paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra ProShield Mask / JT Spectra ProShield Mask / JT Spectra ProShield Mask

JT Spectra ProShield Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra ProShield Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra ProShield Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Spectra ProShield system features the hard plastic Proshield mask, the original and most popular of the Spectra family. This system is designed for those who prefer the protection of a rigid mask. spectra goggle systems represent the most advanced family of modular protection available for the paintball industry. This premiere family goggle system offers 260 degrees of peripheral vision, superior fog elimination, comfort foam and a host of luxury extras, making your choices unlimited. The ProShield is the safest protection for any age or playing level.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra ProShield Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
tigerpaws27 Wednesday, March 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Armor, Jt-Headshield
Marker Setup: B2k, j&j edge kit, q loader
Strengths: Does not fog, provides excellent protection.
Weaknesses: Hard to take apart when cleaning.
Review: Easily the best purchase I have made so far. I got tired of my mask fogging, and having to spray lens cleaner on my mask after every few matches so my mask wouldn't fog. Once I got the thermal lens system fogging has completely stopped for me. I have been using this type of lens for over a year now and it has given me no problems what so ever. I've played in the rain, 90* weather, 30* weather, and not had any fogging at all.

The only problem that did come up was when getting hot, or raining very hard, sweat/water will run off the inside of your mask onto the lens, which I suspect would happen with every mask.

As for cleaning the mask, taking the lens out of the mask was quite a task. Prying and grunting were both required. I ended up taking a hobby knife and slitting the holes a little so the teeth would go in and come out more easily.

The mask provides excellent protection for me (i have a thin face), and does not cause my ears to ring or hurt my face when getting shot in the head.
Conclusion: This is an excellent mask. I know pro players who use it because it is so reliable. It never fogs. The mask is relatively cheap at around 30$. I'm giving it a nine because the lenses are so difficult to put in. I would definitely recommend.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 16th, 2005 at 10:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

natty dread Sunday, March 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle piece of crap, vforce rental crap
Marker Setup: stock spyder rodeo green, 20oz. Pure Energy Co2 tank, 200 round loader, JT Spectra Pro Shield, WGP 2+1 Tactical harness
Strengths: Good ventilation, good padding, good lens.
Weaknesses: The part that covers the chin could be a little lower
Review: I love this mask. It gone above and beyond what I expected it to do. It offers a lot of protection and is easy to breath in. The removable viser is nice and it's easy to clean. The padding is confortable so your not scratching your forhead (key for me).
Conclusion: If you are looking for a good quality mask and don't wanna spend a lot of money this is the mask for you. I give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BonusBall Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI X-ray
Marker Setup: EXT 2K3 PRO, evolution 2
Strengths: Very comfortable. Good field of vision. Great price.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This mask is very, very comfortable with a great field of vision. I put a nicer set of goggles in their but this mask is great for the price it cant be beat. Great for any skill level. There is TONS of padding around the goggles and it just wraps around yourhead. It is so comfy and light you dont even know its there.
Conclusion: Great buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thecrowdog Tuesday, January 11th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
various Scott masks
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
CP .689 14" ported barrel
BSA Red Dot sight
Rocket Cock II
ghillie cover
Strengths: Good lenses, difficult to fog.
Weaknesses: Wide profile, loose screws, chin protection, lenses too far from face, ear foam falls out
Review: Everything negative written on these boards was true. The side screws fall out, the ear foam falls out, you could land a jumbo jet on your chin, the chin strap sucks, the lens frame is so far from my face that the nose piece doesn't even touch me (I can stick a finger between my face and the foam), they are very wide (easily 4-6" wider than my Scott), and the ear/temple area is a no-win situation.

I am 5'11" and 155 pounds. It seems like the mask would work well if I were a LOT larger and had a chin like The Tick. Despite the incredible gaps in the foam, I could barely get the goggles to fog even when trying. I can't get the Spectra lens frame to fit any of my other face guards, so I'm out $40 unless I eBay it.
Conclusion: At least where I live, you can't go try on a goggle before buying it. That needs to change. If you're close to my size, I'd avoid this mask. If you're a very large person with a big head, it might work fine. Usually I try to read negative reviews (and perfect reviews) with a grain of salt but in this case, it turns out I should have bought something else.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Chipper Saturday, September 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have never really used another mask.
Marker Setup: Classic mag
Y-frame
12" One Piece All American barrel
Crossfire 45/3000 preset tank
Dye foregrip
Strengths: -Light
-Hard to fog
-Looks pretty good.
-Can wear with glasses.
Weaknesses: -Ear pieces tend to fall out
-Lense a pain to put in.
Review: Strengths:

-Light
Its not so heavy that it slips down your nose. I like that.

-Hard to fog
Even with single lenses it doesn't fog to much. I like that too.

-Looks good.
Its not really that ugly. I would wear it. You should to.

