paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag

Airgun Designs E-Mag Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs E-Mag

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs E-Mag
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Its trigger is actuated by magnets, it has a
dual selector (switches from Electric to Manual
operation), operates with 18 volt rechargeable battery or
2 9 volt batteries, L.E.D. display features countdown
timer, shot counter, plus many other features, and it was
tested beyond 20 shots per second without shootdown but
is restricted to 13 shots per second (to comply with current industry standards.) Comes in power feed (for use with Warp Feed)
or vertical feed.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs E-Mag is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
abunkerer Tuesday, September 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ULE Automag with x valve & level 10 (my trusty backup mag)
Armotech Mars evo (e spyder clone, dosen't come close)
ICD B2K2 (breaks easily, feels cheap)
Vision imp (cheaply made)
Marker Setup: ule e-mag
stiffi - lightest barrel, quiet, very accurate
evo2
Dye Throttle preset 71/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you have an older emag (pre 2003) then it might be a little heavy
Lightweight parts are available, can make it lighter than the new X-Mag
Strengths: Highest rates of fire, fastest recharging valve
Level 10 = no chops
AGD = reliability & C.S.
Weaknesses: Emags need the Level 10 upgrade, the new ones come with it stock.
Review: Im a long time Automag user, (since 1994) and I have never had any problems with my mag. AGD makes amazingly reliable products and the E-Mag is possibly the most reliable electronic marker available. It can fire 20,000 shots on a single charge, and if you accidentally spill acid all over your electronics and fry the board then you can switch to manual mode and keep playing all day long!
The new ULE bodies are awesome! They make the E-mag lighter, better looking, and more accurate due to Angel ball detents and cocker threaded barrels (the old AGD twist lock may cause the barrel to move a little, meaning less consistency/acuracy) the new cocker threaded bodies make sure that you have a solid shooting platform.
Also the new X valve is a stock feature on the emag, it's all aluminum so it makes the mag even lighter. Also new for the stock emag is the Level 10 bolt upgrade, this is a bolt that will bounce off of paint instead of chop through it.
I have my trigger adjusted so that I can walk it very nicely, high rates of fire are easy to achieve, and the balls seem to land right on top of eachother...right in the middle of the guys goggles im shooting at.
Conclusion: Emags are great guns, X-mags are better but the differences are almost insignificant, performance wise they are the same. Performance wise all high end guns are pretty much the same...( all guns have to crono at the same fps right? )The e-mag is just more reliable, a lot more reliable. Plus if something does happen to go wrong with your mag Airgun Designs will usually fix it very quickly...unlike some companies that take months to return your gun, because they have to go to england, and may end up in the bermuda triangle...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

