paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra ProShield Mask / JT Spectra ProShield Mask / JT Spectra ProShield Mask

JT Spectra ProShield Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra ProShield Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra ProShield Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Spectra ProShield system features the hard plastic Proshield mask, the original and most popular of the Spectra family. This system is designed for those who prefer the protection of a rigid mask. spectra goggle systems represent the most advanced family of modular protection available for the paintball industry. This premiere family goggle system offers 260 degrees of peripheral vision, superior fog elimination, comfort foam and a host of luxury extras, making your choices unlimited. The ProShield is the safest protection for any age or playing level.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra ProShield Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
2nwyka Thursday, February 17th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Java Guardian
Brass Eagle Deluxe (Never again)
Visble Impact Goggles system
Marker Setup: WGP '2K AutoCocker with VL Revolution X,
VL Triton II with 12" Carbon-fiber barrel
Strengths: Cheap
Sturdy
Comfortable
Adjustable
Weaknesses: Poorly ventilated
Lower visibility that others
Bright around lens
Review: I got this mask in a player's pack along with my Triton II and I knew nothing about masks. I got it home to test it and was very happy to find that it was fully adjustable and had a good chin strap. When I went to play, and because at the time I lived in a humid climate, it fogged horribly. It also was hard to breathe because the bottom of the mask didn't have very good ventilation holes and I ended up re-breathing the air. That was the only complaint with this mask and I was able to cut out pieces of the foam to allow more ventilation in the lens. It was the most comfortable mask to take headshots in I've ever owned and way very easy to clean. This mask is a very good buy and, after some mods, is able to compete with some high level masks.
Conclusion: Great mask, not the best, but still good. I'll give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shaeone Monday, July 12th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VForce Grill mask
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom PRO w/ Cyclone feeder, M-16 stock style, 12" barrel
Strengths: Cheap
Nice fit to all faces
High coverage
High vision angle
No fogging (thermal lens)
Weaknesses: Difficult to take to pieces
Difficult to clean the lens
Review: The mask is confortable, but the worst thing it have is the assembly system in the lens. There are a piece that "fits" with pressure in a hole, but it's too dificult to get in and out from there. The lens have two layers. The interior one is the piece that gives the thermal propertie to the len, so it's important to have it in a nice condition.
Conclusion: Nice mask to recreational paintball and people who are getting the first steps in Paintball, but I recomend to look for another mask. It's very difficult to clean the lens because the JT assembly system is a design fail. I think JT were not too lucid when they were designing it...
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Guido666 Thursday, May 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Elite "Whippersnapper" (Owned)
I've tried numerous others
Marker Setup: 1999 Smart Parts Shocker Sport 4x4 S/F (S/N: 001830)
Strengths: Peripheral vision
Comfortable foam
Hard ears and face
Visor
Optional fan
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: Can fog/retain moisture in goggle
Face shield is fairly wide
Review: Background:
I have had my Spectra ProShield goggles/mask since it came out in the mid-'90s (the exact same pair). They have served me well through literally thousands of paintball games, for the last decade and a half. The only things they have ever needed was a single ziptie to hold together a crack where the ear shield bolts to the face shield. In the early 2000's I swapped the original lens for a thermal lens. These things are tough, reliable, protective, and worth every penny.

Advantages:
- The foam on JT Spectra goggles is the single most comfortable foam I have ever seen or used. PERIOD. The foam is so soft and plush that you would probably mistake it for t-shirt material if you felt it with your eyes closed. It absorbs sweat extremely well. The foam also forms a complete loop around the goggle, leaving no gaps for paint or debris to enter the goggle. (These include the Flex8 and other masks that use the Spectra goggles.)
- Peripheral vision is very good. I can't really see the edges of the mask (side-to-side) so any more peripheral vision allowed would not be needed.
- The strap has beads of silicone on it, that let it stay in place well.
- The face and ear shields are hard plastic. That has obvious protective benefits. It also has the side effect benefit of being sturdy, and not deforming when stored in a tub with gear piled on it.
- Comes with a visor, and has on optional fan.
- You can get these things for as little as $30 now!

Disavantages:
- Because the foam goes all the way around, the goggles probably trap in some extra heat. With the non-thermal lens anti-fog was mandatory or you would experience severe fogging. With the thermal lens anti-fog may be necessary in very hot humid environments.
- The thermal lens is not sealed all the way around between the two layers of the lens, so you can't submerge it to wash it. It also means you must take it out of the goggle to wash the whole mask well.
- The face shield on the mask is fairly wide, and made of sturdy plastic. It probably presents a 1" wider target than necessary, and paint is likely to break on the rigid plastic.
- The goggle strap is difficult to adjust to fit very small people. My wife is tiny, and about 5'2", and I have to take the strap out of the mask, adjust it small, then put it back in because the adjustment buckles need to go past the holes the strap goes through.
Conclusion: Buy this mask! It's a classic, and has stood the test of time for good reason. You will love the comfort of the foam. These now cost about $30, and you could buy a few of these for the costs of other masks. They come in black or green, and will last a long time if taken care of.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

