paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Splatmaster / Splatmaster / Splatmaster / Splatmaster

Splatmaster Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Splatmaster

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Splatmaster
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This single shot plunger action pump is fed by tubes which are inserted into the front (top barrel) of the gun. It is powered by a 12 gram CO2 cartridge.
Product Availability 
The Splatmaster is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Unregistered User Friday, February 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't used too many pump/cock guns, but the ones I have used don't compare in the least to this gun.
Marker Setup: I have a Spyder Compact
Recommended
Upgrades:
There aren't really any upgrades possible for this gun, other than one that I found and bought right away. It replaces the screw in the handle for the CO2, with a external thing that lets you just snap the cartrige into place. So rather than lots of unscrewing, and screwing, you just open it, pop it in, close it and you're set. It's awesome. It also balances out the gun perfectly. There's no weight on the barrel at all.
Strengths: It's extremely accurate, invincible, balanced, easy to clean, and (In my gun at least) if a ball breaks, it doesn't affect balls after it. It'll shoot any ball in any weather, the tubes are snug in their barrel, the trigger is smooth, and it's just an overall solid, trustworthy marker.

Easy to take apart.
Weaknesses: Extremely hard to put back together. Don't take it apart. Ever. The springs are hard to keep in places while putting the screws back.
Conclusion: Wonderful marker. My dad bought two when he saw it, years ago. Really the original gun. It's still in excellent condition even through all the battles he's been through with it and I've been through.

If you see one, buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, February 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, tippman custom, most pumps and semis(rented)
Marker Setup: I have a tippman 98 with a 16 inch boomstick barrel and large capacity co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Wish you could upgrade it.
Strengths: Accuracy, accuracy, accuracy. It's indestructable(had it since 1988) and light. Also, its small size lets you get through underbrush without getting your hopper or co2 tank caught.
Weaknesses: Low ammo capacity and mildly awkward co2 change.
Conclusion: For those who seek a return to strategy and fun in the game, not the current "spray and pray" tacticts that turn a twelve year old into a problem, this is the marker pistol for you. I am actually going to Skirmish in PA. 2-8-02 with my splatmaster. I know i'll be the only one. Can't wait to see the looks on the judges faces.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 29th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Strengths: Very accurate, hits what ever I shoot at withen half a foot from two hundred meters. Very reliable, no barrel breaks yet.
Weaknesses: plastic, will need to have parts replaced eventually and those are difficult to find. If a spring breaks or your barrel scratches usually its cheaper just to buy a new marker.
Conclusion: the co2 change is almost smooth enough at eight seconds. unload the full clip in about twenty seconds with accuracy. Its all up to chance, I bought a well taken care of marker with surprisingly good, never seen a bad one in person but I have heard its the luck of the draw. But these are an important part of paintball history to preserve if nothing else, not for some old collectors case to gather dust and be forgotten, but to be used on the field again.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, July 21st, 2001
Strengths: This the classic we all loved to play with years ago. I started playing with one. Still have it.

- Fiberglass construction. Absolutely nuke-proof and indestructable. As stated, you can easily paint it and it is very accurate compared to the under $100 markers you typically find.
Weaknesses: - Tubes do fall out. 2-3 wraps of electrical tape fixes this for a nice tight fit. Cannot use anything other than tubes.

- Hardest C02 changes I've had - not set up for speed changes. Otoh, it does not leak like a Sidekick. Easy to cross-thread.

- Easy to take apart. HARD to put back together. You need a bench and several tools to do this. The springs and bolt mechanism are unbelieveably hard to put back into the frame compared to modern markers. Not designed to be taken apart except in a shop.
Conclusion: Easy to use as a backup gun. Sure it is slow, but like an old Crossman .50 cal pistol, it will fire when you need it. Every time.

Indestructable. I had mine fly from my hand and land 15 feet below me(this was way before fields - so we were at the local High School)
Still worked despite the obvious scratches.

They are dirt-cheap and you can buy two of them used in mint condition so you have spare parts and still not pay as much as a low-end K-Mart manual cocker.

