paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope

BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BSA Optics

Buy BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope

Paintball Sights

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
11-position click rheostat control knob.
Matte Black Anodized finish.
5 MOA size red dot.
Light-Weight & Compact Size.
Affordable price
Product Availability 
The BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Robotech Friday, July 9th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Laseraim Illusion
Marker Setup: Warsensor WS66 Elite
Strengths: Price
Optic size
Easy to mount
Durable
Weaknesses: Absolutely useless in bright sunlight
Review: I got the BSA at my local Walmart for $30. For the price it is pretty decent. I tried it and it seemed to work fairly well. It was easy to sight in and mounted to the weaver rails well. In low light conditions, the unit functioned well and the 30mm optic made it pretty easy to pick up when you could see the dot.

Then I used it during the day. Once you were in bright sunlight, the dot was washed out. You had to really look hard and be looking at a dark background to pick it up. Once you did, you had to focus on the dot to keep it in your vision when trying to put it on target. It was horrble. Even with a new battery it was no better. If you sighted at a wooden bunker you lost it completly.

I picked up a Laseraim Illusion the other day. These are discontinued but you can find used ones on the net. When I compared it to the BSA, the Illusion was by far the superior optic. Smaller in diameter than the BSA (it mounts using standard 1" weaver scope rings) the Illusion has far brighter dot. In bright sunlight I compared the two and with both units turned up all the way (11 adjustments on the BSA and 7 on the Illusion), the BSA washed out against a mint green wall...the Illusion was very easy to pick up...almost the same brightness as a laser at dusk. With the Illusion set at 2 it was just a bit brighter than the BSA set at 11. Best of all, you can find these sights for $70 on the web. Well worth the extra $40.
Conclusion: Even though the BSA looks good and is very cheap, you are getting what you pay for. If you really plan on using a red dot, don't spend your money on the BSA. Go to your local gun shop and look at what they have to offer. Chances are while you may pay more, you'll get a sight that works in all lighting conditions. If you have to have a red dot though and all you have around you is a WalMart (or only play in the woods where the light is not so bright because of the canopy) then the BSA may work for you. The only reason I gave this sight anything other than a 1 is because of price, optic size, and the fact that in low light conditions, it will work.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

direavenger Tuesday, July 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Model 98 Custom
Smart Parts Teardrop
Palmer Male Stabilizer
Lapco D/F
Lapco direct feed
BSA 30mm red dot sight
Ben Tippmann folding stock
Q-Loader system
Strengths: -The dot is easy to see
-Adjustable for distance
Weaknesses: -Easy to lose the dot in direct sunlight
Review: Player Type: This is a great product for the woodsballer. When shooting at distances of over 50 feet, it can't be beat. You can see shot after shot through the large 30mm lens, making corrections accordingly. Keep in mind that this works great for distance shots, but for the short ones it isn't really necessary. It has very little benefit at short range over stock sight rails, so speedballers need not apply.

Performance: In most conditions, this sight performs well. In the woods is where it excels. The dot will move when the gun is tilted in any direction, just put it on your target and fire. Targets in direct sunlight are its only weakness. It is easy to lose the dot when it is bright outside and the sun is shining on the target. Battery life is extremely long, I've been going regularly for 6 months with it and its still going strong.

Price: at 30 bucks its worth a look
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to any woodsballer who can shoot accurately from a distance. Target aquisition is quick and coupled with the right gun, you can be deadly accurate out to 100+ feet.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tsiphon Sunday, July 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Maybe just looking down the barrel.
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra w/ 14 inch CP classic, 16 oz Co2 w/ PMI remote line, in yo face offset sight rail w/ BSA 30 mm Red dot sight, q-loader on its way, CiP Sweet Spot Trigger, some cool squeegee leg holder, and a Spectra Flex-7 Olive Goggle system w/ new lens
Strengths: Durablility, looks, power of intensity 11, protective dial covers.
Weaknesses: Calibrating, vert. feed so I needed offset 3/8 to 3/8 sight rail,
Review: This is a well build sight. Have taken a few hits to the side but other than that it doesn't stick out or show that much, and I have a offset sight rail with this. Calibrating can be a pain, but you just have to get used to it. The protective coverings make it hard to just compensate for a sudden change in wind that persists. Defenatly for woodball, and i haven't tried in hyper or speed ball. Has a nice protective covering on the front to withstand a dead-on lens hit. For paintball at hunting websites have it for good price (3/8" rail, protective lens, durable).
Conclusion: If you want a nice looking red dot sight that won't fail on you due to damage, get the BSA Red Dot Sight. Its a nice addition and defenatly works in woodsball. If you have a consistant paint/barrel match then your paint *should* get to the dot every time, if not, learn to calibrate!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wildfire788 Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Standard Tippmann 98 Sights
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
BSA Red Dot Scope
20oz CO2
Strengths: Allows you to quickly/accurately aim at your target
Goes right on the 98 Custom
Weaknesses: If you take a hit and clean it off it could get scratched
Review: This red dot sight/scope is great. The dot is bright, and it makes your gun look more intimidating. It effectively allows me to quickly and accurately aim at my target. once you get it all set up to whatever range your going to want to use it at, this thing will be right on target. This is a great upgrade for your tactical marker. If you play scenarios or have a large hyperball field, this is a great addition to a 98 custom, A-5, Armotech, or anything you can mount a scope on. Plus, theres no way this thing will get shot off. On a downside if it takes a hit and you quickly try to wipe it off you might scratch it, but the advantages definitely outweigh the disadvantages.
Conclusion: If you have a Tippmann or Armotech WG gun, or play scenarios, this upgrade is sweet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

