paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Warped Sportz Dark Cocker / Warped Sportz Dark Cocker / Warped Sportz Dark Cocker / Warped Sportz Dark Cocker

Warped Sportz Dark Cocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Warped Sportz

Buy Warped Sportz Dark Cocker

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Warped Sportz Dark Cocker
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1175

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Dark Cocker is back and better than ever, more tricked out and customized then even the most fanatical cocker enthusiast could dream of!!

Made from 100 percent authentic Bud Orr WORR Game's Cocker bodies. Checkout all the customized features:

-Dark Series Vicious Three-way
-Dark Series Rocket Cocking Rod
-Dark Series Two-Piece Stainless Steel Barrel (bead blasted to match)
-Dark Series Vertical ASA Adaptor (helping keep that sleek look!)
-WDP Mini Reg -Dark Series Devil Tail beaver tail
-Dark Series Autococker Bolt
-Custom Rock Regulator
-45 Hinge Trigger Frame with Autococker gripper !
-Bead Blasted Finish
-Warped Sportz Warranty
Product Availability 
The Warped Sportz Dark Cocker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Unregistered User Monday, January 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Autococker
SFL Autococker
Free Flow Autococker
Marker Setup: Max Flo 45 45, Dye boomstick, Vl Revolution, High rise feed neck, Angel Mini Reg, Free flow valve, Dye single swing trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
All of the above
Strengths: One of the smoothest cockers i have ever shot. I love this gun. I have had it for quite some time now and all i have has to do were the nomal tune ups and timing. I love everything about this gun. One of the most accurate farthest and quickest shooting guns ever.
Weaknesses: Trigger feels kind o awkward when snap shooting off hand. The Dye single swing fixed all of that though.
Conclusion: An absolute must have all around gun. Can be used perfectly for any position.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, November 10th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dark Angel & WGP's black magic,Sand ridge, evolution,dark angel
Marker Setup: Dark cocker,Sandridge,evolution,shocker. MAinly Just Barrels,maximizers
Recommended
Upgrades:
not really any it shots great but I like my dark angel and evolution a bit better.
Strengths: This gun is great it comes almost set up when you get it. The reg could be canged to a mini. I could shoot the thing for hours and the fps or vlocity will not go ^or ¾.
Weaknesses: Nothing but the reg.
Conclusion: Over all it's a great gun, and you should have one
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 1st, 2001
Strengths: -Very fast , light smooth trigger(Had a trigger job done to it by Warped before i got it so i dont know how smooth it was stock.
-Incredible range
-I luv the Palmers Rock Reg
-Milling is subtle but nice
-Anodizing is thick and smooth
-Luv the DYE frame
-Accurate as sh*t
-when u fire long streams of shots, they stay in a nice accurate line, they dont drift apart.
-i like the mini Angel Reg
-Good price for what u get.
-cool beavertail.
Weaknesses: -I broke my beavertail first day out, had to buy a KAPP, make sure u bring a backup when u go to the field.
-the bolt friggin sucks, the screw in idea is good, but it comes unscrewed in 4 shots, very very annoying, so i chucked the bolt and back block and got a KAPPblock and ANS quickstrip venturi bolt . I do miss the annodized thin light back block though.
Conclusion: i traded my 2k angel lcd for this gun and its worth it. if u like cockers then get this, BUT do not get this as your first cocker or first gun, u need some knowledge of cockers or else youll be at the proshop alot.GET THIS GUN.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 3rd, 2001
Strengths: Hey I bought I Dark Cocker about 3 months ago. I love it great design.
Weaknesses: I had some problems after I played with it, thats because I didn't oil the 3-way or the back blot. So my fault! Now this gun is a dream Life time Warrenty from Warped Sportz. And I thought I had a leak but when a tank on a Cocker is almost out it lets all the air out I didn't know that??? I dumb my first Cocker

I wish I had a Push Pin. The Screw in bolt kinda sucks I have to bring a wrench when I play to tighten the bolt
Conclusion: I was going to buy An Angel instead I don't know what I was thinking??? Dark Cockers rule.

