paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Splatmaster / Splatmaster / Splatmaster / Splatmaster

Splatmaster Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Splatmaster

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Splatmaster
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This single shot plunger action pump is fed by tubes which are inserted into the front (top barrel) of the gun. It is powered by a 12 gram CO2 cartridge.
Product Availability 
The Splatmaster is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Ghostcom Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Maverick, PGP, Sidekick Stock
Marker Setup: 2004 Viper M-1 Military with Tactical Sling
2004 DELTA .68
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster.
Check out military shops for a tactical leg holster designed to fit larger frame handguns.
Strengths: Cheap$
Lightweight
Simple loading
Acculate
Weaknesses: Plastic!
Plastic handle!
Size
Age
Weak (power)
Slow Firing

Review: I wanted to rewrite this review after my 1987 Splatmaster was stolen and then bought a DELTA .68. Hindslight is 20/20.

When I began to search for a pistol, I originaly tested a few semis, but could not afford the DELTA .68 at that time. After a few people told me about the old NSG Splatmaster and their usually cheap price, I went on ebay. I won a bid for 1987 Splatmaster for about $27.

The pistol arrived, I was stunned to see the size, about 13inches and it was very light loaded. Then the problems set in, during a backyard test, the 12grams were leaking, or busting in the handle. Finally after (5) 12grams, I was able to use it. I fire two cigar tubes of balls through it, and it worked well. The pump at the rear was a little hard to get use to.
was forcing the 12gram too far due to too much screwing. Once I spend some time listening to the marker, it worked beautifully. The "trick" is not to overscrew the endcap. Once you hear the hiss, only screw about 1/2 of a turn. For the 12gram, I got about one cigar tube, with all the screwing about with the right position for the endcap. Normally it is about 2 tubes per 12gram. Oh, and clean the handle ASA and the barrel very well if an problems arise.

The Actual Field Use-
For the three months that used the Splatmaster, I played about three games. One was the Oklahoma D-Day Bridge 2 Field. The first game, I only used to target and let my friends shoot it. Still, had issues loaded the 12grams into the damn thing. At B2F, I used the twice. The pistol just would not load! On the first of the battle, the Allies were securing Blue Bridge and we had our forces spread out over the valley and the ridges. I was near the Bridge, at the front. During the peak of combat, we were overwhelmed with Nazi advancing. During this battle to hold Blue Bridge, my 1988 PRO-AM ran out co2, and I went to the pistol, along with another allie, with his Sidekick stock. Knowing that we were out of co2, a few nazis rushed us, I took aim with the old green Splatmaster and fired one shot, the shot missed, and then I had the guy zeroed. Then I fired again. the ball fell out. I dived for cover. The guy with the sideskick held out, as I was forced to withdraw. I did use the splatmaster during the next day, when clearing old planes for snipers, very Close-Quarters.
The last game was at DFW Advan. Park, during a hill/trench battle, my Viper-M1 ran out of co2, and I went to the pistol. When the players came over the hill, to shot a unarmed player, like they thought, I popped out in the facemask at very close range with the splatmaster. That was it's only kill. However, it did stop the advance. Then the splatmaster ran out of co2, again.
Then the splatmaster was stolen out of my home. And I did not miss it.

The Good-
It is lite-weight, a conviersion piece, easy to load (even my DELTA .68!), acculate; at very close range, you can buy a normal "large frame pistol" holster cheaper than a PB, and finally: cheap.

The Bad-
The Age, slow rate of fire, bad pump position (rear), you have be carefull cocking the Splatmaster, you can squash a ball.

The Ugly-
This thing breaks! Leaks! Very short range.
Conclusion: If you really want a pump pistol, than chose a PGP, PGP2, or a Sidekick Stock. This thing is not worth the $ or effort of buying one off ebay. This marker will let you down in combat. And that is poor gear.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 28th, 2004 at 8:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pbkid39 Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 2k3 WGP cocker w/ ups

NSG Splatmaster (side-arm)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, I think there's a company that used to make aftermarket barrels for them but im not sure.
Strengths: * Good accuracy ( for an old gun)
* Fits in holsters
* Nice addition to any collection
Weaknesses: * Can be tricky to take apart..
Thats about it..
Review: The NSG Splatmaster is a great addition to any collection. They are considered as the first marker ever made specifically for the sport of paintball. These markers, even though they're old, shoot surprisingly well. Back in the day, me and my friends all had splatmasters, we used to have big wars and it was pretty awsome. Ahh, those were the days. Anyway, the splatmaster has a nice short trigger pull which is really nice but after awhile the top of the trigger can wear out making the safety not usable, but its always a good idea to carry a broken splatty for extra parts.
Conclusion: If you can find one... then yea get one they're pretty good.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 8th, 2004 at 12:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TEAM B.I.G Monday, July 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None this is the only pistol for me and my team.
Marker Setup: WPG B.O.S.S x-raider 16 inch barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None just maby a longer load tube.
Strengths: Light, small,accurate.