R-mag Sunday, August 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing, E-mags or there own breed. but a matrix is a close to an example as I can come, Just because of the lack of "kick" and the bolt pressure if you have an lpr on a trix.
Marker Setup: E-mag / lvl 10 / cp flame drop w/on off / HALO B etc etc...who ever reads these anyways.
Recommended
Upgrades:
level 10 is the first thing you should buy. This marker is pretty average until you get a level 10.
Strengths: lack of kick. Accuracy, SPEED, hybrid mode, reliabilty, comfort, peace of mind (always works)
Weaknesses: little on the heavy side, eats a little more gas than normal.
Review: Alright, to begin with I never liked mags. Then I shot an rt and was hooked. But as soon as I bought my e-mag I didn't like it. It chopped paint, it kicked and I couldn't hit what i was aiming at cause it jumped around when I tried to shoot fast. on top of that even when i concentrated I couldn't shoot above 11bps. I was all set to sell it, then I was convinced to buy a level 10 kit. Best 80 bucks I've ever spent. I've never broken paint once since I bought it. The kick went down to practialy to nothing. shooting a matrix side by side the kick was the same. but I still couldn't shoot very fast. That was becuase I was being stupid and never messed with the trigger settings. Once I took al but one magnet, and put a little o-ring under it, I can rip faster than any marker cept the trix. which shoots pretty much the same speed. At this point my marker is very very fast, doesnt kick and I have the accuracy and speed that I makes me feel like I can reach out and touch someone. I can easily reach the back bunker with as many balls as I fancy. Long strings are easy to come by. I went from 1k paintballs per outing to 1-2 cases. I'll never sell my baby. Never base your assumptions on first impressions. Once tuned properly this gun ROLLS!
Conclusion: read the main review. You should try one before you buy it, but they roll no matter who you are or what you shoot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kennyb23 Monday, June 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
x-mag, autocockers, varoius angels
Marker Setup: e-mag, black ule body, 114 armageddon, halo b, dye ultralight, empire drop forward, no lvl10 ( very problematic)
Recommended
Upgrades:
good barrel halo b is a must
Strengths: accurate, far better than an angel, fast, reliable
Weaknesses: some say weight but i don't think so, other than that nothing
Review: this is a great marker, fast, quiet compaired to angels, accurate, i was impressed by how accurate it actually was, i have had no problem with the cursed ball chopping usually connected to an e-mag without level 10. even if your battery dies you still have the fastest rechargeing marker in the world
Conclusion: great go to marker, no need for a backup, personally i would not suggest the level 10 upgrade as mine never seems to work properly, if it did i would give it a 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FalloutMan Sunday, June 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rat Impulse Cocker standard mag soon a GZ
Marker Setup: AGD Emag
Aluminum Slug
14" freak(aa front)
shochtech on off and crop
PMI 68/45 tank
wdp lok soks
Level 10

12volt rev(however i have a halo which caught on fire, which im gunna get fixed then get an egg for it)
Recommended
Upgrades:
level 10 if you dont have it and aluminum body of some sort
Strengths: Very fast
light
looks nice
Weaknesses: people always wanna touch it(seriously thats my only complaint)
Review: This is simply the best gun i have ever used. every time i use it heads turn and the "holy"'s and such start flying out. today i got to use it after getting it fixed(im an idiot and managed to rip off one of the wires from the solinoid trying to install a pair of new grips)

simply its heaven, im taking a break from paintball for 2 months so i can pool some cash get my gun milled get all the stuff done with these things so i dont have to ghetto mod a ball detent in(i made one out of a tag thing and taped it onto the gun)

all i can say is the trigger is short and lighter then anything i have used and still has a quick return to it, and you can easily flip it to hybrid and manual if you want(however i dont like hybrid and manual is faster then electronic because of sweet spotting)
Conclusion: plain and simple this is the first gun i have ever loved that doesnt have a problem
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gotzriceboy Friday, June 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, nothing compares to this gun
Marker Setup: e mag
14in All American Barrel
Ricochet AK
45/4500 PMI tank
custom parts flame drop forward
on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel and fast agitated hopper
Strengths: this gun is very fast and pretty accurate
Weaknesses: it is a really big gas hog, and is kind of heavy
Review: This gun is a really great gun if you have the money for it. Its very fast if you take out the magnets located in the gun. The trigger pull is lighter than most angels if the magnets are out. You will need a really fast hopper to keep up with this gun, if you have the money get warp feed. This gun is pretty accurate till what i have seen. This gun is really durable, I have dropped it a couple of times and nothing has happened. I would choose this gun over any angel.
Conclusion: You should get this if you have the money. There is not many weaknesses and it is one of the best gun out there to get.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lee101 Tuesday, June 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Classic Automag, RT, Angel
Marker Setup: Virtical Feed body.
Centerflag With Dropforeward
revolution
Recommended
Upgrades:
*Halo B
*Level 10 is a must
*New barrel
Strengths: Insane Rate of Fire (easy trigger bounce)
Small and Compact
Reliable
Weaknesses: Heavy as Mags Go
Paintball Blender
On/Off pin easliy lost
Stock barrel stinks
Review: Well I bought this gun before the level 10 or the Halo B was out. Sadly I chopped so much (by so much I mean multuple times every game) with it that I let it go. I am a real mag lover and it was not an easy decision. At the time virtical feed barrels were difficult to get a hold of too. Thus I learned to hate the crown point stock barrel provided.

