paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Armson Prodot Sight / Armson Prodot Sight / Armson Prodot Sight / Armson Prodot Sight

Armson Prodot Sight Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Armson

Buy Armson Prodot Sight

Paintball Sights

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Armson Prodot Sight
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Armson Prodot sight is the king of optical illusion sights. One eye sees a black circle with the red dot in the middle. The other eye sees the target and when you're brain puts it all together you see you're target with a dot on it.
Product Availability 
The Armson Prodot Sight is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Brophog Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard 30mm Red Dot sights
Marker Setup: Blazer 2K
Vertical Feed
Armson ProDot
Emprire Reloader
Strengths: No batteries
Small size is difficult to hit
Extremely Durable
Easy to adjust
Very Bright
Weaknesses: It is an OEG sight
Brightness is effected by ambient light
Review: To put it simply, this is the only paintball sight I will use, for many reasons. There are several problems with most of your standard 30mm style sights that do not make them as well suited for paintball as other shooting applications.

For starters, they simply aren't bright enough. On max, during a bright day, you will have an extremely hard time seeing a standard red dot. They work much better in dim/dark conditions. Contrary to that, since the ProDot uses ambient light rather than electricity, it actually becomes brighter as the surrounding light gets brighter, making it very bright during normal paintball hours. The downside is, as it gets darker, the dot gets dimmer. During dusk conditions, it is still viewable, and this is a very minor consideration.

Another problem with normal sights is their huge size. They make easy targets, and although they aren't prone to breakage, the splatter from surrounding trees quickly builds up and makes the dot unusuable. The small size of the Armson and the OEG attribute totally negate this.

For some, the OEG can be a downside. You must use it with both eyes open, and some people are just incapable of this. I have no problem, however, during very tight situations it can be impossible to get both eyes in correct position.

There are no batteries to replace which can be expensive on standard sights, mostly due to needing to be used on the max setting the majority of the time. They are also extremely easy to leave turned on. The Armson has neither batteries nor an on switch, so this is a non factor.
Conclusion: I do not use the dot for every shot. Like many very experienced players I am a very good shot. This is atleast partially aided by using dot sights for many years as a training for my eyes. However, when I have a particularly difficult shot to take, particularly when I have time to set up, I find the Armson invaluable. It's small size makes it easy to conceal on the marker and lack of batteries means it's efficient to use. I leave it on my marker at all times so that it is convenient when I need it.

This is the only dot sight I recommend. It is more pricy than others, but it's nearly indestructible and will last forever. I know of several people who have used one for well over 10 years. Unless you are simply opposed to OEG sights, it is a fantastic bargain.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 6th, 2007 at 11:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eddit Wednesday, December 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5A2 (Special Ops Model)
CMI "Tru-flight" 12" barrell
48/4500 Pure Energy Compressed Air Tank
Flurry Industries Emissary Vest
PMI Remote Line
Strengths: sight with both eyes
Solar powered
Weaknesses: Bit of getting use to using both eyes.
Review: Just wanted to say that the customer support of this company is excellent. I had a few questions, not being very knowledgeable of sight terminology (3/8, weaver, dovetail, picatinny, oh my!) and over about 10 emails, the customer service rep educated me about how their sight would fit best to my marker based on my style of gameplay.

Pretty hard to find a company that will response to an email, not to mention have a complete conversation with you. Excellent service!
Conclusion: The product is very unique, and revolutionary - very custom to paintball. Customer Service is top notch. This company knows how to take care of it's client-base.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fireballfx Thursday, December 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE IZON
Marker Setup: Acid grey VSC Phantom
11 Inch Stock Barrel
12 Inch Matching WWA Fr-Antom II
Matching T-Stock
Matching 3.5 oz tank
Matching Armson ProDot
15 Round SC / Center Feed breeches
Strengths: Durable
Bright dot
No loss of peripheral vision / reduced tunnel vision
Weaknesses: Price
Steel rings / screws / mounting plates
Review: I was originally trying to decide between this and a DYE Izon, and I am glad I stuck with the Armson. Though it is marginally more expensive than the IZON, it is a world of difference.

The entire sight is manufactured from aluminum, save the front optic, which is a very tough plastic, and the rear optic, which is a glass lense. The result? A very durable sight.

The sight is bright, and very easy to acquire, but it takes time to adjust (find the dot quickly). The sight, as with any paintball sight, is only really useful when you have time to post and aim, or in bushball games. I play pump, so every shot needs to count, and when I have time to aim, this thing helps quite a bit. However, with this said, this sight will not make you a paintball "sniper" or the sort.

I bought this used, had the entire thing stripped down and rebuilt (save the front/rear optics and the aluminum body). My only grudge is with paying 90 dollars (brand new) for this sight, the screws, snap rings and mounting plates should have been made of stainless steel rather than regular steel. I keep mine well oiled and clean, but when I first got my armson, there was a bunch of rust and discoloration on the steel parts.

