paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Generation-E Matrix / Generation-E Matrix / Generation-E Matrix / Generation-E Matrix

Generation-E Matrix Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Generation-E

Buy Generation-E Matrix

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Generation-E Matrix
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 48
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $800

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
CONSTRUCTION FEATURES: - Electronic Triggered, with multi-mode dipswitch adjustment. - Fully Pneumatic operation. (No hammer, no sear, no main spring) - Performance Centerfeed. - Interchangeable forebreech: Standard forebreech - AutoCocker threads. Optional Forebreech - Angel, Right Feed, Spyder, Model 98, etc. - Double trigger with Custom MATRIX rubber grips. - Uses one common 9V battery, available anywhere. No recharger needed. ACCURACY FEATURES: - LOW Pressure operation for phenomenal accuracy and performance, enabling use of highest performance brittle-shelled paints. - Dual ball-detent for maximum ball-centering accuracy. - Fires during closed-mode of bolt's travel for superior accuracy. - (Statistically, the most accurate marker ever made in the History of Paintball). PERFORMANCE FEATURES: Gas consumption: Approximately 1250 shots per 88 c.i. tank
Product Availability 
The Generation-E Matrix is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
nerdcore Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5 - lighter & slightly better stock.
Marker Setup: Matrix LCD
Freak Jr kit
TMC/Trauma Eyes
Tadao 1.1
Sidewinder
Aardvark Tenticle
SP Q-Lock
CP Rail
CP 2k5 on/off
Z-Boarded Egg
Crossfire 68/45k
Recommended
Upgrades:
Eyes
New inline reg
Strengths: Fast
Quiet
LCD
CP barrel stock
Weaknesses: Weight (if you're a sissy)
No eyes stock
Review: Finally got to play a day with my Matrix LCD (has a Tadao 1.1 now, so no LCD anymore).

First of all, i never tried it without eyes. My cousin had it before me & he had chopping problems. So we sent it out to TMC for their eye/board install. While it was out there, me & my cousin worked out a trade so that i would just keep the Matrix LCD once it came back, since he bought a used DM5.

**Quick note about the TMC eye install, the manual they provide on their site for the eyes is useless. You need the Tadao 1.1 manual off Tadao Technologies site - just make sure TMC did indeed put the Tadao board in there for you.**

Stock inline reg (the "beehive") gave me problems right away. Probably just needs a rebuild kit but i just replaced it with the Sidewinder i already had. Also noticed the stock LPR may need a new piston seat (red thing), since i was getting some first-shot-drop-off & had to reset it a couple times during the day. Also ordered a huge o-ring kit from MarkerKits.com, which i recommend.

Overall, it shoots nice and is very gentle on paint. My eyes got blocked a bit from the lube on the bolt - it seams the holes TMC drilled in the breach are gunk magnets. So the eyes were constantly reading something, acting as if the eyes were off, essentially, and i still didn't chop. Of course, i may not have been shooting very fast but still, impressive.

Efficiency-wise, i was pretty surprised. I was under the impression, from reading all the stickies in the Matrix forum here & on PBN, that i'd only be getting 700 shots per fill (field barely fills to 3k). Went through nearly a whole case (minus about 2 pods) and only filled up twice - that comes to about 870 shots per fill. All i've done was the easiest of bolt mods (vinyl tubing on the top hat). Not bad at all (velocity was about 260 fps, though).
Conclusion: Well, these aren't in production anymore and most people wouldn't consider checking around for used ones but the older Matrixes are solid markers.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nuckinfuts2595 Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm5,dm4,dm6,dragon timmy,generation e toxic,angel cobra,
Marker Setup: Tadao M3 Chip (NPPL, PSP, NXL, CFOA modes), Smart Parts Q-Lock Feedneck, Smart Parts Drop Forward (also includes rail drop), Custom Products ASA, Hybrid 06 Grenade Grips, PBC Trigger, PBC rear screw in knob, AKA Sidewinder regulator, Trinity LPR, Image Bolt (C4 mod, and top hat mod), Trauma Vision Eyes, and Scepter barrel (includes 2 sleeves - .688 .690).
Recommended
Upgrades:
trauma vision eyes,top hat mod,c4 mod
Strengths: This gun rips
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: This gun is awsome...only chped a ball one time and no time since i got the eyes,it is also kinda a gas hog but thats not really a prolblem wit all day air at the field,it has never givin me a problem and has always been very dependalbe...i would recomend this gun to anybody who is looking to serioulsy get into paintball.
Conclusion: This gun is awsome,my favorite gun iv owned so far.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

enzoferrari604 Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyer Compact
Pirhaha Evo

Both dont compare
Marker Setup: Gen-E Matrix
Tadoa 5.0
14" Ultralight
CP Reg.
CP Trigger
CCM Feedneck
Ardvark Bolt
SCM Front Regulator
BunkerKing Bruce Lee Grip's
CP Rail and ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Board
Trigger
Strengths: Very fast!
Accurate
Little Kick
Weaknesses: A little bit on the heavy side and thats it.
Review: I bought this used for $250 and what a deal.