Huge progress has been made with the Emag since I let it go. Probably the most important is the creation of the Level 10.

YOU MUST BUY THE LEVEL 10!!!!
MUST BUY!!!!!

Now they make hoppers that can keep up with the Emag, Cool, I wish I still had the gun.

Battery 8
The first thing I noticed about the Emag was the battery pack on the front of the gun. I looks pretty uncomfortable but actually was not too bad. I was a little heavy and jigled around a little. The battery pack must be removed to rechang every time. This was annoying because my compressed setup got in the way. The removable battery is a good idea if a secondary battery wasn't so expensive.

Charger 10
I had some trouble chargin the battery the first couple of time, I got allot of half changes that didn't last the day. After several uses the charger seemed to work better, weard. A nice feature about the AGD charger is that it can take a simple 12v wall wart plug. No need to buy an expensive wall to car adapter so you can charge the battery inside.

Grip Frame 10
The Emag is the fat heavy grip frame. I is heavy because it has an over sized Selenoide to pull the mechanical trigger. This both good and bad. Bad because it is heavy and makes the power requirements higher. Good because it makes it more reliable than other electronic grips. The frame also has a LED display, this is easy to read in all conditions. Not sexy but it works well.

Triger/Modes 10
The magnit trigger is different. I liked it. Electro mode was nice and snappy, easy to shoot fast when learned. Hybrid mode... "the thing shoot on it's own". Manual mode shoots just like an RT but the double trigger is very nice. I used manual several times when I first got the gun. charging problem.

Body 8
Just like any other mag, rugged/heavy. Well not so rugged when you friend picks it up by the barrel and drops it on the feed neck. I had the polished body, it quicly lost it's original shine because of numerous small scratches. Also my friend dropped it and the feed neck broke off. Guns get abused and they should handel it.
Conclusion: Overall I like this gun. It should be very useable now that the level 10 and halo B are out. The gun shoot pleanty fast, plays tight, performs right. It is bassically an RT but electoronic. I think the new aluminum X mag should be a much better replacement, but the Emag is a solid(heavy) gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NCpaintballer Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vision Impulse, Angel LCD, Bushmaster, Various Autocockers (electro & manual), Automag 68, Automag RT
Marker Setup: Emag with Level 10, Blade Trigger, Dye Boomstick
Vision Impulse w/ powerlyte scepter, Blade Trigger, Palmer Rock lpr, ND valve, ram, hammer, and bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10, Blade Trigger, Nice barrel, No-Rise or ULE body accompanied with a high end loader (egg/halo/warp)
Strengths: -Fast
-Accurate
-Easy on Paint
-Consistant
-Low Kick
-Small Profile
-Reliable
-Solid Construction
-Great Warranty
Weaknesses: -Weight (I've had worse guns)
-Looks (X-mag & ULE bodies fix this)
Review: I have shot many high end guns in my career and after each one I try I keep going back to my E-mag. I have shot and/or owned Vision Impulses, Timmys, Angels, Autococker (electro and manual), Bushies, and mech 'mags. My favorite so far has been my E-mag. I play tourney ball and some of the characteristics I look for in a gun are different than what others look for. While it is not as flashy as most other high end markers (the intro. of the X-mag and ULE bodies makes them look as good as they perform) it has many of the strengths I look for in a gun:

-Soft of Paint: The advent of the Level 10 is one reason I began liking my E-mag so much. I play back and this is one of the most important factors to me. Every second I am not shooting I am letting the other team bear down on my front players. As long as I am up shooting I keep them down for my teammates to advance.

-Reliability: I have been using my E-mag in tournaments for about a year and a half now and it has never let me down during a game. In the rare occasions where I am running, sliding or diving it has held up beautifully. The only unexpected maintenance it has seen was a slight tweaking of the Level 10 after about 6 months. This caused a slight leak down the barrel but the gun still shot. A 5 min part swap remedied the problem.

