paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra ProShield Mask / JT Spectra ProShield Mask / JT Spectra ProShield Mask

JT Spectra ProShield Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra ProShield Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra ProShield Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Spectra ProShield system features the hard plastic Proshield mask, the original and most popular of the Spectra family. This system is designed for those who prefer the protection of a rigid mask. spectra goggle systems represent the most advanced family of modular protection available for the paintball industry. This premiere family goggle system offers 260 degrees of peripheral vision, superior fog elimination, comfort foam and a host of luxury extras, making your choices unlimited. The ProShield is the safest protection for any age or playing level.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra ProShield Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
pbagent Sunday, March 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT nVADER
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath, ACP Delrin bolt & pin, Evil Driver, Endo Cradle, Smart Parts on/off, dyed blue grips
Strengths: Great field of view, comfortable, lots of options for the lens
Weaknesses: Visor could provide more protection, difficult to swap lens out
Review: I played with a JT Spectra Proshield mask for the last two years. At the end of last year, the inside "lens" started to crack. When I get a lot of paint on my mask, I take the lens out to clean the whole mask well. Taking the lens out and putting it back in can be a bit of a chore, and I think that is where some of the cracking came from.

The chin strap is a nice added feature, and the foam around the lens is very comfortable. I think my mask used to have foam back near the ear covers, but it fell off long ago. I have not missed it.

The field of view on this mask is great. One nice thing about the Spectra mask is that you can get almost any lens you want for it. Tints in a variety of colors, fades etc. Prices for the replacement lens are anywhere from $15.00 to $35.00 depending on what you want.

There first thing I do not like about the mask is that the visor does not provide much protection for the top of your head, and it does not block the sun very well. I am considering getting a faded lens to help with the sun.

The only other thing I do not like is that the profile is kind of wide, and it seems to leave my neck exposed a little more than I would like.

I do wear glasses, and have had no problems wearing glasses with this mask.

Overall, it has been a great mask!
Conclusion: This is a good mask for the price, which is in the middle of the pack. It should last a long time for you, and you should always be able to find a replacement lens for it.

Aside from the difficulty of changing the lens, I wish the visor covered a little more of the front of the head. I have only taken two good hits to the head right above the visor, but I definitely remember them.

Great mask for somebody who wants to upgrade from a starter mask or a first purchase for somebody with a decent (but not huge) budget.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 5th, 2006 at 9:50 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PaintBALLr7707 Saturday, March 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
only mask ive used
Marker Setup: SP Ion
- 14" Sly Stealth Barrel
- Eclipse QEV
- Techt L6 Bolt
- Empire Reloader B
- Trinity On/Off Valve
- SP Q-Lock Feed Neck

Back Up is a Spyder Imagine with a 14" J&J Pro 1 Barrel
Strengths: Hardly fogs and the price is great
Weaknesses: None Anymore
Review: I have to say I love this mask, it was cheep and its the only mask ive used other then rental ones. so i dont have much to compare it too. I just finally found something to write a review on, cause im new and not rich lol. It was $50 when I bought it like a year ago, I think its about $30 now.

it hardly fogs up, i played in maryland with like 90-100% humidity still it rarely fogged. the only problem I have is the two rubber pads in the back are extreamly hard and the start to press into the area behind your ears, after awhile it starts to hurt but its not umbarable. and this could just be because of the shape of my head who knows.

the slight problem with the pads is not enough to make me buy a new mask so i dont think it will be for anyone else.

UPDATE: I bought another pair of these and JT has changed the rubber pads with soft foam ones, so they are prefectly comfortable for me
Conclusion: Great mask and great price too
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 6th, 2006 at 7:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

timthedrummer Friday, February 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some crappy rental mask
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
PMI 72/3000
Ricochet Apache
Strengths: NO FOG!!!
durable
stays on your face
Weaknesses: Wide profile
Sits far from your chin
Review: I got an olive colored version of these goggles (works great with camo) and I love them!!! They do have a wide profile, however, and i lost the foam pieces that came with it to put by my ears, so it starts to hurt my ears after a while. But they do have a great field of vision. The olive is also fairly dark, unlike it shows it in the pictures. The accessories that are also available with this mask are great, like the sport-comm system and the colored lenses. THEY WILL NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES FOG!!! you can breathe as hard as you want, and they will not fog. Nothing will make this mask fog up. Nothing. End of story.

Edit- I have been into paintball more, and I have started to notice how wide this mask really is. It is hard to snapshoot around bunkers, and the nose/mouth/chin protector part of the mask is a distance of about three fingers (side by side) from your chin. For speedball, this is not a good mask, size really doesn't matter in woodsball, but I play speedball, and low profile is key for a frontman (such as myself).
Conclusion: Get it for woodsball, don't get it for speedball. A good, inexpensive speedball mask would be the VForce Vantage thermal goggles ($24.99 on actionvillage.com).
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 25th, 2006 at 6:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