My first impression of the gun was "WOW" this is an awsome gun. The first game I played with it just rained paint on peoples bunkers. It shoots ropes of paint and the balls are ball on ball with some drop. A good gun for back/mid players but I like to play mid and front so weight affected me a bit. Although I didn't notice the wieght much you can tell its there. I've shhot guns from Empire 2 Timmy's to Angel Speeds and this gun shoots just as good. Gun is easy to mantain wants you get the hold of it.
Conclusion: Best gun for the price. Can find the used for $400 and less which is way better than any Ion.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SKI008 Sunday, September 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Classic TImmy, Dm5, E2 Cocker, Empire Timmy,
Marker Setup: 2k4 Blue Imagine
Blue Custom products 12 in
Empire Reloader
Nitro Duck 68/3000 Carbon Fiber tank (I think)
VForce Armor
Assault Block
Bob Long Torpedo
New Desginz HP valve
New Designz Clamping Low Rise
32* Spring Kit

Generation E Matrix
CCM No pro
Bob Long Torp
CP Roller trigger
CP On and Off Direct mount
Dye matrix circuit board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New reg. The stock one isn't that great, and neither is the Bob Long I have on mine (it came with the gun)
Low rise, stock neck is really tall
New trigger
You don't absolutrly need any of these upgrades, the gun rips with or without them.
VERY fast hopper, nothing less then an egg (You need one of these)
Strengths: No Kick
FAST
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: A little Tall
Gas Hog
Heavier then others
Review: I made some money over the summer and decided it was time to upgrade from my Spyder Imagine. (I love that gun by the way, get one) and I didn't want an Ion because they're just too common and I don't like there stock trigger. SO i looked around on pbnation and found my Generation E trix for $300 and it came with everything listed above. (except for the ASA)
It was very sleek and smooth, which looked very nice, but the lack of milling made the gun pretty heavy. It was very easy to adjust all the settings via the LCD, and it was easy to install the trigger. I don't know if later model Generation E matrixes had Dye trix boards in them, but mine did., which made it eay to adjust everything. Taking the gun apart was easy, you just need a single allen wrench to get the internals out, which is more than I can say for my friend's Ion. The matrix is also faster then a stock Ion, mine isn't capped and it shoots as fast as you can go.

Today I got to test the gun out on the field. I set the regs and shot it, and was getting around +-7-8, which isn't bad for the Bob Long torp I have on it. Even at 16 balls a second, it stayed in that range. The trigger is easy to adjust, but put a CP trigger in it, and you'lll see a 4 bps increase easily. (Depends on your finger speed, that's waht I noticed) . There was also no kick at all, I mean the gun didn't move at all. It was also very quiet, sounds like a PSHT noise when it shoots, knid of like a DM shooting because, it kind of is. It's quieter then an Ion, but is similar sounding. I also got several 'Whoa, what is that thing?" That never happened with my friends' Ion.
Conclusion: If you have a $400 or similar price range, get a used Matrix. Reliable, fast, no kick, and uncommon (I've only seen 1 other matrix in 2 years of paintballing.) (Not counting PMs and DMs). Get one today!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chumby560 Saturday, August 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
custom cocker with 0 stock parts
Marker Setup: gen e matrix with a cp reg with and aka reg on the front, aderson board, dye stickeys, ultralight barrel, and halo b with a victory board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
evolve bolt-better efficiency
Strengths: Fast, accurate, easy maintainance
Weaknesses: Little heavy, stock bolt
Review: I love this gun. after making some modifications this gun will rip. the only two problems i have had is that the air efficiency with the stock bolt is really bad and when using the anderson board and the dye stickes sunlight can mess with the sensors. after i fixed that i can put out a constant 20 bps witch is more than you really need. if you are looking for a good used gun i would recommend this but you you have the money to spend go with something newer
Conclusion: If you have limited funds and need a good gun you can get a used one on good shape pretty cheap. i gave it an 8 only because you have to upgrade a little to make it efficient
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

big jeremy Tuesday, July 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2003 Wgp Vertical Feed Eblade Autococker
Marker Setup: 2003 Generation E Matrix LCD
Halo B with Rip Drive
14in. Dye Ultralite
Shocktech LPR
Black Magic Bolt
Clamping Feed Neck
TMC Trigger Job
CP reg
Dye Sticky Grip
68/3000 Pure Energy
48/3000 Pure Energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
FAST HOPPER!!!
New Barrel
USE ONLY NITRO!!!NO CO2
Eyes if hopper isn't fast enough
Strengths: Fast as hell
Accurate
Quiet
Reliable
Weaknesses: It can be a gas hog if not adjusted properly.
Review: Well my first gun was a Spyder Flash and it really sucked. I had a buddy of mine pick up this matrix for me and I love it. If you dont use the right kind of paint is has a little bit of first ball drop off, but overall it shoots really consistant and accurate. NO CHOPS so far with the halo, but if you have a slower hopper I would buy eyes. I don't use co2 in the matrix because I don't think it's good for it but that is your own opinion. Incredible ROF, I can hit 16 with it and thats pretty damn fast.
Conclusion: If you have a cheap gun and don't like it BUY A MATRIX.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 5th, 2005 at 6:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr Murderdoll89 Saturday, May 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4/5- Lighter and come stock ACE'd.
Other DM3's or just M3's with Tadao- A lot faster...because this is stock.
Marker Setup: Silver LCD Gen E Matrix
CP Roller
CP Regulator
Aardvark Trinity LPR
Dye Stickies
ShockTech Drop
CP Unimount
No Rise Halo Feedneck
Z-Board Egg