Dark Cockers rule
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, September 14th, 2001
Strengths: well the gun is just good i play every weekend and have had the gun for about a month and a half the only prob I have had was with the timing witch was fixed by someone who new what they were doing i have no clue why i just put this in the good section but it really doent matter but its no big deal.


other wise just look at the other reviews they tell it like it is other than the trigger the trigger is awsom all you have to do is ask Warped for them to do a trigger job on it and they will for free
Weaknesses: my Warped guy fell off my gun that sucks

Conclusion: this gun is awsome h$ll if you dont get this gun just get a cocker they are some of best semis on the market
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, August 26th, 2001
Strengths: I play high level competition paintball, and I have been through a number of different high end guns that performed superbly, but the 2001 Dark Cocker version 2.0 that I own is undoubtedly the best for this reason: accuracy. This gun is a custom free flow autococker!! You dont get any more accuracy out of any gun. Many pros use it because its so accurate that Billy Cerenski of Team Aftershock can throw a paintball up in the air and shoot it!!! No joke. Its all over the internet. The gun is beautiful and extremely light compared to stock cockers. With my nitro tank (full, 4500psi, 68ci) and a full revy hopper, it is LIGHTER than my stock cocker with no tank and no hopper! If you are a runner and you love accuracy, this gun is for you. PLEASE feel free to email me about any questions... Now on to the bad stuff....
Weaknesses: Ok, I have already established that the gun is more accurate than anything Ive seen (and I have seen everything, believe me), but Im not going to be biased and tell you its the best gun in the world because its MINE!! I hate it when people give their little Brass Eagle Stingrays a perfect rating just because they own it and are too proud to admit it has flaws. The main flaw for a speedball player with this gun is, SPEED OF SHOOTING. For some of you (like me), it may not matter if your shooting 5 shots per sec slower than the guy whos throwing paint at you from the other side of the field. You just need your three or four shots as you snap shoot out of your bunker to hit him and get back in. If this is the case, then dont worry about the speed of shooting. But if your looking to get a cocker and you are coming over from an Angel, you may want to take the dark in for a custom trigger job. Sometimes it can be really jerky, sometimes its extremely smooth.. I have not yet figured out what causes this variation. It shoots fast enough for me, but some players that have shot it say that the trigger is somewhat heavy. The next thing about it (kind of small) is that the devil tail that comes on it (which is really awesome looking) tends to snap extremely easily. But our buddies at Warped Sportz have no problem with replacing it for free, but you might want to buy an extra beaver tail to use as a backup just in case it snaps on the field and you dont want chips in your mask :-) Another small problem (and it may just be my gun) that I found is that the threading for the barrel is really tight. I currently cannot get my barrel off my gun (everyone on the team has tried and many other guys to loosen it, but no luck so far). I know Im getting kinda picky, but I just want you to know these things before you buy this gun, so you dont have any disappointments.
Conclusion: Overall, this gun is incredible. And not because I own it. Some guy at the field the other day told me that my gun is the coolest (and his current favorite) gun he has yet seen (as I was standing with my team which plays with mostly Angels). This gun can do it from any direction. Accuracy is the most you will get out of any gun on the field. I love it when people come up to me and say "my mag is more accurate than that is" or "my matrix has a tighter shot group than your gun does" so I can do a demonstration and prove to them that the dark cocker has HALF the size shot group of ANY OTHER GUN ON THE FIELD (excluding other custom cockers, base free flows). People love saying their gun is more accurate than someone elses. Email me, I will hook you up with my teammates that own Dark Angels and they will tell you what gun is more accurate. On the other side of that, if you want something that shoots fast, you might find better luck in an angel or emag. In conclusion, look at what the pros play with. You want something that performs, get something they use. ANGELS and Free Flow Cockers (yes, a Dark is a much prettier version of a Free Flow Cocker, it is a free flow cocker). Look at the teams that win, see what they play with, and use it! Overall, this gun is incredible, but not for everyone. I highly suggest it if you dont need to shoot 13 bps.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gundam V Tuesday, August 14th, 2001
Strengths: I have just purchased a 2001Dark Cocker and must say that I am impressed with it. Let me say that I have never owned a cocker I have played with them but not actually own one so bear with me if my review seems a little off.