Weaknesses: The CO2 leaks.
Review:
The gun is very accurate,and it is very relibale but you might want to shoot fast beacuse the co2 leaks out the handle.It is very hard to put back togher so dont take it apart unless it is very broken.It preforms well on the spot



Sorry but i suck at spelling.
Conclusion: A verry good gun for its age.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 23rd, 2004 at 7:05 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mike26040 Tuesday, June 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
GZ 1000, Talon
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra w/ J&J Ceramic 14", 12v revvy, ESP Classic Frame, Shocktech Delrin Bolt, Sticky Grips, 20oz Co2. Either Splatmaster or GZ1000 as a sidearm.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None available really.
Strengths: Size, weight, range, velocity, ease of use, durability.
Weaknesses: Kind of old, but that's no big deal.
Review: I just purchased this gun at a gun show where a guy had like 3 or 4 of them new in the box for $15 a piece. Im really regretting not buying all of them, but hopefully i will see him again. I've only put about 60 rounds through this thing and it's working great. The velocity does slowly drop as you start to run out of Co2 though. But as a sidearm i guess you aren't going to need that many shots most of the time.
Conclusion: I would recommend that if you are able to get your hands on one of these then you should do it. they're kind of the beginning of paintball in a way. they're also built to withstand a nuclear attack. lol, not really, but this thing is tough. overall i thin that every paintbaqller should have one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Masterkillaz2 Monday, April 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
NONE
Marker Setup: A SUPER GUN THE BEST I HAVE YET TO SEE
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE
Strengths: Cool. Fun. When out of ammo good for pop shots
Weaknesses: Its a pistol DUH
Review: I brought this gun off of ebay. I carry 2 10 clips with me and a hopper full in my gun. I use it as a S-I-D-E-A-R-M when I run out of ammo I use it to get pop shots. When my gun stops working I throw it over my back (I got a shoulder starp) grab my pistol and fight my way out of the field.

STORY TIME
One day i was playing a huge game 20 folks a team. I had my Eradicator. I was a cover guy. I looked down no balls. I grabed my pistol and fought my way out of there to repair my gun. I also gave cover.

I was in the woods. Then I ran out of air. I had 2 12 grams a 2 clips. I laid down and waited. Saw no one and run for it. I had the pistol shot all 2 clips off and was able to hit 3 enemies.
Conclusion: A good protection gun when in a gang area. I ain't weak but I ain't lookin to make the odds fair. In a fight ill use whatever i got. But pullin it is risky if the other person got a real one. I give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 6th, 2004 at 6:04 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

WAPballer Saturday, March 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a Sheridian PGP
Marker Setup: Right now im using my kingman hammer which has a custom pump i hand crafted from aluminum and a 16" J&J ceramic barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
is there any i made custom plug for the tubes so they dont fall out when you play instead of tape but thats it.
Strengths: accurate for a pistol
sturdy mines like 14 years old
high fps
Weaknesses: parts no longer available cept mybe ebay
air has tendancy to leak easy fix though
Review: I like the gun it has a great feel to it. Its cheap to just look on ebay thats where i got mine i payed 26 bucks. Its outlasted my sheridian so that says somthing about it. Its fun to play with this gun while theres guys with bursts and autos out there lol.
Conclusion: Its a rather nice gun but theres no parts i need a new co2 plug tell me if you know where i can find one. I give it a nine which is good but there needs to be more parts!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JaTe Sunday, January 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Laser sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Laser sight
Strengths: Fun to shoot, easy to carry
Weaknesses: Some of them leak Co2
Review: Ok I'm bias. I love these things. I can play all day and only spend a few bucks.

You have to understand that what could be percived as weaknesses are what make this gun fun. Low ammo and slow shooting cause you to rethink your tactics.

I recommend putting a laser site on it. No, not one of those fancy $100 dealies. Find yourself a cheap laser pointer and stick it on under the barrel with some duct tape. While the actual functionality of doing such a thing is questionable, it does look cool.

Also, if you happen to get one that leaks Co2, you'll probably need to find some kind of seal to put between the 12 gram neck and the valve stem.

Conclusion: Nostalga and shooting some 12 year old with a $1000 gun who thinks he's all that and a bag of chips. *TWHOCK*!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