Black Spyder Imagine
Evil Driver
Dye Stickies
12 Volt Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel and an LPR.
ACE...not really needed but its a good upgrade to have.
A CP Roller. Smoothest trigger ever.
Strengths: Fast as hell
Accurate (ball on ball)
No kick.
Weight (personal preference)
Weaknesses: Weight(personal preference)
FSDO
Review: After I got my Matrix I took it outside and got used to the feel of the trigger. I loved it. The gun has no kick what so ever. The consistancy of shots and accuracy at high ROF was incredible. I definately loved the way this gun felt. The wieght was a bit heavier than guns today but who can't go to the gym?Honestly.
Conclusion: I loved it! I would definately recomend one as they go extremely cheap used. I'm giving her a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bushmaster2k4 Friday, April 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
b2k4, shocker, ion, 2k2 timmy
Marker Setup: lcd gen e trix. halo b, scepter kit, lp maxflo, aardvark bolt, bp no rider, cp snatch grip, aka sidewinder, trinity lpr
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck, lpr, efficiency bolt
Strengths: FAST, very low pressure, efficient with evolve bolt
Weaknesses: Some people don't like the weight so i tell them to go work out.
Review: Got my matrix in a trade and was very impressed with it. After spending about 20 minutes over the chrono to set the lpr i had it ripping 19bps easy with 0 chops.

Setting the lpr can be a pain at first, but i would definitley reccommend having one to lower the operating pressure.

The trix runs at a very low pressure with an lpr therefore it pinches paint rather than chops.

The stock matrix trigger is simply amazing its almost impossible to not shoot it fast its that nice of a trigger.

Maintenance? What maintenance.. something leaking, lube it. leak gone. Thats it. Bolt stick? lube it, no more bolt stick. You see the trend here?

As far as upgrades, a clamping feedneck, BreakBeam eyes if you want the added insurance (i've never broke a ball).

EFFICIENCY BOLT- without one the trix will have absolute horrible efficiency. Drop an evolve bolt in there and you'll be getting 1800 off a 68/4500. problem fixed.

LPR- get one to lower the pressure so you won't chop without eyes.

Conclusion: Very Very nice marker. They have come down in price quite a bit get one used for like 500 with some upgrades and youll never want another gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pain4642 Thursday, March 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag rt,shocker sft, timmy,vicking,
Marker Setup: Matrix lcd with a anderson board from free flow.centerflag reg.ccm low rise an image bolt 70/45 dye tank and a halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
Eyes, a anderson board. or one of the tadao boards and a nice size tank
Strengths: Speed speed and speed,
Weaknesses: A little on the heavy side but not that bad
Review: The gun is fast. quiet and plain looking but i dont care about looks.the gun with the board i just put in it is crazy fast.i am talking about the anderson board.the tadao 4.0 and 5.0 are just as fast.get one of these boards and your trix will be at its peak PERFORMANCE
Conclusion: Get it it is a great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 17th, 2005 at 9:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sirsaechao Friday, March 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Dye MaTrix LCD
Custom Products 14" .689 Barrel
Custom Products Grip Regulator
Custom Products Razor Drop
Custom Products ASA Adapter
Custom Products Bearing Trigger
Custom Products Snatch Grip
PBC Low Pressure Regulator
Crossfire 68/4500 Blue
Halo B with Rip Drive
Chipley Machine No Rise Clamp
Dye Rhino Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Halo B, trigger (CP), CCM clamp, regulator, drop, on/off
Strengths: Pro:
BPS
Accuracy
Rate of Fire
Eye
LCD
Easy to work on
Weaknesses: Con:
Weight
Price
Review: This gun by far is the best gun I've ever own...this guns rips it all...the eye keeps it from chopping, and you must at least have a Halo to keep up...the low pressure keep the balls from chopping...dual ball detent insure the ball is align and center...LCD with all the goodies...Autococker treads with interchangable breech for others like Angel, Spyders...It does weight a tad bit on the heavy side with a 68/4500, Halo with 6 batteries and a full hopper...but it is not big deal and if you complain about the weight you need to hit the gym. Before the adjustment and removal of my trigger spring and a CP trigger I shot about 14 bps...after that the local shop got it up to 22 bps...
Conclusion: Get this gun...It is worth it...you can get if for like 800-1000 depending on used or new...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media