123cct Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye izon red dot
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5 w/flatline ,collapsible stock, remote,and bsa 30mm red dot sight,e-grip, cnc machined front bolt, ez sling, palmer stablizer, and 14" pro team fx barrel with muzzle break ,hand guards, and m-16 front sight,20 oz. tank, double triggers for e grip and stock grip,barrel shroud for flatline, asr-1, dye izor red dot,14" lapco bigshot
Strengths: -high visibility dot
-you can shoot with both eyes open
-seems pretty rugged
Weaknesses: -battery
Review: I have used this sight to get several head shots form about 30 yards away, it can be sighted in if you have an accurate barrel. The best thing to do is to practice drawing up your weapon with a mask on as you would be doing in a game, but find the position where you can put your face into position with both eyes open and see the dot projected in front of you. This will help you with fast target acquisition for snap shooting, and leading a moving target, but also protect your front lense. Because if you get used to shooting like this you will not need to look through the scope therefore when you play you can leave the front lense cover on. This will protect the lense from direct hits and getting covered in paint splatter. Also if you are using this sight on a tippmann a-5 you can use the hopper to pin the lense cover in place so it won't fall off during movement. If you are like me I have spent a lot of money on my gun and any little thing that I can do to protect my investment i will. Try it first , If you don't to take my advice on the lense cover then you can still use the quick drawing aquisition tip that I have left. This tip might not be for everyone just try it and see if you like it. The best way to teach yourself the muscle memory of how to do this is colse one eye and once you have acquired the red dot open the other eye, keep doint this until you feel comfortable that you can do this with both eyes open on the run, in a game when the pressure is on,good luck.
Conclusion: get it this an awesome sight, don't forget to have some spare batteries with you in case you leave it on.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 25th, 2004 at 10:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

floatch Thursday, February 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Iron sights!
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with egrip, solid stock, palmer's stab, MP5 mag kit on palmer's, ACI remote, red-dot sight, etc.
Strengths: This thing is cheap and bright.
Weaknesses: No crash replacement policy.
Review: This thing was a pain to install and sight-in, but it was all completely worth it. I bought a JCS offset rail set to make it fit on my A5, but once it was on, it's rock solid. This sight rules. I love using it, and people get freaked out every time they see it.
Conclusion: I dig it, and if it ever breaks, I'll probably buy another one. I might buy one of the other brands that have a replacement policy though.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Teh Fool Sunday, January 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Scopes, on conventional firearms. Less FOV and not suited for paintball.
Marker Setup: Blazer BZ834
Nickel vented barrel
Nickel highlights
45 Benchmark frame
Custom Cocobolo wood grips
BSA 30mm red dot sight
Strengths: Cheap
Good FOV
Helps your accuracy
Nice finish (shadow black)
Weaknesses: electronic (requires batteries)
perhaps durability
doesn't fit well
Review: First of all, get this sight online from sportsmansguide.com. It's only $27 dollars, and I doubt you will even find it in a store. If you go to walmart, etc. you will only find these with Weaver mounts. These are 7/8" mounts, and it will not fit on the 3/8" dovetail that your paintball gun probably has. Believe me, I spent a whole day looking for the correct in a conventional retailer, and nobody had them. I even went to a store that only sells gun sights!

Oh BTW sportsman's guide even has a cheaper one, a BEC brand sight, which is only $18! I had never heard of this brand though so I went with the BSA.

OK now on to the review of this sight.

First of all, this did not totally fit on my gun. The sight mounts onto your gun with 2 screws. Part of the rear mounting device hangs off the back of the gun. The 45 degree power feed gets in the way and prevents me from putting the sight farther forward. However the sight still feels really sturdy on the gun, so this is more of a cosmetics issue.

Also, if you are using a power feed, the sight kind of got in the way of getting an elbow on there. There is very little clearance between the feed tube and the sight. I had to sand down one side of the elbow a little.