imhotep29897 Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proflex (same thing, only with the flex part)
Proteus (nice, but i like my proflex better)
Proto Switch (nice mask)
Crappy starter masks
Marker Setup: Mokal fokus 2
Rocket valve
Assault block
Dye mini gauge
Shocktech regulator
WGP black magic drop forward
Viewloader revolution w/ x-board
Crossfire 45/4500
Empire 4pc Barrel kit
NDZ on/off
EVX2 trigger frame
Strengths: Foam
Spectra Lense
Feel
Weaknesses: None
Review: This was the first mask i ever used playing paintball. I got it at the same time as my gun and everything else. This is a great mask, it has never fogged on me in the 2 years ive had it.I can't really say anything else about it besides it feels great and works great.The only thing that can be annoying is the lense changing, but once you get good at it and figure it out it only takes about 5 minutes to change.
Conclusion: Good mask, has held up for 2 years, and is cheap ($35)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jordan89 Thursday, January 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Ion
Eggy
Pure Energy 72/3000
Strengths: Doesnt fog
Comfortable
Relatively cheap
Weaknesses: Paint never bounces off it
Can get hot in the summer heat
Chinstrap gets annoying
Review: This is a very good mask. It is very comfortable and it never fogs. and its pretty cheap.
One of the problems, though, is that its not flexible, its really hard (maybe thats why its called a proshield?) Paint always breaks on the mask. If you play in the summer heat, it can get hot. and the chinstrap gets annoying but thats easy to cut off.
Conclusion: Overall this mask is an excellent value.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 14th, 2006 at 6:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jmac9991 Monday, January 9th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage single lens
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo, Proto 14 inch barrel, 200 rd hopper, 16 oz co2
Strengths: Good protection
Weaknesses: Fogging
Review: A rainy day in Wisconsin, 50 degrees. Thought I was back in Nam it was pouring so hard. Walking through the thick forrest with my task force group, in full camo. It was a 20 v 20 match. Leading a task force of ten, we saw movement. Ambush of the entire opposing team from the bushes at a higher elevation. I dove for cover, thats when it happened, fog gathered so quickly on my lens I was blinded. My task force was lost.
Conclusion: Spend an extra ten dollars on a nicer JT mask.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

A5-Sniper Wednesday, November 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Various Rentals
Marker Setup: * Tippmann A-5 Black
- Progressive barrel 14"
- RT system
Strengths: - No foggy view!
- Rugged body, offering good protection
- 260 deg wide view
- Light
- comfortable
- Price
Weaknesses: No weaknesses
- Replacing the lenses could be a little tricky - but just read the manual!
Review: The JT Spectra Proshield is a great mask for recreational players. I've heard of some pro players use it as well, because it is just such a nice light, comfortable mask, that will refuse to fog up.
I have previously used rental masks and I was getting owned in the field because they would fog up in a sec. That is NOT the case with the JT Spectra.
Oh, and did I mention that the price for this Mask KICKS ASS??
Conclusion: Highly Recommended. You will love the lightness, comfort level, the anti fog lenses, and best of all: THE PRICE
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ContraPaintball Monday, May 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT Nfire (bout the same, a little better)
Marker Setup: Stock E-force GTI with 32 DEGREES black drop-forward
Strengths: has a stiff bottom(part that covers mouth)
Polarised (NICE for sunny days)
Ear profection
Weaknesses: Polarisation weak (sorta)
Coarse foam around lens
Review: I must say that if you are going to get a mask spend the extra $10-$20 for a n-fire or nvader or nforcer, this is their bottom of the line mask (or very close) It does have plarisation on the lenses, and ear cover. On the first time i playeed i got compkletely lit up, and the polarisation completely disapered, then the mask was useless, and since i didnt want to pay 15 $$$ for a replacement mask i just bought a n-fire. The padding around the lens was very stiff, and it took aobut 5 hours of 85 degree weather in full army camo and this mask(which doesnt have very good ventilation but still doesnt fog up) to soften.
Conclusion: I would recomend not getting this mask unless it is a replacement, i would recomend this mask if you are NOT playing outdoor paintball, indoor is fine.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

silentmercenary Thursday, April 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
older jt masks and jt headshield(rental)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c,remote line,20oz co2,Dye Boomstick,Response trigger,Double trigger,ADCO Sure Shot sight,
Strengths: -Doesn't fog
-Lightwieght
-Comfortable
-Looks good
Weaknesses: -Plastic is hard
-Lens is hard to remove\install
Review: I thought this mask was great. I bought mine at i&i sports 4 $40.00. I have used this mask quite a few times and has never failed me.The looks are good,very comfortable,doesnt fog,and very lightwieght. Overall i thought this mask was KICKA**. This mask is very "SEXY". HAHAHA
Conclusion: I think that if you are looking for a quality mask for a great price buy this one.I give this a nine because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tdawgsd Saturday, March 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rentals and my vforce kit mask
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom 98
14 in J&J ceramic barrel
Empire Reloader
Strengths: fits well
WIDE field of view
cant feel when you get hit
chin strap
Weaknesses: Have to be a rocket scientist to take lens out!!!
could see myself in lens
Review: This mask protects very well and the 260 degree view is very nice. Doesn't shift when you run or look around corners. Isnt that hot and it fits nice the pads are comfortable.
The only real big complaint i think from anyone that owns this mask is the trying to remove the lens,its a pain in the you know what.I think this is JT's only downfall. Oh and the fact i could see my own face on the inside of the lens,but once you start playin the adrenaline kicks in and you don't even notice. No fogging issues
Conclusion: You know this is a very good mask for the price 30-35 bucks cant go wrong overall performance is good didn't even know i was wearin it sometimes. I suggest if your on a budget and want a good mask you clicked on the right one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 26th, 2005 at 8:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media