paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Splatmaster / Splatmaster / Splatmaster / Splatmaster

Splatmaster Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Splatmaster

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Splatmaster
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This single shot plunger action pump is fed by tubes which are inserted into the front (top barrel) of the gun. It is powered by a 12 gram CO2 cartridge.
Product Availability 
The Splatmaster is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
pball rampage Monday, August 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
blade xtreme
Strengths: the trigger frame is sweet and it has power
Weaknesses: sometimes chops balls and is big 4 a pistol, but lightness makes up 2 it
Review: this gun was my first and i used it in the rain sometimes and i got it full of mud i even droped it on the floor a couple times but it is still in sweet condistion. there is no problems with it so that tells u how tough the gun is. the gun is also light so it makes it very easy to cary around.
Conclusion: i wouldn't buy this gun as a primary weapon but its a rally good secondary
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 25th, 2003 at 7:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HotelSecurity Saturday, June 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Predator .40 Caliber Paintball Pistol.
Marker Setup: The Splatmaster, the only concern for this review, is all stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Polished plastic barrel, replacement metallic barrel, replacement valves, quick change knurled knob for faster and easier CO2 replacements
Strengths: Nostalgic, powerful, allows mobility.
Weaknesses: Push to cock firing, plastic barrel, not meant to be taken apart.
Review: The National Survival Games Splatmaster is simply a classic. When I found someone was selling one, I got my hands on it as quickly as I could. At first I feared the gun would be uncomfortable to hold, as I was used to airsoft pistols and BB pistols. However, the grip is very comfortable and the extension of the trigger guard exists as a comfortable rest for the middle finger. If you REALLY don't want it there, you could simply sand it off.

While the all plastic design may immediately turn off some people, the Splatmaster's simplistic design makes it very durable. The plastic is not cheap dollar mart stuff, and it seems to be able to take a lot of abuse. While I myself have only used this gun once in a game, it was a rental gun for the old NSG run fields, and has been in the hands of various other paintball players.

The trigger pull is insanely light and this makes it really comfortable. However, it does kick slightly and emit a loud noise, often thwarting any stealth plans you may have had. The peep sights (semi automatic pistol style rear and front sights) do work to a degree, but the sight picture is lost every time you recock the pistol. I found it rather difficult to push in the cocking knob; doing this indirectly could cause the bolt to pierce a ball and give the user a headahce.

These are also very difficult to clean because of a lack of an easy dissassembly. Basically, running a squeegee through and putting a napkin in the bolt while firing a few rounds or dry firing is the best way to clean the pistol.

The safety is a little awkward to engage, and I personally leave mine off, opting to simply leave my trigger finger in the "safe" position, on the trigger guard. Also, there are not a lot of aftermarker options as far as replacements and upgrades go.

This pistol is a classic. I really can't comment on the CO2 usage, but I think this would be a great gun to have even as a collectible/antique. I gave mine a restorative paint job and it looks like it did, right back in the 80s!
Conclusion: Awesome. Old school, functional, and stylish. Not as effective as a semi automatic pistol like the Armotech Zeus or a Sydarm, but a nostalgic and fun glimpse back at the early days of paintball. I always get a few glances from people with this: some in admiration, others wondering who would bring a plastic pistol to a fight. It's accuracy will change their opinions pretty fast!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 17th, 2004 at 7:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Diesel1245 Sunday, January 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
semi auto splatmaster
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 w/ Progressive 14", ricochet AK and 20oz pure energy Co2
Classic pump action bushmaster with homemade silencer.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None that i know of
Strengths: Accuracy is the word of the day. This is the most accurate pistol i have ever shot. It blends into the woods unlike chromed up new pistols.
Durable.......
Weaknesses: Paintballs always fall out unless taped in somehow.
Not any upgrades that i know of
Velocity, My first shot clocked at over 400FPS, if any one know how to adjust it e-mail me
is difficult to change co2 in a game becuase of length of thread
Conclusion: I got mine for $20 at a flea marked and bought it because it looked cool. after i tried it i loved it. great gun...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

