% in "trickle charge." This means that the battery has no "memory", so the battery always charges back to it's original capacity. That being said, the battery can only be turned off by a small yellow plastic pin that slides into it. This is not a bad idea in and of itself, but this pin is not attached to anything and thus it is very easily lost(I've lost two).
-Manual Mode: This is, to my knowledge, the only marker that functions without power. Inserting the pin and flipping the mode selector switch to "M" allows the marker to function like a standard RT Pro. The marker also works without the battery attached at all, which means if it dies on you during a day of play, you can play while the battery charges.
-Weight: Weight is a non-issue. A number of people have complained about the weight, but I seriously doubt they've ever actually held one. They just hear that body is steel and freak out. However, my marker with an empty hopper and a full tank weighs less than my friend's IR3 with an empty hopper and full tank. Both hoppers were 12v revvys. UPDATE: The ULE makes a significant weight reduction.
-Effeciency: I get 730 shots to a 68ci/3000 psi tank. That's computed from the shot counter on the board, not from "a hopper and x number of pods."
-Size: the length of the marker is comfortable, especially with a short drop on the tank. However, the height of the marker is somewhat higher than its competition. I would prefer it if the marker was just a little shorter. A ULE centerfeed body drops about 3" off the height(my marker compared to a ULE RT Pro). UPDATE: I now have a ULE body and the height change is very noticable. It is now easier to keep behind a bunker simply because there is less to hide.
-Customer Service: I haven't had any problems with this marker. However, when I did have problems with my old Automag, the customer service at AGD was top notch.
-Price: $800. For a high end tourney marker, this is a good price in my opinion. It can keep up with Angels and the like(though the Matrix tends to outshoot it speedwise), and it blows the electro cockers out of the water.
-Maintenance: Oil through the bottom line or hoses every month or after every few days of play. Field stripping is by degassing, removing one screw, and removing the valve from the rear. The valve requires practically no maintenance, and it is all O-rings which are easily replaced from an RT Pro parts kit.
Conclusion: You get alot for what you pay for. The marker is easy to maintain, customer service is up there, the new 3.2 software is quite good(and 4.0 is coming out soon from what I hear). You can attain a very high ROF with a little trigger tweaking, which involves only two allen wrenches for 3 point adjustment. The battery lasts quite a while, recharges quickly to a usable strength, and the marker doesn't need it anyway. While it is a little tall, the marker is a reasonable weight(comperable to an IR3 Angel with similar set up) and length. There are a few niggling problems (battery pin is easy to lose, level 10 can be a pain to tweak at times, manual is sketchy on certain things), but they do not really detract from the marker overall and they are rather easily fixed. If you want one, get it now, because they're not being made anymore.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 4th, 2005 at 12:48 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Catfish2850 Friday, January 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other high end electros.
Marker Setup: ULE Emag
Halo B
CrossFire 68/4500

Recommended
Upgrades:
Well from the stock emag I would upgrade to all ULE to make gun much lighter.
Strengths: Very reliable and accurate.Gun shoots darts setup properly.
Weaknesses: Maybe the weight.Just add ULE goodies and your set.
Review: First off if you have never had a mag with level 10,you don't know what you are missing.I have NEVER chopped paint with this gun.The trigger is very adjustable to anyone's taste.It has manual and electronic trigger options.So if your battery goes dead or something happens to the electronics just flick the switch and never miss a beat.Gun has a nickel metal hydride battery that can last up to 20,000 shots per charge.Overall profile is nice for anyone wanting a small profile gun.Gun can be lightened by adding all the ULE parts that you can to reduce the weight.Performance wise the gun shoots darts and is accurate.Over the period of time using the Emag I have had no problems at all.No ball breaks what so ever,which is a big plus in my book.Maintenance is simple.Just add some auto lube to marker before and after use and your set.Overall im pleased with the Emag for durability and accuracy.
Conclusion: Great marker for performance and durability.Recommend to anyone.Usually I don't rank markers a perfect 10 because nothing is perfect.But since I never had one problem from my Emag its getting a solid 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dave103076 Thursday, January 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulses, RT's, Angels, and Bko's.......there is no comparison, this gun by far beats them all.
Marker Setup: AGD E-Mag, level 10, 3.2 software, warpfeed with evo2 hopper, shocktech drop forward with on/off, 3000psi 48ci n2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
level 10 is a must!!! not just for this gun, for any AGd gun, level 10 is by far the best investment you will ever make. Also, you need a fast loader, i recommend warpfeed or a Halo, also the new 3.2 software wont hurt either at a $20 price tag :)
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Crisp trigger pull, great overall feel
Weaknesses: Heavy, high priced, rof could be higher
Review: The gun itself out of the box shoots ropes, but when brought to high rates of fire for long periods of time, you will see why level 10 is a must, since installing mine, i've fired over 15k shots and never broken another ball. The main body of this gun looks great, and like any AGd gun, it is basically indestructable. Cleaning and maintenance is a breeze, although AGd could have given out a better owners manuel with it. With warpfeed, hopper, tank, and all on gun this gun is like carrying a bag of bricks, so a shoulder sling or arm stock might benefit some, or lifting alot of weights lol. But even with all of that, i havent shot a gun yet that surpasses the performance of this gun....extremely accurate, even with stock barrel, rof is fast enough to keep you kicking butt in alot of speedball fields, and reliability is not even a concern, this gun is always ready to go and keeps on throwing ropes when needed.
Conclusion: I highly recommend buying this gun....AGD has built another fine tuned killing machine that just keeps on going. Not to mention, in my opinion, AGD has THE best customer service around, any questions you have, they answer...no doubt. This gun will surely bring mid level players up a notch and improve all players confidence who use it, i know it has mine. We all strive to be the best, and AGD has sold us nothing short of that on this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BourneKiller Thursday, December 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have extensively used nearly every high-end gun, and while many come close, I have to say that the Emag, coming stock with the anti-chop Level 10 bolt, and an incredibly consistent inline regulator, very low profile, and the 2nd lowest ball pressure (2nd only to Matrices) really stands out.
Marker Setup: Emag w/ Level 10
Chrome Warp Feed Left Body
CP 2-Piece Kit
Warp Feed w/ 12V Mod and on/off switch
EvoII w/ Y-Board
Center Flag DynaFlow 68/4500
Custom Products Lightning Drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you got an E-mag used, and it doesn't have Level 10 (LX), then I would strongly recommend that. With LX, it is unbeatable, but without LX, you run the risk of a chop. Unless it's very finely tuned, that may happen more often than you'd like, and the unfortunate thing about Automags in general and E-Mags in specific is that, due to the bolt system, a chop will get paint shell and paint all over the bolt, spring, breech, and possibly the power tube. Needless to say, this will turn any idea of accuracy into crap, and you'll need to spend at least 1 FULL minute getting it all clean... You rarely have one full minute on the playing field.