-Can wear with glasses.
This is a plus for me 'cause some of those small masks won't have room for glasses. I like this alot too since I wear 'em.


Weaknesses:

-Ear pieces tend to fall out.
Not the whole thing but just the foam, and thats just plain annoying. I don't like that.

-Lense a pain to put it.
The first time I replaced the lense it had trouble coming out and going back in. I have been told that it gets easier though.
Conclusion: Its a mask. It does its job. Its pretty comfortable. If your looking for a cheap mask I would suggest it since it does its job.

9 'cause very few things are perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Roland1977 Saturday, September 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rentals that suck
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98, PMI razzor barrell, Crossman Airguns red dot sight
Strengths: comfy, does NOT fog
Weaknesses: Annoying to clean
Review: Very comfy, good protection, DOES NOT FOG. Excellent field of view. These gogs work great, until you get hit in the face. They can be annoying to clean as it takes a while to get all the paint out from under some of the lining around the gogs. Just run some water over it for a few secs and that should do it.
Conclusion: Excellent product. Good view, no fog. What more do you want?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thedancingturd Monday, July 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tipmann A-5
Dye Ultralite Barrel
Strengths: Super easy to breath, the price, and it looks good.
Weaknesses: Gets hot, paint splatters in nose, and the chin strap annoys the crap outta you.
Review: This mask is good for beginners, its basically worth what you pay for it. I got mine for $40 off some store online. My favorite strengths are the price and that its easy to breath. We all know when we play woodball and we start struggling for air after a shooting with someone. The most annoying weakness is defenitly the chin strap, but i have mine tight so yeah, if you guys loosen it, itll be better (i want my mask to be secure)
Conclusion: I recommend this product since its got those good strengths that you look for in a mask but of course some people wont really like the weaknesses too much
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheGuyWidDaWDP Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really
Marker Setup: B2K3 all stock w/ halo b + revvy hoppers , aci bulldog2 , and system x w/ centerflag reg tanks
coming soon-macdev reg, freak or matchstick, sp unimount w/ on off ,better bolt
Strengths: made by JT
spectra lenses rule
small
many options
fairly cheap
Weaknesses: Hard to find colors(mine is all royal blue,was very lucky to find it)
Review: this mask is fairly small light and good looking
the options for this thing amaze me
Jt has never made a crappy thing(maybe guns)
the hard ear and face shield protect more from mask hits

The only thing that sucks about this is that the colors are very hard to find now.
Conclusion: overall this mask is very good for the money
JT is one of the best mask companies ever(even pmi gets jt to make their mask)
BUY BUY BUY !
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joe238 Friday, July 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cheap field masks
Marker Setup: Intimidator "Z"
Crossfire 70/4500 peanut nitro tank
RMR Intimidator Lockdown Cap
RMR Intimidator Ramrod
Halo B w/ Rip Drive hopper
Strengths: Very high resistance to fogging
Inexpensive
Durable
Excellent Customer Support
Weaknesses: Holding bolts for mask may work loose after months of play
Review: I have had my mask for almost 3 years and have had very good experieces with it. It has never fogged up on me. It has had some condensation build up under extreme humid conditions (like during a heavy rainstorm), but I was still able to see. I have had friends with other "thermal lens" masks that were fogging up on them all the time, and one of them actually had to call themselves out because of it.

The only slight problem I have had is the lower bolts working loose after almost 2 years of play. Since I lost the bolt, I called JT up and they are sending me some at no charge. They recommended that I use locktite to keep them from loosening up. They said they don't locktite them so that players can upgrade the mask bottoms if necessary. Their customer service is superb.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this product. I have had no trouble with fogging at all. If you want to bring some fresh air into the mask, I'd suggest upgrading the mask with the fan that you can install into it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 2nd, 2004 at 5:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hahnukah Friday, June 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
havent used any others
Marker Setup: spyder compact 2000, bob long expansion cahmber, jt spectra proshield mask, dye xcel barrel, 20oz co2 w on/off, shocktech superfly rear cocking bolt.
Strengths: comfy
protection
field of range
no fog lens
not too pricy
Weaknesses: pretty heavy
big profile
gets hot quickly
Review: i find this mask to be a very good mask, ive never had and problems with it exceptgeting too hot too quickly in it.its a good beginners mask and i think the price is pretty good too. the down side of this mask is ts profile and its inability to deflect paintballs. its made of hard plastic so i guess i cant expect much more. the no fog lens is great i love it with all my heart and i have played many games where the ppl around me couldnt see because of fog in there lenses and im sitting happily with a great field of range. 1 little warning though, NEVER wipe spray that gat got on the lens because it will streak and you will have a hard time seeing for the rest of the game, beleive me its much easier to just leave it on and have a little bit of vision problems rather than a lot, i learned this the hard way.
Conclusion: i recommend this mask to any new players who want a good quality mask that doesnt fog, evenremotely! id give it a 9.1 out of ten.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 25th, 2004 at 10:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media