-Speed: This is also a big factor to me. While not the most important thing I look for it is very important nonetheless. The 3 way adjustable trigger makes for a very light and crisp pull. The blade trigger added a good 3-4 bps to my ROF and I would make it a highly recommended upgrade to your gun. I can keep up or exceed the Timmys, Angels, and Impulses out on the field.

-Accuracy: My E-mag has been one of the most accurate and consistent guns I have owned. With a little knowledge and some slight upkeep you can keep your mag shooting very flat over the chrono. I have gone strings of +/- 1 with a good paint & barrel match. The 1oz Lvl 10 Superbolt makes the gun have very little kick so the gun stays still when shooting long strings of paint. When I bought my Impulse after using my mag for so long I was amazed at the difference in the way the two shot. Sweetspotting became much more difficult when using my Impy than my E-mag.

-Low Profile: The more guns I shoot the more important this has become for me. Even playing back on the small 5 man fields snap shooting is a very important skill. The sleek design of the E-mag makes sight acquisition very fast and easy.

Warranty: I have had good experience with Airguns Designs when it comes to Warranty work. While I have never had to send my E-mag in for repairs or maintenance I have dealt with them with some of the Mechanical mags I had owned in the past.
Conclusion: If you are looking for the same characteristics as I am when it comes to choosing a gun I would definitely recommend the E-mag as the high end gun of choice. It does not have some of the "hype" that other high end guns have but it is a very solid choice in today's crowded market. I was slightly wary when I first purchased my E-mag but it has made me a true believer in this great marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PLAUGE_Bardsley Thursday, April 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
mini mags, angels, cockers, epics, bushmaster, u name it i shot it..
Marker Setup: E mag
Evo 2 loader
powerlite speedline 2 piece barrel
Ule body
68 crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Milling done to body
Strengths: Rof is amazing.
Weaknesses: Gas Hog.
Review: I love my emag.. i originally got it modded with a warp and everyhing intelifeeded and capped off at 16 bps. very fast . its very compact and i play front so it makes good for me.
LISTEN this gun rips! there is nothing like it! It has only chopped 1 ball the whole time i have ever owned this! i have custom milling doen to the whole body so this gun is very light and now is no trouble running to the 50 with.
Conclusion: I
think this is a awsome gun for anyone who likes to play
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

athomas Saturday, April 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, matrix
Marker Setup: Emag with level 10 bolt, warp feed, revolution hopper, PE 88ci air tank, Equation multiple switch barrel system.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10 bolt
Strengths: You never chop a ball ever. It is very compact. It never breaks down.
Weaknesses: I don't think there is a weakness.
Review: I love this gun. The rate of fire for this marker is amazing. It can get a full weekend of tournament play on a battery charge and then some, so you save money on batteries. You never chop a ball ever. It is very compact. It never breaks down. It requires very little general servicing to keep it working at peak performance. It gets a lot of attention on the field when I play. Between games you will be the center of attention with a gun like this, especially if they have to face it on the field. You can't beat AGD for quality and reliability and customer service. The emag is just another example of this.

Oh yeah, the trigger pull is incredible with the magnetic activation and return.
Conclusion: Get the gun if you want to rule the paintball field.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 12th, 2003 at 4:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MrSpooky Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tricked RT Classic, STO's
Marker Setup: LX E-mag, Boomstick, Warp Feed(Modded), ULE Body and RAIL on the WAY!
Recommended
Upgrades:
LVL 10 MANDITORY!, Warp Feed, ULE Body/Rail
Strengths: Insanely Fast and Accurate
Weaknesses: Weighs a "tad" much
Review: The E-mag is incredible! Having a duel type marker is unbelievable! Insanely fast trigger (thank you magnets) and Hybrid mode kicks ass. The only thing is that the weight adds up fast when you have a full tank, warp feed and a hopper full of paint, but its nothing to really complain too much about. I dont find it to be inconvienient to have some weight to it, the only thing i would find crappy is if you didnt have a lvl 10 installed. then you are in trouble.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this product to anyone. its durable, very fast, easy to work and repair and just a bichin' gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 9th, 2003 at 2:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media