amhildreth Friday, January 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan PGP
Marker Setup: stock setup
Recommended
Upgrades:
a knurled CO2 changer knob can be found from several places - get one!
Strengths: The Splatmaster has a solid feel to it, without being weighty. It holsters well. After some cleaning and oiling of the internals, mine averages about 32 good shots/12 gram before the velocity drops. Fairly accurate for a plastic barrel sleeve. Rear-cocking is easy to adjust to. Compact. Finger rest on trigger guard is actually pretty comfortable. It has a low profile, and is great for woods or bunkering on air fields.
Weaknesses: After several years of use, the paint tubes tend to fall out of marker if tipped forward. A little tape on the tubes solves that one. CO2 cartridges do not change quickly with stock setup. Plastic CO2 changer knob tends to crack after several years of use/abuse. Can be replaced with aftermarket. Disassembly and reassembly can be tricky until you've done it a few times. Plastic barrel sleeve.
Conclusion: A great backup marker. Also a good primary for the adventurous. I started playing in '85 with one, and continue to do so now. When you need it on the field, it will work for you. A dependable, classic workhorse. If you find one - BUY IT!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

fox.317 Tuesday, December 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Currently: Tippmann A-5 with...blah, blah, blah
Recommended
Upgrades:
no more available
Strengths: Nostalgia! This was my first ever paintball marker, the thing worked and was fun to use.
Weaknesses: The barrel is made out of plastic, and mine cracked on me so it rendered it pretty much useless... : (
Conclusion: I wished I had never gotten rid of mine. If you find one, pick one up, they're a piece of paintball history and a good reliable marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeremy_raymc Saturday, November 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
well, I have used several pump action guns. THey don't compare. the splatmaster has saved my rear several times in the past and probably will continue in the future
Marker Setup: spyder compact 2 in 1 java with fourteen inch terminator barrel. expansion chamber. esp electronic grip. remote line 20 oz tank, bla bla bla
Recommended
Upgrades:
Its a splatmaster. single shot pistol. what can you upgrade on it??
Strengths: This is a fairly accurate paintball gun. alltogether I would say it is good. made of solid stuff. it will last forever if you let it. you can find em for cheap. good backup gun though. during one game my whole team was pinned and before we all got tagged, I put paint in two of the enemies eyes with the splatmaster
Weaknesses: this product is ooooold. its just ooooooold. what can I say its just too ooold
Conclusion: good stuff. helps in tight spots at close range. I have used it for years and I got it used. one of the first paintball guns. daaaaang. its oooooold
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Splatmaster14 Sunday, August 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon and Blade. They don't even compare. The Splatmaster is made of a stronger polymer, and the internals are easier to understand and assemble.
It shoots just as far, and obviously lasts longer. (20 years and counting!)
Marker Setup: Stingray II. Bottomline, venturi bolt, 16" barrel, machined foregrip, red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Have a barrel and plunger machined. Find a knurled co2 knob if possible.
Get a Ronin Gear holster.
Strengths: If you put a few washers in the plunger, it works as a shim and gives the gun much more velocity. This also adds to accuracy. The Gun is perfect. Lightweight, accurate, and good on co2. What else do you need? A metal frame? Not necessary.
Weaknesses: There are few mistakes with the marker. One is that there are no aftermarket parts for sale anymore. There used to be. There used to be plenty of parts. Most of them looked funny and were not neccessary, but it made a gun owner feel like if he ever wanted to just buy something to try out, he could. Now, we're lucky to even find the gun.
Conclusion: Buy One. They are easy to find (ebay) and inexpensive when found.
Look also at garage and yard sales.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