I am worried about what would happen to this sight if it takes a direct hit to the lens. If it takes a side hit I believe it would survive. The plastic lens caps that come with the sight also don't fit really well.

The last weakness of this sight is the fact that it is electronic. Unfortunately to get a nice Tritium mil-spec reflex sight that doesn't require batteries, you would have to dish out several hundered dollars.

Now, so far I like this sight and think it is worth the money I paid for it. It makes it a lot easier to aim quickly. No more walking paintballs on to the target, with the red dot sight I am on target with the first shot. If I had more skill this might not be an issue, but I find it much easier to aim with the sight.

The "Shadow Black" finish is also really nice.
Conclusion: If you have an accurate marker and find it difficult to aim down the barrel, get this sight.

I give it a 9 because it could fit better and because it isn't as good as a reflex sight, but for an inexpensive red dot sight this is excellent.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Deformography Saturday, December 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cheap BE brands and the hordes of imitations
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5; 14" progressive barrel;BSA Optical Sight; JCS RVA Combat stock; Ronin 4+1 pack w/20 oz remote
PGP 2001 w/ronin tactical holster
Strengths: Its great
Weaknesses: Probably hard to fit on most markers
Review: I got this from wal-mart for 50 dollars. The one i got was fitted for a larger rail than the 3/8" but the a-5 has a second rail underneath the first, as do the model 98s without flatlines. I had to put it all the way back and it still touched the hopper, i doubt the 50mm version would fit at all. It works perfect, i took it out in the rain one day and got it soaked and it still worked. The adjustable brightness is incredibly useful, and the battery effeciency is good as well. It's durable, it's taken more than a few hits and has never been affected,although none were to the lens.
Conclusion: If you want an optical sight this is exactly what you want, not a single flaw at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ebegoli Wednesday, September 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month39 of 47 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle
Various military scopes and sights, including red dots
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Lapco BigShot 8"
BSA Red Dot 30 38
Strengths: Robust, LARGE field of view, brightness dial, Look and feel match for A-5
Weaknesses: Barely fits on Tippmann A-5
Review: Wow, wow, wow! I can not believe this thing. It took me a while to calibrate it for my A-5 for 90ft distance, but once I did it I could not miss with it any more.

Let me tell you couple of things about this product:

- It is a really good value for the money. I got BSA Red Dot 30mm, 3/8 mount from sportsman guide for 37 (includes shipping). This seems to be the best price anywhere around. Also, this seems to be the only place to sell BSA with 3/8 mount (you got to the get 3/8). Also, since this is a multipurpose red dot you can sell it tomorrow to a hunter, and get some money back.

- People say you can not aim in paintball. That is bull. Of course you can. Better you aim, more chances you have. But you need to be able to acquire, aim and shot fast - and that is where Red Dot will help you. If you had any Close Quarters experience you will know how to appreciate this device. If you just like to shoot strings of paint than you may not need to bother... (See web dog radio for what can be done with red dot)

-This red dot has a very large field of view (30 mm) for the price. It will let you keep the both eyes open, move slightly and still acquire and shoot the target. You got to practice how to keep your marker in front of your eyes all the time. As soon as you get that - you'll be lethal.

-Finally, BSA and A-5 look scary good together. It barely fits on the A-5, but once it is there it looks terrific. (I would not recommend buying this thing just for looks)
Conclusion: Buy it if:

Know (or plan to learn) how to acquire, aim and shoot fast.

Want to play one shot, one kill at up to 100 ft distances. I did not try it for longer distances, I do not have a marker set up for that, and I am not really a camper but if your marker can accurately shoot beyond 100 ft this thing will help you get them. I would be curious to try A-5 flatline with this thing.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 17th, 2003 at 7:22 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Roddefig Tuesday, August 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: VSC Black Phantom, BSA Red Dot 30mm, T Stock.
Strengths: Easy to sight, adjust, better than looking down the barrel
Weaknesses: None.
Review: A really nice red dot sight for your gun, it was definitely worth the money I spent on it. Since you can adjust it, you can sight it in for many different ranges instead of having the fixed iron sights on your gun. The brightness adjustment is nice and the 30mm width keeps the target bright.

Revised: I got a comment that it doesn't get damaged with a direct hit. Since I've started using the sight, I've never had any problems with it. You can wipe it off during the game and it won't smear or scratch the lens. You can also hose off the sight after a game and it won't be damaged at all. While I haven't ever taken a hit to the lense I've gotten hit on the sides w/o any damage.
Conclusion: It's a really nice sight and you can easily adjust it to help you sight your gun in. It's also a lot easier to aim with and it looks really cool on your gun. It beats the hell out of other paintball sights, just because of the wide aperture and it's amazing durability.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 7th, 2004 at 10:42 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media