saintman Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
rented a sheridan once, never any other pistols
Marker Setup: spyder classic with aftermarket barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
none available that I know of...
Strengths: Extremely accurate at close range. Very small profile.
Weaknesses: No plug for loading tube, no replacement parts.
Review: I bought this gun used in 1987, it was my primary then (Boy hasn't paintball changed in 16 years!). I bought a Stingray in the early '90s and this became my backup gun. It saved my can many times, as the stingray chops paint and gets clogged ALOT. Not very tall so it fits nicely in a holster. I wrap a tube with electrical tape about an inch from the bottom to plug the loading tube, you can fit about 13 rounds in it that way. The rear pump action will get you killed quick on a modern field but it might keep you safe while you squeegee your real gun. After many years it wont take air any more, and I don't think I'll try to fix it (too much hassle to get parts).
Conclusion: I am sorry to put this gun away after all these years. It cleans easy an requires almost no maintenance. It weighs nothing and carries easily, you'll forget you're carrying it. Very accurate at close range. A great conversation piece at the field (What in the world is THAT?!). Get one on EBay for $20 if you need a backup!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TZX-ZX Monday, November 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
GZ-1000
Nelspot 007
Nelspot 707
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, E-Grip, Taso 14" Nickel barrel, LAPCO grip block and drop, Hand-polished internals, CAR stock with RVA. (Main Gun)
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, upgrades are tacky and worthless, really.
If you want however, you can get a barrel extension if you can find it (very rare).
You can also get a direct feed mod, which you need to physically cut your gun to use.
Strengths: Indestructable.
Range.
Accuracy.
Weaknesses: Little aftermarket support.
Parts hard to come by.
Fickle CO2 piercer and Gasket.
Review: Where to start? The splatmaster was more or less the first mass produced widely available paintball marker made specifically for the game of paintball. Other guns of it's time such as the Nelspot and the Crosman 3357 weren't originally designed for paintball. The first thing you'll notice when handling the splatmaster is that it's made of a brittle, thin polymer plastic. Don't worry though, it isn't going to break unless you actually try to break it. It is an extremely sturdy gun, it can be caked with mud and still force out shots.

The way the gun operates is fairly interesting and hasn't been copied by any other paintball gun out there (excluding the GZ-1000, as it was made by NSG who also made the splatmaster) The 'Push-in' pump system is very user friendly and conveniently placed in the rear of the gun. Theres only one problem with it, and that is that you can't fire the gun as fast as an autotrigger pump gun. However if you are using the splatmaster as a sidearm, that really shouldn't be a problem at all.

The range and accuracy of the gun is extremely impressive, seeing as the gun's barrel is rather 'different'. The barrel is completely made of plastic and offers little compared to most barrels most markers today use. However, that really doesn't stop the splatmaster. At ranges even further than one would attribute to a sidearm, the splatmaster performs extremely well. Of course accuracy is relative, and the more shots you take, the less range and accuracy the gun will have. The splatmaster isn't exactly known for it's ability to get a lot of 'good' shots out of a 12g co2, which is all you will be using. Talon or Jackal CA Adapters will not work in a splatmaster, so really, don't even try it.

Even the splatmaster isn't without it's downfalls however. If it breaks or causes problems, you best know paintball guns and know how to make replacement parts yourself, otherwise you are pretty much screwed. I have on a few occasions seen GZ-1000 parts kits on ebay, which are compativle parts with the Splatmaster. There's also little to upgrade on the splatmaster.

The biggest complaint I've heard from splatmaster users is that the co2 piercer doesn't always work great with the plunger. Sometimes you can screw your co2 powerlet in all the way and it works absolutely fine, but other times you can screw one in all the way and the gun will hiss and gurgle until the co2 is all out. Most leaks are caused by a faulty gasket, they seem to detereorate after all the years the gun has been in use.

A minor problem depending on the person, is that if you are using 10 round tubes, the tubes often times fall out after a few shots and while running around a lot. Also, you can shove the tubes in too far, and have to grab a stick or something and stick it through the view window to jarr the tube out.
Conclusion: If you're looking for an inexpensive, extremely reliable pump sidearm, there really is no better choice than the Splatmaster (PGP compares, but when splatmasters are readily available for 2-40 dollars US, there really is no comparison.) The splatmaster may have some annoyances, but the advantages far outweigh them, and prove to make a rugged, timeless gun that can still hols it's own today.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aceospadez Saturday, September 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
talon?
Marker Setup: Pro Carbine w/ Armson pro series 13in, star fire bolt, iisports custom hammer, dye stickies, sl-68 2 trigger spring and some other stuff
PMI Trracer w/ Armson Pro Series 13in
NSG Splatmaster
Recommended
Upgrades:
uhh... some ten round tubes?
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: see review
Review: The Good
- its pimp
- no hopper
- built like a tank
- old school
- can be used as a sidearm
- find em on ebay for 30 bucks
- reliable
- surprisingly accurate

The Bad
- not good for primary weapon
- extremly hard to find parts
- good luck finding upgrades
- color (dropped it in a woods game, had to search for over 3 hours)
- "field stripping"
- inconsistant velocity
- no velocity adjusting
Conclusion: i have always wanted one and a finally found one locally. i like how it is a pistol so it can be carried in a holster and be used a sidearm. the only real down side besides lack of parts is the velocity is weird, it drops and spikes often. it could just be mine and it is over fifteen yaers old. if u can get one do it, use it as a back up or just to have a piece of paintball history.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 6th, 2004 at 12:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media