The Dark Cocker takes some the todays best features in a tournament gun and puts them together in the fine piece of art. As far as Centerfeed goes, I love it and think they should be on every gun on the market.

Internals: Not really sure what it is composed of but seems to work alright, but would like something a little better.

Pneumatics: The industry standard Rock regulator is on this bad boy and that speaks for itself. They used an STO ram which I believe is a smart move because they are very reliable as well as durable. The used a Pro 3-way which I have no experience with them, my choice would have been the STO 3-way, but hey I don't build the gun so whatever they want.

Trigger: Seems a little stiff, they used a Dye trigger frame which is good, but I would have went with a Benchmark because it is of better quality. They polsihed the trigger and sear well, but really should have done something about the springs used. In my opinion should have used lighter springs for the trigger.

Regulator: Mini-reg by WDP. I say good choice great refresh rate and consistency, but needs about a case or two to be broken in, to work even better.

Barrel: Jacko Infinity Series barrel is another good choice. I ,however, was able to obtain one of the older versions of it and I must say old or new they are great barrels to use. I love them to death I have one on my Dark Cocker and one on my Automag. If you have an Angel or Cocker please get this barrel, you will not regret it.
Weaknesses: Price: $950 is a little steep for this marker, but what can we do about it.

Back Block & Bolt: I really don't like this screw in design and much rather have the push/pull pin version.

Trigger: Seems a little to stiff for my taste, they really should use different springs for the trigger.
Conclusion: All in all it is a good gun with good possibilities if Warped took the time and tried something different. But I will say that I am very pleased with this gun and will be much better when I am through with it. Is is woth the price? I think that they should do something about that in that department. How does it compare to another custom cocker? It doesn't with the current trigger, internals, and pneumatics. They should put more effort a cocker with a set of good pneumatics, internals, and trigger feel. But the lifetime labor warrantee offered when purchasing this gun is a big plus. I would recommend this gun to my friends, but I wouldn't praise it all that much. I hope this has helped someone out when purchasing this marker. Take care and good luck hunting for your next marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, July 12th, 2001
Strengths: Warped Sportz put a lot design and thought to their custom cocker.

First of by looks, centerfeed of course.. one of the major preferences by most tournament players, also it's removeable and I beleive it's threaded just like an Angels feed tube.., buy Angel feed tubes then? Possibly a good thing to look into..... So that's cool. It does have milling in it, which is pretty damn good just like every other cocker including stock :), and all the series have really cool anodizing options to choose from. I really like the new 2K1 Series anodizing choices, they are really cool.

Palmer Pnuematics (mini rock), STO RAM (well not palmer, but he uses it) and the 3way I think is Palmer, overall I'd say super. I happen to like Palmer's pnuematics even though they have a kind flat and plain look, but.. they work good, atleast on one of our teammates custom cocker he has it on. So from his experience, I'd say Palmer does a good job with aftermarket pnuematics, cant say about everyone else. The Front Block seems kinda like a stock cockers block just anodized, but it has a little bit of milling in it to match the milling on the body.

Cocking block+Bolt, cocking rod, mainspring, and hammer... Dont know much about that at all, so I'll say their good. :)

Metal Gripframe that matches, however, I didn't like the trigger return spring, could have been a big part in the sear spring too.. I'll talk about that more. Dye grips are cool.

Trigger, on the Warped Sportz page it says its polished and trigger jobbed, when I was shooting just air through a Dark Cocker 2 weeks ago, the trigger was stiff... but it was short. I wouldn't say it was the best trigger that I ever felt in a Cocker, but I could get used to it after I changed the springs in it out. Dont know what type of sear is in there, probably polished.

WDP Mini Reg? Well, that's something new, can't say I love it or hate it.. but, it's something different. Hey it works, so why not?

That's about all I know about what's good about the Dark Cocker, Im sure the consistency is good.. I guess they have some type of aftermarket exhaust valve in there of course, just the guy didn't show me or nor did I want to see at the time. Im sure there are a lot more aftermarket on the Dark Cocker as well...

Lifetime warranty, though if you break it on purpoes I dont think they'll fix it for free.