triggerfingers Monday, December 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rentals -(shivers)-
Invader- not even close, just a little better protection.
Marker Setup: Smart parts Vibe
Invert halo Too
3000 psi hpa tank
Strengths: Awesome vision, great ventilation almost everything!
Weaknesses: None
Review: This mask is great! Awesome vision, great ventilation, super comfortable, just pure awesomeness. If you are low on cash, this is a great buy, but by all means if you have 20 extra bucks or so, get the thermal version. Its also very customizable, so you'll look just as cool as you feel! (man, that was lame....) So definitely go buy it , its more than worth it. Only one thing, if you get hit in the mouth section, and your mouth is open....... Lets just say it wont taste good.... Anyway, go buy it!
Conclusion: Awesome product, totally worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blwisianboy8969 Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI - Fog Alot
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Response Trigger
Cyclone Feed
Stock 11" Werks Barrel (NEEDS TO BE UPGRADED)
Strengths: Doesn't Fog
Tight Fit
Breaths Good
Cheap ($20)
Weaknesses: I didn't get a Visor
Foam Falls Out
Review: This mask is the ultimate for a cheap price. The weaknesses I mentioned are minor! In fact I even took out the foam pieces because the mask wrapped around my head better. It does kind of stink that you dont get a visor but I only paid 20 bucks and when you only play woods ball the sun usually doesnt get in your eyes anyway. The mask fits perfect around my head and never moves and also it breaths really well so you never get hot. The mask never fogs either. I even tested the mask by putting it in my freezer and when I took it out I breathed hot air into the lense. It fogged but w/in 5 seconds it was back to clear. So I guess the only bad thing is that because it breathes so well and you don't get a visor you tend to get paint on the top of your head and through the holes on the side. But o well paint washes off. I would rather be comfortable!
Conclusion: I would definitely buy this product. It is cheap and works perfect. The only downfall for mine was that I didn't get a visor but I usually play with a hood or bandana anyway so it is perfect. Buy it! You will save money and won't be disappointed. I give it a 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Reaper_de_Grim Friday, April 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Masks:
Brass Eagle; Scott; Proteus, Flex
Strengths: 260 degree Anti-fog lens; extremely comfortable; can wear with glasses; multiple lens selection;
Weaknesses: Lenses may be difficult for some people to change.
Review: I've use this mask for over 7 years and I like it so much I now have 3.
One for woodsball - clear / goggle skinz
One for night games - Yellow lens
One for spare

This mask is comfortable enough for extended wear. The 260 degree lens does not interfere with peripheral vision. One of the only masks that has room for glasses to be worn comfortably. Hard shell construction keeps the hits on the mask not on your face.
This mask is so comfortable and the vision range so excellent you can actually forget you're wearing it. Its not flashy but if you're looking for a serious paintball mask this is the one.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to any one who needs a quality mask. Disregard the price. You can pay more but you can't buy better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

suffieldpb11 Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None....only mask owned
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix
acs bolt
14" progressive barrel
3000 psi pure energy nitrogen
VL evolution hopper
sweet spot trigger
Strengths: Never had a problem fogging
Weaknesses: Hard to clean some areas, hard to take apart
Review: Ive had the same mask for the entire time ive been playing paintball. this mask doesn't fog up, even when the weather promotes fogging. many of the people i play with had problems with their masks fogging but i still never have. the only real drawbacks of the mask are that if you want to take it apart to clean it or whatever, its hard to but back together. also paint can get in spots which are hard to clean.
Conclusion: Its an excellent mask for someone who doesn't wanna match perfectly in a uniform as it has bland styling....but its simplicity makes it better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mark lanski Friday, February 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
idk
Marker Setup: promaster
Strengths: No fog
40$
protection
Weaknesses: None
Review: I used this make all day, it did not fog at all, i like this mask because it is very cheap in cost and it comes in olive, this is a good mask. there was a blue dog outside, it can fly to, dogs are better than cats. There is a ganster. I think they make you write to much in these reviews.

edit still no fog, i rush everymap too. to solve the ear piece problem i recomend bike helment pads. i did it and it works great



It doesnt deflect paintballs, if you get shot in the face you should be out anyways.
Conclusion: Get it, you won't regret it. i dont recomend the nvader unless your a small kid
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 20th, 2010 at 8:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

degrafex Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other JT Masks, Scott Masks, Brass Eagle crap...
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98, Ricochet AK loader, 72ci 3000psi Pure Energy, JJ Ceramic, BT Apex
Strengths: Still looks great even though old, functional visor, no fog.
Weaknesses: My strap doesn't always stay tight
Review: I bought this mask about 5 or 6 years ago after getting tired of the amazingly cheap and crappy Brass Eagle ones that they sold at walmart back then. Now 6 years later, i still have it and it's as good as the day i bought it. Protects well from head shots all around, and has a great field of vision. The visor works great in reducing glare off of your shield that is so visible when you play woodsball. But the 2 biggest selling points of it are the shield and price. The thermal lense is amazing, i have never once fogged since i've owned it. I was actually shooting at my brother and watched him duck behind a tree to take his mask off to wipe the fog out... i couldnt believe he was actually fogging up since i never have. Also, the price is great. i paid like 65 back in the day, but have seen it for 45 nowadays
Conclusion: Definately reccomend, great product that doesnt fog. give it a 9 b/c nothing is perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gun_boy123 Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT nVADER mask
VForce profiler mask
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 w/ Double trigger
Extreme Rage Razzor 14" barrel
Strengths: Durable
easy to take apart
kinda flexible
good padding around the eyes
looks good
Weaknesses: Bad ear padding
Review: This is an awesome durable mask made by JT. I get a lot of bounces off of the visor on the top. It comes in green so you can be camo like me. its a good price too I got mine on sale for $59.99 CAN reg. $79.99 CAN. The design of it is so cool too.
Conclusion: All around this is a good mask buy it!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 28th, 2006 at 5:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media