In good condition, they don't leak and can get decent range - this may fire slower, but it will outshoot and outlast most low-end semis like the Enforcer and SideKick.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 4th, 2001
Strengths: What isn't good about this thing? It's a kickass gun. It looks awesome and performs very well. The range is excellent for a pistol. It is very quiet so you can sneak around with it. You get quite a few shots off of a 12g CO2 cylinder. And most of all ACCURACY!!! I can nail stuff from 70-80 feet away right on the mark with this gun. You should go on EBAY and buy one. NOW!!!!
Weaknesses: They're out of production. I don't see why. These perform better than most of the markers out there today. Even that damn sheridan XGS that keeps jamming...Also it's kinda hard to screw the CO2 in the first few times, but after 2-3 tries you get the hang of it and don't have to worry about it anymore.
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN! It is a classic that performs as well as the pump pistols of today. You can get it for much cheaper than a pgp or a sidekick, but the quality is just as good if not better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dman Thursday, January 18th, 2001
Strengths: A classic. My first gun, you always love your first gun. It is almost indestructable. I've had it for almost 10 years now and it still works like the day I bought it. Maintance is minimal. I had a blast playing outlaw ball with this gun before any of the area fields opened up. It's the reason that I began to love paintballing.
Weaknesses: Very slow rate of fire. The feed tube will fall off if you try to jump around too much. When compared to modern guns it can't hit the broad side of a barn. They are hard to find parts for if you would ever need a part...I havn't in ten years. Wouldn't even know where to look if I did.
Conclusion: This gun is a classic. I love having it. When I bring it to the field for a sidearm people will look at if funny wondering what it is. I think that it might get replaced by a PT eventually, but it will always have a place in my heart, and my closet. I'll give it a 10 just because it was my first marker...and anyone who has one has either had for a long time, or probably didn't know what they were buying at the time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, January 18th, 2001
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun is a classic. Most of us "old" guys will recognize it, and relieve some good memories. On the construction side, the Splatmaster is nearly indestructable. It is made of some sort of polymer that is hard as a rock. It also takes paint very well for those of you who are into "customizing". It is deadly accurate to about 30 feet (I know, what isn't?) and it has a small enough profile to carry as a backup. Best of all, you can usually find one used for about $30.00.
Weaknesses: Accuracy, or lack of it. Don't go into a speedball game with this guy and expext to peg someone on the opposite side of the field. The feed tube has a tendency to fall out, and if you should ever break a ball, field stripping is out of the question. It also has a very hard spring on the pump.
Conclusion: This gun is almost a joke by todays standards. It holds 10-12 rounds, shoots good for 30 feet, and is a rock and cock pump. However, you can purchase the gun for under $50 almost anywhere you see it. It will last forever with minimal cleaning, and is a heck of a lot of fun to nail someone with when your regular marker is out of commission.
I love mine, and wouldn't trade it for anything.

Get one for the fun of it... especially if you have enough skill to play without the firehose guns that dominate the sport today.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, September 16th, 2000
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Everything is good about this gun. From the green plastic, to the manual cocking this gun is an all around classic.
Weaknesses: Old, obselete, cheaply made, slow, inaccurate,...they are becoming very rare.
Conclusion: Even if you never play with the gun, it is something of a conversational item. For those of us that were around long enough in the sport, it brings back memories of the beginning. Gotta add one of these to your collection...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, August 29th, 2000
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: good old backup.very low profile. light. shoots bad paint. solid.
Weaknesses: barrel is plastic(ok accuracy)impossible to field strip.only holds 10 rounds about 20 shots per jet(12g).very hard to find.hard to load co2 and sometimes leaks if impropereley loaded.goggles that came w/ it are worthless (shop goggles)
Conclusion: if you can get one for under 30$ i would reccomend it as a backup.i got mine w/a holster nice if you run out of paint or air in your semi,it gives you 10-20 extra shots to finish the game. great for the last game of the day when your not shure how much air you have.rather rugged dosnt break like the daisy pistol.smaller than other pball pistols in my opinion the best pump backup other than pgp
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media