Other than LX, you have the option of getting a ULE Body (cocker threads, and very light) and upgrading some cosmetic things, and you could get an X-valve (much lighter, and made of aluminum). However, I would only recommend LX. The rest are personal preference only.
Strengths: Very consistent regulation (280 280 280 280)
High quality (AGD)
2 star warranty system
Weaknesses: The weight - Easily solved by getting a ULE Body and an X-valve
Review: I was extremely impressed with my E-mag. Like I said above, the very high-quality inline regulator ensures consistency. In addition to that, it is a very low-kick marker, and very low-profile, in addition to being extremely fast, and quick recharging (26cps without measureable shootdown). The latest software available for it allows up to 24bps in semi.

AGD has always made incredibly high-quality products, and with the warranty system of "Stars," it's very nice to be able to send in your mag for a free rebuilt (redeemable by one star). The E-mag has two stars.

Easily adjustable trigger, very light pull, and doesn't change with use. You do not have to constantly keep adjusting it, and fine tuning it.

Very low cyclic mass - Very low kick. I can put the E-mag's back right up against my mask and when I fire, I will barely feel the kick. I could put it to my bare forehead, or temple, or anything really, and not suffer any pain, nor feeling at all.

Very small profile - One tube gun means that it's very short (heightwise) and it also is very short from front to back.

With the addition of LX, this gun is unstoppable!
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun for any player who wants to spend the money. I would nearly demand that the tournament player use an E-mag, due to the extremely high qualties that it embodies.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zackzel Thursday, December 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never used anything like it.
Marker Setup: E-mag with level 10 antichop bolt installed, black ule body, 14" dye ultralight, halo B, and a 68/4500 air america the reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
level 10 kit, and ule body, and if you have the money I would put an x-valve in it.
Strengths: Insanely fast, simple design, and AGD tech support
Weaknesses: cost, but its well worth it
Review: Lets just start off with saying this thing is awsome, I've used alot of markers over the years and this is by far the best i've used, It had some problems with ball chopping before I installed the level 10, haven't chopped a ball since though. I have a ule body on mine and it elimates the goofy barrels with the wire nubbins it is so much nicer to just be able to unscrew your barrel. Another when of the outstanding features of the agd markers is that you just have to unscrew one pin and the valve will slide out of the marker making for very easy maintanance.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this to any one thinking about getting a high end paintball gun. With the speed and simplicity of this gun you can go wrong buying one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

biohunter Sunday, November 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: ULE Body, Scepter 3 Piece Barrel 16", KAPP Cradel, Center Flag 68/4500 HPA Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
X-Vavle, ULE Body (Less weight), HPA Tank, Good Barrel
Strengths: This gun is fast and accurate with a 16 inch barrel its a great gun
Weaknesses: Its heavy and the price may be discouraging. At times a gas hog.
Review: This gun is very fast and with a great barrel system you can easily take someone out across the Field also you will never break paint. Any one who likes Mags will love this one its great on paint. This gun also comes standered with the Level 10 kit so no need to worry about installing it. though i would put out a little more money and get a X - Vavle
Conclusion: overall this is a great gun worthy of getting if u like range and speed it shoots 16pbs out of the box and with an x - valve will shoot 26pbs. The gun is very original looking too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8nter2003 Monday, October 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
xmag,
Marker Setup: e-mag, nitro,NW drop, 2 piece all-american
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing cause its an amazing gun the way it is.
Strengths: rate of fire, no chopping,accuracy.
Weaknesses: heavy
Review: this gun is better than any angel and you should but it when you get the chance. i love this gun. um. get it. is good. i like it a lot. use had always be a lot wow awesome sweet cool. get this gun it is the best for the money. its sweet.
Conclusion: this gun is amazing., andi would reccomend it to any one. OWNAGE
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media