Lastly, the barrel.. same barrel on an Angel. Jacko Infinity.. so it kinda looks like an Angel if you are about 50 feet away from it.
Weaknesses: Trigger springs, they are stiff... I don't know why, and Im not about to ask.. but you can replace them with other springs, KAPP Spring Set, go to a hardware store, or get a clicker pen and mess around with the trigger return spring.. you might want to check the sear spring too, it can relate how hard the trigger feels when you are pilling it.

Price, 950 bucks MSRP.. a little expensive for a custom cocker, but again, it reminds me of a FreeFlow and it does come with everything you need except the air system you need to run it with, dont forgot a 12volt Revy either and you're ready to rock. So if you dont have any of those, I'd say.. 1100 bucks for the cheapest alternative to run the entire gun from not having anything.

That's about it for bad.
Conclusion: Overall, the gun rocks. Much better than a KAPP Cocker in a sense that it comes with an inline Reg and Barrel plus a little more parts mixed around from other aftermarket companies than just all KAPP Parts, if any of you hate KAPP parts. I think, atleast.

Using it, and owning it is all personal opinion though.

Expensive yes, but not the most expensive custom cocker... some of the freeflows can run up there, plus Shocktech custom cockers can get up there too, plus a few other custom cockers that are out there.

So, I'd say a 9/10 because of the springs in the gripframe.. didn't like them one bit, especially on a custom cocker. But, that small thing wouldn't stop me from buying it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 30th, 2000
Strengths: This is the first Cocker I have ever owned, and I have to tell you I love it. I got the Dark Cocker series II black to red fade. Comes with a Infinity barrel and it was smoking. It comes stock with centerfeed, WDP reg, 45 frame with dye sticky grips. Haveing switched from a Defiant to a cocker I expected the speed to be somewhat disapointing. I was very suprised to find that it is fast, though the trigger is a little heavier then I would have liked. Overall thought the marker is wonderful. With Warped's lifetime labor warrenty I can also send it back in for a tune up if it ever stops preforming perfectly.
The fade on the marker is wonderful, though there is not a lot of milling.
Weaknesses: Out of the box I had problems with the trigger sticking in the full back position. This was easily fixed by loosening the trigger stop screw. Other downside is the price. 950 may seem like quite a bit of change, however when you factor in that you get a center feed cocker, infinity barrel, and the beautiful fade it really isn't that bad. The thing I probably disliked the most about my new marker is the bolt. Warped uses a screw in bolt design, which, unfortunatly tends to attempt to unscrew some. I had the same problem with my first marker the M98 when I attached a rear velocity adjuster. You could put locktite on it but you want to be able to remove the bolt, so I put a little bit of teflon tape on it.
The only other problem I have with the marker is the beaver tail. I must admit I am not use to rear cocking markers, but it appears that the end of the bolt actually passes the beaver tail, leading to a number of chips in my mask. This is probably the one thing I will be replacing soon.
Conclusion: Right out of the box this gun will run. You can use CO2 or HPA, though HPA is of course recomended. It is a LP gun, but input pressure can be whatever you like as the reg brings it down to normal operating pressure. The only upgrades I have on mine are a bottom line set up with macro line(not included) and a stock. I run it remote, though there are a number of great Drop forwards you could use. The only other upgrade I am going to be getting is a different beaver tail. The bolt actually goes past the beaver tail, leading to a couple dings in the mask if you are tucked in too close. Unfortunatly I have only used two other cockers prior to purchasing the DC, but I have to say this one is as good if not better then those two. While a lot of the changes in the Dark cocker are cosmetic when compared to the stock cockers from WGP, the preformace changes are there as well. The barrel is very acurate shotting Marblizer and Kick-in(field paint at my field).
While it does have a slower RoF when compared to some of the electro guns, it does, at least to me, have better accuracy. When compared to my defiant the long balling accuracy is amazing.
I would recomend this marker to anyone interested in getting into custom cockers. Its price is very good for a custom center feed 2K cocker. While it may not have the most interesting milling, what milling it does have is smoth and clean. Also the annodizing job is nice, smooth and thick.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media