STcOcker Sunday, July 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon etc
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: range, accuracy, efficiency I get about 30 shots before I get velocity drop per 12 gram, trigger pull ( it has a pull comparable to an angel or bushy 10 yrs b4 they came out!!) taking apart, putting back together ( i dont know whats so hard I found it extremely easy) color great for woods ball, compact easy to bunker people with
Weaknesses: i havent found anything yet
Conclusion: I just got mine a couple days ago off ebay and I love it, it now resides next to my cocker and is my sidearm and sometimes even my primary. this gun is gret not to hard to pump! get it dont buy a talon or anything this is much better its better in everything even efficiency and ummm it works great
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a talon and a splatmatic and this guns kicks the living crap out of both of them.
Marker Setup: Mine splatmaster is pretty much stock except mine has a special elbow that came with it that lets me use a 65 round hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you can find this hopper and elbow system that was to my knowledge made for this gun and if you find it FOR THE LOVE OF GOD BUY IT!
Strengths: This gun is my favorite gun out of my vast collection of guns. I like this gun because it will shoot very far if there is no wind and it gets many shots out of one 12 gram.It is the greatest pump gun ever made.I wish they still made them.I payed very little for mine and got it used.
Weaknesses: This gun has very few problems. One is NEVER TAKE THIS GUN APART.IT TOOK FOUR OF MY FRIENDS TO PUT IT BACK TOGETHER. In the wind the gun shoots paintballs straight but the balls tend to fly down and to the right.Also the balls don't always pop.And they don't hurt very much i shot my friend in the arm by pressing it agenst it and shooting he didn't even flinch.If possible use brittle balls like hellfires.
Conclusion: THIS GUN ROCKS IF YOU EVER SEE ONE YOU MUST BUY IT.IT will save you one day. And it will provides hours of fun and it will amaze your friends that you will get them out with a pistol while they are using there best guns!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nelspot 007, PGP, DSDS Pump, Sidekick Semi, Eagle 68, PTX, Sydarm, Crossman 3357. As far as pump pistols go I enjoy playing with the Splatmaster most of all. The Nelspot is harder to change 12 grams with, the DSDS is nice and light but made of plastic and has cracked in several places and it leaks CO2, the PGP is amazing but I prefer the rear cocking of the Splatmaster.
Marker Setup: All of the above pistols plus several others including a Pirhana, Carbine, original Pirhana (It's like a long barrel PGP). I've also used Automags, an Angel and most Tippmans, Infernos, Spyders etc.

I have the old model PGP with all the goodies. Quick changer, speed loader, adjustable velocity, red bolt, aluminum pump to replace the delron one, rubber grips, brass trigger shoe.

I've had an extra 10 round magazine tube fastened to the top of the Sydarm that feeds into the original 8 round spring fed magazine. A machinist made the appropriate hole for the balls to drop down when I tilt the marker forward. Unlike all other 12 gram pistols I've tried this one has consistant velocity right until the 2nd last shot (# 29 at 265 - 270 FPS) which tells me it's time to change CO2. I've also had it modified to accept constant air whenever I want (a 3.5 oz tank works nicely). Right now I'm having it polished to remove all scratches and nicks and it should look like it's chromed. The AGD Sydarm is the best 12 gram pistol ever made.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Years ago I found a large knurled knob that scews in the 12 gram and it is easier and faster to use than the origional.
Strengths: It's light, surprisingly accurate, shoots any kind of paint in all weather (we play in -30C & +30C up here in Winnipeg and it breaks way less paint than a metal marker in the winter). I have two Splatmasters, one of which I purchased in Minneapolis almost 15 years ago as my first marker. It gets about 40 shots in the 250 - 260FPS range and the other gets about 25 per twelve gram. I have no problem taking them apart or reassembling them.

The bolt and valve are slightly different in the two. The one with the higher efficiency has a bolt that fits into the barrel snugly and has a concave tip. The other is not as tight and is flat on the end.

Easy to clean. Keep it gassed up and dunk it or rinse it under the tap, squeegee, swab and it's done.

I like the feel in the hand, and the extension on the trigger guard where you can rest your middle finger. I much prefer the rear cocking knob to the front slider types. I can pump and fire much more smoothly than with my PGP or other pistols. It works for me.

I made a plug out of a paint tube that fits into the magazine and I pull it out to load each new tube and then put it back in place. That way I don't need to put tape on all of them to keep them from sliding out during play.

You can leave it gassed up in the holster all day and it doesn't lose any CO2. And yes it is practically indestructable.

Play a lot of rec games with this, improve your snap shooting, aim and other skills and when you pull out your big guns for the tournaments you feel like a god.


Weaknesses: In 15 years the only mechanical problem I've had is that in one Splatmaster the piercing pin that punctures the 12 gram wore out and I had to grind it down a bit to make it completely spherical again.

It's a shame they stopped making them. A new model with adjustable velocity would be great.

On one marker the valve has so far been impossible to take apart. I'd like to see if the inside can be tinkered with to work as well as the one that gets 40 good shots.
Conclusion: Great as a light weight, carry all day in a holster backup that will be there for you when you need it. Fun to play with in rec games as my primary. I'll carry the Sydam as my back-up to unload quickly if I'm the last player on my side and they think they can charge or bunker me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media