Conclusion: Overall, an excellent product. -1 for the price, and -0.5 for the steel parts, but since this is a great product, I will round up and give it a 9 \ 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snowyhessh Saturday, February 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard sights on the A-5 (they do work, but it takes a little time to align the rear view, with the front crosshair thing.
Marker Setup: A-5, Proshop Solid Sniper Stock, Armson Prodot, Flatline, PMI 48ci/4500psi
Strengths: battery-less operation, saves the owner money over time, optimized for bright play
Weaknesses: If in pitch black environment (almost never), you would not be able to use it
Review: Does not require batteries, even in low-light conditions, the dot is still clearly defined. Over time, you will save money with the battery-free operation by not having to purchase batteries. You also don't have to worry about turning it off or on. It seems very durable, as I've taken a several direct hits to the front (the part that sticks out) and a few on the back (when I used the Armson backward......) Yes... I used it backward, but even like that, it worked fine. It's fully adjustable for distance compensation and adjustments for left and right. You can tighten the knobs with a flathead screwdriver so the settings you want stay in place. If you're ever going to play at a non-illuminated field at night, then you might have a problem, but then again, if it's so dark you can't see the red dot, you probably wouldn't be able to see anything to aim at.

One catch to the product is having to aim with both eyes, as the red dot is projected, and one cannot view through the Armson. The optical illusion by using your other eye is still an effective method of aiming, takes a little time to learn, but with both eyes open, one would be able to see a better more than with one eye only open.
Conclusion: Especially if you have a flatline barrel, you should definitely buy this red dot for its accuracy, ability to be adjusted, and battery-less operation. It's durable, and worth the price of $70 (that's what I got it for). Over time, you will save money because you don't have to buy replacement batteries.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

gregmack1 Thursday, May 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
sure shot sight, not as good.
Marker Setup: System X vertical feed autococker, freak barrel, armson prodot, on/off co2 tank.
Strengths: Works w/ a vert feed gun and it can take a lot of abuse.
Weaknesses: Nothing at all if you have the money for it.
Review: This is an awesome sight, I was looking all over to find one that would work w/ my vert feed and when I saw how this works I bought it on the spot. It also keeps you much more aware being that you can keep both eyes open. Very accurate, adjustable vertically and horizontally.
Conclusion: This is the one, buy it; youll love it. The izon comes close to it but is cheasier and has a smaller dot.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 16th, 2003 at 5:38 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

ArMyGuY Tuesday, July 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
red dot sights

dye izon
Marker Setup: 2002 WGP autococker rightfeed, 12 in lapco bigshot, ricochet AK, armson pro dot, 20 oz antisifon
Strengths: NO BATS... i hate leaving a red dot on and having it go dead

built with quality...

bright dot
works with vert feed
Weaknesses: its a bit pricy...

its not good for snap shooting... but in woods were u have a chance to aim i pick off masks and hoppers

some people need to get used to shooting with both eyes open... but thats how i shoot anyway so its no biggie...
Conclusion: greatest paintball sight around if u have the money and r considering this buy it its great.. dont wait

this is better than dye izon cuz the dot is brighter
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

xrancid_milkx Saturday, March 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, first sight
Marker Setup: 1) Urban Camo Phantom with gravity feed, M-16 grip with bottom line, 14 inch barreland Armson Optical sight
2) Black Spyder TL Plus, with DYE stickey grip, ANS inline regulator, 16 inch Tru-Flight barrel.
Strengths: This sight is pretty cool because it does't require expensive small batterys. Also a must if you have a verticle feed. The verticle feed won't matter, it will still work.
Weaknesses: The red dot in the sight is brightest on sunny days. But on cloudy days, it could be a little dull at times, Bt still well visable.
Conclusion: This is a goo sight overall. I would deffinitly recommend it to anyone looking for a sight and especially peope with verticle feeds. I the price was a little lower it wouldbe perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
e-dot
Marker Setup: mag with chrome sight rail, df, fore grip, boomstick, kapp chrome single trigger
Strengths: very durable
almost impossible to get it off center
both eyes open to see around you too
great customer service
Weaknesses: hard to adjust i tried to adjust mine and i stripped a screw but it is still on sight so its not a problem for me
Conclusion: good sight, pricey, but worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 6th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-dot, not a bad site, but runs out of batteries quick
Marker Setup: M98/ tipp exp chamber/ PB dropforward/ lapco bigshot/ lapco site rail/ rear velocity adj/ 12 volt revvy/ dye sticky grips/ and of coarse the prodot
Strengths: This is by far the best site i've ever used. You won't have to worry about it being shot and breaking because its pretty much indestructable. The site can be covered and locked into place so you won't have to worry about resiting it. solar powered
Weaknesses: It is hard to get used to keeping both eyes open, so i recommend practicing.
Conclusion: get one!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 4th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Spyder TL+
Strengths: • Very durable, this is a solid piece of equipment and isn't going to break very easily.
• Quick to sight with, you can get an accurate shot off quite quickly with some practice.
• Keep both eyes open, you don't get tunnel vision and can stay aware of the game.
• Looks pretty sweet on my set-up, impresses the newbies and maybe the pro's
Weaknesses: • Pricey, but I managed to get mine on sale :)
• Takes time and ammo to get used to it, but afterwards it should be a cinch to use
• Might need to twiddle about / toy with your elbow (if you have a powerfeed) as it might obstruct it and give strange effects.
• The claw like bits that you screw down might scratch up the sight rail
Conclusion: Overall I am very pleased with this sight. I almost bought the Smart Parts Hi-Viz sight, but found this on sale for £6 more, and it was definately worth it. I might have thought twice if it wasn't on sale, as it is quite expensive but it is going to last a long time. The quality and stregnth is very high.

The good features definately out-weigh the bad ones (apart from maybe price).
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media